L'Oreal • True Match Super-Blendable Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 3.5(767 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* troo12 on 5/11/2014 3:39:00 AM more reviews by troo12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use it solely to contour my face. C8 - Cocoa. :) I like that it has a cool undertone so I can add shadow without color. I am fair skinned with "natural blush" (aka redness), so I have to avoid color when possible.
It has an odd consistency. Not quite a powder but not a cream. I use a foundation brush or stippling brush to apply it and then either buff it in or use a makeup sponge to blend it in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alinalxndon on 5/2/2014 2:13:00 AM more reviews by alinalxndon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a good blendable powder, but not my Holy Grail. For the price it does the minimum of what I need to buy it again. I usually use this to set my liquid foundation. Does not come in a good powder color for highlight but has enough colors for a good contour or foundation. I do not find that it covers any dark marks but the coverage does build over uneven color. Be careful when using a brush, the powder can make a mess if treated too lightly.

PROs: color selection, blendable, price

CONs: needs touch ups, runs out quickly, can look cakey, light coverage over dark marks

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimdja on 4/30/2014 10:22:00 AM more reviews by kimdja

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

I use N8 (Cappuccino) as my contouring powder when I use my everyday foundation in W7 (Caramel Beige). I used to use the ELF contouring duo until it started to get supder-powdery and having enormous amounts of fall out. This product really is super blendable and when you know what shade you need to contour (or even blush), this stuff can really go that extra mile to make you look more polished. I have no complaints; it's above average, but not WOW I NEED THIS NOW.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pandora7 on 4/21/2014 2:57:00 PM more reviews by Pandora7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Update 17/10/2014: I stopped using this as it just wasn't mattifying enough, and after a few hours, it would leave orangey smears on anything my face touched. I use the L'oreal True Match Minerals pressed powder instead, on top of concealer, and have had much better luck with it in terms of mattifying and not having it transfer to everything.



Update 09/06/14: I did re purchase this in the warm shade, and it's a much better match for my skin tone. While it's not as awesome as Dream Matte powder was for me, I will keep re purchasing as it doesn't break me out and on it's own, with a bit of concealer here and there, is enough to even out my skin tone and look natural and not too cakey. I also got the L'oreal Matte Mineral powder in W1-2 for my T zone to stop the shine. I combine the two and they work well.
***************************************************************************************************************** I bought this when I was looking for something to replace my beloved Maybelline Dream Matte powder. Been using a month now, and it's ok. Coverage is buildable and when you use only a kabuki, the coverage is light. I may need to look for a different colour if I want to keep using this, as I think the one I got (N2) is a bit too peachy for my pale olive-ivory skin. What I do like about this powder is it's natural looking and does not break me out. I cannot tolerate Bismulth Oxychloride and Boron Nitride among a few other things in pressed powders and foundations, which is why I got this. What I don't like about it is that it does oxidize a teensy bit, and maybe if I can find a more yellowish toned shade, it won't be so much of an issue. I also wish it were a bit more mattifying as I have combination skin, and my T zone would thank me. The compact is ok. It has the weird swivel mirror and sponge applicator. I neither love it nor hate it. I care more about the product than the case, unless the case is really flimsy, which this is not. The applicator sponge will give you fuller coverage than if you use a brush alone to apply. I use a kabuki to apply, and then just hit the T zone with the sponge applicator (and wash it once a week), before blending with the brush.

While I said I would not buy this product again, I want to clarify that I probably wouldn't buy this shade again. If I did, I'd try the cool shades. It does what I need it to do without wrecking my skin, but I have to use a very light hand because it's a bit too peach for me. The shade lighter was too light, and the one darker was too dark, and the W series looks too orange for my skin. Maybe the mineral pressed powder L'oreal has will be better for me, as I notice it's also without Boron Nitride and Bismulth Oxychloride, and I imagine it mattifies better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 eelisgood on 4/15/2014 5:54:00 AM more reviews by eelisgood

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Didn't do anything for my oily/normal skin. Do not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HNA on 4/12/2014 9:56:00 AM more reviews by HNA

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like this powder it does the job however it is very drying if you wish to wear it on it's own. I think it would be amazing for those with oily skin. My skin is just normal and I use it to just set my under eye concealer from creasing. I have already repurchased this it lasts a really long time however my first one did break as in the packaging broke but nevermind. Overall a good product

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jtbeautyx3 on 4/4/2014 11:41:00 PM more reviews by jtbeautyx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a fan of this product. I got it in W4 and it was a little orangey. It's not a full coverage powder but still applied very cakey, emphasizing my uneven skin. There are better, cheaper powders at the drugstore

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shalie on 4/3/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by shalie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this powder in cocoa for contouring. Good pigment, easy to apply. Does not look muddy on me. Looks very pretty always.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jasthill on 3/27/2014 12:54:00 PM more reviews by jasthill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Skin type: moderate acne (6-10+ active spots), oily all over, dry around certain acne spots, uneven skin tone due to acne scars (not deep, just miscolored surface level spots), fair with yellow undertones. Basically, my skin is every girls worst nightmare.

I LOATHE the liquid verison of this make up but adore this press powder !! I am suprised that this is getting so many bad reviews! This stuff is INCREDIBLE. Go back and read my skin type. Really. And realize that my crazy ass face is saying that this product is so wonderful. It is the most pigmented drug store press powder I've used and it is a life saver for touch ups because of that.

I don't apply it with the sponge applicator it comes with when I initially apply my make-up (I use it for touch-ups, though when I'm out and don't have my brushes) but at home I use the $3 e.l.f. "studio powder brush" that is a flat top. It looks really great!

Truly, give it a try. It has a great variety of colors for every undertone and you will not regret the great coverage and pigmentation you get from this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jadeseymour on 3/24/2014 5:16:00 PM more reviews by jadeseymour

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

pros: -feels like a HE product -bendable -natural finish -adds slight coverage -actaully makes skin look more natural -doesn't oxidize cons : -bulky packaging -no oil control (good for dry skin) -more $$ then most drugstore powders over all I would maybe repurchase as I still want to experiment but I love this powder and my friends also use it and love it as wellc

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Pressed Powders products