Cover FX • COVER FX • Foundations

rated 3.7(264 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 DCarter23103 on 8/11/2012 4:31:00 PM more reviews by DCarter23103

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I have a lot of experience with all kinds of makeup and have used various cream foundations many times. As much as I wanted to love this, it has to be one of the worst foundations I have ever used. I viewed the company's videos and I purchased the recommended brush and the primer. This stuff was very dry going on and I had moisturized and primed my face before applying the foundation. Once on, it settled in to my pores and made them look HUGE (they aren't). I've actually never had a foundation settle into my pores like this one did. They looked a little better once I set it with powder but still not great. There are much better and less expensive cream foundations out there (like Graftobian HD) so I won't be buying this one again.

I will try using this product just as a concealer and will report back. Hopefully it's not a total waste of $!

ETA: This product does work well as an under eye concealer. I've been using it off and on for a couple of weeks and it is fine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carmenrachel on 8/9/2012 12:59:00 AM more reviews by carmenrachel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

One of the Best foundations on the market. As a make-up artist, this is the only thing I need in my kit. You have to know how to apply this foundation for it to work properly, but when you do apply it properly it looks amazing on. Great for every day, bridal, flash photography, even film. One of the best foundations on the market (and Canadian, yay!). Love this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emilyw1993 on 8/8/2012 10:05:00 PM more reviews by emilyw1993

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

i paired this with cover fx's concealer and covergirl's loose powder to set it. great coverage but made my skin feel veryy heavy. i have oily skin, which didn't help.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jillbeannw on 8/7/2012 5:08:00 PM more reviews by jillbeannw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This cream foundation requires a setting powder so it's WORKABLE on the skin. Blends easy and feels light after one layer, but starts to looks heavy on the 2nd and 3rd. I use a flat head foundation brush when I want a full coverage look and a wedge sponge when going for a sheer effect. Has SPF 30. Side note: Cream blush goes on easier than a powder form following this foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sleaf on 7/24/2012 5:29:00 AM more reviews by sleaf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't use this as a foundation, because it takes me far too long to apply without looking like a thick mask and even then it is too heavy for daily day-time use. As a concealer, however, this stuff is awesome. I have a tiny bit decanted into a little jar, and to use, I warm it a little on the back of my hand and use my fingers or a brush to conceal blemishes etc. The best part: I am NW5-10 and struggle to find good color matches but E0 is a perfect fair neutral.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Graciefey on 7/13/2012 11:57:00 AM more reviews by Graciefey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of those products you want to love. I walked into Sephora on a mission to find that foundation that would take me through the summer. My new secret weapon against the heat. They had a lady from Cover FX in the store and she told me all these wonderful things, it wouldn’t run, you could swim in it, sweat in it, live your summer lifestyle in it worry free. I was so excited!
I don’t usually use a liquid foundation so she used the crème and it didn’t give me that sticky feel I find I get with liquids.
She spent a decent amount of time working on applying perfectly and the finished look was pretty. However by the time I got home after hitting the gym my face was not pretty. I have pretty large pores and the foundation had sunk in and made them visible from space and of course I was shiny all over. I currently use Lancome Duel Finish and it holds up better then Cover FX to regular day.
If your looking for a foundation that looks pretty for a few hours, in the office/classroom then Cover FX is for you.
My search continues.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimber123 on 7/8/2012 9:32:00 AM more reviews by kimber123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

As a 40 year with old dry skin and tons of melanoma and redness from broken capillaries all over my nose and cheeks, this foundation so far has the best coverage I have ever tried. I feel flawless with it on.I see that some people have written that it is chalky, thick or doesn't spread etc...You MUST use the Cover FX Skin Prep primer before hand. It moisturizes and preps the skin for this product ( or any CoverFX products). It will glide on and create the most beautiful finish. Then I gently set it with the Cover FX setting powder if needed. I suppose you could set it with any loose or pressed powder if you like. Please use the primer before....it will make the difference. I paid about $90 for both products, but I am telling you....worth every penny. I have much more confidence now.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamstep on 6/10/2012 1:28:00 PM more reviews by glamstep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

There is totally a DUPE for this product that I own & love already & its the Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse foundation. I bought CoverFx on vacation in Dubai when I had a massive breakout & could not find a DS nearby. My NC25 skin was matched to M30, M for Mediterranean yellow toned skin, it matches Maybelline SM in Creamy Natural to the T. Its a cream foundation, much like Maybelline & has great coverage, it hid my horrific allergic reaction completely. I found it more drying & difficult to spread & I used way more swipes of my brush (even after the reaction subsided) than I usually do with my Maybelline. It did last longer than Maybelline throughout the day though and that too under much more humid weather, but it also did not look as natural as my Maybelline. It claims to treat inflammation, with its Vitamin E/Bisabolol ingredients & maybe it does, but personally I would rather use skin care products/even medication to treat my skin rather than makeup. I have returned this in the states at Sephora & have gone back to my Maybelline. If this is your HG than try the Maybelline ($8 for 0.49 oz) vs ($42 for 0.4 oz) with a primer/setting spray will give you the same, if not better results. You will be converted, I promise.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DuchessofGrapes on 5/24/2012 5:32:00 AM more reviews by DuchessofGrapes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great foundation. I love that it's oil-free, but still a cream. This is what I turn to when I have a breakout. It works great as a foundation and concealer. I spray a stippling brush with some toner and load it up with some foundation. I then, basically, "stab" my face so that I have dots of the foundation all over my skin. I swirl the brush around to spread out the foundation so that I have a very thin, even layer all over my face. Then I go back in with a concealer brush and add some more coverage over a spot or red area. Presto! I'll sometimes set it with some powder, but most of the times that I don't. It has great staying power and it's never broken out my skin. I'll definitely repurchase it in the future.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Baybeebubble on 5/6/2012 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Baybeebubble

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This really is one of my favourite foundations. I have continued to buy it religiously for the last 2 years, which says alot as I've always had a history of switching and changing every product I come across. It has AMAZING coverage without feeling heavy. A good moisturizer is a MUST if your going use the powder foundation . I use Cetaphil , without this on my skin first I can understand why some people find it dry and chalky . You really must use a moisturiser first then it goes on like a dream. A plus is that it doesn't break me out at all. This is def one of my top foundations , along with estee lauder maximum cover and B.E . Hope this helps guys x x

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover FX products

More Foundations products