Clean & Clear Deep Cleaning Astringent (orange)

3.6

97 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Salicylic Acid (2%) Inactive: Water, Alcohol, Isoceteth-20, Fragrance, Dimethicone Propyl PG-Betaine, Benzophenone-4, Red 4, Denatonium Benzoate


on 8/18/2010 11:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

Great toner for oily skin and prevent breakouts. It's not as harsh on my skin as the Neutrogena Clear Pore and doesn't dry out my skin. In fact, it keeps my skin younger looking due to the exfoliation.



on 8/17/2010 10:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Awful product! I donīt recommend this to anyone, any skin type!
It made my skin dry, flaky, my cheeks red and irritated!
Look at the ingredients before you buy it.

Ingredients: Salicylic Acid (2%) Inactive: Alcohol, Benzophenone-4, Denatonium Benzoate, Dimethicone Propyl PG-Betaine, Fragrance, Isoceteth-20, Red 4, Water


on 7/3/2010 3:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is just awful. It is so strong and way too harsh. I do NOT have sensitive skin at all. My skin is very oily, but almost never has dryness to it. In the morning I use a light moisturizer but at night I moisturize well since even oily skin needs good moisture. You can tell just by the alcohol smell of this stuff that it's too harsh on the skin. If you really want a good toner that's cheap, get Thayer's Witch Hazel. I'm going back to the witch hazel myself.


on 1/6/2010 11:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When I want to go for a cheap astringent, this is my favorite. Yes, it has its flaws, but it works wonderfully if you know what to do with it (especially after putting it on).


Yes, this stuff mostly has alcohol in it. Yes, this stuff doesn't smell good. Yes, this stuff can dry your face to the bone. I admit that all of these are true, but once I put a good moisturizer on my face after applying the astringent, all of the product's faults go right out the window.


This astringent helps with any blemishes, which is the purpose of astringent in the first place. It doesn't make my skin feel oily (and it helps the moisturizer from making it oily as well).


The only thing left I have to say about this product is that it's reliable. I can recommend this to anyone, but just make sure that you put moisturizer on after using it!


on 12/6/2009 1:18:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Used to be my fav astringent, what was I thinking? It's really smelly the fumes burn my eyes. Leaves me really dry yet after a couple hours i'd be oily and have dry patches with flakey skin. I switched to a more natural toner my skin is in much better. I have to say is the cap used to make a very loud pop when closed it must have been redesigned because that no longer happens.


on 11/11/2009 12:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Yes, it burns. Most astringents do. But it works. I'm breaking out much less since switching to the clean & clear brand. I feel this is the best brand of drugstore acne products.

I've tried proactive,RX for brown skin, neutrogena, and dermatologist presciptions and nothing helped clear up my skin like clean & clear. I however limit myself to using the astringent 1x a day because it can cause drying if you use it everytime you wash your face.


on 11/8/2009 1:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

LOVES IT LOVES IT LOVES IT!! I'm on my second bottle now and I've been using it for about 2 1/2 years. I was using Dickinson's Witch Hazel first but it was pricey so i switched to this. And it's great! I have acne prone skin and this really takes care of me. My morning routine would not be complete without this. Seriously, I would feel gross without this.

EDIT: I am now on my 3rd bottle! i am serious when i say i could not live without this!!


on 10/24/2009 6:04:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product smells, stings, and leaves skin very dry. On existing acne marks it really burns. Would not recommend.


on 4/21/2009 1:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This toner definately keeps my skin from cystic acne outbreaks, but it does really burn!!! I'll tolerate the burn as long as it keeps my skin clear!!! *BEWARE THE INITIAL BREAKOUT THOUGH!* Salicylic acid brings gunk to the surface, and I broke out for the first 3 weeks, but after that, smooth smooth sailing!!!

Update: Oct 19, 2009:

I gave up on this toner... I moved on to a WAY better product (Paula's Choice 2% BHA liquid) and I am in love with it. Although this toner showed me that salicylic acid works well with my skin, it totally dried my skin out, so I opted for a way more hydrating product.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I would never use this stuff for my face as I feel it's far too drying. I wouldn't put 50% alcohol on my face EVER. However, I do find that this does wonders for my bacne and chesne. I'll apply 2-3 times a day and all the annoying zits just seem to shrivel up and disappear. I have noticed that the chest skin has become drier as well as clearer so I recently replaced this with pads that also had 2% salicylic acid. The skin was less dry but the zits were making a comeback so I'm currently using this and some nivea cream. I guess the alcohol really does well on tougher body skin when it came to pimples.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top