Kiehl's • Lip Balm #1 • Lip Treatments

rated 3.3(1066 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 sherylash8 on 2/6/2013 10:52:00 AM more reviews by sherylash8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

good lip balm. i like how oily it is!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 eyejayare on 2/1/2013 2:47:00 AM more reviews by eyejayare

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was obsessed with this for ages - I had both the tube version and the tub going for a while and repurchased often. The packaging changed after I bought it one Christmas for a gift and went a bit cheap. It is a nice product but for the price (I think it' $12 in Australia) you can get a more nourishing formula. You're probably better off with a solely lanolin based lip treatment or something like Blistex intensive lip treatment - or better yet, Nuxe rev de miel! Would buy again but it should be known, a whole world of lip treatments are out there with more to offer in formula, packaging, bang for buck and overall appeal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 agnesbones on 1/29/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by agnesbones

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

I got this in pear flavor & it does really smell like pear, sounds delicious ya. I only apply it at night before sleeping, as this gives a rather shiny & oily look. Happy to wake up to smooth & soft lips every morning. The only downside is the awkward application hole, where i have to use my fingers to have an even spread.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kf1127 on 1/13/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by Kf1127

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a gift from my aunt when she was in Vancouver. I can honestly say that this lip balm for me is ok. It comes out like an ointment, and is tinted a little yellowish. I don't know if that's just mine. It smells like pumpkin. Not a sweet pumpkin, but the smell of a pumpkin when u open it up. It moisturizes well, though it doesn't last long. Even though it was a free sample I wouldn't pay $14 for a lip balm. I think that I even like my Maybelline baby lips better than this. If I had $14 to spend on that lip balm, I would simply buy 3 baby lips for $3.99 a balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lenicherry on 1/4/2013 9:29:00 AM more reviews by lenicherry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this balm (as I do with all Kiehl's products) but sadly I couldn't. I bought the one that comes in a jar (only one available at my store) for around $14 usd (make-up/beauty products are twice as expensive when you live abroad) and applied it around 4-6 times that week. Since it was really expensive, I wanted to use it when necessary and not waste it. I'm glad I did though. My lips broke out due to the formula. I have many many small spots on my bottom lip that rough to the touch and make them look as if I had an extra layer of... idk.
I think it was the petrolatum. Same happened to me a couple of years ago when I tried Elizabeth Arden's "Cream Lip Protectant Stick" which also contained it :c
Other than that, didn't like the package, I would have chosen the tube instead. I din't find it soothing for my lips neither I felt it lasting for more than 20 minutes. What a pity :c

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovenall on 1/3/2013 8:31:00 PM more reviews by lovenall

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lip balm. Not for daytime applications, but for night time application. Before going to bed, I put a thick layer of this lip balm on my lips, and my lips can't be smoother and plumped next morning. I used vaseline and some other high end lip balms for night time use, but none of them work as good as this. It gets rid of all the flakes that happened through out the day time and gives a great base for lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ghoulnextdoor on 1/2/2013 8:56:00 AM more reviews by ghoulnextdoor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my all-time, hands-down favourite lip balm. Probably for everything it is not, rather than what it is: for example it is not mentholated or tingly; there is no noticeably flavour or smell (perhaps slightly vanillic...but it's really quite subtle); not chalky or waxy; and not tinted or otherwise embellished in anyway.
It's a nice, plain simple no bells or whistles lip balm. The texture maybe be similar to vaseline as other reviewers mention...but it does not go on greasy and sinks right in. If you've got severely chapped lips, I'd suggest a medicated product instead of this one, but for everyday moisturizing, this is a spot on choice. I think I picked up a pot or two of this for $5 a piece or so, which isn't too spendy, especially considering how long it's lasted.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hoijacque27 on 12/22/2012 1:53:00 AM more reviews by hoijacque27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

too expensive for its quality, it doesn't help chap lips and have to Re-Apply every 15 minutes to keep the balm on the lips

this is like mixing virgin olive oil and petroleum together, and that's it

better off buying "alba un-petroleum" lip balm instead, it is the best chap lip product i ever had, it stays on for hours, keeping lip ultra soft and moist, and is only 3-4 dollars depends on where you getting it, it only be sold in "healthy store"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spinacha on 12/4/2012 5:51:00 PM more reviews by spinacha

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was originally attracted to this product, because it does not contain beeswax. I am sensitive to beeswax. Most lip treatments contain beeswax, so I usually use Vaseline lip therapy, or other petroleum based products.


The first time I tried Kiehl's lip balm, it seemed okay. Not great, but okay. The texture was similar to petroleum jelly, just maybe slightly thinner. It did a decent job hydrating when first applied, but it didn't last long.


The real disappointment came after this product was opened. As I explained earlier, when I first opened it and tried it, it seemed to do the job atleast temporarily. However, once the product was opened, the texture of the product seemed to change. For instance, someone else described in a review that the texture of this product was like cooking oil or melted butter. The lip balm became exactly like that after it was opened. The product seemed to thin-out over time, almost as though it had melted. It also developed a smell/odour that was not there before...similar to grease. Over time, the colour of the product changed too. Initially it was clear, but then it became a very light rusty-brown colour.


The product does not come with an expiration date on it. When the first lip balm I purchased had became rancid and the texture changed, I threw it out thinking that I had purchased one that was close to expiring, or that maybe it became that way because it got too hot, etc. Foolishly, I repurchased the balm. I thought to myself it doesn't have beeswax, which is a plus, and it's made by Kiehl's so it must be good.


Same thing happened with the second one I purchased. At first try it seemed okay. This time I was careful to store it in a cool place. Nevertheless, within a few days, the colour of the product started to change. It again took on a strange smell, and changed from a thick consistency (similar to petroleum jelly) to a runny consistency, like cooking oil.


Will definitely not be repurchasing this.


Forgot to mention, once the product has thinned out; the moment I squeezed the tube, not surprisingly, too much product would come out.

This is an expensive product, and definitely not worth investing in, in my opinion. You'll get better results using plain old Vaseline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennyWalsh1 on 11/27/2012 10:00:00 PM more reviews by JennyWalsh1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good basic lip balm that I use before going to bed to keep my lips from drying out during the night. I don't necessarily recommend using it over lipstick as it may be too slick for that purpose, but for its intended purpose of being a low-maintenance, unflavored, simple lip balm, it's excellent.

Others have compared it to Vaseline, and it is similar in that it contains petrolatum; however, in my opinion, it's superior because it also contains a sunscreen, wheat germ oil and aloe leaf extract. I think the texture is nicer than Vaseline and it stays on a bit longer as well. I buy 15 ml tubes (0.5 oz) at Nordstrom for $5.50, which I don't think is that expensive considering how long a tube lasts me (a long time)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kiehl's products

More Lip Treatments products