Clean & Clear • Deep Cleaning Astringent (orange) • Toners

rated 3.6(94 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spiderleenie on 1/6/2010 11:52:00 PM more reviews by spiderleenie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

When I want to go for a cheap astringent, this is my favorite. Yes, it has its flaws, but it works wonderfully if you know what to do with it (especially after putting it on).


Yes, this stuff mostly has alcohol in it. Yes, this stuff doesn't smell good. Yes, this stuff can dry your face to the bone. I admit that all of these are true, but once I put a good moisturizer on my face after applying the astringent, all of the product's faults go right out the window.


This astringent helps with any blemishes, which is the purpose of astringent in the first place. It doesn't make my skin feel oily (and it helps the moisturizer from making it oily as well).


The only thing left I have to say about this product is that it's reliable. I can recommend this to anyone, but just make sure that you put moisturizer on after using it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 singalong on 12/6/2009 1:18:00 AM more reviews by singalong

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Used to be my fav astringent, what was I thinking? It's really smelly the fumes burn my eyes. Leaves me really dry yet after a couple hours i'd be oily and have dry patches with flakey skin. I switched to a more natural toner my skin is in much better. I have to say is the cap used to make a very loud pop when closed it must have been redesigned because that no longer happens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 keia1113 on 11/11/2009 12:16:00 PM more reviews by keia1113

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Yes, it burns. Most astringents do. But it works. I'm breaking out much less since switching to the clean & clear brand. I feel this is the best brand of drugstore acne products.

I've tried proactive,RX for brown skin, neutrogena, and dermatologist presciptions and nothing helped clear up my skin like clean & clear. I however limit myself to using the astringent 1x a day because it can cause drying if you use it everytime you wash your face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Encie on 11/8/2009 1:48:00 PM more reviews by Encie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

LOVES IT LOVES IT LOVES IT!! I'm on my second bottle now and I've been using it for about 2 1/2 years. I was using Dickinson's Witch Hazel first but it was pricey so i switched to this. And it's great! I have acne prone skin and this really takes care of me. My morning routine would not be complete without this. Seriously, I would feel gross without this.

EDIT: I am now on my 3rd bottle! i am serious when i say i could not live without this!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lst417 on 10/24/2009 6:04:00 PM more reviews by lst417

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This product smells, stings, and leaves skin very dry. On existing acne marks it really burns. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 smartie26 on 4/21/2009 1:46:00 AM more reviews by smartie26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This toner definately keeps my skin from cystic acne outbreaks, but it does really burn!!! I'll tolerate the burn as long as it keeps my skin clear!!! *BEWARE THE INITIAL BREAKOUT THOUGH!* Salicylic acid brings gunk to the surface, and I broke out for the first 3 weeks, but after that, smooth smooth sailing!!!

Update: Oct 19, 2009:

I gave up on this toner... I moved on to a WAY better product (Paula's Choice 2% BHA liquid) and I am in love with it. Although this toner showed me that salicylic acid works well with my skin, it totally dried my skin out, so I opted for a way more hydrating product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SanityPhobia on 4/8/2009 7:02:00 PM more reviews by SanityPhobia

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I would never use this stuff for my face as I feel it's far too drying. I wouldn't put 50% alcohol on my face EVER. However, I do find that this does wonders for my bacne and chesne. I'll apply 2-3 times a day and all the annoying zits just seem to shrivel up and disappear. I have noticed that the chest skin has become drier as well as clearer so I recently replaced this with pads that also had 2% salicylic acid. The skin was less dry but the zits were making a comeback so I'm currently using this and some nivea cream. I guess the alcohol really does well on tougher body skin when it came to pimples.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nicolesid1 on 3/7/2009 12:57:00 PM more reviews by Nicolesid1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

It is good and preventing blemishes. It does burn a bit though. Would not suggest for anyone with sensative skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 januaryicecream on 1/30/2009 8:00:00 PM more reviews by januaryicecream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is quite a harsh product so I wouldn't recommend it for people with sensitive skin. I use this as my weapon against pimples and zits and it works really well. It kinda dries out your skin though however I find that by the next 2 days, my pimple or soon to be pimple is gone =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xxhelenaxx on 10/30/2008 6:54:00 PM more reviews by xxhelenaxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: I should have added that this had clove and eucalyptus oil in it, which might irritate the skin of other users', but I didn't mind it, at least in every season but winter. Now they've changed the formula. It's still a medicated toner, but for my thick, oily skin, it's not as effective in fighting oil on my T-zone. It actually might be better suited to most customers' skin.

I re-purchase generic versions of this because it's cheap, but I'm guessing there are much better drugstore astringents with salicylic acid out there.

I'm on a low dose of Accutane and have skin with a mind of it's own...formerly oily and cystic, and currently, more predictable. Now it's combination and drier in winter, which I take into mind when using the product.

That said, this is a no-fuss astringent with a minty scent (not overpowering) and leaves a cool menthol/peppermint tingle on your skin after use (depends on whether you'd find that irritating). Neither the scent or the "tingle" last too long. It's helping removing extra make-up, sweat and dirt that soap leaves and actually does seem to help control oil for a while. (To be fair...the Accutane probably deserves most of the credit for it...this is just the icing on the cake.)

I've tried other drugstore toners with added ingredients and scents; even if they had the same active ingredient and (somewhat) the same formula, they had a sickening after-scent, left my skin with a sticky film, or had the opposite effect and dried/stung too much.

This is no frills, simple, and pretty effective. As an added bonus, it's rated relatively well at Skin Deep http://www.cosmeticdatabase.com/product.php?prod_id=2718

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clean & Clear products

More Toners products