L'Occitane • 20% Shea Butter Hand Cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.1(846 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 12/6/2013 7:07:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been using L'Occitane's 20% Shea Butter Hand Cream for 13 years, and back then a tube cost $16, now it is $28. That said, I have tried many other creams in the meantime in an attempt to find a replacement that I equally like at a lower cost, but no such luck. Couvent de Minimes' Honey Shea hand cream came very close (and Couvent de Minimes even turned out to be a subdivision of L'Occitane!), and I liked it because BBW carried it so it was conveniently available, but after a year BBW discontinued the line. Back to L'Occitane it was. What I appreciate most about this formula is its richness to soothe my very dry hands, and yet it leaves my hands soft but not sticky or greasy. Also, when washing my hands it does not give me the slippery feel that glycerin hand creams give me and that I truly detest. I am not a fan at all of the metal tube packaging. While it may appeal to some because of its "authentic, old-time" look, I find the little navy screwtop lid is not very practical and silver metal tube itself starts to look wrinkly and unsightly fairly rapidly. The paper label starts coming off quickly and the tube will not stand on its tiny screw cap. When flattening the tube the metal occasionally tears at the edges, it then is fairly easy to accidentally get cut when handling the tube, plus cream comes oozing out at those tears, definitely not a good thing either and I hate wasting any of this expensive product. But alas, the subpar packaging will not prevent me from repurchasing, even at this high price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jealouspony on 12/6/2013 6:55:00 AM more reviews by jealouspony

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Living in Sweden, my hands get really dry during the Winter. It's a real pain, because sometimes it's so bad I can almost feel my skin cracking.

A lot of hand creams and lotions settle in to the skin almost immediately and I feel like I have to put on hand cream again. This is not the case with the L'Occitane one. I put it on every morning and I can feel my hands being moisturized at least half the day.

I especially like putting it on before going to sleep, because my hands are super soft when I wake up. Always have a tube of this on my night stand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MariaBraun on 12/6/2013 6:11:00 AM more reviews by MariaBraun

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I guess I am in the minority here but this cream did absolutely nothing for me. I wash my hands loads of times during the day as I have two small children so there is always some mess to clean. I had high hopes for this cream considering the good reviews, the high price and the fact that shea butter is one of the ingredients. Unfortunately it feels waxy and sort of sits on top of my skin. In fact after it finally dries my hands feel even drier than before applying it. The only thing I like about it is the baby powder smell. I will definitely not be buying this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 11/25/2013 11:56:00 AM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This hand cream is amazing. Working in a hospital - I have to wash my hands a hundred times a day. I also have eczema so I need something to keep my hands soft without irritation.

I've used dozens of different types of hand cream but this one really stands out. It's thick and heavy and you just need a tiny bit. It spreads easily like butter, slightly greasy at first but sinks in pretty fast. I need to be able to slap on those annoying hospital gloves if necessary right after so I can't have a slick coating with hand cream - this is just perfect. Also, I've noticed this is the only cream that seems to "last" through washing. Meaning that if I wash my hands an hour after applying cream I don't need to re-apply. I've started using this on dry patches on my legs or arms because it worked so well on my hands.

The only cons? The fragrance. I'm not a big fan of the smell, it's not awful, smells slightly of lavender to me, and thankfully it's not strong but again, for work, the hospital bans any fragranced products so luckily this doesn't garner any complaints. The other issue is the tube - I'm on a new just opened tube now, but my last older tube cracked at the top and would leak some cream, plus the label fell off and left a sticky gunk on the tube that never went away. So it's not the most purse-friendly item, but then again I do buy this in the larger tube size and maybe the small one would be just fine. Overall -those are just minor complaints, this hand cream is the best I've tried so far.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vickyplum on 11/25/2013 11:01:00 AM more reviews by vickyplum

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Best hand cream bar none - and I've used them all. Last thing at night before I go to bed and that's me done for the day. Smell gorgeous, sinks right in and makes your hands as soft as a baby's ...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GrRoxxy on 11/10/2013 12:18:00 PM more reviews by GrRoxxy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I had small tube of this 4 years ago. Next time I bought it I chose the perfumed version (less she butter, more liquid, not good). Now I got the original back.

The tube is practical, I like the simplicity of it and it remains me of the painting tubes (love these).
The consistency is on thicker side, its not oily though.
It sinks in fast, it doesn't leave sticky film but silky smooth one.
The scent is pleasant.

I recommend, I haven't found better one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glitterandsparkles42 on 11/10/2013 11:42:00 AM more reviews by glitterandsparkles42

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Best hand cream I've ever used. It's kind of expensive but it lasts for such a long time because it's so moisturizing you won't need a lot. Great for dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JadaIgwe on 11/2/2013 2:56:00 PM more reviews by JadaIgwe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really moisturizing hand cream

The only con is that the smell is the scent is too strong. It is very rich and warming it up in your hands helps it absorb better. It comes in a large metal tube so it will last forever. It's a good hand cream for really dry hands

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YXXC on 10/30/2013 5:22:00 AM more reviews by YXXC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Yeah, it's nice, but it's not hardcore enough. If you want a good, deeply conditioning hand cream, it's Neutrogena all the way. That's the hand cream that eradicates dry, scaly hands. Shea butter does smell nice but this isn't moisturising enough for me. For more honest reviews, 'like' Face Up To It on Facebook, Twitter @YoCalliss, yocalliss.wordpress.com. Thanks :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JennyWalsh1 on 10/28/2013 10:39:00 PM more reviews by JennyWalsh1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got this as a gift and I LOVE this. I'm not quite sure what the scent is, but it's totally pleasant. The lotion it's self is very smooth, easily absorbed, and moisturizing. I would definitely repurchase, even with the steep price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Occitane products

More Lotions/ Creams products