Kiehl's • Lip Balm #1 • Lip Treatments

rated 3.3(1069 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 sianemaynard on 3/7/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by sianemaynard

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I received this as a gift from a friend and didn't really know what to expect. After a long run of using really bright and matte lipsticks that would dry and chap my lips out like nobody's business, this came as a huge relief. After two days, I could begin to see the difference and haven't stopped using it since then.

I have the pear-scented one and it smells incredibly good and not too overpowering. It does tend to be a little on the oily side but I'm okay with that, though you could wear it overnight if it does bother you. Overall, I'm really happy with the product and I'd be more than willing to buy it on my own as soon as my current one runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 melissamberry on 2/22/2013 8:50:00 PM more reviews by melissamberry

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

I like this lip balm. It's oily, but the moisture just doesn't last long. SPF 4 isn't gonna do much... and if you look at the ingredients it's 1% sunscreen & 90% petroleum. I think this is overpriced petroleum jelly. It's not a bad lip balm and I do enjoy it, however for the price of $7 I could get two burt's bees or about 3 containers of petroleum jelly. Kiehl's version is just a little more liquid/oily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chaosgreeneyed on 2/10/2013 2:04:00 PM more reviews by chaosgreeneyed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love love love it! I wear braces, and I really suffered from cracking lips before I've found this(( This really protects from too cold or too hot weather and gives a nice shine, though some would call it a bit oily. The consistency is nice - something jelly-like, but I have to say I hate very thick lip balms. I have it in Mango and it smells so yummy, just like mango jam! And there's plenty of product for that price (15 ml considering an average chapstick is 3-4gr or so). Yes, I think I'll repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sherylash8 on 2/6/2013 10:52:00 AM more reviews by sherylash8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

good lip balm. i like how oily it is!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 eyejayare on 2/1/2013 2:47:00 AM more reviews by eyejayare

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was obsessed with this for ages - I had both the tube version and the tub going for a while and repurchased often. The packaging changed after I bought it one Christmas for a gift and went a bit cheap. It is a nice product but for the price (I think it' $12 in Australia) you can get a more nourishing formula. You're probably better off with a solely lanolin based lip treatment or something like Blistex intensive lip treatment - or better yet, Nuxe rev de miel! Would buy again but it should be known, a whole world of lip treatments are out there with more to offer in formula, packaging, bang for buck and overall appeal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 agnesbones on 1/29/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by agnesbones

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

I got this in pear flavor & it does really smell like pear, sounds delicious ya. I only apply it at night before sleeping, as this gives a rather shiny & oily look. Happy to wake up to smooth & soft lips every morning. The only downside is the awkward application hole, where i have to use my fingers to have an even spread.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kf1127 on 1/13/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by Kf1127

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a gift from my aunt when she was in Vancouver. I can honestly say that this lip balm for me is ok. It comes out like an ointment, and is tinted a little yellowish. I don't know if that's just mine. It smells like pumpkin. Not a sweet pumpkin, but the smell of a pumpkin when u open it up. It moisturizes well, though it doesn't last long. Even though it was a free sample I wouldn't pay $14 for a lip balm. I think that I even like my Maybelline baby lips better than this. If I had $14 to spend on that lip balm, I would simply buy 3 baby lips for $3.99 a balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lenicherry on 1/4/2013 9:29:00 AM more reviews by lenicherry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this balm (as I do with all Kiehl's products) but sadly I couldn't. I bought the one that comes in a jar (only one available at my store) for around $14 usd (make-up/beauty products are twice as expensive when you live abroad) and applied it around 4-6 times that week. Since it was really expensive, I wanted to use it when necessary and not waste it. I'm glad I did though. My lips broke out due to the formula. I have many many small spots on my bottom lip that rough to the touch and make them look as if I had an extra layer of... idk.
I think it was the petrolatum. Same happened to me a couple of years ago when I tried Elizabeth Arden's "Cream Lip Protectant Stick" which also contained it :c
Other than that, didn't like the package, I would have chosen the tube instead. I din't find it soothing for my lips neither I felt it lasting for more than 20 minutes. What a pity :c

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovenall on 1/3/2013 8:31:00 PM more reviews by lovenall

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lip balm. Not for daytime applications, but for night time application. Before going to bed, I put a thick layer of this lip balm on my lips, and my lips can't be smoother and plumped next morning. I used vaseline and some other high end lip balms for night time use, but none of them work as good as this. It gets rid of all the flakes that happened through out the day time and gives a great base for lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ghoulnextdoor on 1/2/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by ghoulnextdoor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my all-time, hands-down favourite lip balm. Probably for everything it is not, rather than what it is: for example it is not mentholated or tingly; there is no noticeably flavour or smell (perhaps slightly vanillic...but it's really quite subtle); not chalky or waxy; and not tinted or otherwise embellished in anyway.
It's a nice, plain simple no bells or whistles lip balm. The texture maybe be similar to vaseline as other reviewers mention...but it does not go on greasy and sinks right in. If you've got severely chapped lips, I'd suggest a medicated product instead of this one, but for everyday moisturizing, this is a spot on choice. I think I picked up a pot or two of this for $5 a piece or so, which isn't too spendy, especially considering how long it's lasted.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Lip Treatments products