Redken All Soft Conditioner

4.0

688 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/water, cetearyl alcohol, behentrimonium chloride, elaeis sinensis oil/palm oil, cetyl alcohol, isopropyl alcohol, stearamidopropyl dimethylamine, octyldodecanol, sodium PCA, parfum/fragrance, citric acid, chlorhexidine dihydrochloride, argania spinosa oil, argania spinosa kernel oil, arginine, hydrolyzed soy protein, hydrolyzed vegetable protein pg-propyl silanetriol.


on 7/22/2013 7:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

All Soft, we were just never destined to be together. I first tried you around 1999 when Jessica Simpson was first out as a pop star (pre-Newlyweds) and was the spokesperson for this line. Then you were just way too heavy for my very fine waves. I looked like a drowned rat. But I would still rec'd you to those with uber thick hair. Then I guess you reformulated sometime in the mid 00's...I missed that batch. And finally you reformulated again by this review (2013). I did try this newest reformulation and now you just suck. At least before when you were too heavy, my hair felt soft and silky. But now you just leave my hair feeling like straw. I wish these companies would quit reformulating based on the "fads" in hair care. Bottom line, those that used to use & love it 15 yrs ago...sorry they messed it up. Those of you that thought maybe it got better, it didn't.

BTW - I always use the same shampoo & styling products as my normal routine when trying a new conditioner. So any changes were due to the conditioner & the conditioner alone.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.



on 7/22/2013 6:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Leaves hair amazingly soft and manageable


on 6/27/2013 3:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really love this product, I just wish it had better ingredients. If it were eco, it'd truly have it all.

Pros: silky smooth hair, doesn't weigh hair down
Cons: scented, somewhat pricey, not eco-friendly


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I use this in conjunction with the Redken All Soft Shampoo and I absolutely love the results.

I have fine hair, so I normally turn to volumising shampoos and conditioners and have tried various high-end volumising ranges from Pureology, Kerastase, Shu Uemura and Joico to name a few, but having heard good things about All Soft I decided to go against my volumising habit and try this one, which is designed for dry and brittle hair. My hair gets very dry at the ends so I thought this would help that, but I did worry that this wouldn't keep up the level of volume that I get from the specific ranges.

This does MORE for volumising my hair than the volumising ranges from the big, high end brands that I've mentioned above. Where those shampoos and conditioners have given me volume in the roots, they haven't really combatted the dryness I get at the ends of my hair. The Redken All Soft range manages to volumise my hair AND keep it super soft, supple and hydrated. It smells great, too (one of its ingredients is argan oil and that's I think the main scent that comes through) and isn't too pricey in terms of the higher-end brands. I would recommend using this in tandem with other All Soft products. I'll definitely be buying this range again - I'm so happy with the results!

I've given the shampoo 5 lipsticks and the conditioner 4 because the shampoo seems to be where the magic is made more than the conditioner!


on 6/2/2013 4:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A nice conditioner that smells pretty and does make my hair very soft. I just think the price is too much so I won't be repurchasing.


on 5/6/2013 3:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE THIS STUFF! It has softening agents like silk and avocado so it feels so good!

have noticed it makes my hair less frizzy depending on where I am living in the US. It makes me hair soft, but does not control my frizz. No other conditioner has been spectacular for my hair, but this is pretty good. Wait until you see a great sale and stock up! I highly recommend!


on 5/3/2013 7:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This range - shampoo, conditioner and heavy cream treatment - is MUCH lighter than I thought, and this is a good thing! I was worried it would be too heavy for my fine long hair and oily prone scalp, but it works great. I just had to try the famous All Soft, even though everyone seems to hate the new IPN formula, and I'm glad I took the chance. Makes my hair really soft and shiny and doesn't leave any residue which is crucial for me. Of course it didn't give any volume, but it didn't weigh my hair down more than any other moisturizing range would do. I bought a travel set of the shampoo and conditioner and will maybe buy the full size bottles if it continues to work well for me.
I've got brittle ends and a fair amount of breakage even though my hair is virgin and naturally soft, so I alternate this with Extreme once a week.

I must say I'm pretty shocked at all the very negative reviews of the new All Soft with IPN. It seems that it used to be heavier and even more nourishing, so the old formula probably wouldn't have suited my hair so well.

EDIT: 7/26/2013
Giving this 5 lippies, since it's the only shampoo/conditioner combo that's been able to keep all the tangles away from my hair. I can now finger comb with ease after having been outside in the wind - NEVER happened before. Less tangles means less breakage and my hair just looks a lot better in general. Don't like the sweet artificial scent, but that's a small price to pay for such a good product. I've bought the full size bottles and don't see myself straying from this.


on 5/3/2013 5:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the most amazing Shampoo & conditioner. About 2 years ago I decided it was a good idea to dye my dark brown hair blonde (Stupid). It destroyed my hair. My once curly, shiny, knot free hair, was matted and knotted, limp and dead and worst off all it had lost it's curl.
I went to my hairdresser and they used this on my hair and my hair looked better felt softer and less knotty. So i decided to buy it, even though it is very expensive.
3 months later, my hair is back to normal and i would really recommend this shampoo and conditioner it worked a miracle for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2013 10:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Note: I am giving 1 star to the new formula of All Soft with argan oil in it. I would have given 5 stars to the old formula of All Soft with avocado oil in it.

===
After a nightmare scenario with a Paul Mitchell shampoo that I innocently bought from Drugstore.com and which ruined my hair in one week (see below for that story, if you are interested), I spent several desperate months going to many stylists/salons and beauty supply stores trying to find something to help the little bit of my hair that was left.

My long hair, which was my best feature, had always been very healthy and resilient for the previous 25 years, but suddenly in a week it was broken-off, short, jagged, damaged, fly-away, frizzy, dull, uneven.

I tried nearly everything at the beauty supply store, and what the various stylists/salons recommended to me. I tried shampoos/conditioners, treatment packets, special protein treatments done at the salon, styling products, leave-in conditioners, various oils.

I was getting to the end of my choices, and I tried about 5 of the product lines of Redken, but nothing worked, until the Redken All Soft range.

The All Soft shampoo and conditioner were *magnificent*. The All Soft made my hair shiny, soft, and decent-looking. (To make it merely decent-looking, like anyone else's normal discount-brand-shampooed hair would look, was a miracle.)

Then, last year, Redken REFORMULATED the All Soft line. They took out avocado oil and added argan oil. They changed other ingredients too. The new formula of All Soft was terrible on my hair. It made my hair dry, brittle, frizzy. It made my scalp oily and it made my forehead break out in pimples.

In a mad rush, I spent about 2 days trying to locate bottles of the old product in about a 30-mile radius. I was able to scrounge up a couple of sets of the old shampoo/conditioner. I've been using those precious supplies sparingly for the last year, but I'm now out of it.

Therefore, I have gone around the last 3 weeks and tried all kinds of brands, I've gone to salons, I've gone to drugstores. Nothing is working for my hair. Not even the highly-rated Pureology line, which was really bad for my hair last week.

A lot of formerly-loyal Redken customers were very upset about the change in the All Soft formula. I don't know WHY they changed it. They could have brought out a new product line that contained argan oil, if having a line that featured it was so important to them.

I've tried to find what other people are using as a replacement for the old All Soft, but no one really says what they have moved on to.

If anyone has found something comparable, please send me a message via this website!

===
[In case you are interested in the backstory, this was my nightmare scenario:

A couple of years ago, I ordered a Paul Mitchell shampoo/conditioner set in travel size bottles on sale from Drugstore dot com. I thought I'd give this hair care line a try.

After one week of using the Paul Mitchell products, they made the bottom 12 inches of my very healthy hair break off around the 2 and 3-inch mark (broke off 2-3 inches from my scalp). My hair started breaking off in huge amounts, so I stopped using the Paul Mitchell products, but it was too late. Most of my hair broke off over the next couple of days. It clogged up the large main water drain that is underneath the foundation of our house and we had to spend $300 for a plumber to come and get the gigantic hairball out.

It was pretty traumatic because it made me look awful - I looked 10 years older. Every stranger feels okay about coming out and saying this to me when he or she looks at my photo on my driver's licence or passport -- such as when I'm going through security at the airport, or when I am buying a bottle of wine at the supermarket. A supermarket clerk even said this last week to me, even though my jaggedy damaged hair has now grown down to my chin in the last 2 years and it looks SO much better than it did when it first all broke off.

My hair grows slowly, so it has taken 2 years to get all the broken pieces to chin length.

At the time that I bought these travel size bottles of the Paul Mitchell products, I did NOT know that Drugstore dot com was not an authorized seller of those products. I thought that they were such a big company and so well-known that of course they would stick to the industry rules and I assumed that they would only sell products they were authorized to sell. I later found out that this is not so - they are not authorized to sell Paul Mitchell products - and the fine print on their website states this. Apparently there is a big grey market in salon-level hair products. If you don't buy the products from authorized sellers (like bricks-and-mortar hair salons), the manufacturer won't guarantee the product's quality or purity.

Lord knows what was actually in the bottles I got. I cannot imagine that Paul Mitchell products would be so terrible, because they have a good reputation. I do not really blame the Paul Mitchell company for ruining my hair, but even so, I will never try another one of their products again, just in case the shampoo that made all my hair break off was authentically their product.

My advice is to never buy salon haircare products from an unauthorized retailer! And there are many of them around now - supermarkets, big box stores, most of the major internet retailers -- but in most cases they are not authorized by the manufacturer. You can check on the manufacturer's website to see who the authorized retailers are.]


on 4/26/2013 10:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I had used the accompanying conditioner several years ago with Aveda Shampure and found it ridiculously drying however I moved to a new city with different water/climate and found I needed something more hydrating so I thought I'd try All Soft again, I was originally using just the conditioner with LUSH Godiva shampoo bar and found it an bad to average combination however I purchased the All Soft shampoo about a month ago and used in conjunction with the shampoo, the conditioner has been fantastic. I'm able to let it air dry comfortably without my hair turning into a frizzy mess and I can easily go 2 days between washes. My hair also looks great after using heat styling tools (after using a protecting cream). Very, very impressed. I have mid-length hair that is quite coarse, very thick and tends toward dryness (though my fringe does get oily after a day and a half or so), I've also not had it cut in about three months which is much less noticeable since using All Soft.

I purchased the conditioner at the start of March 2013 in Australia.




Back to Top