Remington • Wet 2 Straight • Hair Styling Tools

rated 3.6(156 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 sefis on 7/3/2011 2:41:00 PM more reviews by sefis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

For the price, this is an awesome flat iron. I have the newer 2" wide plate version, cost around $25 at target. I have been using flat irons for a long time, have a 1" turbo CHI which I have had for almost 10 years and also a 1/2" HAI twig which I use for doing flips, loose curls or other effects. This iron works great on wet, damp or dry hair; just make sure you use the right heat setting for your hair and current moisture level. I recommend using a heat protectant regardless of whether you are ironing wet or dry, I use CHI silk infusion followed by Beyond the Zone's 'turn up the heat'.

The key to getting good results with any flat iron is to section off the hair properly into small sections so you can fully flatten that section of hair into the iron. That is especially important with this iron if you are going to use it wet or damp. Using it wet will not damage your hair if you use it properly (it sounds like the hair is frying but that is really just the water vaporizing into steam). However if you try to flatiron a chunk of hair which is too thick then you can damage your hair. When used correctly the hair should fully flatten into a thin sheet and all water should be removed in one to two passes. If you do it on a thick chunk of hair, it will not fully flatten and the outer layers of hair will get dried while the inner hairs will stay damp, so you will have to make more passes and you risk overheating the outer layer of hair which is already dry.

If your hairs are getting stuck on the sides of the iron, that is a good indicator that you are using it incorrectly, you need to use smaller sections!

My only qualms with this iron are the buttons which are awkwardly shaped and difficult to press with long fingernails, so it is hard to adjust the temperature quickly. Also the insulation on the housing could be improved, if used on the highest heat settings the grip part of the iron with the finger rests can get rather hot (not hot enough to burn but hot enough that its annoying).

I do like the auto-off feature, there have been several times when I have come home at the end of the day to find my CHI iron has been turned on all day, oops =)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heatherpaige on 6/30/2011 3:54:00 PM more reviews by heatherpaige

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have very thick, very long, coarse, wavy to curly hair. This straightened my hair completely with minimal fuss. The secret, for me, is to let my hair air dry for a bit and then to straighten the hair in small sections while using the 'steam' setting. It worked quickly and did the job. I have not had any problems with breakage or damage - and I have to use it on the highest setting for it to straighten my hair. I use a smoothing and protectant lotion on my hair EVERY time I dry it. (One word of caution...Be careful of the hot steam as this product does get extremely hot!) I have owned two other brands of straighteners in the same price range. This one got my hair the straightest and in the shortest amount of time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kissjacksparrow on 6/28/2011 11:26:00 PM more reviews by kissjacksparrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My review is for the 1" wet to straight that I purchased 5 years ago, that looks like the one in the first picture.

I haven't owned a lot of flat irons, and honestly, I never felt that I needed to try others after using this for so long. I bought this one in highschool and it worked great. A friend talked me into buying a gold plated hot tools a few years ago, and I thought that this was a million times better.

I have naturally curly hair (fine but a lot of it) and I've tried other cheap drugstore irons that just wouldnt get my hair straight at all. This was the only one I kept because it was the only one that I could get poker-straight hair for up to 3 days with only a little but of touching up in the morning. Although I go in phases of being curly and flat ironing a lot, I used this almost daily for several years for straightening my bangs. It is small enough that I could get it close enough to my roots without kinks (couldn't say that about the hot tools....) Years later, I have finally worn away the ceramic coating, and went to buy a new one, only to see the "revamped" it. I am not sure if it is a good, but I am holding out got the Remington Pearl Sleek & Curl instead because I ADORE the Pearl Curling Wand.

A few things I want to say about this iron: I used hear protectent on my hair, and used it everyday and I did not get excessive damage. I always used it on a lower setting and only used high heat on spots that were very frizzy and needed it. While I have used it on damp hair, I would NEVER use it on soaking wet hair. & I would only use on damp hair if I really didn't have the time because, yes, I think it would fry your hair. I did need the high heat setting sometimes, though, because my hair is curly and it can be hard to straighten without high heat in some sections.

Also, the auto-shutoff is a must for me, because, yes, I am absentminded enough to have found that it was left on or plugged in and I've been so happy that is beeps and shuts off to tell you that you've forgotten it. This iron has a lot of feature for something so cheap.

One problem, other then the coating wearing off, was that the grooves that are for the vents for the steam get a lot of product built up in them over time, and it is not easy to clean. But that's pretty minor. And considering that I used it until the coating was gone, and everything else survived all my abuse, traveling, dropping, leaving it on for hours and hours... I have to say I am impressed with the quality and durability -- It is not what I would have expected from $20 flat iron.

I am ready to move on to more high end irons at this point in my life, but I could see myself repurchasing this if I needed a cheap iron that I could rely on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ccoburn on 6/9/2011 11:03:00 AM more reviews by ccoburn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this in the states for about $30, and I am pretty happy with it. It is not a professional grade flat iron though. On the odd occasion it does catch hair and what not but it does get hot very quickly!!
I haven't used it on wet hair yet so I can't say how it does in that aspect.
My only major complaint would be the buttons on the side are a pain in the butt to push!!

If I could get a chi or equivilent for under 100 I would but this will work great for now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GothicGal on 5/7/2011 8:39:00 AM more reviews by GothicGal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm writing a review for the Remington Wet 2 Straight that is being sold in Australia. It seems to be different from other reviews as it has very wide plates, blue digitial screen and heat settings from 180 degrees to 230 degrees. So just in case you folk from other lands are wondering what I'm going on about ;-)

I love this straightener! It has wide plates which I find so much easier to use with long hair. I have used straighteners with long thin plates for so many years and now would never touch one after using this product.

This straightener has a digitial blue screen which i really like. You can choose what temperature you want from 180 degrees to 230. I love this feature as it's so good to be able to use this as a normal straightener with dry hair on a lower setting. I never use this with wet hair but sometimes (ok a lot) I use this with damp bits of hair when I am slack in blowdrying my hair - and it always comes out looking amazing. My hair is always really straight, smooth and awesome - never frizzy.

This is definately my HG straightener - I luff it to bits!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mandy_mann on 5/2/2011 3:41:00 PM more reviews by mandy_mann

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've been using this for ten days now and have yet to wait for something bad to happen to my hair based on some of the negative reviews here. Guess what? NOTHING (damage, hair loss etc...) bad happened.

I love this flat iron. I was seeking a wet-to-dry iron as hot weather season is coming up and the idea of using a blowdryer in hot weather irks me. I gave this a test run and am very pleased with the results. I used this after towel drying and air drying my hair for at least an hour then started straightening the sections. My hair looks shiny and feels silky. And it does dry as it straightens.

I have strong hair that is quite coarse, so I set it on 17.

The only thing I disliked about it was the protective plastic packaging this iron came in. It's worse than trying to unwrap a music cd. I did have one of those fancy box cutters to cut through the plastic but even with that, it took a while to get to the iron itself!

Love it though and I bought it at my trip to Target (Bellingham, Washington) for only $23 US.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupchic70 on 4/24/2011 7:49:00 PM more reviews by makeupchic70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

If you don't want to spend so much $$ on a ceramic flat iron, get this one!
It's works great and the option to use it as wet to dry straightener is brilliant! However, the "frying sound" It makes tells me I should not use it on wet hair all the time. Overall, I'm happy with this purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kimmeh5 on 2/12/2011 5:19:00 PM more reviews by Kimmeh5

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my 2nd flat iron, and I love it. I've never been very good with managing to style my hair, and this flat iron makes it easy for me. The settings are really nice, it heats up fast, it beeps to let you know when it's ready. Although there is a wet setting as well, like others have mentioned, it's just not wise to use heat on wet hair. Other than that, it's a wonderful product--especially for the price. I love it. The only thing that kind of irks me is that I threw away the packaging that had the setting directions on the back of it. I had to learn about the settings through a family member who also uses it. So if you get it, don't throw away the packaging till you learn to use it correctly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 uglyfetty on 1/16/2011 2:12:00 AM more reviews by uglyfetty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I HATE THIS PRODUCT! It pulled and snagged my hair to death!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brokentyrant on 1/15/2011 6:58:00 PM more reviews by brokentyrant

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This left my hair very very frizzy,dried and damaged looking. It snagged everytime and I had to go over my hair 3-4 times just to get it straight. Of course it never stayed straight for more than 30 seconds. I guess you get what you pay for. It did have heat settings, that was nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Remington products

More Hair Styling Tools products