Clinique • Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(1083 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 5/13/2014 4:30:00 AM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

In the past, when I was only oily and dehydration was alien to me, I found this product too hydrating to use. Now that dehydration is a very real issue for my skin, this product isn't hydrating enough.

This pink "cream-gel" feels a little thick but melts onto your skin, spreading easily and sinking in quickly. You don't need too much to cover your whole face, which is nice since it is pricey (2.5 oz for $49.50 or less value for smaller sizes). I wouldn't load it on because I find that it doesn't really give me more hydration -- my skin just feels sticky and tacky. Otherwise, the product sinks in very well.

As for scent, I can't really smell anything except for something light that's a little bit chemical-y. I think the product is supposed to be fragrance-free and that's just the smell of the components.

I have worn this under makeup and find that it works well -- most of the time. I don't remember the exact products I had trouble with but sometimes this made some of my foundations and/or sunscreens pill or apply patchily.

Where this product truly fails for me, though, is in the hydration department. The moisturizer absorbs quickly and then I feel as if I never put moisturizer on in the first place. My skin does feel a little softer but I don't feel hydrated. I've tried putting an occlusive over the Clinique to seal the moisture in and that works beautifully. However, I can't really be sure the occlusive (Elta MD Intense) isn't doing all the work.

I've tried the Intense version of the Clinique moisturizer (Moisture Surge Intense, same price as Extended Thirst Relief) and I find it works very well for my troubled skin. It is heavier, though, so the audience is a bit different. I've loved it during the colder months but I am already doubtful it will be suitable for summer (on me, at least).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KimLoveLe on 4/21/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by KimLoveLe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MAKES SKIN FEEL BABY SOFT.

I find that Clinique's moisturizers are the only moisturizers that will actually make my skin feel soft and supple. I used this for a period of time and I absolutely loved how it made my skin feel. I have honestly never used a moisturizer that kept my face hydrated all day long like this one.

The only downside I would say, is the packaging; I hate hate hate anything that comes in jars like these. It's so inconvenient to have to take out a scooper and scoop out the product each time you use it. Sometimes you just wanna grab and go kinda thing, and with this, you cannot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 breeze1234 on 4/15/2014 11:06:00 AM more reviews by breeze1234

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Meh. I wanted to love this and was excited by all the great reviews, but I just don't find this very moisturizing. My skin is pretty normal (except my stupid greasy nose) and I was looking for a something to help moisturize more around my eyes. I'll keep looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 artey on 4/13/2014 5:55:00 PM more reviews by artey

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. I have normal skin and this cream makes my skin look absolutely radiant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 summerglow123 on 4/10/2014 4:56:00 AM more reviews by summerglow123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a really nice, well moisturizing gel that i've used mostly as a night creme or when not using makeup. I'm acne-prone and oily skin, with dryness on the top layer of the skin. Moisture surge extended thirst relief works well, my skin feels hydrated without making it oily.

Compared to the 'Moisture surge intense' one i liked this formula a lot more.

Extended thirst relief is a lot lighter gel, and smells really good. It doesn't leave a creamy layer on top of the skin, it feels like the skin can breathe.

The only downside for me would be the price. Because of the gel formula i needed to use it more, so it did not last so long time. Also the packaging is not the best one, since you need to dip your fingers in the jar...

However, it has been one of the best moisturizers that my skin appeared to like, so i would consider to repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ShaynaB on 4/8/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by ShaynaB

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have patchy dry skin in areas, because I have skin problems (eczema, seborrheic dermatitis, and overall sensitive skin). This stuff, coupled with some regular hydrocortisone cream, is a life saver for me!

Also, I like the appearance of the product - it is a light pink gel with a slippery feel to it, not heavy at all. I do not like the jar form factor -- I wish this came in a pump style jar so I don't have to dip my fingers into the jar for each use.

When I put it on my face, it doesn't sting at all, even when my skin is irritated. It does not help with the redness per se (that is why I couple it with the hydrocortisone), but one application stops the flakies in their tracks.

I noticed that there are now 2 versions of this product in Sephora: one for all skin types (oil free) and one for extra dry skin. I am speaking from my experience using the one for all skin types (oil free).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 daisydaisys on 4/6/2014 5:26:00 PM more reviews by daisydaisys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Water based gel texture. Doesn't really moisturise. Over scented.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lo08 on 4/2/2014 11:33:00 PM more reviews by Lo08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this stuff. I have extremely sensitive, dry skin (I feel like a crocodile after a shower) and am constantly dousing my face in moisturizer, which can make make me break out. It's a vicious cycle. I found this on my mom's dresser one morning (she had received it as a free sample) while I was searching for some moisturizer, tried it, and it just melted into my skin. It was like I had finally found whatever was supposed to make skin feel good. Needless to say, my mother never did find her moisturizer after that day! It makes my skin feel soft, nourished and clean without making it feel oily or heavy. The only drawback is the price... It retails for about $45 per jar (I'm in Canada), so not sure how expensive it is anywhere else. If you can afford it and have dry skin, buy it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ldugas1 on 3/17/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by Ldugas1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Absolute must-have for travel. The first time I tried this was at an international airport after around 24 hours of travel by bus and plane. While I was waiting for my next flight, I went straight to the makeup duty free to try to put myself back together. This wonderful angel at Clinique then asked if she could help. After cleaning my face with I don't know what, she put this on and it just melted into my skin. By the time she had smoothed it in, she decided that a second coat may be nice (and/or necessary). Since then I will not travel without this. I wouldn't say this is my primary face moisturizer, but it is an absolute necessity for tired, dehydrated travel skin.

I have recently come across a possible dupe with Garnier's Moisture Rescue Gel Cream, but I have yet to find it here in Eastern Europe. If anyone has tried it, let me know.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 chloekas091 on 3/16/2014 6:54:00 AM more reviews by chloekas091

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to love this product because I loved the smell, packaging and consistency. but this stuff broke me out so bad!! and I am not prone to acne. I had to return it after 2 weeks. Such a shame..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Moisturizers products