Stila • Kajal Eye Liner in Onyx • Eyeliner

rated 3.3(206 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 PrettyRummy on 1/30/2011 5:53:00 PM more reviews by PrettyRummy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Worst. Eyeliner. Ever. And I am very fond of Stila's products. This one is probably the most disappointing product in their entire line. So oily! No staying power. I know this may be used for waterlines, but it doesn't even manage to accomplish that much. This is a huge waste of money. Like another gal below me said, this stuff is creamy to a fault. Save your money and spare yourself the mess. Eyeliner is already a pain as it is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 muffinlove on 1/29/2011 11:41:00 PM more reviews by muffinlove

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

At first I thought I hated this eyeliner. But it's grown on me. I only use it on my waterline. And yes I have to reapply it several times a day but whatever. I still keep reaching for it every day and I have about 10 brands of black eyeliner to choose from. It's just so intense with ONE single pass and nothing ever stays on my WL anyway and all of the others take several applications but don't come close to the intensity if this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* normaestrada19 on 1/17/2011 8:43:00 PM more reviews by normaestrada19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this pencil specifically for my waterline. When first drawn on this pencil gives you such a gorgeous black intense line, yay just what I wanted! Well too bad it doesn't stay for more than an hour and when it fades, well it gunks up more than fades due to the intense color. I had lost my receipt from Sephora so I figured I would use this as just a regular eyeliner to line my upper lid, BUT it is waaaay tooo soft to get a decent line up there and sure I could have applied it with a brush and yada, yada, yada, but then what is the point of having a pencil eyeliner if you have to apply it like a gel/creme liner? Thank goodness that Sephora at least gives you store credit :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anyeji on 1/15/2011 10:11:00 PM more reviews by anyeji

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this eyeliner! Although it smudges when touched, I found that when I let it sit for around 5 minutes, it doesn't travel anywhere after it dried. It is super black and is the softest pencil liner that I have tried so far! Overall, it is just awesome and I love the effect that even when it smudges, it gives. It lasts on my eyes for around 8 hours and when it does crease, or start to fade, I just go over it again and it is back to new condition!

I would repurchase this liner definitely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 elizabeth3790 on 1/6/2011 12:13:00 AM more reviews by elizabeth3790

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a TERRIBLE eyeliner. I HATE it with a passion! It smudges too easily. Its messy and just gross! It makes you look like a raccoon after wearing it for less than a couple hours. This was the first and only stila product I ever purchased. I won't purchase anything from a company that produces an eyeliner like this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Missyfoo on 1/3/2011 10:43:00 PM more reviews by Missyfoo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know, maybe I got a dud, but this has to be the worst black eyeliner I have ever used.

Yes, it is super creamy & very black & there is no tugging upon applying. Having said that, it is also too creamy to a fault. It goes everywhere!

I apply in the morning to my waterline & it just smudges & makes a mess under my eyes. By around lunchtime it has left my waterline all patchy & melted to form a dark haze under my eyelashes.

Now I know why, I let it drift to the bottom of my eyeliner basket.

Not worth the money & will never repurchase. I will stick to my MAC engraved from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* galai_curryqueen9830 on 1/3/2011 8:52:00 PM more reviews by galai_curryqueen9830

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

HOLY CRAP....this eyeliner is AMAZING.
I've never been a crayon eyeliner type of girl, but when I bought this in a value set from Costco for $20...I fell in love.

The eyeliner that came in the set was in Onyx, black. It is the darkest black I've ever seen, and I even think this is darker than MAC's Blacktrack fluidline.
It goes on SO DAMN SMOOTH without any tugging at all, and yet you would still get a very black line! Great for a dramatic look, or quickly lining your eyes because it goes on so quick.
I've tried this on my upper and lower lashline and I do find that it smudges quite easily (due to the fact that the liner is so soft) but it stays on if you don't touch it.

I really like this, but the price is way too much. It retails for $18 on Sephora...which IMO, is too expensive for a basic black eyeliner. I'd rather buy a $7 eyeliner from Maybelline and work a little harder and still achieve the same black line than to fork out $18 from my wallet just to purchase this liner.

However, Stila Kajal eyeliners do come in really nice colours, especially Topaz and so if I was looking for a similar colour and couldn't find a cheaper alternative, then I'd get these Kajal eyeliners. But as a basic black eyeliner, I can easily find a substitute for under $10.

Bottom line, I really love this liner. But I would not repurchase this as it is too expensive for such a basic liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mishtix on 12/22/2010 9:00:00 PM more reviews by mishtix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i've used the MAC kohl eyeliner and it doesn't hold a candle to this stila kajal. when trying to rim the lower waterline, the MAC pencil ends up looking like a dark grey, whereas this one is a true intense black. yes it is on the creamier side (if u brush ur finger against it, it will transfer like u wouldn't believe), but it was designed that way to smudge easily and transfer on waterlines easily. i've never used this for the upper lash line, i find my bare escentuals buxom lashliner the best for this...

in regards to application, i find that if i apply it directly onto my waterline throughout the night i will have black goop in the corners of my eyes. i think this is because it transfers too well and there's too much product with one swipe. the best way to apply this to the waterline is to draw / transfer some product onto the tip of a flat definer brush (i.e. MAC 212) and then use that to dab the product onto the waterlines. it applies just the right amount this way. it is still as black as ever but i don't end up having to pick black goop from my tear ducts.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tonifrancisca on 12/5/2010 10:32:00 PM more reviews by tonifrancisca

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an awesome eye liner because the black is very very black, not something you can find easily with other brands. I tried a lot of black eyeliners in the past and none were this intense. This eye liner is meant for smudging, either on the top or lower lid. I love to use this on my lower lash line, and then smudging with my MAC pencil brush. The result is a very glamorous smokey eye all around. For more lasting power, pat or dab some powder on the eyelined area to avoid excessive smudging due to sweating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Czsandoval1 on 12/5/2010 1:28:00 PM more reviews by Czsandoval1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great eyeliner if you don't mind taking the time to smudge it out - it won't look right without doing so. It is extremely black and it's great to use on the waterline too. I would definitely buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Eyeliner products