Maybelline • Unstoppable Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 2.9(380 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Twinkletoes10 on 1/14/2013 1:10:00 AM more reviews by Twinkletoes10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have purchased this eyeliner three times (espresso and x2 in pewter) and would buy again once these run out.
PROS:
- Very waterproof! Stays even after having a shower and no major smudging even after swimming.
- Glides on easily.
- No sharpening required!
- Gives decent colour without being too obvious.
CONS:
- Although I haven't tried it in black yet, I find the colour wouldn't be strong enough for night time or special occasions. Doesn't have the 'wow factor' if you're after something dramatic, but perhaps that's due to my colour choices...
- Tends to smudge a bit.
- Can't sharpen so can't get a very thing line
Basically I wear it for everyday when I want something more subtle. Sometimes I use it for my lower lashline because I find black too harsh there.
Oh and one more thing... I would recommend especially for people with fair skin because it looks more natural and there's not such a big contrast as is often the case with strong liquid eyeliners.
Overall I'm very happy with this product :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 RainbowPotato on 12/30/2012 1:12:00 AM more reviews by RainbowPotato

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this for tightlining/waterline and it said waterproof! I tried this for tightlining and as a liner and it smudges like crazy. I had it rub all over the bottom of my eyes and it was completely gone from my waterline in a couple of hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rc630 on 12/26/2012 9:34:00 AM more reviews by rc630

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

In terms of initial application, this product is very good. It glides on easily, and the twistup mechanism makes it so you don't have to deal with sharpeners and too-pointy ends when the tip gets low. After a few hours, however, I do end up with a lot of smudging around the outer corners of my eyes, giving me the raccoon/trashy look. But once I wipe out the corners, I still have a good amount remaining where I put it.
I also have had problems with breaking, and I have had to throw about an inch of the stick away because it was broken inside the tube, and when I twisted it up, a big chunk just fell out onto the floor.
I can't attest to the waterproof aspect, as I don't like in a place that gets much rain, nor do I swim... not much of a crier either haha
There are probably other more expensive brands out there that make a better product, but in terms of drugstore brands, this is still the best one I've used. If you don't do dramatic eye looks this is good for everyday use. I prefer twist-up liners, and I have yet to find a better one in this price range, so I will probably buy it again even though it isn't the most amazing product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sawyer01 on 12/13/2012 12:58:00 AM more reviews by sawyer01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible. Doesnt even come out.
It broke up so many times and was an absolute waste of money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adara260 on 12/1/2012 11:48:00 PM more reviews by adara260

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because its the only waterproof drugstore eyeliner I could find at Target. This product is horrible! First I open it and the retraction device was broken. The eyeliner was completely separated from the "stage" mechanism that allows the eyeliner to retract. I tried to lightly smush it to make contact. I barely touched it and the tip broke! So I decided to do a smudge test. I lined this up with Revlon Colorstay and Prestige Total Intensity. I let them sit for a minute and then tried to smudge them like crazy. The Revlon and Prestige didn't smudge a bit. This one was practically gone. I ran my hand under water, the rest of the Maybelline washed away. The other two are still there!

So if I could give a product an absolute 0 for every category, this would be it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 andreamontgomery on 12/1/2012 7:39:00 PM more reviews by andreamontgomery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I'm quite happy with this liner - it is waterproof, it is easy to apply, and I've experienced no breakage.

I'm pretty mystified by the polarity of the reviews. If I had to guess, perhaps there was a formula change, or a bad batch, or a bunch of it was shipped expired? I don't know. But the primary complaints from others (smudging, fading, breakage, and hardness in application) sound like a completely different product to me.

I just wish it was available in a wider variety of colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tswizzle2102 on 10/17/2012 9:27:00 PM more reviews by tswizzle2102

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This eyeliner is perfect for if you are in a water sport!! it is amazingly waterproof, that is what i love about it... I got mine in espresso, and the eyeliner doesnt smudge, stays on all day, and is a great product.. I dont like that the tip of the eyeliner keeps popping off sometimes but other than that it is awesome...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kathun31 on 9/19/2012 4:06:00 AM more reviews by kathun31

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Best everyday eyeliner in my opinion. Not super thick and doesn't smudge at all. No pencil sharpener needed which also probably means you get less actual product itself, but for the convenience and lack of stabbing myself in the lids with sharp pencil shaving tips I'll take it. Lasts all day for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheeky on 9/16/2012 7:07:00 PM more reviews by cheeky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I don't know why this eyeliner has such a low score, it's the best waterproof retractable pencil I've tried, much better than sephora or stilla. It's wet black which i love, not too thick (stilla i'm looking at you), and truly waterproof. I swatched several different eyeliners on my hand including this one, ran my hand under water, and this eyeliner had the most staying power by far. If you touch it during the day, it will come off on your hand (but show me one that doesn't), but it honestly doesn't fade, or run. Very impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PiMehMeh on 9/1/2012 5:18:00 PM more reviews by PiMehMeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have purchased this eyeliner twice because not only was it affordable, easy to apply and manipulate, and convenient on the-go, but it was also effective at holding up against a variety of wet conditions including surf and salt water, monsoon-like rain storms, tropical humidity, and—dare I say—long, adventurous nights in the bedroom. I have worn this on my oily lids without primer and have never experienced fading or smudging.

I purchased this liner in Onyx, but it also comes in a few other dark colors that, as of this review being written, I have yet to try. This is nice for those who don't like stark black liners but prefer dark liners with a hint of warming or cooling color. Otherwise you don't have a whole lot of color options for these babies.

The ergonomics of the product are standard as well; you twist to expose the eyeliner. I have actually never experienced any breakage, as I twist up only a little and apply conservatively. The packaging of this eyeliner does not include a self-sharpener so crisp lines can be difficult to achieve upon application, but this formula applies creamy and is pretty forgiving, as it does not set to dry right away. You have about a minute to smudge, sharpen, and manipulate the shapes you draw before the eyeliner sets and becomes waterproof.

To make application easier, it is good to have waterproof makeup remover and cotton swaps handy for shaping, or to have a smudging eyeliner sponge or brush, such as e.l.f.'s Smudge Eye Sponge.

But if those are not handy, once again, this eyeliner gives you enough time to shape it even with just your finger tips before setting, which is nice when you're on the go and don't have a full dresser at your disposal. I find this to still be an easy formula to work with and can still achieve the cat eye look, with or without any other tools.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eyeliner products