Creed • Love in White • Fragrances

rated 3.7(71 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 faizanj on 7/27/2008 11:45:00 PM more reviews by faizanj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Exquisite white flower notes rendered in such a way so as to be light yet substantial, thoroughly modern yet composed with a classic touch.

In Love in White (LIW) the daffodils and magnolia are the clear highlights, are given a gentle sprightly introduction by the use of orange zest in the top notes. A combination of daffodils, magnolia, and rose can potentially lead to suffocation but here this floral heart is joined by a rice husk and orange zest to restrain the floral madness that so plagues fragrances from grandma's days (or even when compared to some of Creed's older fragrances for women). The unique twist in LIW is the rice husk note (a note not used that frequently in perfumery), which is rendered flawlessly and lends an intriguing boiling rice accord to the composition. If there is a better integrated rice note in perfumery, I would like to know about it.

Love in White is a well-behaved and well-composed bouquet of white floral notes infused with a transparent layer of orange zest which filters out the cloying heady vapors that so many florals emit. The longevity is excellent and the warm vanilla/sandalwood base introduces a hint of creaminess. LIW is an excellent demonstration in exhibiting the inherent rich characteristics of white flowers in the purest yet most restrained manner.

Only perfumistas who like to bath in heavy french perfumes from the likes of Lutens and Guerlain or worship at the altar of Luca Turin and think Creed has only one good fragrance (Angelique Encens...which surprise suprise smells like old french perfume ala Guerlain) will ignore this slick modern composition and leave senseless one or two line reviews.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rebel_zionfire on 7/27/2008 12:30:00 AM more reviews by rebel_zionfire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Love in White starts off as a very fresh floral bouquet mingling orange zest, daffodils, magnolia, and jasmine in a well blended way. I also get the impression of the sea that Mr. Creed was aiming for. Now while it is pleasant I didn't see it as much of a standout from similar perfumes in the same genre. What really got me, and why I had to immediately write up this review, was the drydown. This mellows down into the most gorgeous and warm mixture of vanilla, ambergris, and Mysore sandalwood one could ever wish to encounter. I've rated it as a 3 since I like to play around with all my samples before making a final decision. However, with this drydown I can easily see it transitioning into a 4 or 5 in the near future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tinye on 7/9/2008 8:28:00 PM more reviews by tinye

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

wow, this is strange. it smells extremely artificial. kind of reminds me of a barbie doll... maybe a my little pony. it's not exactly BAD, but it's certainly plasticky and weird.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rocketqueen on 6/25/2008 9:51:00 AM more reviews by rocketqueen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

In the start, Love In White smells just like Elizabeth Arden's Ardenbeauty on me; light, fresh and somewhat sharp in all its freshness. When the perfume has calmed down a bit, I feel a pure flower bouquet (which isn't all that unlike to Vera Wang's beautiful wedding creation), but not with heady, sensual flowers as sultry jasmine and powerful rose, more a mix of hyacinth, gardenia and iris; those sharp, piercing flowers. The vanilla doesn't reach my nose at all, at least not in a noticeable way. I'm not really getting a big "personality" from this, and it doesn't leave a long-lasting impression.



There is a lot of spring freshness in LiW, so I'll reach for this in the gloomy dark of the winter nights to get a slice of the Spring cake with all its elated glory. Rain-fresh fields are beginning to swirl around in my thoughts; not the heavy, exhaust fume-bulging rain air that surrounds the city streets, this is like strolling on dew-covered meadows a bright morning dawning at four 'o clock, when the tiny birds are warbling their morning tunes cheerfully and the air feels fresh and crisp. I'm not too keen on the dry-down, after a couple of hours LiW leaves nothing but sharpness behind on my skin.


Staying power: 4/10, not too good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiicky on 6/1/2008 9:42:00 PM more reviews by jiicky

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Loved the bottle, absolutely loved the concept but unfortunately disliked the fragrance. This is the only Creed woman's fragrance that I actually disliked. I like most all of Creed's female fragrances and all of the unisex line.


The drydown scent is strange. It has the smell of soured milk which gradually changes over a few hours into something that is petrochemical based-- one of the reviewers here said that it smelled like a plastic doll, I agree that it has a "rubbery" smell which overpowers pretty much everything else. I could not for the life of me smell any florals through the petrochemicals. I am puzzled by all the reviewers who could smell jasmine and other floral notes-- amazing that perfume can smell so different on different people. On me, all I could smell was a combination of milk gone bad and plastic. Love in White is an extremely weird scent. I just don't get it. I wondered how Creed managed to concoct such as synthetic smell out of all natural ingredients-- did he use rubber sap from a Malaysian gum tree?


I recommend that you try the perfume on your skin rather than on one of those paper strips, it may work better on some people than others. Other reviewers have lauded this scent and Love in White may appeal to those with olfactory senses that able to distinguish more of the individual notes. I can't really recommend this scent though because the majority of people in the world don't have such a refined sense of smell. My personal feeling is that Love in White is "weird".

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jemimagold on 4/30/2008 12:03:00 PM more reviews by jemimagold

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love in White is one of my very favorite perfumes – who cares that Luca Turin trashed it in his recent perfume book! He also ridicules Creed's packaging overall which I find rather odd. I think this bottle in particular, with its opaque whiteness, etched feathers and silver bow, is quite stylish.


With Love in White, I initially notice a mélange of orange flowers, almond and musk. After about 20 minutes, notes of sandalwood, vanilla and white flowers begin to appear in a soft well-blended way. The sandalwood and vanilla notes make this into an especially calming and comforting fragrance. In conclusion, Love in White is a soft, elegant fragrance that smells expensive and classy, in an understated way.


Per Basenotes' website, here are the notes: Top: Orange zest from southern Spain; Middle: Young irridescent rice husk from Tonkin, Egyptian Iris, Italian White Jasmin, French Riviera Daffodils, Magnolia, Bulgarian Rose; Base: Vanilla, Ambergris, Mysore Sandalwood.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kdefurio on 3/28/2008 5:18:00 PM more reviews by kdefurio

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i enjoy most Creed Fragrances, this might be my favorite. Its very soft, magical, and plesant, an everyday wear for sure. However, i found this scent wearing off quickly. Come ready to spend some dollars, this is a pricy scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cat1203 on 3/2/2008 11:11:00 AM more reviews by cat1203

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Does James4324 have a brother?? Love in White gets me lots of compliments. It's not my fave but it's unique and original. What surprises me is with all the high brow and high prices with Creed, you don't see alot of really high ratings for it on this site. High prices doesn't equate popularity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* murphysmomkk on 1/20/2008 1:21:00 PM more reviews by murphysmomkk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this ... but, no. Not meant to be. Instant headache and dried down to a weird dairy-ish smell. I can see how it might work on some folks. Please get a tester before you this buy this, it could be an expensive mistake. Am I the only person who thinks all Creeds have this same weird plastic-y, chemical-y, musk-gone-wrong smell?
I guess I am just a dumb ole country gal who can't appeciate fine things!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 serene111 on 12/10/2007 10:25:00 AM more reviews by serene111

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I hated this when it was came out and remember thinking that it was one of the most vile perfumes out there. Then, a few years later as my knowledge and taste in perfumes evolved, I went back and tested it again. It still wasn't a scent that I immediately liked, but this time around I actually put it on and gave it a chance. I'm so glad I did. It's smells really fresh and airy. With a blast of citrus (but it's not a citrusy scent). I now own a full bottle of this. Interestly enough, all my compliments come when I wear this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Creed products

More Fragrances products