La Roche Posay • Effaclar K • Treatments

rated 3.8(204 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thiebautrenata on 4/27/2012 1:51:00 AM more reviews by thiebautrenata

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I never had too many pimples, but the ones I had here and there when I was a teenager were leaving huge scars. So yea, I took Accutane for over a year and my skin was amazing. However, 10 years later, my problem is back. I just felt like crying.
As I live in China and I don't have access to good medical products, I started using some tea tree oil, which was good to control my oily skin. However, I have two recent dark spots that I tried to treat with tea tree oil and Avene diacneal. Both did not work to fade them, and I developed allergy to the Avene one.
I decided to buy Affaclar k to see if my dark spots and scars get some better. I've been using it for a week, and my dark spots caused by acne faded like 80%. I like the fact that it doesn't dry out my skin, I don't have breakouts and there is no peeling effect (at least until now). I used it twice a day, followed by my Redermic. So far, I am very happy with it. I was thinking of using it together with Effaclar Duo, but I felt no necessity.
These are very happy words coming from someone who used Accutane before.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ctlee420 on 4/26/2012 3:17:00 PM more reviews by ctlee420

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is AMAZING!! I just turned 26 and my skin is changing and I'm suddenly getting zits like never before :/ I've been trying tons of acne products but since I have sensitive skin they all just made it worse, until I found this! I was using the Effaclar M for a while but I still had these really deep stubborn pimples that wouldn't go away! Since I've been using the Effaclar K all those pimples are finally coming to the surface and my skin looks a million times better. Seriously buy this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 4/8/2012 5:14:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I believe it's an effective product as long as you don't expect too much, cause it won't cure all your acne. But it will help.


My skin regime is washing with cleanser (such as cleanance etc), effaclar K and sunscreen in the morning.
When I return home I'll take off my make up and use a light moisturizer afterwards.
At night I'll wash my face with the cleanser again and apply triacneal. That keeps my face clear most of the time without drying my skin out (It's combination acne prone)


Back to Effaclar K


Cons:
1. The biggest downside for me is the SMELL. Seriously, it's the most offensive smelling skin care product I've ever used. Strong, acidic medicinal I'd say. It is a bummer but it doesn't linger long and I try to ignore this point but I was shocked at first.


2. Does nothing for my pores


3. Leaves my face a tiny bit greasy


4. Stings sometimes, but it's expected due to the AHA


5. I'm not sure if it's safe to use it during summer even with sunscreen


6. It's not really moisturizing. It won't dry your skin out but it won't add any hydration either


Seems there are many downsides but helps my skin stay clear, evens out my skin tone and eliminates blackheads. It's not expensive either and the tube will last around 4-5 months, so I believe it's worth it. I might repurchase in the future but I'll try Keracnyl creme first!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SweetTartx3 on 4/8/2012 2:28:00 AM more reviews by SweetTartx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing moisturizer for oily skin. I've struggled with having a very shiny face for years and nothing really helped as much as this. It leaves your skin so smooth and its not too over drying, it can be for certain people but for people with very oily skin like me its perfect. Worth the price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rach90 on 3/24/2012 9:59:00 PM more reviews by rach90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

AMAZING! Boots was doing a promotion on this range; 2 for 15. It has radically changed the condition of my skin! My skin is still clearing up, I'm guilty for picking whenever I have a deadline coming up so it's like back to square one. But this is there to help me recover. It helped the pigmentation dramatically and the overall texture. I use this in the morning after my shower, and instead of the Effaclar Duo if I'm feeling a little more sensitive.
I've been using it for almost 2 months and I've got 1/4 of the tube left, but a tiny bit goes a long way. The only thing that bothers me is that is a metal tube, so its going to be annoying squeezing the last bit out. Other than that I'll be using this again. Hopefully my skin won't stop responding to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ivyn on 2/27/2012 2:34:00 AM more reviews by ivyn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've used this over 2 weeks and is doing nothing to my skin. My pores and skin texture are exactly the same. I don't feel any dryness nor any changes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 naz85 on 2/6/2012 5:00:00 PM more reviews by naz85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my moisturiser of choice.

I'm lucky enough to have very normal skin on most of my face, aside from a slightly oily nose. My skin isn't reactive (although it hates the sun and is extremely photosensitive). I'm 26 so don't have any wrinkles, but what I do have is slight pigmentation issue around my mouth as well as scars from when I've picked (I know, I know!).

This light moisturiser, designed for oily skins, works wonders on my skintype. It's a very light fluid and you would be forgiven for thinking it isn't doing much at all. But somehow, it manages to keep my skin in tiptop condition with barely any imperfections.

I don't like the metal tube this comes it, as I find the lid doesn't close very well which annoys me. The only other negative I can think of is that this doesn't provide enough moisture in very very cold weather.

Overall, I love this moisturiser and have countless tubes at home.

Oh, but before I forget, the formula has been recently 'reinforced' and I haven't tried the new version. Hopefully it will perform just as well as I will be bitterly diappointed if it doesn't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 agatka7 on 2/4/2012 10:58:00 AM more reviews by agatka7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This product had no effect on my skin. It did not break me out, did not dry me out, but it did not improve my skin either (no change in texture, oil production, discolorations etc). I do like the light texture, it absorbs fast and has no fragrance. The packaging is hygienic and because it's a squeeze tube it's possible to use all of the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SoCalNanny on 2/4/2012 5:25:00 AM more reviews by SoCalNanny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

At 34 my skin is oily/combo/acne prone. Not just a "pimple" here and there but actual cystic acne. I've tried everything (even a prescription topical prescribed to me)-with no results. I tried this after browsing a beauty blog that raced on and on about this as a primer. I don't use it alone-a bit drying, but apply before my moisturizer or my tinted moisturizer. So far, so good! Leaves my skin baby soft and although my acne is 100% gone, it's definitely on it's way and i will definitely be repurchasing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jconfer on 1/23/2012 7:15:00 PM more reviews by jconfer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a must try with Korres Pomegrante toner, then Effaclar K, and Korres Rose moisturizer by day and retin a at night! IT IS THE ONLY MIXTURE that has cleared up my adult acne that is caused by hormones and PCOS. I recommend for anyone to try this skincare routine if you have normal to combination skin, that is acne prone. My skin has never been so hydrated and clear. I couldnt be happier!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments products