Artdeco Eyeshadow Base

4.3

119 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients:C11-13 Isoparaffin,talc,cera microcristallina(microcrystalline wax)Mica,PVP/hexacene copolymer(VP/hexadecene co-polymer),polyethylene,Tocopheryl acetate,Bisabolol Propylparaben,triclosan,propylene glycol,BHT,Ascorbyl palmitate,Citric acid,glyceryl distearate,glyceryl sterate,parfum(fragrance)benzyl benzoate,linalool,butylpheynlmethylpropional,Hexyl cinnamal,Benzyl salicylate,Hydroxycitronellal,CI77491(iron oxides)CI77492(iron oxides)CI77499(iron oxides) CI 77891(titanium oxide)


on 9/17/2011 11:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this base, makes the es last around 8 hrs.



on 9/5/2011 6:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I haven't tried Urban decay's primer potion yet so I can only compare this to e.l.f.'s eye primers. This one works a bit better in my opinion, the texture is much nicer and easier to spread around the eyelid (although it is a bit thicker and greasier). What I don't like is the scent (it smells exactly like men's cologne) and the fact that you have to apply it with your fingers. The shimmer particles don't bother me though. Nice product but I'll keep looking for an even better one. I don't have oily lids and use primers only to make the shades more vibrant so I would never pay more than 10 dollars for it.
Edit: Today I applied it under my eyes and the scent and/or ingredients in it irritated them so they started to water. Ugh. I also heard that they started to make a scentless version of this product and if they didn't they really should.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/17/2011 5:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Meh! I was expecting high marks for this product but it failed to live up to the hype. I should have known when it felt slick and greasy upon application. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't as bad as some others I've tried (UDPP I'm talking to you!) However it did crease as the day wore on and I found it very hard to blend eyeshadows over it. I doubt I'll ever stray from my HG - LORAC behind the scenes.


Let me just say that one's HG eye primer is a personal quest. What works for one doesn't cut it for another. Keep searching my fellow makeup addicts, you WILL find yours!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2011 4:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got tired of UDPP and the annoying wand (not to mention the high price) and found this was half price on HSN. It really works well! I must have gotten the unscented version, mine has no scent. It does have a slight shimmer to the cream, but it does NOT make my matte shadows into frost or add any shimmer to the shadow on top. It's not that intense! I like the tiny pot, and it only takes the lightest dab for each eye. I could see this lasting forever because you use so little. It's a stickier consistency than UDPP and works just as well, not creasing or fading all day. I have very sensitive eyes and this didn't give me any reaction at all.
ETA: It does have a scent, but I really had to practically stick the container in my nose to detect it!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2011 5:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this eye shadow base because I ran out of my regular eye primer. I've used this product for a couple of weeks now, and I am fairly happy with it. It is very thin in consistency compared to the other primers I've used, which makes it really easy to apply. It has a lot of perfume in it, and I don't really understand that part.. why would anyone want perfume on their eyes? I don't think this will fit those with very sensitive eyes. It also has some shimmer in it, I would prefer it to be matte. It makes the eye shadow last longer quite a bit longer. I think I would buy this product again, because it is really cheap and easy to get a hold on where I live.


on 6/2/2011 6:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The 1st time I came to MUA.com was for a review and the first review I read was for this. I bought it and it was everything MUAers said it would be. That was like 7 years ago- I've had several usernames since and am now getting a refill of this primer. In between that first purchase and this one, I've tried Urban Decay adn Too Faced. I found them both to be the same except Tood Faced won me on the squeeze tube (non stick/tube) packaging. However Urban Decay has since come out with the packaging option of a squeeze tube; neight has sh*t on Art Deco. This is a high Quality primer compared - even though its in the same price point. Unfortunately it does have a manly scent but common girls - it's going on your eyes, not any where near your nose. Also the packaging is a screw top jar. And I will tell you its super important to screw this cap on TIGHT! If you don't - the remaining product will dry out rendering a once creamy tub of perfection absolutely useless. I have NEVER experienced a primer like this and seriously doubt I ever will - at least not in this price range ($20 on HSN - most recently purchased on sale for $9.95!!) Buy this and spoil yourself - but be warned, you can never go back!


on 5/23/2011 6:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I started out with this, it was ok, but it did not hold my eyeshadow in place as long as I wanted. On a working day (I put my MU on at 7.30am), by noon time, I start to see creasing already, as compared to when I use UDPP, TFSI or MAC's PP, they would prevent the creasing almost whole day (at least until 6pm). Furthermore, I did not really like the schimmer in the Artdeco's base. That aside, it does well as a sticky base to grap eyeshadows and pigments, and it does not alter their colors. It is also very easy to blend, and not overly drying (which UDPP can be sometimes). The pot does not bother me, it is better than UDPP's genie bottle anyday in my opinion (in terms of practicality), and the size of it is very travel friendly (MAC's pp is a bit too heavy and bulky, but it is made of glass!).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2011 1:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This eyeprimer and Too Faced Shadow Insurance is my favourite eyeprimers. It keeps my eyeshadow looking great the whole day and it never creases. Only negative is the packaging. It's easy to get the product out of the pot, but it also makes the product dry up fast, if you don't screw the lid on properly. You get a decent amount of product though.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Well, this is something I wasn't expecting to own in my life. An eyeshadow base that smell's like Men's Speed Stick. But this works GREAT and I love the packaging. It is truly skin colored, so it doesn't mess with the color of your shadows and keeps them in place just beautifully. So happy to have found this little gem. I read another reviewer say that this makes shadows waterproof? I haven't tested that yet but I will edit this once I do!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Black

Pros:
-Easy to apply and spread, does not tug
-Lightweight, doesn't make my skin suffocate, compared to UDPP
-Color blending is easier on top of this, than on UDPP
-Prevents creasing
-Holds color well, but not as good as UDPP (1 lippie off for this)
-You get a very generous amount for a cheap price

Cons:
-Smell. Smells like men after shave

Overall, I really like this product, despite the cons and for the cheap price I'll repurchase. And yes it does have shimmer but it dries matte anyway so it isn't an issue for me.

The major difference between this and UDPP, is that UDPP makes colors pop and last a little more. So maybe you can use Artdeco's on a daily basis and save UDPP for those special occasions.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated Artdeco Products

image

Eyeshadow Base

119 reviews
Back to Top