Unlisted Brand • Nail Magic • Treatments

rated 4.0(104 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 lcase423 on 1/26/2012 3:56:00 PM more reviews by lcase423

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After trying many products claiming to end splitting and peeling, this is the first product that actually works. My middle fingernails split - I have no idea why these two nails, but they do! This product, after using for only a few days (coat in AM, coat in PM), resolved all of my weak nail issues. I now use it as my base coat, so there is always a coat of it on my nails for support. I repurchase this at Sally's over and over again. Great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GetLowxX on 1/23/2012 7:53:00 AM more reviews by GetLowxX

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased Nail Magic after a friend recommended it to me. I have an issue with biting my nails and even if I do let them grow on their own, they are weak, brittle and will break thanks to years of acrylics and gel nails. I purchased this from Sally's and had to get the version with horsetail, as the original Nail Magic was not in stock, so this review is for the horsetail version, which seems to be mostly identical to the original version. I use this as a nail treatment, I apply a fresh coat, apply 2-3 a week for 2 weeks, then remove it and start over with a fresh coat, just as the directions state. Last week, I also used this as a base coat under a manicure and it worked perfectly. Since I have been using this, my nails have gotten longer and stronger. They also look healthy too. As far as the burning effect that some people have with the original version, I only notice that slightly with the horsetail Nail Magic. My nails feel tight for a day after applying, much like they would after getting a set of gel nails, but nothing that is unbearable or painful. Iím very pleased with my purchase and will continue to repurchase this as long as itís available.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Dhaunivan on 12/29/2011 2:43:00 PM more reviews by Dhaunivan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

In reading the previous reviews I'm quite surprised to hear about the burning, I have had absolutely no pain of any kind from using this base. I have found the effectiveness to be so-so, as I have 2 nails in particular that keep wanting to peel. I've been using this for about 2 months now, 2 coats under every mani whether I top it with lacquer or just give it a shiny top coat. I am about half way through the bottle and I'm still undecided whether I will repurchase this or try one of he Orly base coats next. So while I've not experienced any pain using this I would suggest if you often find yourself sensiitive to chemicals you may want to proceed cautiously.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LdyNRd on 12/28/2011 4:47:00 AM more reviews by LdyNRd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I could not live without this product. I had horrible, weak, and thin nails that would constantly break but after using this product breakage is basically non-existent. My nails are long and thick. Its a little expensive but its worth it for the price. Its great for as a base coat and as a top coat. Makes nail polish lasts a lot longer than without it. Sometimes it does create a burning sensation but I think you need to shake it up a bit to get the ingredients mixed together and it should be fine. But the good outweigh the bad so its definitely worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chanceofrain on 12/4/2011 8:59:00 PM more reviews by chanceofrain

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this at Sally's about a month and a half ago. I was growing out my nails after about a decade of acrylics and two years of trying to grow them out. A diet change after an illness made my nails grow like wildfire but they were still weak, thin and peeling. I tried many hardeners with no luck. The girls at Sally's told me about it after I'd tried an Essie hardener that worked for maybe a week and then failed. I finally gave in and bought it two weeks later because I was helping to move a friend and broke half my nails. I ended up having to cut them all way short and figured it would be a great time to test the Nail Magic out and start growing my nails again while using the product. The girls at Sally's told me that a lot of nurses and restaurant workers purchase it from our store because they're constantly putting hands in water. That's also me, even though I work in auto parts.

6 weeks later and I am a believer. My bottle has lasted me this long even though I'm constantly changing my nail polish. I use 1-2 coats as a basecoat (depending on how much of a hurry I'm in) and then on the rare occasions I leave my nails bare, I'll just apply two coats. I've noticed a BIG difference in my nails. I've only had one instance of breakage and even then, it wasn't horrible. I file my nails square and the corner broke off, it's not even really noticeable. My nails though are AMAZING. Even and strong. I get so many compliments on them, people asking me where I get them done at.


A lot of reviews are talking about pain. I have only had one small instance with that with this product and it was probably my own fault, so I didn't take any lippies away. I had a cut near my cuticle on my pinky and I noticed that after doing a manicure that night, for the next couple days, my pinky felt like it had been slammed in a drawer, but ONLY if I pressed my finger on something. It went away on it's own, without me having to remove the Nail Magic, so I'm thinking that if you have rough cuticles or weak nails, that's the cause of all the pain that the below commenters are experiencing.


For all the amazing results I've had with this product, I really put it to the test yesterday. I changed the brakes and rotors on my car, and I was definitely slamming my hands and nails into things, a few times hard enough that I checked my nails... came home to shower and took inventory of my nails expecting a bunch of cracked and broken nails... NOT ONE.


IMO, it's worth checking out. I did despite all the bad reviews on here and I'm glad that I did. It's my HG hardener now!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Reece7 on 11/17/2011 1:58:00 PM more reviews by Reece7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am shocked products that can do this much harm are on the market. I get that Nail Magic has worked for some, but something that hurts even a few people, and obviously this is the case here, should at least have to disclose that the product could cause mild to extreme pain.

I started experiencing severe pain in one of my fingers out of the blue, but assumed it was the change in weather. If you've ever had frostbite, or something close to it, that's what it felt like. But once inside and warmed up, my finger continued to hurt so I had to rule that out. Then there was extreme sensitivity to warm water when I went to do dishes. Odd, I thought. Finally, I woke up in the middle of the night from severe pain in all of my fingertips. I don't have sensitive skin, and it felt like they had been slammed in a drawer.

I truly was stumped. If it wasn't the weather, and I hadn't been practicing 'walking on my hands', what was causing the pain?

I avoid doctors until I've exhausted all possible options, but I was getting ready to make an appointment when it occurred to me it had to be the Nail Magic. That's the only thing that affected all of my fingers. This was like a chemical burn, and from having used the product just three days and only once a day (versus the twice a day recommended). My suspicion was confirmed when I read similar posts about the product (thank goodness for the internet!).

It's been several days since i removed Nail Magic and my fingertips still hurt.

To be sure, we all get to decide what products to use on and in our bodies. But you've got wonder why consumer products are not subject to the same scrutiny as prescription drugs which have to disclose possible side effects. At least we'd have knowledge of the risks. You also have to wonder if exposing yourself to a product that contains a known carcinogen (formaldehyde) and that has caused harm to others, is worth beautiful nails, especially when there are other (non-harming) nail treatments out there.

We have no control over the air we breathe or other environmental risks, but we do have control and choice about the products we use in and on our bodies.




1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* siamesekiss on 11/14/2011 6:47:00 PM more reviews by siamesekiss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Unlike other posters, I have not had one problem with hurting or burning. not even the first time I used it. It's completely clear. So far, it's been 3 weeks and I'm loving this. My nails peel ALOT and that causes them to rip or tear. I've been putting this on twice a week and my nails finally stopped peeling. The best part is that it doens't stain your nails :) Love this part!!!! I haven't tried it yet as a basecoat under color yet. What I've been doing is layering one coat of Orly Nailtrition over it to give a slightly pink sheen. The Orly didn't work for me so I didn't want to waste the rest of the bottle, this combo is working well for an almost french natural look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarahashley848484 on 11/6/2011 8:27:00 PM more reviews by sarahashley848484

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This product has saved my nails! I have been using this 2x a week for 2 months now and I can't get enough of how beautiful my nails are, I almost don't believe it myself. My nails are very thin and I never had a problem with them growing but when they did they would bend so I would always cut them off to the point where no white was showing. My whites were always see-thru anyway so it wasnt a cute look trying to grow them out. When I first used this, following the instructions, I applied two thin coats and let dry. About 15 mintues later OH MY! my nails burned to the point that my fiance wanted to take me to the emergency room! The other reviewers were NOT exagerating it HURT! So I took the polish off and the pain was still there. I think my fingers hurt for a few days after that too. I thought it was because I buffed my nails, so I waited a week, tried it again without buffing (same 2 thin coats) and again...EXTREME PAIN! I don't know what the heck I was thinking when I went to try it for the 3rd time..maybe because my nails WERE growing, my nails were REALLY hard, and my whites were no longer see-thru, I attemped for the 3rd time, this time only applying 1 coat (not extremely thin, just normal) and NO PAIN! Not a single bit! It was uncanny really. So I'm not sure if my nails just needed a couple weeks to get used to it or if it was just using one coat but I having been applying only 1 coat for the remaining 6 weeks and it works just the same. AMAZING PRODUCT!
EDIT: 7/18/12 So I picked up a new bottle of this a few weeks ago after consistanly using this for 8 months going thru multiple bottles with just 1 coat per application as stated above. They have now changed the formula! The bottles I had before looked exactly like the one in the picture here. The new bottle has a chalky-light pink color to it. The new formula looks great on nails (better than the original IMO) but it does nothing for my nails. I have now attempted multiple coats - no burning. But it's not stengthing my nails either like the original version. And I finally know what everyone was talking about with the peeling! This new version only lasts 2 days tops on my nails. Is it sad that I miss the old burning formula?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jbhstop on 10/26/2011 10:31:00 PM more reviews by jbhstop

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

OUCH!!! A coworker recommended this product to me. I picked up a bottle at Sally Beauty Supply for about $8. I put a coat on my very thin nails and about 15 minutes later my fingers started to burn through to the pads. OUCH!!! I took it off and took some Advil. Hoping to be able to sleep soon. :( Guess I'll be giving this bottle to my coworker because this is never going on my nails again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 adashofgrace on 10/19/2011 3:06:00 AM more reviews by adashofgrace

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

My nails arn't too horribly short, but I would love for them to be a little bit longer, but I have such a problem with peeling and breakage, that I can't seem to keep them at the length that I want. I work at Sally's and got this as a sample, and the first time I used it, my nails were burning SOOO BAD. I did it before bed, and I could not sleep, it kept me awake. It was so bad that I ended up having to take a pain pill so it would stop and I could sleep! It hasn't done a thing for my nails. They still peel, and they still break. I would not recommend this product at all. I'm still on the quest for a good nail strengthener.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments products