Maybelline • Designer Chocolates Quad • Eye Shadow

rated 3.5(88 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 tm1999 on 3/6/2010 9:40:00 PM more reviews by tm1999

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

nice eyeshadows that can be worn anytime. i buy these alot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JuliSparkling on 2/22/2010 1:38:00 AM more reviews by JuliSparkling

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The colors are not very pigmented. Good for very neutral looks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 middy on 2/7/2010 6:30:00 PM more reviews by middy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty colors in the pan but will not show up at all on my medium skin, except for the dark brown one, even with a primer. Only good for a super-natural, barely-there look. The texture is pretty chalky as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LMdurk90 on 1/29/2010 6:39:00 PM more reviews by LMdurk90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I love the colors in this palette, and how well-coordinated they are. However, I am getting hardly any pigmentation, and some creasing even with primer. I was surprised that the MUA reviews for this product are as high as they are. I'll still continue to wear them though, I really do love the colors. Maybe I would get better results applying wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 flauntit on 1/28/2010 11:27:00 PM more reviews by flauntit

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is great for a neutral daytime look, although it's not the perfect quad out there.


Color:
The pigmentation isn't as amazing as Chai Latte but with the right primer certain colors colors still pop. The brown and white eyeshadows have really nice pigmentation, but the pink crease color and the light yellowish-brown lid color has poor pigmentation. The lid color barely shows off on my lid, it may work well on darker skintones but on mine it almost appears invisable. The pink crease color needs to be packed on to make the color stand out. It's pretty, but you need to put in a lot of effort to make it work. My favorite part is the highlight color, it's a beautiful shimmery white that is my ideal highlight color. The outercorner brown color I sometimes I use to fill in my brows. This quad is great if you want to appear like your wearing little makeup and you're simply enhancing your eyes. Those looking for drama for their eyes should pass on this quad.


Texture:
Nice and smooth, easy to blend.


Packaging/Price:
As usual the packaging and detail looks cheap and isn't very pretty to look at. That's a minor detail though. The size of the eye shadows are good, and the price is quite nice as you get 4 quality eyeshadows for $5. Also I love the name of the quad, it's adorable :)


Overall:
+ Beautiful daytime look
+ Great highlight color
+ Easy to blend
+ Great price
- Poor pigmentation
- Boring/cheap package design


I love the brown and white shades, but I may just look to see if they come in singles or are included with other trios/sets/whatever, as this quad has left much to be desired. My first review for this was very positive, but I tried it again several times and my results have been lukewarm. It's great for a neutral look, but you can do better than this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XalisaheartsmakeupX on 12/29/2009 5:24:00 PM more reviews by XalisaheartsmakeupX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm in love with these quads, especially this one! The colors are soo pretty, and I usually end up using them all together, with a cream eyeshadow underneath so they last longer. Whoever designed the packaging is a genius! I love how they have each shadow labeled where it goes, and a picture on the back. It helps a lot, and it also means I don't have to go out and buy 4 different eyeshadows that match with each other. These are pretty pigmented in my opinion, and for me a little goes a long way. LOVE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twilightlover815 on 12/29/2009 2:42:00 PM more reviews by twilightlover815

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I love this quad! You can make it as natural as you want. Or you can add the dark brown to the outer V to spice it up a bit! = )

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GlammaFreak on 11/22/2009 10:11:00 PM more reviews by GlammaFreak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The colors do not show up on my skin even with a primer. My eyes look tried with the thin color and there's lots of fallout. I really can't believe I paid for this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 grivera1017 on 11/19/2009 7:54:00 PM more reviews by grivera1017

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

I love this eye shadow quad even though it's the only Maybelline quad that I've ever owned. I love how the back of the quad gives you directions on where to apply the eye shadow as well as the different looks you can make. I love the white and dark brown eye shadow because they work really well with my skin tone. I always use the white as my highlight and the dark brown for my outer corner. The purplish crease color is okay and the beige lid color hardly shows when I apply it, which is only the downside of the quad. But overall, I think this quad is great for everyday use esp. the brow bone and outer corner eye shadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 primper on 10/25/2009 6:26:00 AM more reviews by primper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great quad. The instructions are useful for beginners, and the colors are so wearable!! I really like that the shades are quite sheer, but the color is very buildable. It's easy to take a lighter daytime look to a nighttime look with just the one product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products