L'Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Powder

3.5

770 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Zea Mays/Corn Starch, Dimethicone, Zinc Stearate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Octylododecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Zeolite, Sorbic Acid, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Butylparaben, BHT, Panthenol. ( /- May Contain: CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, Mica, CI 77007/Ultramarines, CI 15850/Red 7 Lake, FIL 026863/1. (Taken from packaging, 09/2010, USA)


on 5/27/2014 11:26:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

I bought this pressed powder after read a lot of good reviews about this product. This product gives nice finish which I like. It does not appers to dry on my dry-combination skin.
It does not have over power smell, another thing that I like.
However, after use this powder for about 2 weeks, I noticed that I have little bumps on my face where I apply the product. So I stop using it for a while, because I wasn't sure if the powder caused the bumps. My bumps gone when I stop using it.
Then I try to use it again because I really like this product. Sadly, I found bumps at the end of the day when I remove my makeup.
I give three lips because it is a lovely and nice pressed powder. Sadly it does not work on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Overall a good product- it has buildable coverage, doesn't look cakey, and doesn't settle into pores. I set my foundation with this and it lasts the entire day. The consistency is kind of odd (but not in a bad way). It feels more like a cream than a powder, really. The only thing I didn't really like was the packaging... it looks really cheap and plastic-y, but it feels adequately sturdy and stays closed in my bag, so I suppose that's fine. It goes on very smoothly with my EcoTools Large Powder Brush, and hasn't broken me out. If I ran out/lost this product I'd definitely buy again. Love it!


on 5/15/2014 6:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Woo hoo! Dare I say this is now my HG setting powder?

I picked this up on a whim when I decided to try out Loreal Lumi foundation and I am soooo glad I did (I got W4 which works with my NC25/NC30 skin). This is a finely milled and lightweight powder yet somehow it manages to provide amazing coverage without being chalky in any way. I can use this as a setting powder over foundation or alone on those days I don't want to wear foundation. Yup, it's that good. Gotta say, I am impressed. This stuff is on par with my other 2 faves: NARS Loose Powder ($35) and Chantecaille High-Definition Perfecting Powder ($72) but at a fraction of the price (it runs btw $6-$8). I highly r4eccomend trying this out!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2014 4:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I got this in n-1 (I have very fair skin with cool undertones). I like the texture of this powder--it's silky/very finely milled. However, it got too cakey on the dry parts of my combination skin and I also experienced some itching while wearing it. I've discontinued using it, and I am now much happier with Almay's Smart Shade Smart Balance pressed powder in light.


on 5/11/2014 3:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I use it solely to contour my face. C8 - Cocoa. :) I like that it has a cool undertone so I can add shadow without color. I am fair skinned with "natural blush" (aka redness), so I have to avoid color when possible.
It has an odd consistency. Not quite a powder but not a cream. I use a foundation brush or stippling brush to apply it and then either buff it in or use a makeup sponge to blend it in.


on 5/2/2014 2:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a good blendable powder, but not my Holy Grail. For the price it does the minimum of what I need to buy it again. I usually use this to set my liquid foundation. Does not come in a good powder color for highlight but has enough colors for a good contour or foundation. I do not find that it covers any dark marks but the coverage does build over uneven color. Be careful when using a brush, the powder can make a mess if treated too lightly.

PROs: color selection, blendable, price

CONs: needs touch ups, runs out quickly, can look cakey, light coverage over dark marks

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2014 10:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

I use N8 (Cappuccino) as my contouring powder when I use my everyday foundation in W7 (Caramel Beige). I used to use the ELF contouring duo until it started to get supder-powdery and having enormous amounts of fall out. This product really is super blendable and when you know what shade you need to contour (or even blush), this stuff can really go that extra mile to make you look more polished. I have no complaints; it's above average, but not WOW I NEED THIS NOW.


on 4/21/2014 2:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Update 17/10/2014: I stopped using this as it just wasn't mattifying enough, and after a few hours, it would leave orangey smears on anything my face touched. I use the L'oreal True Match Minerals pressed powder instead, on top of concealer, and have had much better luck with it in terms of mattifying and not having it transfer to everything.



Update 09/06/14: I did re purchase this in the warm shade, and it's a much better match for my skin tone. While it's not as awesome as Dream Matte powder was for me, I will keep re purchasing as it doesn't break me out and on it's own, with a bit of concealer here and there, is enough to even out my skin tone and look natural and not too cakey. I also got the L'oreal Matte Mineral powder in W1-2 for my T zone to stop the shine. I combine the two and they work well.
***************************************************************************************************************** I bought this when I was looking for something to replace my beloved Maybelline Dream Matte powder. Been using a month now, and it's ok. Coverage is buildable and when you use only a kabuki, the coverage is light. I may need to look for a different colour if I want to keep using this, as I think the one I got (N2) is a bit too peachy for my pale olive-ivory skin. What I do like about this powder is it's natural looking and does not break me out. I cannot tolerate Bismulth Oxychloride and Boron Nitride among a few other things in pressed powders and foundations, which is why I got this. What I don't like about it is that it does oxidize a teensy bit, and maybe if I can find a more yellowish toned shade, it won't be so much of an issue. I also wish it were a bit more mattifying as I have combination skin, and my T zone would thank me. The compact is ok. It has the weird swivel mirror and sponge applicator. I neither love it nor hate it. I care more about the product than the case, unless the case is really flimsy, which this is not. The applicator sponge will give you fuller coverage than if you use a brush alone to apply. I use a kabuki to apply, and then just hit the T zone with the sponge applicator (and wash it once a week), before blending with the brush.

While I said I would not buy this product again, I want to clarify that I probably wouldn't buy this shade again. If I did, I'd try the cool shades. It does what I need it to do without wrecking my skin, but I have to use a very light hand because it's a bit too peach for me. The shade lighter was too light, and the one darker was too dark, and the W series looks too orange for my skin. Maybe the mineral pressed powder L'oreal has will be better for me, as I notice it's also without Boron Nitride and Bismulth Oxychloride, and I imagine it mattifies better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2014 5:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Didn't do anything for my oily/normal skin. Do not recommend.


on 4/12/2014 9:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this powder it does the job however it is very drying if you wish to wear it on it's own. I think it would be amazing for those with oily skin. My skin is just normal and I use it to just set my under eye concealer from creasing. I have already repurchased this it lasts a really long time however my first one did break as in the packaging broke but nevermind. Overall a good product

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top