MAC • Prep + Prime Skin • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.4(694 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ALBA on 10/11/2013 5:48:00 PM more reviews by ALBA

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This makes my makeup oil free for far longer than it would do normally - when I run out and don't use it, I'm constantly blotting my skin so I know it works. The instructions state not to use this near the mouth area, I don't know if this is because it makes the skin more sensitive or if it is dangerous to lick?

It is white with miniscule particles of glitter in it that help skin look more luminous - you can't see the glitter under makeup. The texture is like a light cream.

I have recently tried the Prep and Prime Radiance which is more transparent and more like a serum than a balm or moisturiser, this adds more of a glow which I don't always want on the T-zone - I'm not sure it holds back the oil as well either. Will have to see.

The packaging is a black container with a pump - you don't know when you're going to run out of product and it can't be opened without difficulty.

I would always buy it again. BTW, I hate the P+P powder as it makes me look like a dull faced ghost in photos so it is great to find a P+P product that I like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 9/25/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I used this product happily under my foundation until a SA accidently gave me the (old) SPF version and I fell in love with that. It worked well. Made my foundation apply smoothly, prolonged wear, and held back my oil a bit longer than without. Didn't aggravate my skin. I'd try it again if I were back wearing foundation daily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Allie0325 on 9/25/2013 8:36:00 PM more reviews by Allie0325

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This is a horrible product ! Did nothing for my foundation! Feels like a gel ! Don't waste it money

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TraciMaci on 9/15/2013 8:03:00 AM more reviews by TraciMaci

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I do not fee this is a real "Primer". It did absolutely nothing for my skin. It's more like a moisturizer to me, but I still would not use it as that either. I really did not know what a good primer was suppose to do until I purchased Prime Time by Bare Minerals, than I knew this was not a Primer. Will not purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mummykel25 on 9/15/2013 7:20:00 AM more reviews by Mummykel25

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

To be honest I don't really see this as a primer, I do like it I've purchased it more than once but I wouldn't say it makes my makeup stay on any longer, it applies nicely to the skin and makes it feel soft and more hydrated, I suppose I use it more as a moisturiser, I have patches of eczema on my cheeks which I sometimes find hard to cover with foundation and this helps it go on without drawing attention to it most of the time. It comes in a nice little bottle and lasts me ages so its good value for money but the pump is annoying, it's hard to judge how much pressure to apply and sometimes even tho smallest touch leaves you with more than you need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CandeyGirl on 9/13/2013 7:02:00 AM more reviews by CandeyGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am from Australia, and on a recent trip to USA/Canada, I went a little mad buying big on makeup which is SOOOO much cheaper in those countries!! Anyway, part of my crazy spending involved MAC, and in particular this primer.

Ill be honest, I liked the primer, but didnt love it. I havent used the entire bottle, reason being that I reckon this was a huge contributor to breaking out my skin!! I actually think its those little glitter particles in the product that clog pores.

Anyway, since I have ceased using this product, and instead use aloe vera gel as a primer, my skin has radically reduced in its crazy zit spree.

Sorry guys and gals, but this chick wouldnt repurchase this item again.

1 lippy for price as its very expensive here in oz.
1 lippe for overall as I do feel this is contributing toward my crazy congestion.

x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 forthewildunknown on 9/1/2013 7:11:00 PM more reviews by forthewildunknown

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

This primer is SO overrated. I bought if for the first time last week and I've used it about 5 times since then. It feels nice on my skin but it really didn't do anything for my foundation and actually made it slide off a little more easily. I'm thinking of returning it, considering the rave reviews it gets on youtube I expected so much better. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 9/1/2013 3:18:00 PM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

To me, this product is just okay. It's nothing spectacular, it didn't make my skin any more radiant and it didn't increase the longevity of my make up - I tested it with three different foundations. Furthermore, the liquid is very shimmery/glittery, which I didn't like. I ended up giving this to my sister.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aprilpinkbeauty on 8/29/2013 9:58:00 PM more reviews by aprilpinkbeauty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my holy grail primers! I use this personally and on clients (I'm an MUA) and I've had numerous brides email me after their wedding to see what products I used on them because they were amazed at how long their makeup lasted! 1 pump does the job for the entire face and it blends out wonderfully. This product smooths out the skin and sets a perfect base for foundation. I haven't had any clients come back to say they got a huge break out from this product and I personally haven't had any breakouts either. I really don't see the glitter issues that I read in other reviews on here - from what I can tell the slight shimmer in the product doesn't transfer onto the face. The product dries quite fast and is ready for foundation in no time. The packaging is amazing...pump products are always convenient, easy to travel with, and super sanitary when you're working on other people's faces.

This product is a bit pricey but for me its worth the price! I have repurchased and will continue to repurchase for both personal use and for my makeup kit.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kikigurl7 on 8/18/2013 11:00:00 PM more reviews by Kikigurl7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to love this product but it made my skin break out. I have not had a break out like that in years. Also, when using this product I noticed by the end of the day my skin was extremely oily. I'm so sad it didn't work but would rather use bare minerals or smash box primers. The packaging was the only good thing about this. Steer clear if you are prone to break outs. I will try it one more time in the winter when my skin is a little dryer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Primer/ Corrector products