Cover FX COVER FX

3.7

267 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Actives: Octinoxate 7.5%, Octocrylene 5%, Oxybenzone 2% Ingredients: Diisostearyl Malate, Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate, Synthetic Beeswax, Carnauba Wax, Magnesium Silicate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Neopentyl Glycol Dicaprate, Tricontanyl PVP, Tocopherol, Bisabolol, Cholesteryl Hydroxystearate, Triethoxycaprylyl Silane, Dehydroacetic Acid, BHT May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288).


on 10/26/2012 12:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Just bought this last night, and I have applied it twice so far.

I can tell that it probably wouldn't be so good for wear during any sort of activity where you might break a sweat... Although it feels good on my face, I can tell that it is prone to transferring/running off. I have set it with CoverGirl loose powder, but it still doesn't really seem like it's totally in place on my face.

Coverage is gorgeous, but I use a stippling brush and I absolutely CANNOT imagine applying this stuff any other way. I dab the brush into the pan and then dab it on my face. This allows me to add more coverage where I need it, but the stippling effect stops it from looking mask-like.

So far, so good! I haven't used this with any non-Cover FX primer, so I can't comment on that... Shopper's Drug Mart has a deal on right now where you buy this product and get a CoverFX primer for free! Go! Run! Take advantage of that awesomeness! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/19/2012 10:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If I could only use one beauty product ever again, this would be it. I've used Cover FX's Cream Foundation in M80 for the past five years. It gives INCREDIBLE coverage and matches my skin perfectly. The creamy consistency allows it to be buffed into the skin so it doesn't look like it's just masking your face. Lasts all day on my combination skin, and works well with both powder and cream blushes/bronzers.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my new favorite foundation and probably my new HG. With the right primer and application I find this is the only foundation that goes on in a way that looks exactly like my own skin. It blends in so well that if I didn't see the flaws fade away I would have figured that I forgot to apply foundation. What I do is put on "Mac Prep + Prime face protect spf 50" primer first. Then with my finger I apply streaks of this foundation all over my face or in just problem spots. Then I take a dampened beauty blender and dab it gently over my skin to blend the foundation in. That's it!! I I can get a full or light coverage depending on how much I of this foundation I apply to one area but usually it doesn't take much at all. I have oily skin so the mac prep and prime spf50 helps with that and the dampened beauty blender I think is the key to making it look flawless. With this routine my makeup lasts a good several hours before I need to blot. Also at the end of a 14 hour day it doesn't look as melted away like many of the other foundations that I've used. It holds up well and with a little more blotting and maybe a light powdering I can easily wear it into the night. I am an NC44 and the colour I bought is a B15. Even when I get darker in the summer it still works for me since it appears so much like skin and doesn't come off ashy. There is no doubt I will buy this product again

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2012 1:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'll review this product on coverage, color match, how long it wears and texture. For coverage, it's excellent. I was getting a series of micro dermabrasion and acid peels and my skin looked horrific. This was great to cover up the scarring while I heal. For texture, my God it's too thick. My skin literally could not breathe. And of course I have to wear a sunblock underneath. So after moisturizer, sun block and then this stuff - I might as well have worn a blanket on my face. And then no less, it comes off on everything. I notice it on my sunhat. And on the dog. Yes on the dog. I give him a hug and kiss and sure enough I can see my make up on him. I'm African American and the dog is white - so yeah I can tell he's got brown stuff on him. So annoying. Then as the day went on....it didn't keep it's coverage. I used setting powder but still it would dissipate. So poo on wearability. Then I couldn't quite find the right color. I'm darker than Nia Long (actress) and more like Regina King's (actress) color. I went with the 2nd to darkest color and it was....kind of grayish. It wasn't too yellow and it wasn't too red. Just grayish which was odd. I would have tried the last color available but - the ladies at Stilla were at Sephora and honey - I LOVE LOVE LOVE the "perfet & correct" whipped foundation in deep. Light, perfect color, stays all day with medium coverage. You can build for more coverage and it still stays light. If you build with that Cover Fx - forget it. You're suffocating. I'll do a review on the Stilla @ that product page b/c they tried the new line on me - way too yellow undertones eventhough I am a yellow/gold not red undertone. Anyway, no on the cover fx.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/11/2012 4:31:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I have a lot of experience with all kinds of makeup and have used various cream foundations many times. As much as I wanted to love this, it has to be one of the worst foundations I have ever used. I viewed the company's videos and I purchased the recommended brush and the primer. This stuff was very dry going on and I had moisturized and primed my face before applying the foundation. Once on, it settled in to my pores and made them look HUGE (they aren't). I've actually never had a foundation settle into my pores like this one did. They looked a little better once I set it with powder but still not great. There are much better and less expensive cream foundations out there (like Graftobian HD) so I won't be buying this one again.

I will try using this product just as a concealer and will report back. Hopefully it's not a total waste of $!

ETA: This product does work well as an under eye concealer. I've been using it off and on for a couple of weeks and it is fine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2012 12:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

One of the Best foundations on the market. As a make-up artist, this is the only thing I need in my kit. You have to know how to apply this foundation for it to work properly, but when you do apply it properly it looks amazing on. Great for every day, bridal, flash photography, even film. One of the best foundations on the market (and Canadian, yay!). Love this stuff.


on 8/8/2012 10:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i paired this with cover fx's concealer and covergirl's loose powder to set it. great coverage but made my skin feel veryy heavy. i have oily skin, which didn't help.


on 8/7/2012 5:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This cream foundation requires a setting powder so it's WORKABLE on the skin. Blends easy and feels light after one layer, but starts to looks heavy on the 2nd and 3rd. I use a flat head foundation brush when I want a full coverage look and a wedge sponge when going for a sheer effect. Has SPF 30. Side note: Cream blush goes on easier than a powder form following this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2012 5:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I don't use this as a foundation, because it takes me far too long to apply without looking like a thick mask and even then it is too heavy for daily day-time use. As a concealer, however, this stuff is awesome. I have a tiny bit decanted into a little jar, and to use, I warm it a little on the back of my hand and use my fingers or a brush to conceal blemishes etc. The best part: I am NW5-10 and struggle to find good color matches but E0 is a perfect fair neutral.


on 7/13/2012 11:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is one of those products you want to love. I walked into Sephora on a mission to find that foundation that would take me through the summer. My new secret weapon against the heat. They had a lady from Cover FX in the store and she told me all these wonderful things, it wouldn’t run, you could swim in it, sweat in it, live your summer lifestyle in it worry free. I was so excited!
I don’t usually use a liquid foundation so she used the crème and it didn’t give me that sticky feel I find I get with liquids.
She spent a decent amount of time working on applying perfectly and the finished look was pretty. However by the time I got home after hitting the gym my face was not pretty. I have pretty large pores and the foundation had sunk in and made them visible from space and of course I was shiny all over. I currently use Lancome Duel Finish and it holds up better then Cover FX to regular day.
If your looking for a foundation that looks pretty for a few hours, in the office/classroom then Cover FX is for you.
My search continues.


Back to Top