MAC Prep + Prime Skin

3.4

709 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Polysilicone-11, Sucrose, Isopentyldiol, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Gellidiela Acerosa (Algae) Extract, Morus Bombycis (Mulberry) Root Extract, Hypnea Musciformis (Algae) Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract, Poria Cocos Sclerotium Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Amorphophallus Konjac Root Powder, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Algae Extract, Caffeine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Butylene Glycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Potassium Sorbate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Magnesium Myristate, Sodium Hyaluronate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Saccharide Isomerate, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Silica, Polysorbate 20, Alumina, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Polyethylene, Phenyl Trimethicone, Sialyllactose, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Phenoxyethanol Prep & Prime Skin may contain: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide, Bismuth Oxychloride


on 2/19/2014 11:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this is a dissapointment, for what it does it´s really really pricey, i don´t see any difference in how my foundation looks or lasts, it just smooth my skin a little but that´s it. recently i bought smashbox more than primer the antiblemish version and it is a waaaay better product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/9/2014 3:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I like the fact that when you put it on your face it feels velvety however i don't think it makes any real difference. It doesn't minimize your poors or fine lines and isn't really worth including in your daily routine because it doesn't really do anything except make a nice smooth base for your foundation to go on. Then again, i don't notice much of a difference with most primers. It has quite a nice packaging and like i said it does make a nice base to put your foundation over. I don't think it's worth $50 but i do like some things about it so i cant decide if i like it or not.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2014 1:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Meh. Love MAC but noticed no difference to my foundation. Pretty disappointed.


on 1/20/2014 8:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Package is nice, it has a nice shimmering effect, there is no perfume in it and suitable for sensitive skin. Maybe it would be better without glitter.


on 12/17/2013 9:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This primer comes in an attractive pump dispenser with a glittery pattern on it. It also contains shimmer, which isn't super obvious but if you apply too much or come too close you will see it. It's very siliconey and smoothening, but don't count on it to fill in your lines etc, at times it can feel a little greasy :( really does nothing to prolong my makeup than any other primer and is pretty overpriced for doing nothing special. Won't repurchase better ones are out there


on 12/11/2013 5:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am using MAC's foundation for a long time , so thought of getting this primer as well. But for the first time I used it, it gave me such a bad reaction my face. It took me almost 10 days to get rid of redness and burning sensation over my face. I have never ever got a reaction from even a cheaper cosmetic products. I am highly disappointed from MAC's primer so returned it back as well. It is so expensive for very little quantity and just not worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/30/2013 4:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product looked like it would be good at helping disguise underlying imperfections and providing me with an ethereal glow when the MAC lady seduced me with it at the airport. Sadly I feel it has made absolutely no difference to the appearance or duration of my make up and I have absolutely no intention of buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/26/2013 4:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've heard amazing reviews about this primer before purchasing. This primer was the first one I've ever purchased as it was part of my "makeup starter kit". Consistency of this product is great, which is what earned the 1 lipstick rating. This product does not agree with my skin type. The first time I used this product it was with the same Alba moisturizer, foundation (MAC Face & Body) as well as MAC Pro Longwear concealer that I've always used. I got so oily so quickly, my makeup felt like it was melting. My face felt heavy and disgusting. I figured maybe I applied too much primer, so the next day I applied less and the outcome was the same, continued to try product for a few more days and began to notice that I was breaking out. This primer was the only new product added into my normal routine. As soon as I stopped using it, all of the above mentioned stopped. This product may be great for other but it was not for me. I ended up swapping it with a friend for MAC Matte. This product is also overpriced for something that does not control oil.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2013 8:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This product is quite misleading, to me its not a primer or a prepper for your skin, it is a scented moisturiser. It has no priming qualities, it doesnt blur or fill or mattify the skin or lock in foundation, it doesnt prolong make up, it resembles a cheap white moisturising lotion. I love mac but this is so incredibly dissapointing. It'll make NO difference to your make up application or skin what-so-ever.
Also take note, this product has sparkles in it - i know, how strange, they are big flecks of sparkles in this, not the dewy skin kind but kid's arts and crafts kind.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2013 12:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like that this primer has a nice light texture and feels like nothing on the skin. The sparkles seem to scare people but they disappear once applied. This blends really well onto the skin and does not feel heavy or cakey. Price wise it's on par with other mid-end brands of primer. Seems to do better with liquids than creams.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top