DERMAdoctor Wrinkle Revenge Rescue & Protect Eye Balm

3.7

80 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide 4, Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, Steareth-20, Dipeptide-2, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide 7, Camellia Sinensis (White Tea) Leaf Extract, Glycerin, Methyl Gluceth-20, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Stearic Acid, Polyethylene, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Caffeine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Propylene Glycol, Macrocystis Pyrifera Extract, Spirulina Maxima Extract, Fucus Vesiculosus Extract, Chondrus Crispus (Carrageenan) Extract, Nasturtium Officinale Extract, Cetraria Islandica Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Ilex Paraguariensis (Paraguay Tea) Leaf Extract, Lecithin, Superoxide Dismutase, Butylene Glycol, Saccharomyces Lysate Extract, Squalane, Ubiquinone, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Dimethicone, Cyclomethicone, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Carbomer, Disodium EDTA, Polysorbate 20, PPG-2 Myristyl Ether Propionate, Aminomethyl Propanol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben 7/21/09


on 4/30/2008 8:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Darn you Dermadoctor, you've done it to me again! I really wanted to hate this eye cream due to the cost. I have tried just about every eye cream out there (including La Mer, La Prairie and everything in between). I had finally found a wonderful eye cream a couple of years ago that costs next to nothing that has done a fabulous job (Dream Products Eye Lift). I have been using that wonderful cream for some time now. I had no interest in trying anything else because quite frankly that cream is quite astonishing and is under $15.00!



I still read all the eye cream reviews just for the heck of it and always keep my eyes open for something new that could be even better (though I don't know why we do this when we have something that works well, but so many of us do this nonetheless). The one that stood out for me was this one. Mainly because all of Dermadoctor's products have turned out to be pretty amazing to me, so I figured the chances would be high that their eye cream would rock as well. Samples of this eye balm are near impossible to come by, but Dermadoctor had them the other day when I went to buy more Feet Accompli.



I received the sample a few days ago and must say I am truly impressed (I had a feeling about this one). Not only is it packed with all kinds of incredibly fortifying ingredients, but it feels incredible going on. I've never felt anything this moisturizing in my life. It's a very intense, creamy, cooling sensation that lasts and lasts for some time (not a heavy mentholated cool but a soft and gentle one). What amazed me the most is how it immediately transformed my eyes! The skin under my eyes was immediately tighter and brighter! I saw immediate results so this works on long term problems and gives you some immediate cosmetic relief as well. I love the creamy texture and lasting results but I could do without the price tag. I've been told that it's a nice sized jar that can really last so maybe it will work out to be more reasonable if it lasts a few months. I'll know soon enough as I am about to purchase a full jar. I am not sure I want to give up on my Eye Lift by Dream Products just yet but this one has left me teetering badly. Fabulous eye cream that truly delivers!



EDIT: I still think this is a lovely cream however I must say that I feel Dream Products Eye Lift performs better and it's much cheaper (in fact vastly so). I love the silkiness of this cream but there is one thing I noticed that surprised me a little. My eyes got a little puffy after using this for a week, which tells made I must be allergic to something in here. When an eye cream doesn't do what it's touted to do, that's to be expected and we've all been there, but when one makes your eyes look worse, that usually means there is an allergy involved (it's why women scratch their heads wondering why their eyes look crepier and worse with certain eye creams and it's almost always due to an allergy to one or more of the ingredients listed). I am allergic to soy and get that crepiness and puffiness if I find that in an eye product (Borba did that to me big time for that reason). Oh well this is a wonderful cream but obviously something in here does not agree with my skin. I've noticed that the more complicated an eye cream is, the more chances I have of being allergic (meaning too many ingredients and chemicals).

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 3/2/2008 4:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For me, this is a very good cream that is well worth the money. For reference, I have normal-to-oily skin and don't have huge dryness issues around my eyes.

I bought it just looking for something that would moisturize well and help with the very fine lines that are starting to appear around my 40-yr-old eyes. Well, it delivered more than that. First, it has reduced the depth of the fine lines under my eyes, maybe by about 40%, but no more. It has also reduced the depth of a horizontal line I have on the bridge of my nose, making it much less visible. I was very surprised to see that! The best surprise, though, has been the noticeable reduction in under eye circles. Granted, I started with minimal darkness that could be easily covered with a powder foundation or light TM, but after 2 months of use, I can now easily go without covering anything up. The darkness is reduced maybe 40% -- it's just more diffuse looking. Finally, it seems to have done some tightening of my eye bags....or maybe it just appears so because the darkness is lessened.

As for texture, it is thick, but is not overly greasy for me. I can wear it during the day under sunscreen as long as I apply some sort of powder over it, and it doesn't interfere with my eye makeup.

The quantity is quite generous, so the price isn't too horrible, but the jar itself needs to go. I'd feel better if I didn't have to dip my fingers in it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/28/2008 12:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Hmmm, I had wanted this product soooooooo long and I finally ordered it. It cost me 86 US$ with shipping (57 euros) which is quite cheap considering you get 30mls! So far, my eye area is looking rather good, (touch wood) but I don't know if it's this or skinceuticals' eye renewal gel with 5% alpha hydroxy acid (i use the latter in the pm) which is contributing seeing I started using both around the same time. However, I thought that being a balm, it would be more moisturising :( It also doesn't sink in so well and leaves not only my eye area looking dry seeing it's not moisturising enough and thus concealer doesn't exactly glide over, but it also doesn't sink in well leaving tiny tiny "crumbles" around my eye area. So, I'm not exactly pleased with that at all....if I see my eye area can live with out it, I'll go back to using Ella Bache -which gives me fantastic moisture and stick to skinceuticals and avene eluage at night.
UPDATE: I think this is a really good cream, but just not for dry skin as it makes my eye area look worse seeing it has no moisture, but I can see this working for other skin types. *sigh*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2008 7:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I like this eye cream. It is not irritating to the skin around my eyes and does a great job of hydrating. However, it is a thick cream, actually feels like you are sticking your fingers into a tub of soft margarine its so think. At night, there is really no problem with the cream being thick but if you plan on wearing it during the day (like the box suggests), prepare to have your makeup smear all over the place. You will get major eye shadow creases. I would not suggest wearing this cream if you plan on wearing eye makeup during the day but as a night cream it works great. You get a small supply but you use very little when you apply it so the supply will last you a long time. The cream works to prevent wrinkles and really wont do much to your existing ones. The wrinkles you may have will look worse when your skin is dried out and since this cream is a fantastic hydrator, your wrinkles may look better but will in no way disappear. If you want to prevent wrinkles and properly hydrate the sensitive area around your eyes, this cream is the way to go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/10/2007 1:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is not my HG, but it's the best eye cream I've found so far. A lightweight, non-greasy cream, this absorbs quickly and leaves a nice base for concealer. I have noticed my dark circles are softer, not gone but less purple. Fine lines are also subtly pumped, but not gone. No milia or stinging, no heavy fragrance. A definite repurchase unless I find something better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/22/2007 9:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Was on an eye cream search for dark circles mainly. Also starting to notice eye bags, and perhaps some fine lines. Stress and lack of sleep will do that to you!! Anyway - got a bunch of samples. I was undecided between this and Skyn Iceland - but then used them separately for at least a month. Wrinkle Revenge is much better. Milia disappeared, and more importantly, stay gone (always a problem for me with most eye creams). I think I was perhaps imagining the fine lines before, but anyway, not there. Not as good with puffiness, but I put it in the fridge, and that solved that issue. Dark circles not as noticeable but still there, but to be quite honest, as long as I'm only getting 4 hours sleep average at night and not drink water regularly, that's probably still going to be an issue. Comes in a HUMONGOUS container so worth the money, but not very hygienic. I wish every company has travel sizes though. Overall - best eye cream I've tried so far...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2007 10:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

i have been on a long search for an eye cream that ACTUALLY works. i've almost given up and even posted that i didn't think eye creams worked and that everyone should just stick w/ retin a and c serums. but i got a sample of this raoked to me because i've been wanting to try it. i've been using this for almost a week and i swear i already see results! i had these little fine lines under neath my eyes and a deep laugh crinkle. i can honestly say all the fine lines and also my deep laugh crinkle has greatly softened and my eye area does look more tightened. not sure if these are permanent or temporary but it's working! it's quite moisturizing too. i have very dry skin and i usually need to put my hg eucerin daily replenishing over my eye creams to prevent dryness and flaking but w/ this i don't need to. AWESOME eye cream. i'm a little pissed off that the one eye cream that works for me costs $60??!!! geez too expensive for me. but if this continues to work by the time i finish the whole sample...then i'll definately repurchase...
i have been using arbonne eye cream and thought i liked that one but i got better results w/ this. will update!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2007 5:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got a sample of it at Sephora. I have been using it AM/PM for 10 days. I noticed it reduced puffines a little bit and my eye area doesn't look that dull and tiring. I feel it is a good eye cream potentially. I just hope it doesn't come with 1 oz bottle, better 0.5 oz in a tube..


on 5/17/2007 9:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've gone through 2oz of this product and I just can't rave about it. Nothing WRONG with this product, but I do feel not-quite-moisturized after using. Impressive ingredient list so I bought the second jar after not being thrilled by the first one. I don't have fine lines yet at 41 but who can say it was this or any other product?


on 5/9/2007 4:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was given a generous sample at Sephora and will definately purchase this eye cream when i finish it. I have used Chanel, Shiseido, La Mer, just to name a few, and have never noticed such amazing results within such a short time until trying this one. I am 41 and have very fine expressions lines around my eyes and this cream used every pm has softened them and tightened the whole eye area. LOVE IT!!


Back to Top