Neutrogena • Visibly Even Foaming Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.9(103 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 KClark on 7/3/2009 9:46:00 AM more reviews by KClark

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily, acne prone skin which I've been fighting for about 10 years now. I've tried all types of OTC products & prescriptions but nothing worked. My skin was always discolored due to the acne scars and always had atleast one or two zits. About 6 months ago, I started using this product. Within 2-3 weeks of using this product, I noticed that the acne scars were starting to fade and my skin was looking more even. I continue to use this product, a long with an acne cleanser and a toner, all by Neutrogena and it has made all the difference in the world! For the first time in years, I have even, clear skin. I don't have to hide behind make-up. The thing that helped the most for me with the acne was the toner. It immediately cleared my skin up within a day or two. I use the Clear Pore Oil-Eliminating Astrigent. I know some say that it's hard on your skin but it has worked wonders for me. I just make sure I moisturize after each use and I'm good to go.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aline26 on 6/23/2009 7:51:00 PM more reviews by aline26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this cleanser for almost 2 years now and my skin has been looking better than ever. I started using Neutrogena's Acne Stress Control cream cleanser with it as well a few months ago (had a couple minor problem areas on my skin - wanted to clear those patches up. Plus I'm always on the lookout for new skincare products) and eventually switched completely over to the Acne Stress Control. BOY - was that a mistake I will never be making EVER again.


My skin went absolutely berserk as soon as I stopped using the Visibly Even. I broke out like crazy and it seemed like my skin was oilier than a slice of pizza. I didn't have any changes in my normal routines, eating habits and haven't been on the pill for years, so I couldn't understand why I had such an extreme flare up. Everything I tried was an epic FAIL in terms of combating the oiliness. I used oil eliminating astringent, oil-blotting sheets, silica powder - NOTHING alleviated the problem. It took me a while to put two and two together, but once I switched back to this cleanser my skin was better than it had ever been in a matter of 2-3 weeks. Now *knock on wood* no oiliness to speak of and aside from the rare 1 or 2 teeny whiteheads here and there, my skin is absolutely blemish free and glowly. It also did a good job in reducing some of the marks the acne left (something I didn't expect it to do, eventhough that's what the product promises). I have combination skin with a slightly oily t-zone, NOTHING like what I was dealing with though. Would highly recommend this to anyone who has skin similar to mine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xMissMurderx on 5/7/2009 7:55:00 PM more reviews by xMissMurderx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I got this and I really loved it at first it made my face feel so clean and smooth. I also loved how well it took my makeup off when I used it. I had to stop using it though because I started to break out after a few days. I must have really sensitive skin or something. That bums me out because I really liked it, but hey it might just be my skin type. I usually have a lot of trouble out of drugstore brand creams, cleansers and foundations..they all tend to cause breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LeeLee1980 on 4/21/2009 11:10:00 AM more reviews by LeeLee1980

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE: I still really like this cleanser, but I've discovered since I've been using it daily that my combination, acne-prone, large-pored skin really needs a daily cleanser that has more acne fighting ingredients in it. I'll still be using this a few times a week to exfoliate because the exfoliating beads in this are nice and gentle, as is the soy it contains.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I am in love with this cleanser, which is saying a lot for me because very few cleansers have truly worked for my skin type. My skin feels soft and clean after I wash with this, and looks hydrated and radiant even before I've put on my moisturizer.

I bought this product because I have realized recently that my skin could really benefit from gentle daily exfoliation and I liked that it has soy in it.

My skin type: 28 years old, combination/oily, large pores, very mild acne in recent years.

NOTE: This cleanser does make my skin feel "squeaky clean". However, I have oily skin so this works for me. For folks with dry skin I would recommend instead a cream cleanser, not one that foams or lathers, whichever you want to call it (contrary to previous reviews, this does indeed lather up really well).

Also, again contrary to previous reviews, this cleanser does NOT contain "sharp" particles or anything even close. It contains exfoliating balls that are perfectly smooth, thus very gentle on the face.

***BONUS!: this cleanser removes mascara better than any product I've ever used, including make-up removers. (FYI: I typically use Maybelline Lash Exact mascara - not the waterproof kind). Now I after I wash my face I no longer have lingering traces of mascara under my lower lash line, and my upper lashes are clean as a whistle! Woo hoo! I routinely get compliments on how nice my skin is, but my skin has looked extra great since I started washing with this cleanser.

Daily facial product routine:
-Wash face and neck with Visibly Even cleanser
-Apply Neutrogena Age Shield 45 SPF Sunblock (yes I use this as my daily moisturizer year round now because the sun shines even through the clouds and is just as damaging in the winter.)
-Apply Neutrogena Healthy Skin Enhancer
-Apply Cover Girl Tru Blend concealer (only if really needed)
-Apply Cover Girl Mineral Powder with large powder brush (apply lightly)
-Sometimes I just apply sunblock, concealer and/or Mineral Powder after washing with this product if I want less on my face.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Yanira on 4/20/2009 5:18:00 PM more reviews by Yanira

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for nearly three years. It's an okay product. Nothing too amazing. Like another reviewer said, it literally gets your face squeaky clean. The bottle also lasts a really long time. One would usually last me about 7 months.

Haha, and like another reviewer below I've moved on to the DDF brightening cleanser which is much better. I'm actually seeing results. My skin must have built up some kind of resistance against this cleanser. I now use it on my legs and arms to help with exfoliation.

EDIT 10/27/2009: I've returned to this product. I actually freaked out a bit because it was so hard to find! While I still love the DDF brightening cleanser it's gotten to be a bit too brightening! I now rotate between this and my BC. Therefore I'm bumping it up a lippie.

EDIT 11/12/09: UGH I should have stuck with my original cleanser. This cleanser has broken me out beyond belief in the past two weeks. I typically have acne free skin and might get a small white-head every few weeks or so. With this cleanser I have been getting the most painful and unbelievable cysts. Its definitely this product because I've been using everything else in my regimen for practically a year. I have been using the DDF salicylic wash to help undo the mess this cleanser made of my face. I think they have altered the formula and I will NEVER purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 itschelseavee on 4/19/2009 12:45:00 AM more reviews by itschelseavee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i've only used it once, now. & after i used it, it did leave a squeaky clean wash thing, i could hear the squeak, & it took off my eye makeup too...so i'm just gonna wait tomorrow, or a week to see if it really works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LOLAchicbohemian on 4/14/2009 4:51:00 PM more reviews by LOLAchicbohemian

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS PRODUCT! Its a cleanser but it is also a very mild gentle scrub. It leaves your skin clean and smooth. I had very clean good skin in my teen years, yes I was one of the lucky ones, but now I have adult acne. You can never tell, cause I try to always get the best products and keep it under control. But any product can make me break out. This product does not make me breakout at all, if anything it helps and it doesnt irritate my skin. Great, gentle cleanser that does help even out your skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carolinapeach on 1/28/2009 1:36:00 PM more reviews by carolinapeach

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This used to be my HG cleanser. For two years I consistently used this product, completely forsaking all others. It foams nicely, it gives my face a light, gentle scrubbing, and it truly evens my skin tone. Don't expect an even skin tone after a week, but you will definitely notice a difference after a month. This face wash in conjunction with the moisturizer kept me from getting the dreaded mask of pregnancy during both of my pregnancies even though I was outside a lot in Hell...I mean, Atlanta. The only downside is it burns if it gets in my eyes, but really, what doesn't? I guess the other big downside would be that I think my face has built up a resistance because I notice it is not clearing up any new dark spots as quickly as in the past. For now I have switched to DDF Brightening Cleanser which I also highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* annaharris_227 on 1/13/2009 2:23:00 PM more reviews by annaharris_227

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I needed a cleanser for dry skin, mainly because just about every gel cleanser I use nowadays dries my combination skin out. I love the little scrubbers in this, and the way it keeps the natural moisture in my face, yet still rinses clean. I hate cleansers that leave a slimy film behind, even when I have dry patches. It also removes makeup well! I would not hesitate to repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bburgess on 12/23/2008 12:04:00 PM more reviews by bburgess

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got this product because my derm suggested it. It definitely evens out the skin tone. I have a sensitive face, so whatever product in it tingled my face a little, but I can deal.

Has cleared up the random breakouts I get nicely. The product makes a light foam...but I like it! Smells nice too.

Do note that it has little microbeads that exfoliate. They feel nice, but NOT to the eyes. I realize most cleansers will irritate your eyes when you get some in them, but JEEZ! I mean this one really hurts! Its the worst I have ever felt by far. So, if you are careful enough to avoid the eye problem this should not be a problem for you. Just because of that I took off one lippie bc I really is terribly painful to get some in your eyes...which seems to happen quite often to me. However, it works well enough to keep on using it regardless of the pain!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products