Suave strawberry shampoo

3.7

84 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This shampoo gently gets my fine, dry hair clean without stripping it. The matching conditioner is a little wimpy for my hair, but this shampoo works well, and smells good too. Update 9/16/08: I still like this shampoo for use once in awhile, but daily use leaves my hair a little dull looking. And something in this leaves my hair feeling sticky as it's drying. I do like that Suave Naturals shampoos don't make my scalp itchy, whereas most other shampoos do. It's still worth a try.



on 2/1/2008 10:44:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I tried this because I hate silicone, can't use protein on my hair, and I have a terrible time with fragrances. I used Aura Chamomile shampoo for years until they discontinued it - and then switched to Bain de Terre Jasmine Moisturizing, which I liked very much, but then they changed it. I've tried every shampoo out there and they are all either really heavy or really drying. Because many people consider this more clarifying, I thought it would be too drying, and I did find that true for the Strawberry, which also irritated my hands and made them red. But I noticed that the different "flavors" of the Suave have slightly different ingredients, and I tried the Cucumber Melon, which seems to work better for me. It's not irritating and it's not as drying for my hair. I'm using it consistently, and am really liking it. Surprisingly, the Green Apple was kind of heavy for my hair (but it has glycerin).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2008 3:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

agree with the previous reviewer. my caucasian friends use this, and they have no problem with it. their hair looks great. but for my non-caucasion friends and me (i'm asian) it makes our hair poofy and dry! boooooo.. i really wanted this to work somewhat decent for me, because i love the smell, and it's sooo cheap! it made my hair really squeeeeaky.. which isn't a good thing for me.


on 12/24/2007 12:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Terrible for women of color!


on 11/7/2007 3:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I know it's not labeled as one, but I use this once or twice a week as my clarifying shampoo. It surprisingly doesn't strip my hair (like Pantene's clarifying shampoo does, ick!). It leaves my hair really clean and shiny, and I love the scent (though I like sweet scents....I can see how some are turned off by it). It's cheap and I like the clear packaging. I also sometimes use it as a body wash. It works great for that, too!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2007 5:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I like the Suave shampoos a lot and have tried the Strawberry-scented one a few times and like it a lot. In my opinion Strawberry is one of those "flavors" that the scent will never resemble, like grape. I adore the scent of the shampoo and it's good shampoo for what's it's worth. It's cheap and gets the job done!


on 9/15/2007 10:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This does not smell like Fresh Mountain Strawberries. It smells fake and like candy. It works as well as all the other Suave shampoos, but they have much better scents than this one.


on 7/12/2007 3:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I give this a poor review b/c it is not the same product from when I was a kid. It smells sweet but not strawberry. When I was a kid it was "Strawberry Essence" now its "Wild Mountain Strawberry". All shampoos and conditioners from Suave work fine for me though so I can't imagine this being any different. Don't go for this if you are looking for the stuff from when you were a kid...its not it. If you like the smell, go for it.


on 6/13/2007 1:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It doesn't really smell like strawberries but more like candy. If you are into sweet sugary smells then fine but this is not for me. It does not clean so well either and it leaves my hair feeling like straw. I have to condition my hair two or three times to be able to comb through it after I use this shampoo. I dont care that its really cheap because it is awful. If you dont want to spend a lot of money buy Finesse, which costs about the same and is way better. This shampoo is total garbage. I'd rather buy a pack of gum then to spend two dollars on this horrible product.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love all the naturals shampoos but I just recently finished the ones in my shower and needed to pick up a new bottle :) I got the Vanilla Sugar, Tropical Coconut, and Strawberry scents. So this is a review for the Strawberry one. The scent is really fruity and fun, almost candy-ish so it might b=not be for everyone, but I like it enough to repurchase it hehe... It lathers up really well, rinses out fairly easily, and leaves my hair feeling clean. This also doesn't cause me to break out, which is just another reason why I return to suave for their basic, but effective shampoos and conditioners.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top