Aveeno • Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(483 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slidingdoors on 8/29/2013 5:47:00 PM more reviews by slidingdoors

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

After the formula was apparently changed (made harsher) of the organic liquid soap I've used for a couple of years on my face, meaning that I can no longer use it on my face or even my hands, I am having trouble this summer finding a cleanser that my skin does not react badly to.

I am not sure why products that are marketed for "sensitive" skin seem to be anything but mild and gentle -- containing fragrance, essential oils, multiple chemical preservatives, a potpourri of herbs, etc., but they often do.

I have begun to get perioral dermatitis (a red, bumpy rash about 1 inch wide around both sides of the mouth) when a product doesn't agree with me, and this usually flares up with only one exposure to the offending product.

This Aveeno Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser instantly affected my skin for the worse - with one wash, my skin was dry and tight all over - even on my cheeks. The perioral dermatitis that was fading away after being caused by a different new cleanser last week flamed right back up again within 5 minutes of rinsing this cleanser off. It's a definite "no" for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 roodledoodle on 8/9/2013 3:41:00 AM more reviews by roodledoodle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Surprisingly, for a cleanser that is not meant to target acne it does a pretty good job of reducing breakouts and clearing my complexion. I have been on accutane, topical creams, etc and this has always been my go to face wash. It is great to use in combination with topical acne creams and isn't overly drying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupandcupcakes on 7/24/2013 5:48:00 PM more reviews by makeupandcupcakes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

THIS IS MY FAVORITE CLEANSER EVER! I love it! It is calming and doesn't make my skin itch and give me acne and problems. The scent is relaxing and it really cleans my face without over cleaning. It leaves my skin my smooth and soft. If I had acne or pimple, I would use this and it would clear my skin in 3-4 days of use depending on how much acne or pimples you may have though. I really recommend this for everyone especially teens. The only thing I don't like is that sometimes the pump can get Broken and not pump anything so be careful! Overall I really like it and really recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* curlycolor on 7/22/2013 9:26:00 PM more reviews by curlycolor

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this stuff. I have very fair skin with slight redness, and this helps. But what I love is the convenience of the pump, and the way it makes my skin feel SO CLEAN. For those who say it doesn't clean well, keep in mind---it's a foaming cleanser, which means it contains a lot of water, just like a foaming hand soap. So if you're wearing a full face of makeup (and I usually do), this alone isn't going to be enough. To remove my makeup at night, I use coconut oil, then baby wipes, and THEN the cleanser. It's going to be the final product that gets the last bit of your makeup off. I admit sometimes I'm lazy---I skip the oil and use only baby wipes (along with eye makeup remover for mascara). The Aveeno cleanser still works just fine. And if you're using it in the morning, you need no other product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nanamisan on 7/15/2013 10:32:00 PM more reviews by nanamisan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

im torn on this cleanser because on the one hand it is very calming and reduces the redness in my skin (not just temporarily, it really changes my skin with continued use) however i find this can be very drying (especially to my bf it made his skin peel terribly with a few uses) and i believe it either breaks me out, or doesnt clean very well at all, and i only use mineral powder makeup. there is no point in a drying cleanser that doesnt clean, so i probably will not ever repurchase this. maybe if i didnt have such an acne issue and only had redness issues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 angel0225 on 7/2/2013 6:07:00 PM more reviews by angel0225

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have rosacea and this product is really good 2 clean my skin in the morning only. At night I don't use this product 'cuz it doesn't really remove my foundation, but luv 2 use in the morning and doesn't leave your skin dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 slevine2 on 6/25/2013 1:51:00 AM more reviews by slevine2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG foaming cleanser.

That said, I treat foaming cleansers like clarifying shampoos: they're great for clearing the canvas once in a while, but if you use them everyday, you're going to strip your skin of critical hydration.

I use a cream cleanser as my true daily face cleanser and use Aveeno's Ultra Calming cleanser 1-2x/week, depending on the season and humidity (I live in the South). It doesn't dry the skin nearly as much as all the other foaming cleansers I've tried and it really does feel soft on the face. There's no agressive foaming at all (the dispenser creates the foam, not friction with water), and the product is incredibly gentle as far as foaming cleansers go. It rinses clean and removed my makeup thoroughly.

I feel good about recommending this cleanser, especially to people who are trying to ween themselves off abrasive gel-foaming products. And for those who use cream/balm cleansers and are looking for a soft, squeakier clean once in a while, this is a great (and inexpensive) product to try.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Corina1990 on 6/20/2013 5:32:00 AM more reviews by Corina1990

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've repurchased this probably three times atleast, and I'll usually take any chance to try something new. It really does have a calming affect, especially for acne. My face tends to get red and irritated easily and this is very soothing. I love the smell and packaging for this. It leaves me smooth, not oily or dry. I only had an issue with the pump breaking once, but it's still worth purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MacPops on 6/9/2013 11:45:00 PM more reviews by MacPops

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am really disappointed with this cleanser. It doesn't work very well. It doesn't irritate my skin, but there is always residue. I use a warm washcloth after massaging the cleanser in and rinsing with warm water and there is a LOT of makeup left behind. I don't use long-wear makeup either. And another thing that bugs me is the smell. This is a fragrance-free product, but obviously the ingredients will inevitably have their own aroma. I'd prefer if a drop of essential oil or something were included to mask the peculiar oder. I use the fragrance-free Aveeno body wash regularly (have even washed my face with it), and stench is not a problem with the body wash. It's one of my favorites, so I thought I would like this fragrance-free Aveeno product as well. I thought I would get used to the stink, but it's starting to bug me even more each time I use it. I'm not sure I'll be able to finish the bottle because of these two issues. If it's not working, why bother? And I really wanted to like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LexValter on 6/5/2013 6:57:00 PM more reviews by LexValter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser is super gentle on the skin. I don't have sensitive skin, but when summer rolled around I started to break out for the first time. I bought it since Aveeno products usually doesn't irritate my skin and this one worked like a charm for clearing up the acne and redness. What makes this cleanser stand out to me is its ability to remove makeup residue. Usually all the other cleansers I've tried, even the ones that claim to remove makeup, have done poor jobs at tackling leftover eyeliner or mascara. This cleanser mentions that it'll remove makeup, and it does a great job! This has become my go-to cleanser because of its quality, price and easy availability.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveeno products

More Cleansers products