MAC • Prep + Prime Skin • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.4(691 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 TraciMaci on 9/15/2013 8:03:00 AM more reviews by TraciMaci

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I do not fee this is a real "Primer". It did absolutely nothing for my skin. It's more like a moisturizer to me, but I still would not use it as that either. I really did not know what a good primer was suppose to do until I purchased Prime Time by Bare Minerals, than I knew this was not a Primer. Will not purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mummykel25 on 9/15/2013 7:20:00 AM more reviews by Mummykel25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

To be honest I don't really see this as a primer, I do like it I've purchased it more than once but I wouldn't say it makes my makeup stay on any longer, it applies nicely to the skin and makes it feel soft and more hydrated, I suppose I use it more as a moisturiser, I have patches of eczema on my cheeks which I sometimes find hard to cover with foundation and this helps it go on without drawing attention to it most of the time. It comes in a nice little bottle and lasts me ages so its good value for money but the pump is annoying, it's hard to judge how much pressure to apply and sometimes even tho smallest touch leaves you with more than you need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CandeyGirl on 9/13/2013 7:02:00 AM more reviews by CandeyGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am from Australia, and on a recent trip to USA/Canada, I went a little mad buying big on makeup which is SOOOO much cheaper in those countries!! Anyway, part of my crazy spending involved MAC, and in particular this primer.

Ill be honest, I liked the primer, but didnt love it. I havent used the entire bottle, reason being that I reckon this was a huge contributor to breaking out my skin!! I actually think its those little glitter particles in the product that clog pores.

Anyway, since I have ceased using this product, and instead use aloe vera gel as a primer, my skin has radically reduced in its crazy zit spree.

Sorry guys and gals, but this chick wouldnt repurchase this item again.

1 lippy for price as its very expensive here in oz.
1 lippe for overall as I do feel this is contributing toward my crazy congestion.

x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 forthewildunknown on 9/1/2013 7:11:00 PM more reviews by forthewildunknown

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

This primer is SO overrated. I bought if for the first time last week and I've used it about 5 times since then. It feels nice on my skin but it really didn't do anything for my foundation and actually made it slide off a little more easily. I'm thinking of returning it, considering the rave reviews it gets on youtube I expected so much better. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 9/1/2013 3:18:00 PM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

To me, this product is just okay. It's nothing spectacular, it didn't make my skin any more radiant and it didn't increase the longevity of my make up - I tested it with three different foundations. Furthermore, the liquid is very shimmery/glittery, which I didn't like. I ended up giving this to my sister.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprilpinkbeauty on 8/29/2013 9:58:00 PM more reviews by aprilpinkbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my holy grail primers! I use this personally and on clients (I'm an MUA) and I've had numerous brides email me after their wedding to see what products I used on them because they were amazed at how long their makeup lasted! 1 pump does the job for the entire face and it blends out wonderfully. This product smooths out the skin and sets a perfect base for foundation. I haven't had any clients come back to say they got a huge break out from this product and I personally haven't had any breakouts either. I really don't see the glitter issues that I read in other reviews on here - from what I can tell the slight shimmer in the product doesn't transfer onto the face. The product dries quite fast and is ready for foundation in no time. The packaging is amazing...pump products are always convenient, easy to travel with, and super sanitary when you're working on other people's faces.

This product is a bit pricey but for me its worth the price! I have repurchased and will continue to repurchase for both personal use and for my makeup kit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kikigurl7 on 8/18/2013 11:00:00 PM more reviews by Kikigurl7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to love this product but it made my skin break out. I have not had a break out like that in years. Also, when using this product I noticed by the end of the day my skin was extremely oily. I'm so sad it didn't work but would rather use bare minerals or smash box primers. The packaging was the only good thing about this. Steer clear if you are prone to break outs. I will try it one more time in the winter when my skin is a little dryer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Eldeliciamua on 8/15/2013 11:10:00 AM more reviews by Eldeliciamua

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

First of all it broke me out! Second of all it's got a ton of glitter in it and lastly its over priced. I'm sure it helps foundation to stay longer but so do a lot of other brands. Save your cash for something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachelisGreen on 7/30/2013 8:57:00 PM more reviews by RachelisGreen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really enjoy this primer. I have used a million primers from Smashbox, Benefit (That Gal, Porefessional), Too Faced, L'oreal, HardCandy, etc. I was at MAC buying more of my Prolong Wear Foundation when the SA who is also a friend of mine told me that I should be using this primer because there is an ingredient in the long lasting foundations that can make the texture of your skin more rough and raised up (I think she said it's the copper in the longer wearing foundations). I was immediately sold and decided to give it a shot. I typically like my primers to have more of a "Silicone" type feel just because it really smooths out your skin and it's the perfect base for applying foundation. This stuff definitely makes your skin feel sort of velvety but nothing in comparison to Smashbox or Porefessional. I am not sure if that actually deters the effectiveness of the primer itself but I guess that's just my personal preference. It definitely mattifies your skin but it leaves a bunch of sparkles which I guess is supposed to be an "illuminating" effect. It doesn't bother me much because it doesn't peek through my foundation. I let it sink into my skin for about 30-55 seconds and then I apply my foundation. This is a very light weight primer and it absorbs into the skin fairly quickly without leaving any weird residue behind like some primers. i feel that it definitely provides a smooth base but it's nothing extraordinary. It's better than using no primer at all. I have noticed that since I've used it the texture of my skin has improved, so perhaps the SA was right! This is a basic primer in my opinion but it definitely performs well and I like knowing it protects me from my long wearing foundation. I'm not sure if it's worth the high price tag , and I definitely feel as though I could spend the money on a primer that performs better but I will definitely use up my bottle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shamelessme on 7/28/2013 9:45:00 AM more reviews by shamelessme

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Firstly, this is a fantastic primer.
I use it daily because it produces really fantastic results on me. I use this is combination predominantly with MAC studio fix fluid and it applies like a dream. The primer is weightless and applies so smoothly. I find that one pump covers my face and the top part of my neck sufficiently and because of this, the primer will last you for ages! I've had mine for 6 months now and I still haven't used all of it (granted I haven't used it every single day during those six months, but I have on the majority of them). It definitely lives up to the claim of calming and soothing the skin and evening out the complexion. The packaging is very convenient and the pump works well - absolutely nothing to complain about there. The only reason I've given it 4 instead of 5 stars is due to the shimmer. While it doesn't show up under my foundation, it gets all over my hands and is actually really hard to get rid of! This primer has never broken me out or increased my levels of oiliness. I would (and will) repurchase and recommend it to anybody interested.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Primer/ Corrector products