Skinceuticals • C E Ferulic • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.7(267 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 rstark14 on 1/7/2013 11:28:00 PM more reviews by rstark14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

SkinCeuticals does not recommend this for acne sufferers. It contains laureth-23 which is a highly comedogenic ingredient. I found this out too late. There are other Vitamin-C serums they have that are gentle for acne-prone skin. I saw absolutely no benefits after finishing an entire bottle. It is very drying.

The packaging is also faulty. An airless pump applicator is needed because every time you remove the cover, the oxygen-sensitive antioxidants are exposed to air, which hinders it's effectiveness overtime.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShibuiMuse on 1/7/2013 8:15:00 PM more reviews by ShibuiMuse

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Something funny happened on the way to bank.......I realized the numbers in my bank balance seemed to be struggling to keep up with the rising costs of getting by. Not a lot of wiggle room for discretionary spending. So when I make "big price-tag" purchases for skin care I want to make every dollar count.

Buying CE Ferulic serum from Skinceuticals has never been a purchase I regretted.
This serum is packed with antioxidants (vitamins E and C) as well as ferulic acid - all of which help to protect the skin from free radicals and to help repair the skin barrier. The serum is dark brown in color and doesnt have the best smell initially, but the smell does not linger on your face. It's packaged in a dark bottle (to protect the active ingredients) with an eyedropper applicator. Yes, CE Ferulic has a high price tag but two or three drops every morning is all you need.

My skin seems to drink this lightweight serum up instantly. I apply right after cleansing to a dry face and let it sink in completely before applying any other product.

I may change my cleanser, moisturizer or foundation from time to time but this product will be a staple in my skin care regime for some time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MarJH on 1/3/2013 4:46:00 PM more reviews by MarJH

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I ordered the trial sample sizes of this on Amazon. I have been using it for about 4 weeks and have only developed cystic acne and blackheads. I haven't had blackheads in years. This has completely clogged my skin and dried me out. My skin is t-zone oily but now is completely dry w/flakes. This is overpriced and the packaging is terrible.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vcat953 on 12/9/2012 7:49:00 AM more reviews by vcat953

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I just started using this 4 months ago and I am a believer. Works great with Retin A, the morning after. I woke up with folds under my eyes one morning and this straightened out that mess. I have been getting many compliments since using this product. A little goes a long way. I swear by it for my 59 year old face. No break outs, no rashes. The Skinstore offered it on discount so I saved 30 dollars on it. They don't offer it often as it is one of those products that are normally excluded from normal discounts. Nov. is when they offered it. It think this product is miraculous.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KimberD22 on 12/6/2012 12:02:00 AM more reviews by KimberD22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product!!! I am 38 and have been using this for about 11 years now. It is a must have for me. Everyone always thinks I look like I'm in my 20's. I never go without this product! My face is always so clear. I use this with the Skin Ceuticals eye serum as well and no crows feet for me! I do remember that there was a small sting when I started using this a while back but that didn't last. I guess my skin is used to it now. If you can get over that, and with prolonged use, you will notice an amazing difference in your face!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 linneahurtig on 10/19/2012 2:52:00 AM more reviews by linneahurtig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

OK, I love skincare. It's what I spend my time and money on.
After having somewhat troublesome skin in my teenage years and always dreamt about perfect clear skin Im pretty much willing to spend a billion on a product IF it works. After hearing good reviews on this one I bought it.

Let me just start this with saying that I ENDED UP AT THE EMERGENCY ROOM AFTER USING THIS.
Yes, I got such a bad rash all over my face, neck and chest (everywere it was applied) that after consulting my doctor over the phone, she highly suggested me to come and see her asap. I was given a bunch of pills for my allergic reaction and it took about a week for my face to get back to normal again. I had small bumps all over my face, it was red, clogged and inflammed.

I HAVE NEVER before experienced a rash or anything of this sort from ANY product. Including Retin-A, 50% glycolic peels etc. I didnt even thought it was possible for my skin to react that way as I have very resiliance skin and it hardly gets upset. I dont have any other allergies.

I understand that my case isnt the case for the next one but I was so very shocked to be honest, that my skin reacted this way as I have "strong" skin.

Im mainly writing this review so that anyone, if they do experience the same thing as me, know that it very well might be this product. I highly suggest doing a patch test before smearing this all over.

I'm thinking that it might be the Ferulic that is causing my reaction. I say this because I used Josie Maran Argain oil a while ago and I got small breakouts from that, after researching it further I found out that Argain Oil acutally contains Ferulic naturally, hence the suspicion.

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tobyleota on 9/19/2012 9:30:00 PM more reviews by tobyleota

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really, really wanted to love this product. I'm living in Florida and concerned about sun damage, and this product would have been worth it had it delivered. I tried it for about a week. Greasy skin, enlarged pores and a large zit were the results. So, like with all products I buy that don't work on my face, I tried it on my decolletage. I had high hopes, since pores and break outs aren't really an issue there and I do have some sun damage in that area. OMG-it broke me out there, too. I have three large pimples right between my boobs. I feel like a sci-fi character.
To top it all off, it smells like hot dog water. Hot dog water! What!?!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimclara on 9/18/2012 2:16:00 PM more reviews by kimclara

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this stuff. I've just finished using my first bottle and I have seen major improvements in my skin. It's smoother, brighter, and more fresh looking. It's very expensive but I think it's worth every single penny. This tiny bottle lasted me awhile too so a little goes a long way. The first time I bought it from my dermatologist but I found a much better price at this website called skincaremarket.net. They sell SkinCeuticals at an amazing price. I got this for $112.99. You can also call them at 888-840-5177. The customer rep was so nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mietta77 on 9/13/2012 8:01:00 AM more reviews by mietta77

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The first time l put this serum on my face neck and chest l came out in a rash l was itchy and burning , it lasted a week, l have tried writing a review on the site l purchased it from and of coarse it wasn't put up , and l have tried contacting the manufactures but they haven't replied .
Update , the manufacturers have contacted me and would like to assist me which is good news , my daughter is now using this product without any problems , l tried it once more and had the same reaction instantly so washed it off , but still have irritation and expect to for a while .

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elliotx on 9/2/2012 6:20:00 PM more reviews by elliotx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for 6 months now and wouldn't want to be without it, despite the fact that it kills me to spend this much on a single product. It makes my skin glow like nothing else, and I feel protected from environmental and sun damage which is just...comforting. The skin I have now as compared to 6 months ago is more even and brighter. I'm 31 and don't have any lines. People always without exception assume I'm in my early 20's, and I attribute a lot of that to C E ferulic. In fact my boyfriend is 25 lol..and he has more signs of aging than I do! So I think good products work and this is one of them.
The only thing I'll add is I did look this up on cosdna and it has some very irritating ingredients. When I first started this it did sting a bit, so if you have sensitive skin you might want to be cautious.
EDIT: This stuff is great..until it begins to degrade. I keep it in the fridge and all that, but it still oxidizes and once that happens it becomes really irritating. My face would just burn upon application and stay very red throughout the day. I had to stop using it--with a good 2 months of product left! It's not worth it to me to throw out a half full bottle in order to replace it with a fresh batch..not to mention it's sooo hard to know for certain you ARE getting a fresh batch when you order online. Not worth it.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products