Skinceuticals • C E Ferulic • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.7(258 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 elliotx on 9/2/2012 6:20:00 PM more reviews by elliotx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for 6 months now and wouldn't want to be without it, despite the fact that it kills me to spend this much on a single product. It makes my skin glow like nothing else, and I feel protected from environmental and sun damage which is just...comforting. The skin I have now as compared to 6 months ago is more even and brighter. I'm 31 and don't have any lines. People always without exception assume I'm in my early 20's, and I attribute a lot of that to C E ferulic. In fact my boyfriend is 25 lol..and he has more signs of aging than I do! So I think good products work and this is one of them.
The only thing I'll add is I did look this up on cosdna and it has some very irritating ingredients. When I first started this it did sting a bit, so if you have sensitive skin you might want to be cautious.
EDIT: This stuff is great..until it begins to degrade. I keep it in the fridge and all that, but it still oxidizes and once that happens it becomes really irritating. My face would just burn upon application and stay very red throughout the day. I had to stop using it--with a good 2 months of product left! It's not worth it to me to throw out a half full bottle in order to replace it with a fresh batch..not to mention it's sooo hard to know for certain you ARE getting a fresh batch when you order online. Not worth it.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BellaG55 on 8/2/2012 12:12:00 PM more reviews by BellaG55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Like a lot of buyers I am very conflicted about this product and it's only the 2nd day of use. After having paid an astronomical sum of money (AND duty fees for Canada) I am going to at least give it a good try but I am really not enjoying the application and awful stickiness. I will put up with the smell IF it's going to be spectacularly effective. I will have to rethink my make-up routine completely as it creates sticky, uneven patches although I give the serum over 20 min to settle and routinely exfoliate and apply glycolic peels. All my other skin-care is quickly (maybe too quickly) absorbed but not this one. I will write a follow-up as time goes by but for the moment I thoroughly dislike it.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 poreblaster2000 on 7/22/2012 10:14:00 PM more reviews by poreblaster2000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My derm recommended 6 drops/night mixed with Epiduo to help fade sun spots and old acne scars. It was way too much (a marketing ploy I assume) so I tried 4 drops, then 3, then 2, then 1 and now NONE. It was thick, oily and sticky and was the cause of my most recent breakouts. Now that I've stopped using it my skin is clearing up. Super disappointing given the cost ($150). What a waste. Obviously will not repurchase. Oh yeah, and it smelled awful!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lacysilk29 on 7/7/2012 5:51:00 PM more reviews by lacysilk29

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

So I've been using this off an on. I was hoping for my skin to even out and have a pretty tone. I just mainly wanted it to clear redness and prevent against free radicals. First off I don't like the smell.. to me it is a mixture of rum and deli meat. Not something I love wiping on my face lol.. Next it's over 100 dollars. It's lasted me a really long time and I'm no where close to running out. I would just say I haven't noticed really any difference, good or bad, in my skin. The product overall I would rate as a 3 because it's neutral.. but because of the price I thought it was a 2.

I love skinceutical sunscreen but not this thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 7/7/2012 1:39:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My esthetician recommended and used this serum, when I visisted Spa in Miami. I was told it's amazing product that contains mostly Vitamin C, antioxidants and it's anti-aging. This product helps with pigmentation and neutralizes free radical damage, and protects against oxidative stress - the factors that lead to premature aging, loss of elasticity, and hyperpigmentation.
Sounds really good but this serum costs $146.00 - little too much. However, I received a little sample bottle that I have been using for a week. I can not tell if it does magic yet, but it is fun to apply it and I like the smell of this serum. I think it's very light brown/yellow color and it smells little bit like coffee.
As much as I like this serum, I still think it's too expensive, I better stick with my monthly glycolic ($35.00 and 30%) peels or microdermabration ($100), that I think does better job than this serum.
UPDATE: I think it broke me out a little on my nose area so I stopped using my sample at the moment.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cityskin on 6/23/2012 1:50:00 AM more reviews by cityskin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used this in 2009 and took a break from it. Being a product junky, I tried multiple products to get the the desired purpose and long-term effects. This product is the safest choice for my needs.

I knocked off a lippy for two reasons: cost and bad experience with purchasing it directly from the vendor's website. I thought it was pretty awful they made us pay for shipping, but to top it off, it came 4 days later than the said date. They could use better customer service.

But the product itself is great and the above was an isolated incident so I guess I can let it go for now.

Overall, my skin was dewy/glowy, hydrate, and it was reassuring to know that the ingredients are stable and will do what it says it will do. It's a little disconcerting to hear people wanting results right away, since this product is a preventative... I will probably make this my staple for many years to come (of course unless there's a cheaper alternative).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RosePedalRN on 6/15/2012 1:06:00 PM more reviews by RosePedalRN

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is THE most expensive vitamin c I have ever purchased, I mean it literally emptied my wallet and to make things worse, I haven't seen any improvement in my skin....the product I received was brown. I once read that vitamin c products are suppose to be from a clear to a tinted yellow. It had a foul odor to it, but I used it anyways since this considered miracle serum is suppose to prevent photo damage.

After giving it a try, the very next morning I just couldn't believe what i was seeing....I noticed small red bumps on the bottom of my chin. I feel like I spend $130 to get red bumps on my chin. If I ever try another vitamin C again, I will either mix my own as you can buy vitamin c serum kits online, or find it somewhere else, after checking prices online found Cosmetic Skin Solutions to be selling some vitamin Cs I will consider without having to worry about digging into my savings account next time..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bear26 on 6/9/2012 11:31:00 AM more reviews by bear26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was actually prescribed/ recommended this by my dermatologist and had a sort or clear skin when I went to see my doctor, except I was having tiny red bumps, small pimples around my mouth. The day after I started using it, I started getting a bad case of acne, like I never had before, multiple, cystic like acne, that took some time to go away, after I stopped using it got better but it took some time to clear up, the pimples just wouldn't go away. One of the ingredients is called Laureth-23 is a number 3 on comedogenic scale, I think this is the reason why I broke out, and when I checked the Skinceuticals webpage I saw that they do not recommend this for acne prone, so it's obviously not good for you, they do have different products for acne prone skin that are probably good, I would try Phloretin CF. CE ferulic was not only bad for me, I gave it to my boyfriend who has very nice skin and he broke out too, smaller acne but lots of them. I would not recommend for acne prone or oily skin, and it does smell quite bad.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rachaelvictorious on 5/13/2012 3:11:00 AM more reviews by rachaelvictorious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Like the rest of Skinceuticals products I've tried, this one is over priced and hasn't done anything for my skin. I am down right angry that I paid so much money for something that didn't do !@#$ for my skin.

I found out that you can buy Vitamin C in whatever form you choose for about $5 for 30ml (last me two months and I use it all over my body), and other actives for a shockingly smaller price tag.

I mix my Vitamin C serum up every day to ensure I get the most from it. Takes me all of 20 seconds.

Actually, outside of my chem peels and sunscreen, I mix all my own skin care products and change the actives to suit my needs.

I can categorically say have had better success doing that, than using any pre-mixed product, and saved myself a boat-load of money in the process.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 medsmku on 4/13/2012 11:45:00 AM more reviews by medsmku

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for about 1 month now. I use this during the day, and Skinceuticals intense line defense at night.

Pros:

CE ferulic does not break me out in hives or irritate my skin the way phloretin CF did.

My skin is definitely softer, smoother, more even.

I have combo skin, and I think this stuff has helped even out some of that combo-ness (ie no dryness in the dry areas, much less greasy in the greasy areas)

I have a couple of fine lines to my left lower eyelid and left corner of my mouth (all only visible if you put a mirror up very close) that are definitely diminished.

Honestly, I can't say for sure if all of these great changes are due more to the line defense serum (I've been using both products simultaneously and for the same amount of time) or the CE ferulic or the combination of the two.

Cons:

I guess price, but I just don't mind spending this much when a bottle lasts so long, and the product ACTUALLY WORKS.

Yes, the smell, although I don't find it revolting, just sort of amusing, like, WTF? hot dogs?? Bizarre.

I'll definitely keep using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products