Redken • Color Extend Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.1(197 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dizzielittlerascal on 6/7/2012 3:37:00 AM more reviews by dizzielittlerascal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

What have they done to this line? I use to love this shampoo and conditioner, it used to be the only thing to stop my head from itching, and really helped to stop my coloured hair from fading. Now they have reformulated it, and it leaves my hair in a tangled and dry mess, which itches like crazy! I am so mad that I paid for the two when its not that cheap to start with. Mega cheesed off :o(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 evicka18 on 4/19/2012 5:25:00 PM more reviews by evicka18

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is great shampoo for colored hair. Cranberry oil leaves hair detangled and soft. Has nice smell. Does not grease hair. Easy to spread on hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cmyklamb on 3/29/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by cmyklamb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the worst shampoos I've ever used. Even the cheap drugstore stuff is better than this. It left a gross film on my hair every time I used it, and my hair NEVER felt clean with this. Instead of cleaning my hair, I felt like it just added even more crap to it and weighing it down. I usually don't need to wash my hair every day with other shampoos, but my roots would get greasy in less than a day when I use this. Just awful. The matching conditioner is just as bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HauteHarlequin on 3/16/2012 12:58:00 PM more reviews by HauteHarlequin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this shampoo, I have been using it now for the last year or so. I've been highlighting and coloring my hair for years, and this shampoo along with the conditioner really does prolong the vibrancy and life of my color.

I the smell is really nice; clean and salon-like is the only way I can describe it. I love that is cleans my hair without leaving it feeling dry and stripped afterwards. It's a little pricey, but for my color treated hair it is definitely worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mistymountainhop on 12/21/2011 6:51:00 PM more reviews by mistymountainhop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

DANDRUFF PRONE PEOPLE BEWARE! IF there's something i learned from suffering from dandruff is that the one ingredient you should avoid is LANOLIN and guess what? this shampoo has that very ingredient, another factor to consider is that it's drying, and people with thick wavy hair shouldn't be too keen on that

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Michelle219 on 12/21/2011 12:49:00 PM more reviews by Michelle219

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Decent shampoo, gets the job done, and has a nice smell that isn't overwhelming. But the conditioner is the real prize item.

UPDATE: Went back to Dr. Bonner's. This is a good shampoo but it doesn't get my hair as clean as Dr. Bonner's does. I need a shampoo that washes away all the build up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KBaylie on 10/30/2011 5:27:00 PM more reviews by KBaylie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Made my hair really, really FLAT. No volume whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rachulll on 10/7/2011 9:31:00 PM more reviews by Rachulll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't really color my hair anymore so I can't speak to that, but I do have VERY dry hair and just as dry a scalp, and for that it works wonders. The consistency is almost conditioner like and it leaves both my hair and my scalp feeling nicely moisturized. Love that! Only down side is the price, which I know compared to certain brands isn't so bad (cough, pureology, cough) but for a college student can get pretty steep. Luckily (because of my dry scalp) I don't wash my hair too often, so it lasts forever!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kdscott on 8/31/2011 9:49:00 PM more reviews by kdscott

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have highlighted hair and my stylist recommended this Redken Shampoo to me. I have combo hair with greasy roots, but dry ends. I liked the Redken shampoo for awhile. It made my slightly damaged hair softer and more manageable. However, after 2 months of solid use, it made my hair oily like I hadn't washed it that day. I thought maybe that I hadn't washed out all the shampoo from my hair, but I got the same result the next several washes. After that, I binned it.

I really couldn't tell if the color "extend" part made any difference in the my time between highlighting visits. I really don't think it did. So, I guess a fail on that part as well.

I tried the Redken shampoo a year later when I was staying at my parent's house and it was the only shampoo available. Had the same oily-haired result as before. Definitely will never repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nilegna on 7/30/2011 5:27:00 PM more reviews by nilegna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this shampoo and conditioner since i recently went from black to a pretty light brown with blonde highlights. I bought it in hopes that it would keep my hair from fading and getting brassy, but that obviously did not occur. It lathers alright, the smell is decent, but it's pretty pricey for a shampoo that doesn't really extend my color. I would say that if it did, it probably extends it another week at most.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Shampoo products