Revlon • Rose Velvet • Lipstick

rated 4.5(82 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 rambow on 4/9/2011 5:59:00 PM more reviews by rambow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really had no idea this was so popular! I've bought this lipstick probably three times in a row. It's a beautiful neutral colour. I tend to be rather fair, but I tan easily, and this colour looks great on me both ways.


I wish the formulation was longer-lasting, because I am a lip-licker and this stuff doesn't last me more than a couple of hours, but it's so beautiful, easily found, and reasonably priced that I don't care. If you have dry lips (I don't), you will probably like this because it is creamy and moisturizing. It also doesn't emphasize every tiny dry flake on your lips.


I lost my last tube of it somewhere and found myself missing it for months, even though I had other lipsticks, until I finally broke down and bought another today.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luckystar718 on 4/9/2011 12:19:00 AM more reviews by luckystar718

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was the first lipstick I ever bought for myself. I grew up with a mom who is very conservative when it comes to makeup color. After trying the FLIRT! lipstick she bought me at Kohl's and being disgusted with it, I knew that we had very different taste in lip color. I don't remember the shade but it made me look like I drank chocolate milk and forgot to wipe it off my lips. I went to CVS determined to find a decent MLBB lipstick with some color in it. After some deliberation I ended up bringing this one home.
Oh, how anxious I was to try it! What if it looked awful and garish? Thankfully it looks awesome on my lips. Apparently many MUAers agree! My mom thought it was a little "loud" though :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ehrial on 3/20/2011 3:54:00 PM more reviews by Ehrial

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I started giving up on my hunt of the perfect coloured lip gloss and decided to switch over to lipsticks instead. So, I checked EWG's website for a "healthier" lipstick and discovered that Revlon's Super Lustrous lipsticks has an OK rating. I took a trip to Walmart where this beautiful colour caught my eye (bought it for $7). It's definitely a MLBB colour and I'm in LOVE with it! It's the most moisturizing drugstore lipstick that I've come across! I have caramel coloured skin so I was a bit hesitant about using a lighter pink, but it turned out to be a really nice colour against my skin tone and perfected the tone of my lips. I also wear a gloss over this to really make my lips stand out. This is definitely going to be my HG lipstick :D I usually wear it with my brighter and more intense eye makeup but, this can easily brighten up your face when you're in a rush out the door :D LOVE IT <3

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Miissoni on 2/23/2011 9:47:00 PM more reviews by Miissoni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a classic standby, and I'm a lipstick "snob" who owns mostly luxury brand lipsticks. It's a good shade for fair skin, neutral enough to be worn on cool skin. I actually do like the Revlon packaging, it's very classic and kind of retro. I have nothing bad to say about this, especially considering it's a drugstore brand.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 h20liliz on 1/29/2011 1:36:00 PM more reviews by h20liliz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It is simiar to MAC Twig but more moisturising and natural looking. I find that Twig can appear too pasty and thick but this revlon color is the perfect consistency.

Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 naedyn on 1/12/2011 2:35:00 PM more reviews by naedyn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this with 'Sassy Mauve' in a BOGOF sale at my local drugstore.

This is a dusky rose creme lipstick from Revlon's renowned Super Lustrous line. It went on with a creme finish, and can be blotted to look matte. The colour is rich and pigmented, and lasts for a long time for a lipstick that does not make longevity claims.

I would repurchase this colour or a similar one in the Revlon's Super Lustrous range when I run out.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MichikoFliz on 1/10/2011 6:03:00 AM more reviews by MichikoFliz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have quite a few lipsticks, but this one was the cheapest and the best colour I have.

The colour is nothing like in the picture, it is more "rosey" as the name suggests rather than corally. I love it. Makes me look so polished without looking obvious.

Perfect HG colour!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kirstabelle on 12/5/2010 4:11:00 PM more reviews by kirstabelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Got this based on all the good reviews. It is a lovely color, very creamy, lasts okay. I think it is a little too brown for my fair, pink undertoned skin. I live my "neutral" shades a little more pink than this. Almost MLBB. Probably won't get it again, but will definitely use it up. Impressed by this line by Revlon though, and will try more colors.

Update- for fairer people, or those who want a less brown shade I just picked up Revlon's Color Burst lipstick in blush and that is pretty much exactly what I hoped rose velvet would be.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stellina on 12/4/2010 6:33:00 PM more reviews by stellina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been a big Revlon fan for many years, so I have a lot of their l/s. You can't beat the value, especially since they reformulated the Super Lustrous l/s. However, for some reason I forgot about this shade for a while - found it recently in my stash & can't imagine why. I think this is a great substitute for the famous MAC Twig, a great color in an inferior, very dry formula. This is half the price at full retail and much less if you get a deal. SL is equal & often superior to many expensive brands, and reminds me why, back in my youth, Revlon was sold in the best department stores alongside those brands.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lovecoma on 12/4/2010 2:11:00 PM more reviews by lovecoma

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I had seen a review on here for this and just knew I wanted it. I've recently started getting into more lipsticks (had previously been a lipbalm/tinted balm girl only) and am building up my collection.



I'm a NW15 and this looks great on me. It about a shade darker than my pale pink lips and warms up my face. And it feels so wonderfully creamy! I plan on getting the rest of the "velvet" colors by Revlon and they all look nice. I'm finding I really like Revlon's lipsticks the best (although I quite like Rimmel and Maybelline's moisture lipsticks but I think they're DCing them b/c they're on clearance everywhere).



Only gripe has been previously mentioned - circular container that just rolls right off the counter if you're not paying attention.



I had a $4 off any Revlon & 25% off entire purchase at CVS so I got this for about $3.50. They're cheapest at Walmart when not on sale at drugstores though, at least around here.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products