Clinique Almost Lipstick - Black Honey

4.1

1175 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, cetyl ricinoleate, glyceryl triacetyl ricinoleate, candelila wax, carnauba wax, polyethylene, tocopheryl acetate [ yellow 5 lake (ci 19140), red 33 lake (ci 17200), red 28 lake (ci 45410), red 6 lake (ci 15850), blue 1 (ci 42090), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499), red 7 lake (ci 15850), mica, bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163), red 30 lake (ci 73360), carmine (ci 75470), manganese violet (ci 77742), red 22 lake (ci 45380), titanium dioxide (ci 77891), red 21 lake (ci 45380), yellow 6 lake (ci 15850), red 27 lake (ci 45410), orange 5 (ci 45370), red 36 (ci 12085)]


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really like this lipstick. It's sheer, but build able. It's a very pretty berry kind of color. Feels like butter on my lips, kind of glossy without being sticky. I like the sturdy packaging since it's a thin lipstick. Only thing is, I wish it'd last longer. I love this when I'm made up or made down to bring a bit of color to my face. Overall, I'd purchase again.



on 4/29/2014 5:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I love love love this. Removing lippie due to lack of staying power. And I realize that it's not really meant to have staying power, but I mean this stuff really is gone in no time. That said, it's freaking beautiful and looks good on everyone. If I could find a stain or lipstick to exactly mimic the shade I get from applying this, it would be my HG. As is, I still love the product. It glides on smoothly and looks done without being too done and it's just beautiful. Have I mentioned how beautiful it is? Until I find THE ONE, I will be sticking with primarily this or just rose balm. I really do love this. Non drying and matches everything and every look. Just wish I could apply less often.


on 4/24/2014 4:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Love it. Looks like naturally flushed beautiful lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2014 12:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I chose a deluxe sample size version of this from Sephora because there seemed to be universal agreement that it would look awesome on everyone. Sadly, I didn't like it because I like bold lip colors and this was like a tinted chapstick but in an ugly tint shade. I already have pretty pigmented lips so this shade didn't do anything at all for me. I didn't think it was moisturizing and it tasted not-good. It wasn't pretty at all. I don't like sheer lip color that shows the texture and lines on my lips. I would NEVER buy this. I can't imagine buying nude lipstick, let alone something called 'almost lipstick.' But if you love sheer & nude for your lips, I guess you might like this.


on 3/15/2014 11:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

For whatever shortcomings this product has, the universally flattering color makes up for it. Yes it could be a little more long lasting and the packaging could be updated so that the top of the tube doesn't pop off but nothing changes the way I feel when I wear this baby. Clinique's cult classic Black Honey makes me feel sophisticated and dare I say quite French in the way that I can look instantly put together with minimal effort. Unlike a nude lipstick, I can wear Black Honey when the only other makeup I have on is my brows and mascara and I'll actually feel confident leaving the house. No other lip product I own has that effect. So I say just go for it and spend the $16 because the probability that this will become a staple in your makeup bag is 9/10. It's just that gorgeous and versatile!

Tip: L'Oreal's Colour Riche lip liner in Au Naturale ($6.99) is the exact same color as this and I do mean EXACT. So if you want to improve the wear and longevity of this lipstick use that lip liner in conjunction :)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2014 8:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this based on reviews that is was flattering for any skin. I was skeptical since it is so dark. I have medium complexion skin with olive undertones. This is NOT flattering. It does not seem very moisturizing or long lasting. The lid on the product also seems a bit loose. I won't repurchase.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2014 12:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For reference: nc30, warm and yellow

This lipstick is a gorgeous sheer reddish berry color. Leaves a nice sheen to the lips. This product really does moisturize the lips. I think I paid around $15 for this at sephora.

I love wearing this when I have a neutral face and I need a pop of color. Love wearing this when I'm rocking a camel/orangey eye makeup.

Possible dupe could be the Nivea color of care lip balm in "sheer berry". Only difference is that "black honey" is a tad bit darker.

Definitely would repurchase!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2014 10:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This color has been around for-eh-ver.
I tried it as a freebie in the '80's and it's still a nice, wearable shade - somewhat sheer - a bit moisturizing formula (not super long wearing - but not bad).

For free? No problem!


on 2/18/2014 9:33:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am 38 years old. I first tried Clinique Black Honey from a free gift set my mom got when I was a teenager. For years, all through my 20s, this was the only lipstick I would wear. I always think there is something better, but I always come back to it. The color is perfect for my neutral, pale skin. It is a warmer red, with brown tones. It can be applied very lightly for a natural flush, or darker for a more dramatic look. It also stains, so the color stays for quite a bit. It isn't too shiny, isn't too matte. Slightly moisturizing. The small, sleek tube allows me to be able to apply it anywhere, without a mirror. It is amazing to think this has been a mainstay in my purse for over 20 years, and I am sure it will be for next 20.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2014 2:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

i absolutly love this cult favourite!! my sisters and mom use this as well and it looks different in all of us! i love that it adapts to different situations, that way i dont need a thousand lip products, just one! o the downside, it doesnt have as much staying power, but i dont even care!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top