MAC • Tarnish Eye Kohl • Eyeliner

rated 4.5(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 santra2 on 9/26/2007 8:33:00 PM more reviews by santra2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really love the kohls by MAC. My favorites are Blooz and Prunella. I also own Teddy in addition to Tarnish. Tarnish is a lot like Blooz. They both look black until they're smudged a little or applied in a thick line. It's a dark black hunter green. Looks gorgeous with Femme Noir e/s.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 snis on 9/2/2007 3:22:00 PM more reviews by snis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am a big fan of MAC eyeliners. I have several and this is another great addition to the collection. As has been stated, it is a blackened forest green pencil with a great texture which looks really good smudeged. It works well with dark eyes and darker skintones (I am NC44) and adds some interest to gray and and bronze shadows. It will especially work well for fall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 8/26/2007 10:05:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This I like! It is a blackened forest green. So like the other ones like this, if you draw a fine line...it looks black, but if it smudges or you do a thicker line you can see the color. When the green shows, it is so pretty! Blooz was recommended for my brown eyes, but unless I made a perfect thin line the blue would really show up. And I just didn't think the blue color that showed was pretty...it just blared "off" when I saw it. It made my eyes look like I had allergy shiners. But the green in Tarnish looks gorgeous when I draw a thicker line. The green worked so much better on me (or maybe I just like it better). The green looks so pretty. If Blooz or Prunella intrigued you, but didn't work...try Tarnish. It might be what you are looking for. It is the same blackened type pencil as Blooz and Prunella, but a beautiful forest green instead of the blue or purple hue that Blooz and Prunella have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LylaLeah on 5/6/2007 10:49:00 AM more reviews by LylaLeah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used to use cheap eyeliners in the past before switching to MAC fluidlines (which are great btw). However, I was looking for a dark green eyeliner and saw MUA board recommendations for MAC tarnish or Clinique's Egyptian. I couldn't find Clinique's where I lived so I bought tarnish and I love it. It smudges well and is very creamy and goes on smoothly. I can only detect a subtle green colour in it as its a blackened-green but now I think this is somewhat perferable to what I originally wanted as the green isn't overpowering and it looks great with many colours. I would repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cara4art on 4/7/2007 2:40:00 AM more reviews by cara4art

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

GORGEOUS color - you just don't know hard it is to find a good really dark green eyeliner at the drugstore - that's why I'm going to cave and buy this more expensive one. I had a makeup job yesterday with a good MAC artist, and he used this on me as I was intrigued. Love it - my HG for sure, and really brought out my eyes as nothing else. Excellent quality as many MAC products are. Highly-pigmented too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jackie0219 on 3/14/2007 2:32:00 PM more reviews by Jackie0219

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in love!!! :D This is the hottest Forest Green/black eyeliner to ever grace my peepers...This liner blends beautifully to create the perfect smoky eye-the end result is truly breathtaking! It's like the ultimate seduction tool-hehehe ;) I haven't had any problems with smudging, I find that less is more with this pencil..all it takes is a lightly applied line, blended in well. I paired it with an eyeshadow similar in color applied to my lid only and the result was awesome! I'm a C30/almost black hair/dark eyes by the way...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shadowgerl on 1/21/2007 6:16:00 AM more reviews by shadowgerl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

just a black eyeliner, couldnt detect any of the green once on my eye. no lasting power

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mollybeanhead on 12/29/2006 12:16:00 PM more reviews by Mollybeanhead

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Violet    

I love this eyeliner. I'm really pale, with natural red hair, and blue/grey eyes, and this one is a big winner for me. It's a lot less harsh than flat black,but still is good for defining. I always get tons of compliments when I wear this, as it seems to make my skin look creamier, and my eyes more grey than blue.
I don't have a problem with it smudging...i just line my lower lash line with UD primer potion before-hand and it stays all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 distruggo on 8/27/2006 8:42:00 PM more reviews by distruggo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This was my first "high-end" eyeliner and still remains my favorite. I have very sensitive eyes, so unfortunately I cannot use d/s brands. They always make my eyes very, very red and very, very itchy.

Anyways, Tarnish is a deep, deep green with goldish flecks. Some described it as a shimmer, but on me, it shows up as more of a superfine glitter. I have dark jade-green eyes, so it makes them "pop" much more than brown and looks much more natural than black. While it DOES slide off somewhat [which accounts for the -1 lippy], I have oily eyelids, so most eye products don't last too long. Overall, a great product, especially if you have an olive-ish complexion and deep green eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 d_e_s on 8/2/2006 3:51:00 AM more reviews by d_e_s

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this color. It's a really gorgeous shade...a deep, blackened green that has tiny hints of shimmer or glitter in it. Walks a fine line between darkest green and black. MAC calls it "twinkled black forest green". Sound pretty? It really is. I give the color a 5.

However, the problem I have with Tarnish, and why I've given it such a low rating, is because of my love hate relationship with it. Love the color, but hate the fact that it smears horribly.

The first time I purchased Tarnish I was so excited. I just had to have it after I saw it. Got it home and started playing around with the new things I'd bought, and imagine my horror when it smeared like crazy! I couldn't make it through a day wearing Tarnish, because it just does not last. It would end up all over the place. Finally, I exchanged it for some MAC eyeshadows.

Well, I had forgotten all about it for a while until I saw Tarnish again at my local MAC counter. I guess it had been so long that I'd forgotten why things didn't work out with it in the first place, because I bought myself another. Again, I took it home and tried wearing it out, to the same results. The problem is definitely in the eye pencil. I'm sorry to say it, because I really love the color, but I won't be buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products