MAC Prep + Prime Skin

3.4

704 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Polysilicone-11, Sucrose, Isopentyldiol, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Gellidiela Acerosa (Algae) Extract, Morus Bombycis (Mulberry) Root Extract, Hypnea Musciformis (Algae) Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract, Poria Cocos Sclerotium Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Amorphophallus Konjac Root Powder, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Algae Extract, Caffeine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Butylene Glycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Magnesium Myristate, Sodium Hyaluronate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Saccharide Isomerate, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Silica, Polysorbate 20, Alumina, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Polyethylene, Phenyl Trimethicone, Sialyllactose, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Phenoxyethanol Prep & Prime Skin may contain: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide, Bismuth Oxychloride


on 12/11/2013 5:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am using MAC's foundation for a long time , so thought of getting this primer as well. But for the first time I used it, it gave me such a bad reaction my face. It took me almost 10 days to get rid of redness and burning sensation over my face. I have never ever got a reaction from even a cheaper cosmetic products. I am highly disappointed from MAC's primer so returned it back as well. It is so expensive for very little quantity and just not worth it.



on 11/30/2013 4:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product looked like it would be good at helping disguise underlying imperfections and providing me with an ethereal glow when the MAC lady seduced me with it at the airport. Sadly I feel it has made absolutely no difference to the appearance or duration of my make up and I have absolutely no intention of buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/26/2013 4:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've heard amazing reviews about this primer before purchasing. This primer was the first one I've ever purchased as it was part of my "makeup starter kit". Consistency of this product is great, which is what earned the 1 lipstick rating. This product does not agree with my skin type. The first time I used this product it was with the same Alba moisturizer, foundation (MAC Face & Body) as well as MAC Pro Longwear concealer that I've always used. I got so oily so quickly, my makeup felt like it was melting. My face felt heavy and disgusting. I figured maybe I applied too much primer, so the next day I applied less and the outcome was the same, continued to try product for a few more days and began to notice that I was breaking out. This primer was the only new product added into my normal routine. As soon as I stopped using it, all of the above mentioned stopped. This product may be great for other but it was not for me. I ended up swapping it with a friend for MAC Matte. This product is also overpriced for something that does not control oil.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2013 8:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product is quite misleading, to me its not a primer or a prepper for your skin, it is a scented moisturiser. It has no priming qualities, it doesnt blur or fill or mattify the skin or lock in foundation, it doesnt prolong make up, it resembles a cheap white moisturising lotion. I love mac but this is so incredibly dissapointing. It'll make NO difference to your make up application or skin what-so-ever.
Also take note, this product has sparkles in it - i know, how strange, they are big flecks of sparkles in this, not the dewy skin kind but kid's arts and crafts kind.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2013 12:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like that this primer has a nice light texture and feels like nothing on the skin. The sparkles seem to scare people but they disappear once applied. This blends really well onto the skin and does not feel heavy or cakey. Price wise it's on par with other mid-end brands of primer. Seems to do better with liquids than creams.


on 11/10/2013 11:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Tried it on my hand in the store, and just had to warn people. THIS IS SHINY. You will sparkle like never before. Your skin will look like an outtake of Twilight's. Oily skin people like me, just don't do it and regret looking ridiculously sparkly.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I got this as a sample because I ordered over a certain amount of their products on the mac website so I can't say much about the packaging or price as I don't really know much about that. What I can say, however, is that this did nothing for me. Didn't moisturise, didn't smooth out my skin, didn't make my makeup last longer. If didn't do a great deal to be honest. Not worth buying, does nothing but make your face feel oily and heavy.


on 11/2/2013 4:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Used to be so in love with this primer.

This primer has made a world of difference to how long my makeup lasts on my face throughout the day, especially my t-zone.

The T-Zone is a different ballgame while incorporating this.

I hate that the package is black because I never know if the tube is full or almost out!


on 10/18/2013 2:20:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I had very high hopes for this product.The 1st 2hrs. this was great with my foundation {Face & Body},then I had to re-powder my face.I never need to do that with other primers.I love M.A.C.,this just right for my skin type.


on 10/14/2013 11:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've tried using a little, a lot, mixed with foundation, under foundation, with powder, without powder..... I just can't seem to get good results. 3 hours in my makeup feels like it's sliding and starts to enhance my fine lines. I won't repurchase. I really tried to like this stuff!


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top