Seche Vite • Dry Fast Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(1651 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 icestars on 7/19/2014 10:40:00 PM more reviews by icestars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One word - AMAZING!

I love it! The first time I used it, I couldn't stop staring at my nails. I had painted them gold and I thought I was rich because they looked so real! Seche Vite dries within minutes and is amazing if you paint your nails and go like me.

Not to mention, it's so glossy it's as if your staring at wet hair. Everything is so shiny and I look at nail polish in a new light.

Unfortunately, it shrinks HORRIBLY. Within the next day, you can see the tips of my nails. Kind of defeats the purpose, don't you think? Yes, I wrap the tips of my base coat, color, and Seche Vite. It doesn't help. Really bad downside, isn't it? Oh well. At least I'm addicted to nail polish. I paint my nails so much it doesn't shrink too bad before I paint again.

So the next word I would describe this as - Great.

A few weeks later, it goes goopy on me. Really? Did you have to? I've read how goopy it gets but never imagined that quick. I barely got through a quarter of the bottle and it just decides to trap bubbles and have thick stringy layers and everything. For the price I guess it's sort of a disappointment. It's so thick it can get hard to apply.

Of course you can get Seche Restore, but when my favorite quick dry top coat is Revlon Quick Dry Top coat. which DOESN'T get so goopy quickly, I didn't really want to spend the extra bucks on a thinner. Yes, the top coat still works fine, but it just isn't preferable to have bubbles. Plus, it's harder to apply. Sometimes I still use it, when I want a super shiny manicure, but it's kind of a love hate relationship.

Did I mention the horrible scent? Yes, it smells bad but it kind of grew on me. Now I'm used to it and all is well. I actually prefer normal nail polish smell over it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zagliadod on 7/12/2014 7:27:00 PM more reviews by Zagliadod

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I recently got some nail stamping supplies and tried 4 other top coats to seal the designs before trying this. All the others dissolved and smeared the polish in varying degrees. This one did not affect the stamping in any way. I will update after I find out how long my manicures take to start chipping.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 honeyappleseed on 7/9/2014 12:36:00 PM more reviews by honeyappleseed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this product makes your nails dry super fast but it doesnt help with chipping like you think a top coat would. not worth the money

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xojlg on 7/9/2014 1:00:00 AM more reviews by xojlg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This was one of the most disappointing products I've ever purchased. After hearing soo many good things about it I just had to get it. Even though it was like $12-15 which is pretty ridiculous. I really wanted to love it but it's just not that great. Yes it definitely dries fast and gives a nice glossy look to your nails but as for preventing chipped nails? Not that great .. at all. People were saying it kept their nail polish from chipping for over a week. I tried this topcoat with every brand of nail polish you can think of and after like 2-3 days it chipped like with any other top coat I've used. Oh and the smell is absolutely horrible and very strong as well. Very chemical-y smelling. Lastly, like most top coats once you get a bit closer to the bottom of the bottle it starts to get stringy and gross which is a pain in the ass given the price. I will definitely not be repurchasing as my $6 revlon top coat is much much better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cyberhd on 7/5/2014 10:53:00 PM more reviews by cyberhd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used to like this Top Coat that I purchased 3 bottles. Its very shiny & dries fast. But it hardens quickly in the bottle half way full. I've never seen it in any nail polish before. What a waste, I even added nail polish thinner but it was hard like cement. Won't be buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 moonlullabye on 7/4/2014 11:46:00 AM more reviews by moonlullabye

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate this top coat! It does make your manicure dry fast, but it severely shortens the life of the polish and I absolutely can't stand it. My nails chip after one day when I use this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TemperamentalBeauty on 7/2/2014 4:37:00 PM more reviews by TemperamentalBeauty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this top coat! It is one of the best top coats I have tried and own ( and I own A LOT) it dries your nails COMPLETELY to the nail bed in 10 minutes. It also give a great shine finsh and I find that my manicure last longer with it. Now, I will say I usually wear Essie, OPI, Orly, China Glaze, Butter, Ciate, Nars, Dior and Vernis. These are pretty great nail varnishes in their own right so I'm not sure if the combination is what makes my manicure so amazing when using this product. With that said I have tried it with in-expensive brands like loreal and Revlon a couple of times and got great results. With Essie the combination gives a gel like manicure result. Now to the downside and reason why I did not give it 5 lippies, and that would be the "goupiness" that occurs after using about half the bottle. The formular gets very thick which renders the bloody thing impossible to work with. There is a thinner that you can purchase to help with this but who wants to spend addtional money on something that should work they way it did when you first open it! I tried the thinner ( Seche restore) and yes it worked, and only because I love this top coat so much I am kinda ok with the additnal purchase. You can also use the thinner with other nail polishes as well as future bottle of Seche Vite top coats. If you want an out the door nail polish top coat that looks amazing this is the top coat to get, I honestly think it is a must have for any "nailfornatic"!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Vaska on 6/30/2014 3:31:00 AM more reviews by Vaska

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Actually this is the best top coat I've ever tried. And I've tried many. Shiny and fast drying, long lasting and it can fix minor mistakes made during the polishing.
The only downside is after it gets into 2/3 of the bottle, it's impossible to work with. It gets too thick and I can't even use it to coat my 10 nails because it will create this "string" when you take the brush out to use it. Like it's drying too too fast. So even though I love it when it's new, they better work on the formula.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yjanney on 6/25/2014 more reviews by yjanney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use OPI Drip Dry over my top coat to speed up the drying process, but disliked it because it was so oily. This combo of a top coat AND quick drying solvent is great! Saves me money, hassle and a whole extra step. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hair on 6/23/2014 5:41:00 PM more reviews by hair

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is genius, I finally broke down and bought today. Words cannot express how amazing this top coat is. smooth shine, makes my nail polish look much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Seche Vite products

More Top/Base Coats products