Jean Paul Gaultier • Classique EDT • Fragrances

rated 4.1(180 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 queenofthenile on 12/26/2010 8:01:00 AM more reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Went shopping today, on the lookout for some Boxing Day bargains. This is one of my close friend's favourite perfumes, so when I saw it on sale I just had to sample it out of curiousity. Sprayed it on my wrist...and couldn't smell anything other than the cream I was wearing. I quickly realised this perfume smells exactly like Boots Sanctuary Mela Rose and Pistachio body butter, which I had slathered all over just before going out. They're both average scents, and a bit on the foody/sweet side, which I generally stay away from. I don't plan on buying the body butter again, and I certainly won't be purchasing a perfume that smells exactly like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DazyDoo on 11/6/2010 1:15:00 PM more reviews by DazyDoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

It's funny how events can change the way you think of a fragrance. My boyfriend of 15 years bought me this for my birthday and i loved it instantly. During the course of a few months, a lot of ups and downs happened (including a 6 month split) and stopped wearing it. Now that we are back together, i really can't stand to put it on! However, it's not JPG's fault that my life is such a rollercoaster.
Classique is soft, woody, floral, sweet and powdery. It makes for a wonderful autumn/winter fragrance and i'm sure it would suit all ages. I don't agree with the 'old lady' view. I think it will remain an elegant classic for years to come. Maybe just not on me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angekronaus on 11/2/2010 3:14:00 PM more reviews by angekronaus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This fragrance did not have to grow on me - i loved it immediately.

I gave it a 4 star for packaging only because my pump does not work! I had a friend purchase this for me whilst on a trip to London. It was brand new, unopened & it did not work from day 1. It was the Limited Edition bottle with the Butterfly artwork so I didn't want to return it as I know it will oneday be a classic collectors item. I have managed to work out a way to get the fragrance out however it takes some work & therefore I dont wear it as much as I would like too.

Saying all of that, I still love this fragrance & would love to purchase a replacement at some stage.

Its a sweet, subtle but very distinctive fragrance. I cant say ive ever come across anyone who doesnt like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 victorialynne on 10/4/2010 3:58:00 PM more reviews by victorialynne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I got a sample of this from Sephora and I find this to be a very warm amber, vanilla and maybe ginger scent?! It starts out a little strong but settles into a nice average warm with a hint of spice fragrance that I think would be best worn during the fall/winter. Almost has that root beer thing happening (which I like). The bottle is adorable! It is a nice perfume, but I do not think I love it enough to purchase. I should also mention that this has great staying power!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ark9 on 9/18/2010 9:37:00 PM more reviews by ark9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My all time favorite scent. Wen I was a little girly best friend's glamorous mother had a bottle of this on her vanity, and I've loved it since.

I started wearing this when I was 18 and it has served me well for several years. I like the scent immediately, but it comes into it's own when it has had time to blend with the skin. It then turns sweeter on me, while still not being a little girl perfume. My friends and I call the EDT "woman perfume" because of how it makes us feel!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frostythesnowman81 on 8/24/2010 12:43:00 AM more reviews by frostythesnowman81

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I like this but it's not AMAZING! It's okay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JaneWayne on 8/7/2010 7:29:00 PM more reviews by JaneWayne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When this perfume first came out in 1993, I was a poor art school student in love with JPG's work. I remember going to Sak's the give it a sniff, only to be told that "they were out of samples". Determined to get my hands on this, my friend and I went back when a different sales girl was working. I went up to the counter with a fake British accent, going on and on about how fantastic this fragrance was. My friend went along with it, and what do you know, I got a sample. Oh, come on. We have all been a sample troll at some point. ;)

I now of course have my own bottle, and I still love it. It reminds me of a 1950's vanity table, topped with powders and potions and a lovely vase of flowers. Timeless.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AllAboutBeauty on 7/16/2010 6:48:00 PM more reviews by AllAboutBeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my all time favorite HG perfume (besides Fragile which has sadly been discontinued). I have been wearing this scent for over 10 years now. It is my go-to scent and really the one that smells like "me". The smell isn't overpowering and has good lasting power for an edt. I always keep a bottle of this around and will continue to buy it so as long as it's available :).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenniandthebets on 7/7/2010 10:52:00 AM more reviews by jenniandthebets

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is a beautiful scent which I was first introduced to by a friend from school - she had worn this from a very young age - 13 give or take - too young for such a sophisticated perfume in my opinion. When I was about 18 or so I decided to purchase my first bottle of this and was surprised at how different it smelled on me. This perfume starts as a very heavy scent with quite an "alcohol-y" note to it, however the "wind-down" of this perfume is when you truly get the benefit of it. It warms up on your skin and leaves a warm and spicy vanilla scent on your skin. In fact i have found my favourite "stages" of this this perfume to be the next day or after a shower. In doing this it leaves a much lighter and subtler form of this perfume. Overall this is a perfume i will purchase time and time again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Annaxxx on 6/20/2010 11:01:00 AM more reviews by Annaxxx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this it probably is my HG scent, or at least my go-to scent. I got this for Christmas when I was 19, when it first came out in the UK and loved it immediately. It is one of the only perfumes I wear that always gets comments (good ones!). I stray from it every so often, but always come back to it and I love discovering it all over again. I love smelling my hair that has 'wafted' over my neck when i wear it, and it gets better with the drydown. I just love it.

It does smell different on different people, when my BF wears it it's v different so you just have to try it and see - she's much better in Angel or Coco.

I don't see it as an 'old lady' scent, but I'm 35 so maybe it is older than the sweeter celeb generics that my students favor - which smell lovely on them, but I don't want to smell like a teen (or Brittany Spears!!).
I'm aslo loving Kiehls Musk mixed with vanilla oils at the mo - getting lovely comments from this too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jean Paul Gaultier products

More Fragrances products