MAC • Eyeshadow in Mystery • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(101 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Squalid on 5/10/2011 5:20:00 AM more reviews by Squalid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Hell YES! The most perfect brown shadow ever. This one is my go to shade and I seriously love it.

I've often got problems finding browns that suits my natural coloring, my fair skin and dark brown hair are both very ashy. When I got this the MAC employee I talked to said "Should you really get a shade THIS ashy for your brows..?" to me, and I was like "HAHA yeah I guess..?"

So as I said, I mostly use it for my brows and in my lashline for everyday make up. If I'm doing smokey brown eye looks I prefer this one or Handwritten. Go MAC, your neutral shadows might be the star of the whole brand.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* carrasco on 4/27/2011 12:09:00 PM more reviews by carrasco

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of the very first Mac shadows I ever bought(I got a quad with 4 shades). I have owned this for a year and a half and have hardly any dip because a little goes a long way. It's a cool matte gray/brown and unlike Espresso there are no red tones in it at all, which suits me much better. I used to use this every single day as my crease and outter v no matter what shade I had on my lid and it really added a great smokey feel and darkened up any look without being harsh like Carbon, I hate Carbon, to me brown is less harsh. This is definitly my "go-to" crease color and if I wasn't on this new kick where I only us a paint pot, 1 shade on the lid and a highlight I would still be using this. I think it's a tad harder to blend than other shades I own but it's still my favorite. I would repurchase this again if needed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rockangel04 on 4/25/2011 3:54:00 PM more reviews by rockangel04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My new favorite mac eyeshadow, the color is very versatile and and natural. It's a greyish brown and not shimmery at all. All month I've been using this and I'm loving it.

My eyes this month:
Mac bisque all over the lid and brow bone
Mac mystery lightly in the crease and applied a little darker in the outter corner
Mac Era applied to the lid and up to brow bone
Mac Vapour as highlight in inner corner and on brow bone
Mac fluid line in dipdown

Those colors are great for everyday and can be adjusted from light to dark. But in my opinion mystery is the starlett because it give the most definition.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Karenloveseyeshadow on 12/28/2010 2:48:00 AM more reviews by Karenloveseyeshadow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This was one of the first eyeshadows I ever bought from MAC and it is still one of my favourites. It is a perfect crease colour. Looks very nice paired with Jest.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 12/24/2010 3:14:00 AM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Some MAC eyeshadows are better off being used a brow powders, and some can be used on both lids and brows. I think this is one of them if you use it lightly. It's an ash brown, so for people who don't want a warm brown like Espresso, then this is a good option. I don't like the look of a warm shadow on my brows at all because it just looks more red and takes away the natural shade. I discovered it's double use online from another artist. Even though it's a satin, there isn't a sheen. If you want to go darker, then Brun is the next in line.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jewelx17 on 9/19/2010 10:58:00 AM more reviews by Jewelx17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I like the color but I found a dupe that's cheaper and applies smoother. It's Revlon's new Luxurious Color eyeshadows, they have a variety of finishes: pearle, satin, and matte. The shade I'm referring to is called Rich Sable from the Matte collection. Even though it's suppose to be different finishes (Mac's Mystery is Satin and Revlon's is Matte) it's not much different, they both look pretty matte to me. I've been noticing MAC's eyeshadows can tend to be chalky and apply patchy when it doesn't have shimmer, don't really know why. Their other finishes are fine like the velux pearle, frost, etc. Revlon's is not like that, it's smooth and applies evenly and costs 3 times less. Give it a try if you are considering Mac's eyeshadow in Mystery.

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michkal on 9/9/2010 1:08:00 AM more reviews by michkal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful mix of grey and brown. Nice in the crease and as a liner. Unique color that is definitely worth adding to your collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candyrivera on 8/10/2010 11:02:00 PM more reviews by candyrivera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is a great dark brown. It's a neutral maybe slightly cool toned brown. It's a satin finish but more matte when applied than satin in my opinion. I use this as my brow filler and it looks very natural (black brow powder can sometimes be too much) with my jet black hair. This shadow is also great for a dark smokey eye without being too much or too intense like black can be. I also use it as a liner on more natural days. It doesn't look to exciting in the pan but I've found this to be a good basic and essential shadow that I do use everyday. I'll defiantly buy again when I run out.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 7/16/2010 11:28:00 PM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

A gorgeous dark chocolate brown. Probably one of my favourite brown shades from MAC that I consistently use for a variety of looks. Looks great in the crease for a slightly darker neutral look or paired with other browns or purples.
One of my staple go to looks is using Patina on the lid, Mystery in the V and slightly into the crease, Wedge to blend out the upper crease and finished with either Nylon or Vanilla under the brow bone.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laqueron1 on 7/12/2010 3:52:00 PM more reviews by laqueron1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great eyeshadow. I use it for my brows (sparingly) and it works great as I do have dark hair. I would use espresso but I find my hair to be a bit too dark for that. I could use it to darken my crease just a bit more to add a bit of drama if I don't want to use carbon. This is just a great cool dark brown eyeshadow for any skintone (MAC NC42/43).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products