Smashbox • Photo Finish Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.2(1636 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Pippi10 on 12/25/2013 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Pippi10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I think it is a great primer; minimize pores and make my skin feel smooth, and it prevents my skin from getting oily, but it also makes my skin break out a little the day after... So I use it only on important events.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 angesala18 on 12/21/2013 7:57:00 PM more reviews by angesala18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I'm almost out of my first tube of this so I think I can give an honest review of the product. This primer is mediocre at best. Honestly, I think it is making me break out. It does go on smoothly and leaves my face feeling like velvet, but my makeup only lasts about four hours before starting to become an oily mess. I am using the green version, which really does not cancel out any of my redness (to be fair my hyper pigmentation is really dark and plentiful). I will not be repurchasing, and should have returned it but I had high hopes that it would somehow magically work one day. Oh well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Youryus on 12/16/2013 8:00:00 AM more reviews by Youryus

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got given a sample of this. At the time of month i tried it on and it completely broke me out, i didnt know if it was that or my time of the month( i dont usually get alot of spots at my time of month) then i did last week. My skins cleared up, i tried it again i dont know if i like it.. You can get other primers that are cheaper, than this which is £20

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pnut30 on 12/16/2013 12:44:00 AM more reviews by Pnut30

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I use the dupe for this...same ingredients n all...monistat chaffing gel. cheap n same ingredients n works just as good

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cookiesandcream231 on 12/14/2013 11:51:00 AM more reviews by cookiesandcream231

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this product after listening to several of my friends rave about it.
I have combination, acne prone skin which breaks out very easily, however this didn't seem to irritate my skin at all.
I use this before putting on my foundation, to be honest I'm not sure how much of a difference it makes to the longevity of my makeup but it feels lovely on my skin and makes applying foundation easier as it simply glides on on top of the primer. The only thing is, my nose can still get a bit oily towards the evening but I just powder my nose and I'm good
Overall, it is a fairly good primer, and I'll buy it again when it runs oul

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laluna82 on 12/6/2013 9:25:00 PM more reviews by laluna82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I don't normally use primer, but one day, my skin realized that it was nearly 30 and started to flake whenever I put on foundation, so I decided to try a sample tube of Smashbox. Where has this stuff been all my life? It glides on like a dream and you really only need a little bit, less than a dime-sized amount. My makeup lasted much longer than if I hadn't used primer.

The only drawback is that this product is very expensive and not carried in many stores. Which is too bad, because I just finished up my sample tube and my skin is begging for more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kalea88 on 11/8/2013 12:54:00 AM more reviews by kalea88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Oh my goodness. I thought, at first, that I was in love with this product. Even my boyfriend noticed that my skin was "so smooth." But, over the past few days, I have had acne like I have never had it before! I normally get a break out every now and then, so didn't think too much of it at first. But it kept getting worse on my chin, and then on my cheeks where I don't normally get acne! The acne marks are also much more severe and painful than any I have ever had before, as normally any of my breakout are extremely mild. I couldn't believe that my acne had reached this point, but was attributing it to hormones, and I even made an appointment to see my doctor.

Thank goodness for MakeupAlley! So glad I saw these reviews and finally figured the problem out. This primer really can make makeup look beautiful. But, if you have any history of even mild acne, be VERY cautious!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 englande on 11/7/2013 1:02:00 PM more reviews by englande

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am so glad I got a free trial size and didn't buy it. It is way expensive. It felt so dry going on. If it worked well, I could have ignored the feeling of its application. It was very smooth, but dried out my face, bad! Not to mention, I felt like when I was applying that it made my face hot and red. Perhaps I was having some kind of reaction to it, but I am not sure. My face broke out after only 2 days. It took a while to clear up the acne too! Nor did I notice any difference in the look and application of my foundation. I don't get all the hype about this, but since I didn't pay anything for trying it, I had nothing to lose....except my clear complexion. It's just another step in my makeup routine, which is already long enough! I don't recommend this product, especially since there are cheaper alternatives. Did you know that the monistat chafing gel is almost the exact same thing for $4? It has very similar ingredients.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yourserenely on 11/5/2013 5:47:00 AM more reviews by yourserenely

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use the hydration version of this product and let me say: it's an absolute beaut.

To my fellow oily-miened ladies, there is hope! Never do you have to collect the oil at the end of a day and wonder if you should just contact Shell for a business deal. I could ramble on but I'm just gonna make a list:

Pros:

- Absolutely beautiful application: very light, very gentle, settles in very quickly
- Does what it does: it's a rarity to find products these days that delivers what it promises. I've had no problems like streaky or runny make up after long periods of time
- Moisturizes oily skin without greasing it up: I cannot tell you how happy I am to find a product that gives my skin a good drink of water without leaving that heavy residue on my face at the end of the day
- A little product goes a long way
- No overwhelming smell

Cons:

- Pricey, but as aforementioned, you only ever need a tiny bit. Honestly pros outweigh the cons by so much, even if it couldn't last so long I would buy it anyway.

It might be difficult for people of other skin types to wonder why I love this so primer so much, but people with oily skin often try really hard to find the product that gives them the right balance between hydration and keeping their natural oils at bay. A lot of products either don't hydrate or they hydrate so much, it's overwhelming.

A total treat.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xcanvasx on 11/4/2013 8:40:00 PM more reviews by xcanvasx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I recently purchased this at a local store. I definitely noticed a difference... Typically, my makeup does come off a bit during the day. However, with this, it seems to stay on a lot better. But if there's one thing I've learned while using this: A little bit goes a LONG way. If you're thinking about trying this, do not use a lot. Also, I've heard that it can tend to clog pores, but I haven't noticed anything on myself yet...
Maybe I'll update later if this causes any trouble. But so far, it hasn't.

Overall, I would not buy this again. I'm glad that I tried/am trying it, but I'll look for a cheaper primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Primer/ Corrector products