Unlisted Brand • Solia Ceramic Ion Flat Iron • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.0(114 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 sj3663 on 4/18/2009 10:34:00 PM more reviews by sj3663

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I loved my Solia iron! I have fine but wavy hair and this flat iron did a great job. I liked that the temperature was adjustable,as I do not require super-high heat to manage my hair. I left mine in a hotel room on a vacation and it was never found. My mom replaced it with a Chi, but I honestly would have purchased the Solia again, given the choice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 krm4h on 4/15/2009 10:56:00 AM more reviews by krm4h

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

BOO on this product. I did so much research on flat irons before purchasing this product from Folica. I was so excited about it, as everyone seemed to think it was like, the most awesome flat iron ever. It finally came in the mail and I went home and plugged it up to try it - and it was awful.

I have pretty fine, wavy, thin hair that's normally fairly easy to straighten. For some reason this iron just did NOT work for me, which is not ok for a flat iron that cost me $70. I tried it twice to no avail - I had to go over tiny sections of hair up to four times to take them from wavy to just sort of wavy - and this was on the highest heat setting. Performance was absolutely sub-par and it went straight back to Folica.

Again - boo! Bad, bad product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Faffinette89 on 4/6/2009 10:58:00 PM more reviews by Faffinette89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got the pink 1 and quarter inch model. I noticed it doesn't snag at all like my old iron did. This might be the dynamic plate control. I also noticed I don't see steam like I would sometimes with my old one. My hair also got straight at a lower setting. I set it on 350 to try it and it got very straight with one swipe through. It just glides through my hair. This came with a 2 yr warrenty. Beats chi's 1 yr and has adjust temp control which I like since sometimes I straighten slightly damp hair. The handle doesn't get hot either which is a plus and it's not heavy. My hair is also left very smooth and shiny. I adore this straightener, well worth the money

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sylvialeexD on 3/27/2009 6:05:00 PM more reviews by sylvialeexD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've seriously had about 20 straighteners in my life. From high end to low end, they've always stopped working after a couple months. I've had the Solia for 3 years now and it still works as well as it did the very first day I bought it!

I also use this straightener to curl my hair and it looks awesome!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joiseygirl27 on 3/17/2009 11:50:00 PM more reviews by joiseygirl27

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great price but this flat iron majorly snagged & ripped out hairs. It didn't snag as bad as Chi but it did snag enough that I returned it. When straightening I had to go over each section of hair several times. I now have a GHD MK4 which I am very happy with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MarinesWife03 on 3/17/2009 7:12:00 PM more reviews by MarinesWife03

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have had this iron for about 10 months, and I use it maybe once a week. It worked great at first, and then it just fell apart. I am still looking for a flat iron that really makes me say "Wow"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aces67 on 2/3/2009 2:23:00 PM more reviews by aces67

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I went to a Solia from a Chi and I can honestly say the Solia is much better! It leaves my naturally curly hair sleek and straight without damaging it.

I wish had bought one sooner!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RobbyRainbow on 1/7/2009 7:59:00 PM more reviews by RobbyRainbow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

My first straightener was a 30 dollar straightener from sally's which I didn't know sucked until I saw what straightened hair looked like. It finally went out on me, so I went on a search for a new straightener.

Now before I get into the actual review of the product, I must say that I have Half Black and Half Light Blonde hair (unnaturally of course). I bleach the blonde side myself every two months. I know exactly what i'm doing and it's still in great condition thanks to a strict hair care routine.

I looked on Folica.com for a new straightener. I wanted a GhD, but the prices just aren't rationable. And I knew that I DID NOT want a CHI. My friend owns one and I spent a week at her house. I used that straightener every day and the only time my hair ever burned was with that straightener. Also I have a way of telling if my hair is thoroughly straightened and straightened well. It swings better. Well with her CHI it did not swing. At all. So I knew that it was just not a good straightener for me regardless of everyone saying it is an amazing strightener. Now I go to High School and I know high school. Everyone says its amazing because 1. Most of them have almost naturally straight hair anyways and 2. They hear the name CHI and are like OMG. LOL. I heard so and so has one of those and she thinks it awsome. Back to Solia. I was stuck between the Sedu and the Solia. So I looked everywhere for reviews and pictures. finally some one had compiled a Sedu vs. Solia. this was incredibly detailed and listed things I would of never thought of looking for. The Solia had won the challenge. That finally sold me. I bought it and used it for the first day of school. My Hair SUCKED that day. But heres the thing. It was my fault. My hair routine was a mess (it's very strict now) and I had bleached it not 3 days before and regardless of me knowing to put it on a lower setting I had it up in the 400's were a low 300 would of worked wonders. I loaded my hair with proclaim hair smoother and it was just a mess. Thank god for my make-up looking amazing. Well that night I rescued myself and got my ish together. the next day My hair looked fabulous. A Special concoction of hair products before straightening had smoothed over my newly dead ends. Now I'm 6 months in of using it daily, dropping it a few times and I wouldn't trade it for all the Chi's in the world. One random thing is that everyone is commenting on uneven plates and plates sliding around. I don't know if there talking about the plates that push up and down, but my hair has always straightened better with one's that have this quality. Another HUGE plus is that this iron will give you the most AMAZING curls you've ever seen. I dare any curling iron or CHI to do the curls that My Dear and Precious Solia can make. I have done Dozens of my friends hair for Proms, Junior Proms, Homecomings, etc. simply because no one else has a straightener that can accomplish the gorgeous hair styles that my straightener has given them. A little trick to curling with it is you curl it with the Solia normally them with every end you simply grasp the hair tightly so not to pull and clamp the straightener on and manually pull it into a curl.

I Will Def be buying another one of these when mine gives out.

EDIT: after reading a few reviews I realized i Left out some very important details.

This heats up to full temp in 30 seconds, but you can start using it after about 15. Unlike other flat irons this has a control that you can set anywhere you like between 130 and 450. The indicator light also tells you when its heated up. A very useful tool. Its very sleek looking and the blue plates make it look unique and special compared to most gold plates which look cheap. This iron never made me feel like I was frying my hair. You know like when your straightener sizzles. Which I know the CHI does. My hair is always pin straight. The exterior gets hot obviously, but never hot enough where you can't hold it for long periods of time. A better description would be warm. It will get a slight burning smell which seems to happen in all tourmaline irons. I think it reacts a different way to heat than ceramic does. The only time my hair has ever lost some of its straightness is with my bangs during gym class if I don't clip them back. I have INCREDIBLY thick hair and even with me being anal and strightening every single section piece by piece. It takes me on average 20 to 30 minutes

If you can afford the 80 dollars I would encourage you to buy this flat iron.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Diningchicken on 1/4/2009 5:03:00 PM more reviews by Diningchicken

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not amazed with this product nor am I disappointed. I can't compare it with other flat irons because this is my first one but it ceased to surpass my expectations. The first time I used it, I thought it was good, but it left a burnt smell. The more I use it, the less efficient the iron seems to be. The price was about 80 dollars, around the same price as the CHI (according to folica.com), and I would liked to have tried the Sedu or the GHD. This iron doesn't glide smoothly through my hair, it makes that sound like when your dragging your foot on gravel (maybe its just me). It CAN curl, flip, crimp and do those things but it doesn't leave my hair shiny. Whenever i try to add volume, where you pull directly up from roots instead of pulling down, and it cause MAJOR FLYAWAYS. There were long baby hairs sticking straight up, and short hairs were upright. You can't undo it either; trying to flat iron it over makes it worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daniellejerz on 1/4/2009 1:05:00 PM more reviews by daniellejerz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely LOVE this flat iron. If there was a fire in the house, I would save this thing. It does EVERYTHING to my hair... it curls, waves, straightens, and gets me compliments from everyone ... I'm told i have amazing hair, and it's all because of this flat iron! I recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair Styling Tools products