Seche Vite • Dry Fast Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(1580 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 nic0lee on 1/22/2014 3:15:00 PM more reviews by nic0lee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat is probably the worse topcoat I have ever used. I feel like this product is over hyped, or maybe I just had a bad experience. However, the product smells really quite bad, worse than your ordinary nail polish. I found the formula very thick, too thick for my liking. It made my nail polish chip off quicker, I may as well have used no topcoat! And lastly, only after having it for a few weeks, it went completely gloopy, thick and gross. Defiantly will not be repurchasing!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/22/2014 2:49:00 PM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I work at a spa and this is the top coat we use, and I also use it on myself. It's number one job is that it dries really fast, in a matter of seconds! However, there are a couple things you have to realize. You can't go running your nails into something hard because it will still mess them up, because the two coats underneath aren't dry. You still need to be careful for about 30 minutes. Also, this polish does get pretty thick if you have it for a long time, so it doesn't last forever. It isn't meant to.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TwiPixie on 1/22/2014 2:33:00 PM more reviews by TwiPixie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This changed everything!
I used to never paint my nails because they took forever to dry (like paint them at 2pm, go to bed at 2am and they would get printed by the sheets) and now I can finally paint them!
First of all I dont care if it makes the polish last longer or not chip, I just want it to dry fast and that is what it does.

I put a coat of this on (even when my polish underneath is still wet) and 2min later is dry. I can press my finger against the nail - it's solid, no prints. AMAZING!
It does have a distinct smell but it doesnt linger so I dont mind.
Will forever repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 griggs42 on 1/20/2014 3:01:00 PM more reviews by griggs42

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I enjoy this top coat. The ingredients don't bother me, but the smell is a bit off putting initially. I'm completely willing to get over that for this product, though! It keeps my polish from chipping for around 6 or 7 days (without it I get 2 to 3). It makes my nails shinier as well. I did take off a star for the directions they give, I tried following them a few times, but it was always too much and almost turned me off to the product - it was goopy and would clump on the sides of my nails. I instead use it just like any other polish or top coat, by taking a bit off the brush so it isn't too much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ajimenez531 on 1/18/2014 1:11:00 AM more reviews by Ajimenez531

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this product when I discovered it as I had not mastered painting my nails. This product will make the worst paint job look like an expensive manicure, it smooths out any bumps it just makes your nails perfect. I do not find this to be long lasting or fast drying as I think that all depends on the main nail polish you use. I find thia to be quite pricy as you have to repurchase frequently because the bottle dries out extrely fast. I've bought 3 bottles to give it the benefit of the doubt and always by the time I used up half the bottle it got really hard and was unable to get amazing manicures. The topcoats are always on sale at sally's if you dont mind getting a few, although magnificent few, uses out of it. I recommend NYC grand central station polish, its $1.99 and does an awesome job dries quicly and looks great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Pestina18 on 1/13/2014 11:55:00 PM more reviews by Pestina18

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Quick highlights: smelly, strange color, contains toxic chemicals (is NOT 3-free), doesn't keep polish on longer |||||
Won't buy again. After hearing the hype about Seche Vite top coat, I finally decided to try it. It was fairly expensive, but I ordered it online in a two-for-one deal. Had I read the ingredients, I wouldn't have bought one - let alone two.

First of all, this nail polish STINKS. It's the only polish I own that smells so bad. The worst part is that the smell lingers on nails. If I apply it on a Friday afternoon, wash my hands multiple times and shower, I will still be smelling it on my nails all through Saturday. Yuck. It makes polish super shiny, but also makes light-colored nail polish look dirty.

Most importantly, Seche Vite is not a three-free nail polish. It contains toluene, a toxic chemical. There's a WARNING on the back of the bottle that says, "This product contains a chemical known to the state of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm." No way! I usually only buy three-free brands (no formaldehyde, toluene, or DBP). Seche Vite is not one of them. I don't eat after applying it, I wash my hands, and I certainly wouldn't use it on children or if I were pregnant.

This polish keeps my polish on longer than using no top coat at all, but it isn't any better than any other top coat. My nails start chipping within 2-3 days, like they would do with any other top coat. It also doesn't dry quickly - while the top layer dries in seconds, it still takes a few hours for your manicure to dry completely, as it usually would. I don't understand the hype. I bought two bottles, but I threw one out and I'll only be using the other bottle when I'm going away and won't be able to touch up my nails. But I definitely wouldn't buy this again.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 valer0us on 1/9/2014 11:11:00 PM more reviews by valer0us

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using his top coat for a few years now and it's by far the best. It dries quickly through thick and thin polish though it's best not to make the layers too thick or it promotes chipping. Purchase their refill set online for about $14 and their restore product for about $8 on amazon to get the most for your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hebedros on 1/7/2014 12:44:00 PM more reviews by hebedros

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Now that I am half way through the bottle, I feel I can write a review. First of all, the stuff works really well - I can apply two thick coats of polish, and without letting it dry at all, add a thick coat of Seche Vite and miraculously my nails are dry within minutes. This has saved me so much time doing my manicures! The reason I didn't rate it higher is because I've read it contains toluene, and I'd rather not inhale the toxic fumes every time I do my nails (which is often!) The other reason for my rating is that is does get very thick and gloppy about halfway through - I have to be careful not to apply dried blobs of the stuff which get stuck to my nails. Overall, I probably won't buy it again, which is too bad given how well it works and the price. I'm hoping Dior Top Coat is better (I'm going to try that next).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Justagirl78 on 1/7/2014 10:56:00 AM more reviews by Justagirl78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Where to start with this? It smells. STRONG! But that doesn't put me off using it. If I don't completely wrap the colour on my nails, the seche vite will shrink, leaving the tips of my nails looking like a 3 day old manicure, which I really hate.

I put a coat of this on, whilst my polish is still tacky and it goes on beautifully. The only problem I do have with it, hence only 4 lippies, is that when using it on dark colours, it can take the colour off and onto the brush, therefore into the bottle.

I was using OPI The Spy who Loved me over Christmas and used this on top. New year rolled around and I spent half an hour doing a beautiful french manicure, came to add the seche top coat and it dragged tiny flecks of the previous red OPI over them. Disappointed doesn't come close.

However, it's still a brilliant colour. Drys super fast and even my boyfriend has commented how nice and glossy my nails look once done. I find it does help my polish to last a lot longer than my old top coat so I will probably re-purchase this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 1/6/2014 11:31:00 PM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat reigns supreme as far as I'm concerned. It's far superior to Revlon, Sally Hansen and OPI.
When I apply Seche Vite, my nails are dry to a light touch within a few minutes and within an hour's time, they're usually completely dry. I usually re-do my nails before bed so they can dry overnight. (I am careful when I sleep to avoid any smudge marks on my nails)

The real test is how my polish withstands the rigours of day to day life. I don't wear gloves when I do the dishes or housework and I wash my hands a number of times during the day. To my amazement, my polish does not chip thanks to the Seche Vite top coat. I've even used my nails to open makeup compacts and cans of pop without any chips. (I don't recommend using nails to do this on a regular basis)
My nails are pretty strong to begin with so I don't have any problems with breaking.
On average, a manicure will last about four days without chipping plus the shine is so attractive.

I won't be using any other top coat other than Seche Vite. At last, beautiful, long lasting manicures.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Seche Vite products

More Top/Base Coats products