Jean Paul Gaultier Classique EDP

3.9

86 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/20/2009 6:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I work at The Body Shop, so I cannot wear "other" fragrances while at work. But this is one of my all-time favorite fragrances... ever.

I fell in love with it when an old college-roommate wore it. I wear it when I go out or am not at work. My boyfriend loves it. I love the sexy packaging. It has lasting power without giving me a migraine (always important)...

I can't say anything negative about it other than the price, but come on... it's an eau de parfum, meaning it's more concentrated, and it's JPG.

Definitely smell both the EDP and the EDT, because they DO smell different.

I should probably add that I smell a woody, exotic, feminine floral-ness WITHOUT any fake-perfume, sugar, powdery, nastiness to it. I really think everyone smells things a tad differently. I would not describe this solely as floral. Nor is it sweet to me at all. In the past I've worn Vanilla, Clinique Happy, and CK Euphoria (which gave me migraines, unfortunately). This is above them all, hands down.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 5/31/2009 12:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Love this! It just works with my chemistry so well and I cannot help but feel sexy when I put it on. I think you just know when a scent is yours (it's like putting on your best outfit-you just instantly have confidence and feel good) To me it's a floral/oriental, it's sweet, sexy, comfortable, and warm. I tend towards oriental/woody scents and this is perfect in my collection. I also hate anything too strong and this is always just right for me. I also wear Lolita Lempicka, Emporio Armani She, L de Lolita Lempicka, and Euphoria. If you love those I suggest giving Jean Paul EDP a go. And the bottle is so beautiful and would look good on any womans vanity tray!


on 5/24/2009 6:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Classique EDP is an extremely sweet, floral fragrance. The first thing that came to mind is bubble gum. To me, this fragrance smells like bubble gum with some cinnamon sprinkled on top. So, if you like sweeter fragrances with a touch of spice, Classique may be for you. Pleasant smelling but too sweet of a fragrance for me.


on 5/11/2009 12:31:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Gaultier2 is a hit with me so I wanted to branch out with other JPG frangrances and tried the Classique ...... the edt smelled horrible on me and the edp smelled better so I purchased a bottle but noted that hours later it started to turn on me and became headache inducing ..... it went back the next day. In my opinion Gaultier2 is the hit of JPG fragrance line, but sadly it is discontinued ...... why, why, why??????


on 3/5/2009 1:18:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

While I love the rich orange blossom of vintage JPG Classique edt,
the edp is quite a different fragrance. Way too heavy and woody
on me. The body lotion and cream smell like the edp.


on 1/15/2009 1:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

While I don't think this scent is in any way awful, it isn't anything spectacular, either. I tried it on my skin, wanting to love it so that I could take the sexy bottle home and put it on display, but it smelled, to my nose, exactly like a dryer sheet. I get a thrill out of a closet-full of clean laundry, but I don't love it enough to want to smell like it all day. Perhaps I would have enjoyed it more if I hadn't had that immediate association. The staying power is decent and I detect quite a bit of powder underneath all of that "Cling-Free" aroma, so it's probably worth a try, and as long as you don't pick up the laundry scent, it's probably something quite enjoyable and even to my nose, it is pleasant.


on 1/13/2009 2:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely adore this perfume. On a citytrip to NY (coming from far away Belgium) I tried the EDT, and it smelled like soap, but trying the EDP I was very surprised of how refined, sweet and sexy it smelled!
You should definitely give this a try if you love sweet smells that accentuate a strong personality!
cem


on 1/9/2009 1:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I was in Sephora browsing scents.. I sniffed every bottle in there and none of them sent my head giddy with attraction like this one. I couldn't figure out what it was until I the quirt of it I had on my coat died down. It smells like in the inside of my mothers make up bag (lipsticks etc) mixed with an alcohol (not sure which one as I don't drink) and like a very hot girl on a night out partying.

When i left Sephora just from the little squirt I had on I got a lot of turned heads from guys so this is a definite YES! It's definitely a hot scent. 7 hours later my coat still smells of it which is great.

UPDATE
after a week of wearing this the dry down smell started to get on my nerves. It smells like some cheap perfume I've smelt somewhere else. Nothng fantastic. I also found out that guys liked it because it was fresh and flowery but they liked my Dior Addict sample because it was sexy as heck (is it the vanilla dry down?).
Well guess which one I bought?
.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wouldnt buy the eau du Parfum again.
I love Classique the original. And I made a mistake at the duty free. I had those awful women there pestering me to try things on. I knew I wanted Classique and I figure oh ya Parfum will be better. Grabbed the tin can and jetted off, didn't spray it at all until I arrived at my destination!

Instantly when I smelt it I knew something was different! How disappointed was I! Its still floral, warm and sensual... but the scent is slightly different. It is a new twist on my old favourite.

I still get compliments on it but I don't like the new twist on it I much prefer the Toilette.

Sorry Jean Paul, love your designes. And the bottle is cute as always.


on 11/11/2008 3:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I super love this! Smells very feminine (don't use too much though) and lasts a long time. I prefer the EDP over the EDT. I find the scent of the EDP sexier and it seems to smell softer than the EDT which I find too sharp. My friends, both males and females, love it. Will definitely buy again when I run out.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1371 Reviews
Chance
959 Reviews
No.5
943 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
43 Reviews


Back to Top