Artdeco • Eyeshadow Base • Eye Primer

rated 4.3(116 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HeidiF69 on 6/14/2011 4:31:00 PM more reviews by HeidiF69

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got tired of UDPP and the annoying wand (not to mention the high price) and found this was half price on HSN. It really works well! I must have gotten the unscented version, mine has no scent. It does have a slight shimmer to the cream, but it does NOT make my matte shadows into frost or add any shimmer to the shadow on top. It's not that intense! I like the tiny pot, and it only takes the lightest dab for each eye. I could see this lasting forever because you use so little. It's a stickier consistency than UDPP and works just as well, not creasing or fading all day. I have very sensitive eyes and this didn't give me any reaction at all.
ETA: It does have a scent, but I really had to practically stick the container in my nose to detect it!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Norsu on 6/13/2011 5:02:00 AM more reviews by Norsu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this eye shadow base because I ran out of my regular eye primer. I've used this product for a couple of weeks now, and I am fairly happy with it. It is very thin in consistency compared to the other primers I've used, which makes it really easy to apply. It has a lot of perfume in it, and I don't really understand that part.. why would anyone want perfume on their eyes? I don't think this will fit those with very sensitive eyes. It also has some shimmer in it, I would prefer it to be matte. It makes the eye shadow last longer quite a bit longer. I think I would buy this product again, because it is really cheap and easy to get a hold on where I live.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mibrola on 6/2/2011 6:01:00 PM more reviews by mibrola

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The 1st time I came to MUA.com was for a review and the first review I read was for this. I bought it and it was everything MUAers said it would be. That was like 7 years ago- I've had several usernames since and am now getting a refill of this primer. In between that first purchase and this one, I've tried Urban Decay adn Too Faced. I found them both to be the same except Tood Faced won me on the squeeze tube (non stick/tube) packaging. However Urban Decay has since come out with the packaging option of a squeeze tube; neight has sh*t on Art Deco. This is a high Quality primer compared - even though its in the same price point. Unfortunately it does have a manly scent but common girls - it's going on your eyes, not any where near your nose. Also the packaging is a screw top jar. And I will tell you its super important to screw this cap on TIGHT! If you don't - the remaining product will dry out rendering a once creamy tub of perfection absolutely useless. I have NEVER experienced a primer like this and seriously doubt I ever will - at least not in this price range ($20 on HSN - most recently purchased on sale for $9.95!!) Buy this and spoil yourself - but be warned, you can never go back!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hamstershell on 5/23/2011 6:03:00 AM more reviews by Hamstershell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I started out with this, it was ok, but it did not hold my eyeshadow in place as long as I wanted. On a working day (I put my MU on at 7.30am), by noon time, I start to see creasing already, as compared to when I use UDPP, TFSI or MAC's PP, they would prevent the creasing almost whole day (at least until 6pm). Furthermore, I did not really like the schimmer in the Artdeco's base. That aside, it does well as a sticky base to grap eyeshadows and pigments, and it does not alter their colors. It is also very easy to blend, and not overly drying (which UDPP can be sometimes). The pot does not bother me, it is better than UDPP's genie bottle anyday in my opinion (in terms of practicality), and the size of it is very travel friendly (MAC's pp is a bit too heavy and bulky, but it is made of glass!).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Armitage on 5/23/2011 1:58:00 AM more reviews by Armitage

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

This eyeprimer and Too Faced Shadow Insurance is my favourite eyeprimers. It keeps my eyeshadow looking great the whole day and it never creases. Only negative is the packaging. It's easy to get the product out of the pot, but it also makes the product dry up fast, if you don't screw the lid on properly. You get a decent amount of product though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ihavequestions on 5/14/2011 1:28:00 PM more reviews by Ihavequestions

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Well, this is something I wasn't expecting to own in my life. An eyeshadow base that smell's like Men's Speed Stick. But this works GREAT and I love the packaging. It is truly skin colored, so it doesn't mess with the color of your shadows and keeps them in place just beautifully. So happy to have found this little gem. I read another reviewer say that this makes shadows waterproof? I haven't tested that yet but I will edit this once I do!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* almond_leaves on 4/12/2011 9:04:00 PM more reviews by almond_leaves

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Pros:
-Easy to apply and spread, does not tug
-Lightweight, doesn't make my skin suffocate, compared to UDPP
-Color blending is easier on top of this, than on UDPP
-Prevents creasing
-Holds color well, but not as good as UDPP (1 lippie off for this)
-You get a very generous amount for a cheap price

Cons:
-Smell. Smells like men after shave

Overall, I really like this product, despite the cons and for the cheap price I'll repurchase. And yes it does have shimmer but it dries matte anyway so it isn't an issue for me.

The major difference between this and UDPP, is that UDPP makes colors pop and last a little more. So maybe you can use Artdeco's on a daily basis and save UDPP for those special occasions.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allaboutdaniela on 2/7/2011 7:05:00 PM more reviews by allaboutdaniela

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

There are two major things I dislike about this:
1. Scent (weird male perfume scent on my eyes?) - I am aware there is a scent free version but it's not available in Portugal
2. Shimmer ( really bad when using matte eyeshadows - I always use TFSI when I want a matte look - but when using shimmer eyeshadows doesn't bother me at all. )
For the price I think it's worth it. Overall it's great. I can apply glitter and I don't have major fall outs like it happens with TFSI. The packaging doesn't bother me and a little of this goes a long way so the scent goes away really fast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babykitten9 on 1/25/2011 12:48:00 PM more reviews by babykitten9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

UDPP is nothing compared to this baby! I nearly gave up on one of my Dior's pallets colors of which just wouldn't show up on me but this base has dramatically changed that! Now I get such color pay-off from this pallet that I actually have to watch out otherwise I will apply too much :))) It's a fantastic base and very affordable! My eyeshadows look same at 18:00 as they did at 6:00. Get it asap!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xbeejay on 12/26/2010 3:36:00 PM more reviews by xbeejay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Good eye primers that don't cost a fortune are really rare here, in Czech Republic. So I came accross this little jar of wonders and wow - thank you ArtDeco, I can wear eyeshadows again!
+ great price for such a good product!
+ makes eyeshadows waterproof!
+ smells really nice (well, to me)
+ a little goes a looong way, it'll last for ages
+ sticky
+ keeps eyeshadows from creasing all day
I don't wear strong colors much, so I can't tell how much it brings up the color, but that isn't much of a deal for me. It looks shimmery, but it won't appear on the lids.
I wore it under my eyeshadows today for 10 hours and no creasing whatsoever.
- a squeeze tube would be probably better

I will repurchase again and again!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Artdeco products

More Eye Primer products