MAC • Blot Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 4.2(1130 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 6lex10 on 10/6/2013 2:13:00 AM more reviews by 6lex10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVED this powder so much for my dry-combination skin. It kept me matte for almost the entire day, and wouldn't leave me cakey when I touched up throughout the day. I recommend it for anyone with dry-combination to oil skin. That being said I'll review it more fully in depth. . .
Pros: Inexpensive for a higher end powder. Due to it being a pressed powder compact it's something that you can store in a makeup bag, purse, or bookbag and it's very easy to reapply, unlike a loose powder. It is very mattifying without leaving you cakey-faced. It keeps your face looking and feeling matte for around 5 hours.
Cons: The only reason I wouldn't repurchase this product is because it's hard to get the product onto your brush. I literally have to scrape the product to get the powder to transfer onto my powder brush. Mac would do everyone a favor if they made it with the same ingredients in a loose version. Yes I'm aware they do make Blot Loose Powder, but I heard it uses different ingredients and doesn't even come close to the original.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nurhidayah on 10/4/2013 4:39:00 AM more reviews by Nurhidayah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

SKIN BACKGROUND: Oily, sensitive and acne prone.

I have this in Medium and I am an NC 30. Does not really give any coverage. Just mattifies the skin.

I usually blot off excess oil with Kleenex Oil Blotting Sheets(purple packaging with flowers on it. Google it if you do not know). Gets all the oil right off and then I use this powder to set everything in place. My makeup looks as good as new! This product comes with a puff too which is handy for touch ups throughout the day. Once I use this for touch ups, it lasts for about 4 hours before I get oily and will need for a touch up again. But I do not mind because of the packaging and the puff that is super convenient for touch ups! ;)

This is a staple in my purse now and I do not know what I would do if I do not have this powder. One of my holy grail product definitely! Saves my oily skin. Does not break me out. Does not irritate my skin.

Used this about 5/7 days of the week and this lasts me about 7 months!

Already on my second compact yayyy! Will continue repurchasing this till forever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 loveisblind1 on 9/28/2013 12:24:00 AM more reviews by loveisblind1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This powder does run light. I am a NC15-20 and I got it in Medium. Good thing I didn't get Light! I think this powder works well in soaking up oily skin, but under certain circumstances.

I find it mattifies my forehead and nose completely, better than any powder I've used. However, when I actually do need to blot (4-5 hours later), my makeup sometimes sifts a bit in oily areas like around my nose. When you place the powder on after the makeup has shifted (due to oiliness), it highlights the uneven makeup. I find you have to buff this powder into these problem areas to smooth out what has been shifted.

If you have dry patches, they will be dry and cakey. You have to have the lightest hand to apply this. I gently pat it on my problem areas with the puff and use a stippling brush to smooth out the cakiness (or use a setting spray to take away some of the cakiness/powderiness). This isn't very convenient for me since this powder should really be a ready-to-go product (Put in your purse and head out the door).

I find it works if you're not wearing much skin product and your skin does not have any dry flakes. Me, often wearing medium coverage foundation and concealer, find placing this on top, makes my makeup look more heavy. I feel it is better to use it after you applied your makeup and before you get oily. If you use too much, you can feel it on your skin and I hate that feeling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 IloveShuUemura on 9/26/2013 5:11:00 AM more reviews by IloveShuUemura

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have really oily T-zone and I will need to blot up to 4 times a day. I have tried so many different products to stop the shine but nothing just worked. My friends told me about the M.A.C pressed powder and was super crazy over it. I've been hesitating on whether should i purchase it or not because it isn't cheap. However I decided to give it a try. Well, it disappointed me again this time. Not surprise. It held a little longer than other powders but still not what I wanted. Then one day, I don't know why, with bare face, I apply this powder on my face and went to do house chores. Surprisingly, after my house chores, THERE ISN'T ANY SHINE ON MY T-ZONE. So I guess this works for me without makeup. Great product but not what I wanted.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 therealiluvbmx on 9/25/2013 5:08:00 PM more reviews by therealiluvbmx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Ok I have to re edit my review.

From 4 lippies I changed it to 2 lippies. This broke me out with small little bumps all around my jaw line and chin area. It's horrible! At first I thought this was the best oil controlling powder ever but the more I use it the more I hate it and it doesn't seem to work... After an hour my face already full of oil and no matter how much I put more it just doesn't work! I went back to rimmel stay matte and it's so much better than this one, and it's much cheaper!!! I don't think I'll purchase a powder for more than $5 anymore!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HIYELLOW on 9/22/2013 12:37:00 PM more reviews by HIYELLOW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If I could have only one product, other than moisturizer, this would be it. I purchase at least 4 a year. I wear the Medium Dark shade, which does not appear cakey. I have large pores and it smooths and blurs them beautifully. It takes away the shine with no buildup. I don't wear foundation but keep my face oiled with various oils. This blots natural and other oils on me for about three hours but reapplying does not add any color or strange texture. This is a winner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Magapurna on 9/18/2013 4:00:00 AM more reviews by Magapurna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Great product! I've tried a variety of blotting powders and this one is the best - it really works! I apply it on top of my moisturizer or/and foundation and it keeps my skin matte for most of the day. I bought it in medium but it's almost translucent and you can use quite a lot of it without looking cakey. It's a bit pricey but it's worth it!

P.S. I've now bought the medium-dark version and it suits my fair-medium skin better!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 IrishWater on 9/13/2013 9:33:00 AM more reviews by IrishWater

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I was given this in the shade 'medium' and I find it very similar to the Rimmel Stay Matte powder, which I used before I was given MAC.

I really love this powder, it mattifies my oily areas (chin, nose, forehead) but doesn't have that 'powdery look' which I like and its not obvious I have powder on those areas.

It's pretty expensive, so I wouldn't repurchase it, unless I got it on offer or something, because in Ireland it is €24.50 I think, and the Rimmel stay matte is €5.99, so there's a difference of €18.50 which is a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yvettesb on 8/29/2013 10:52:00 PM more reviews by yvettesb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love love love this stuff. Since I started wearing mineral based sunblock, I needed something to counter the shininess. This works and lasts most of the day. It's amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lanid06 on 8/16/2013 10:16:00 PM more reviews by lanid06

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Well I use this after my skin care and I have extremely oily skin, and without this I have to blot about 2-3 times a day :( with this, I only blot like once! :D it controls my oil for about 3-5 house, and about the 3 ish hour mark oil starts to poke through and then the good part is near the 5 th hour mark, it keeps me looking matte, not shiny, but up if when I blot I will get a full sheet used up

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Pressed Powders products