Neutrogena Visibly Even Foaming Cleanser

3.9

107 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Myristic Acid, Stearic Acid, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Coco Glucoside, Glyceryl Oleate, Glycol Distearate, Lauric Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Polyethylene, Cocamidopropyl PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Cetyl Alcohol, Soybean Seed Extract (Glycine Soja), Ascorbyl Glucoside, Saxifraga Sarmentosa Extract, Grapefruit Extract (Vitis Vinifera), Butylene Glycol, Morus Bombycis Root Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Disodium EDTA, Acrylates/C10 30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Titanium Dioxide, Fragrance 5/29/09


on 1/11/2010 1:27:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I find this to be a very good cleanser. I use it every morning in the shower with an extra gentle Buf Puf. Just a small amount makes my face really clean and ready for my treatment and moisturizing products and makeup. I can tell a difference in the texture and clarity of my skin if I miss a few days; my makeup also goes on smoother and looks better if I wash with this product. Neutrogena products do not cause milia or breakouts for me either, a problem I had with another very highly advertised facewash.



on 12/6/2009 8:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I wasn't sure about this cleanser at first, but I really like it now. In the winter, I'm extremely dry. In the summer, I'm extremely oily by my nose and my eyes. Before using this, my cheeks were pink but coverable with a good foundation. Now I'm just slightly, naturally pink.

The scrubby bits are a little rough, and the texture is a little greasy, but both are manageable on a daily basis. As long as I use just a little bit when I wash (after EVOO makeup removal) I feel fine. It is NOT a heavy-duty makeup remover and I sometimes have to use two little portions of cleanser for my eyes.

Overall:
the smell isn't even an issue
the texture is okay
it doesn't overly dry me out
doesn't slick me up
decently removes makeup
makes my skin look soft and glowy

ETA: This had gone up my list and is now one of my favorites, my #1 for now. If I use a lather net (like a bath pouf) to lather it first, the little scrubby bits don't irritate my skin as much. Still doesn't amaze me but I do really like it.


on 11/29/2009 12:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

pretty good i guess
not really unspecial
i guess it evened out my tone a little, it takes a while to see results
better than nothing! :D
i use the visibly even moisturizer too


on 8/30/2009 5:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

i just love this. to be honest, the first week i used this i didn't. there are three tricks to really make this cleanser work optimally: #1: use enough. although it seems like you only need a dime-amount, use a nickle. #2. add a little water, just a few drops, to get the lather going. #3. work it in your skin for a good minute. And one more thing too-- it took about a week of use before i noticed it evened out my tone. but after that-- wow! improved clarity, softness, really even tone. So much improvement that i wear less foundation now (only concealer here and there.). i wear moisturizer afterwards as well (neutrogena ageless). all in all, i just love this. no irritation, no dryness-- just fresh, clean skin. great find!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2009 9:46:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have oily, acne prone skin which I've been fighting for about 10 years now. I've tried all types of OTC products & prescriptions but nothing worked. My skin was always discolored due to the acne scars and always had atleast one or two zits. About 6 months ago, I started using this product. Within 2-3 weeks of using this product, I noticed that the acne scars were starting to fade and my skin was looking more even. I continue to use this product, a long with an acne cleanser and a toner, all by Neutrogena and it has made all the difference in the world! For the first time in years, I have even, clear skin. I don't have to hide behind make-up. The thing that helped the most for me with the acne was the toner. It immediately cleared my skin up within a day or two. I use the Clear Pore Oil-Eliminating Astrigent. I know some say that it's hard on your skin but it has worked wonders for me. I just make sure I moisturize after each use and I'm good to go.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2009 7:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have been using this cleanser for almost 2 years now and my skin has been looking better than ever. I started using Neutrogena's Acne Stress Control cream cleanser with it as well a few months ago (had a couple minor problem areas on my skin - wanted to clear those patches up. Plus I'm always on the lookout for new skincare products) and eventually switched completely over to the Acne Stress Control. BOY - was that a mistake I will never be making EVER again.


My skin went absolutely berserk as soon as I stopped using the Visibly Even. I broke out like crazy and it seemed like my skin was oilier than a slice of pizza. I didn't have any changes in my normal routines, eating habits and haven't been on the pill for years, so I couldn't understand why I had such an extreme flare up. Everything I tried was an epic FAIL in terms of combating the oiliness. I used oil eliminating astringent, oil-blotting sheets, silica powder - NOTHING alleviated the problem. It took me a while to put two and two together, but once I switched back to this cleanser my skin was better than it had ever been in a matter of 2-3 weeks. Now *knock on wood* no oiliness to speak of and aside from the rare 1 or 2 teeny whiteheads here and there, my skin is absolutely blemish free and glowly. It also did a good job in reducing some of the marks the acne left (something I didn't expect it to do, eventhough that's what the product promises). I have combination skin with a slightly oily t-zone, NOTHING like what I was dealing with though. Would highly recommend this to anyone who has skin similar to mine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this and I really loved it at first it made my face feel so clean and smooth. I also loved how well it took my makeup off when I used it. I had to stop using it though because I started to break out after a few days. I must have really sensitive skin or something. That bums me out because I really liked it, but hey it might just be my skin type. I usually have a lot of trouble out of drugstore brand creams, cleansers and foundations..they all tend to cause breakouts.


on 4/21/2009 11:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

UPDATE: I still really like this cleanser, but I've discovered since I've been using it daily that my combination, acne-prone, large-pored skin really needs a daily cleanser that has more acne fighting ingredients in it. I'll still be using this a few times a week to exfoliate because the exfoliating beads in this are nice and gentle, as is the soy it contains.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I am in love with this cleanser, which is saying a lot for me because very few cleansers have truly worked for my skin type. My skin feels soft and clean after I wash with this, and looks hydrated and radiant even before I've put on my moisturizer.

I bought this product because I have realized recently that my skin could really benefit from gentle daily exfoliation and I liked that it has soy in it.

My skin type: 28 years old, combination/oily, large pores, very mild acne in recent years.

NOTE: This cleanser does make my skin feel "squeaky clean". However, I have oily skin so this works for me. For folks with dry skin I would recommend instead a cream cleanser, not one that foams or lathers, whichever you want to call it (contrary to previous reviews, this does indeed lather up really well).

Also, again contrary to previous reviews, this cleanser does NOT contain "sharp" particles or anything even close. It contains exfoliating balls that are perfectly smooth, thus very gentle on the face.

***BONUS!: this cleanser removes mascara better than any product I've ever used, including make-up removers. (FYI: I typically use Maybelline Lash Exact mascara - not the waterproof kind). Now I after I wash my face I no longer have lingering traces of mascara under my lower lash line, and my upper lashes are clean as a whistle! Woo hoo! I routinely get compliments on how nice my skin is, but my skin has looked extra great since I started washing with this cleanser.

Daily facial product routine:
-Wash face and neck with Visibly Even cleanser
-Apply Neutrogena Age Shield 45 SPF Sunblock (yes I use this as my daily moisturizer year round now because the sun shines even through the clouds and is just as damaging in the winter.)
-Apply Neutrogena Healthy Skin Enhancer
-Apply Cover Girl Tru Blend concealer (only if really needed)
-Apply Cover Girl Mineral Powder with large powder brush (apply lightly)
-Sometimes I just apply sunblock, concealer and/or Mineral Powder after washing with this product if I want less on my face.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2009 5:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for nearly three years. It's an okay product. Nothing too amazing. Like another reviewer said, it literally gets your face squeaky clean. The bottle also lasts a really long time. One would usually last me about 7 months.

Haha, and like another reviewer below I've moved on to the DDF brightening cleanser which is much better. I'm actually seeing results. My skin must have built up some kind of resistance against this cleanser. I now use it on my legs and arms to help with exfoliation.

EDIT 10/27/2009: I've returned to this product. I actually freaked out a bit because it was so hard to find! While I still love the DDF brightening cleanser it's gotten to be a bit too brightening! I now rotate between this and my BC. Therefore I'm bumping it up a lippie.

EDIT 11/12/09: UGH I should have stuck with my original cleanser. This cleanser has broken me out beyond belief in the past two weeks. I typically have acne free skin and might get a small white-head every few weeks or so. With this cleanser I have been getting the most painful and unbelievable cysts. Its definitely this product because I've been using everything else in my regimen for practically a year. I have been using the DDF salicylic wash to help undo the mess this cleanser made of my face. I think they have altered the formula and I will NEVER purchase this again.


on 4/19/2009 12:45:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i've only used it once, now. & after i used it, it did leave a squeaky clean wash thing, i could hear the squeak, & it took off my eye makeup too...so i'm just gonna wait tomorrow, or a week to see if it really works.


Back to Top