Smashbox Photo Finish Primer

3.2

1715 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Silica, Dimethicone/ Vinyldimethicone Crosspolymer, Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Extract, Propylene Glycol, Water (Aqua, Eau), Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Cola Acuminata Seed Extract, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract


on 1/18/2015 10:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I found this primer to be wayyyy too greasy. I don't have oily skin, so I didn't think it would matter. it made my skin feel nice, but I didn't last an amazing amount of time or make my skin super flawless. I really wanted it to work, especially since I paid over $40 for it, but I decided to return it.



on 1/18/2015 12:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Not a big fan of this primer...very plain, basic and too expensive. It does feel very silky smooth on the skin but IMO if you are going to use this product you might as well try the Monistat Chaffing gel since they are nearly identical.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2015 11:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My go-to primer. If you think it's too oily/greasy you are probably using way too much! A little goes a long way! I'm talking like smaller than a pea size! I use a buffer type brush and put a drop or two of this primer and a squirt of smashbox 15 hour foundation (my HG foundation!!) and buff it onto my face. It is amazing stuff!


on 1/12/2015 2:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love this primer but damn it's too expensive. It smooths on nicely and covers my pores very well. My foundation goes on very well overtop and lasts all day. In the summer I'll even just wear this to smooth out my skin. But honestly the ELF primer has the same texture and does the same thing and it's only $3. I wouldn't buy this again just because of the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2015 10:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I know this was one of the first big primers to show up on the market, but apparently I have been living under a rock because I had a premium sample from Sephora and absolutely love this stuff. Now it's not 24 hour coverage, but I'm going to give it a solid eight hours, which I'm content with. I don't have to touch up my powder when I'm at work anymore. My face looks so nice and pretty with this. I just have a smoother complexion and texture. I have oilier skin so I'm going give the oily skin version a try next.


on 12/30/2014 8:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I dont really like it it performs like a drugstore primer and feels greasy as opposed to smooth


on 12/25/2014 2:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used my sephora points to try the full sample size of this product. To be honest, it's alright. It glides on smooth, makesy foundation go on nicely and most importantly, it doesn't make my breakout.

I love benefit's porefessional. I think it does a better job at filling in pores compared to the smashbox primer.


on 12/12/2014 5:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was given this primer as a gift and decided to use it as a base for my makeup on my work days. I don't typically use primer if I'll only be out for a few hours, but on the days where I work 9+ hours, I've experimented to see if this primer works well for me. I'm judging its performance based on the before/after quality of my makeup on long work days.

First off, this primer is definitely not oily (and I have some combo-oily skin) and does glide on smoothly. It does smooth out my face and gives me an even canvas to put my foundation on. It doesn't make me oily during the day and after foundation, I set my makeup with a powder.

After a long work day, my foundation has mostly worn off (especially around my cheeks) so I can't say this primer helps to keep my foundation on any longer than I would expect. I use a dewy foundation, so if this primer were used with a foundation that had a matte finish or was already long lasting on its own, then that might be a winning combination.

I don't have super dry or oily skin so I can't speak on that, but I will try a more long-wearing foundation with this primer to see if it makes any difference. Right now, with my current foundation routine, I'm not that impressed. It's not a holy grail primer for me and I won't repurchase.

This product seems to work differently for everyone, so I would recommend getting a sample or trying it on your skin before purchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2014 2:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I loved this stuff at first. But it doesn't really do anything that my hardcandy primer can't. it covers my smallish sized pores, and smooths my face and makes it easy to apply foundation. But it doesn't make my foundation last any longer than usual. And it makes my skin feel tight. pass.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I didnt realise how amazing this primer was until I didnt use it one day! It makes my foundation so smooth and stay on all day. Although it is expensive it lasts a long time, I've had it for 4 months now and it hasn't run out and I use it everyday!!


Back to Top