Dr. Hauschka • Cleansing Cream • Cleansers

rated 3.7(321 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 lilmi on 10/26/2011 5:18:00 PM more reviews by lilmi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the 50ml tube for around 15. Not a bad price for a cleanser but for the price I'd expect to get a little more for my money!

Packaging
~
Comes in a tube, probably makes it easier to get squeeze out the last of the product. Will get all crinkly as time goes on but I'm not too fussy on the packaging. Plus it's much more hygienic than a tub and you can easily control how much you take out.

Application
~
I usually use a gentle make-up remover to take off my foundation/eye make up as this cleanser isn't designed to remove make-up.

I found the 'press and roll' method is pretty easy to grasp. However it does becomes tedious especially for those who have busy mornings.


Results
~
It does leave behind a slightly greasy layer which some might find uncomfortable. So I'd reccommend you finish up with a toner for a 'clean' feel. If it's during mornings I finish up with Dr Hauschka Rose Day Cream Light. If it's during the evening I'll skip on the moisturiser as that's what's reccommended when using his range.

Verdict
~
AWFUL for my skin. I've only ever had the occasional spot but since using this I've had a major breakout all over my forehead which I've never had before. One month on and I'm still trying to get my skin back to how it was before!

I would advise anyone who is prone to any spots at all to steer clear of this product. It might be better for those with mature/very dry/never prone to spots skin.

If you're still skeptical whether or not this is ideal for you I suggest you just buy some of the mini trial sizes from the official site and see if they suit you before investing in the full size products and wasting your money like I did.


4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LadyFlanders on 10/19/2011 4:22:00 PM more reviews by LadyFlanders

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love this one, no need to use any peeling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 qoo77 on 9/16/2011 10:17:00 AM more reviews by qoo77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

---- Added 13th Nov 2011 ----

Found another better cleanser in Lush's Angels on Bare Skin (Japan Forumla). Cleanses my oily skin better and leaves it more soft and moisturized than Dr Hauschka, give Lush a try!

---- Original Review ----

omg i can imagine why this is a cult product after using it for 2 weeks. my skin feels so beautifully soft and balanced after washing my face with this, never tight never dry. when i first started using it I sorta missed the squeaky clean feel of my foam cleanser but I got used to it. this leaves a moisturising layer after you rinse off, there's is no oily after-feel for me... just soft smooth skin.

my foaming cleansers always left my combination and dehydrated skin parched dry, and i think results in skin trying to overcompensate by pumping out more oil. with this cleansing cream, it feels so balanced out so oil glands don't go into overdrive. i've hardly broken out so far too!

i love the gentle press-and-roll technique to cleanse, feels like a mini facial spa on me twice a day. very relaxing and calming once i'm done with the whole toner and cream routine.

dislike the metal tube dispenser for this as mentioned in some reviews, they can't be all perfect right? :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 graphicfighter on 6/26/2011 2:19:00 PM more reviews by graphicfighter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Dr. Hauschka's cleansing cream is a product hard to get used to, which is why I'm giving it mixed ratings but do read on to understand why I would buy it again (and again).

I was on Suki's skincare regimen when I bought this, because I ran out of cleanser and didn't want to renew Suki's range. As much as I wanted to love Suki, it just didn't work for me, on top of being extremely expensive -- but that's for another review. I have never been attracted by Dr. Hauschka before and if I didn't hear an aquaintance's praises, I'd still be clueless about the brand. After reading about their holistic approach, I decided to give a first try at it. I was looking for something natural, at best organic, for my combo skin (very oily, acne-prone, mild rosacea, you name it all). This would do.

Oddly enough, the first impressions really put me off. To begin with, the smell: there's a strong scent of alcohol, which I think is being used to replace chemical preservatives. Then when I first tried it on with the "press & roll" motion it requires, I thought "there's no way I'm doing this twice a day". I'm a lazy person and I come from a no-skincare-regimen-for-26-years so it was a lot to ask me! Finally, the result: I felt like my face wasn't cleaned at all. Worst, the cream left a greasy film on my face and hands. Way to go for a first Dr. Hauschka experience!

I kept on using it religiously every morning and night until the tube was empty not because I was convinced, but because I hate to throw out things... and what a surprise! Even if I was still partly using Suki's products, without knowing it, a real improvement in my skin appearance showed up: more even, a tad bit less oily and I noticed a significant decreasing of zits which was my major concern (sudden change of my skin 2-3 years ago, unknown reasons). Considering these changes didn't occur when I was using Suki's cleanser, I assumed it was all Dr. Hauschka's magic.

For all the bad impressions I first had, mark my words: you get used to it. The presence of alcohol? Didn't provoke any reaction on my sensitive skin. The roll & press motion? I don't know for other people, but it just takes me a few seconds and I don't let the cream sit. As for the unclean feeling, the clarifying toner gets rid of the greasy film and it's a good proof that the cleanser is actually very gentle and doesn't stripe all the moisture from the skin. To people complaining about its price: you just need a small nut of the product to do all your face. If you do so, the cleansing cream lasts around 3 months (at least for me). I admit we have it cheaper in Belgium (around 10) but considering its efficiency, it's really worth its price... but honestly? It's not that expensive compared to other organic cleansers.

The only two bad points I could point out are its misleading name and packaging. Although it's a cleanser, it's in no way a make up remover. Prepare to plan an extra step in your skincare if you're wearing make up on a daily basis (not my case though). Also, if you accidentally roughly bend the tube, it might get pierced like those old ointments metal tubes and compromise its safety so you have to be careful when pushing the product out.

What about now? I'm going on my 4th tube already, combined with the whole range (check out my other reviews soon) and this product was the first baby step to restore my skin! I'm proud to say it's my HG skincare. Honestly, I was desperate when my dermatologist and gynaecologist couldn't find the reason why my skin started acting up after so many years of good behaviour so I can't stretch enough how this brand saved me and turned me into a skin-confident person again. Now that I think about it, my lifetime skincare belief of "less is better" was bound to meet their approach one day or another. I will definitely repurchase this product until I die.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Suki1 on 6/25/2011 8:32:00 AM more reviews by Suki1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product, it's an excellent scrub and leaves the face feeling lovely and soft. I use the press and roll method on my cheeks and forehead and use it as a scrub around the oily t-zone. I even like the earthy smell. What I don't like: It doesn't last very long. Although it is not hugely expensive in the UK, I do expect a product to last much longer at that price range. I just managed to get a month and a half out of it. Luckily I found it on e-bay for half the normal retail price. I would not purchase again at the full price, but will definitely do another e-bay search.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pineapple1187 on 5/28/2011 2:15:00 PM more reviews by pineapple1187

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My first impression of the cleansing cream was very negative. First because of the smell, and second because I did not know how to use it properly. Then I read more carefully the directions in the box, I realized that I had to pat it gently on my skin, and in the end I tried it again. This was it! Since then I am hooked! Indeed, it cleanses very very well without stripping out the skin's moisture. Afterwards I use normalising day oil, and I am set for the day (and night)! I also got used to the smell which is not that bad after all. The only negatives I can think about is the expensive price tag and the packaging...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saramary on 5/18/2011 2:54:00 AM more reviews by saramary

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am in love with the dr hauschka range for oily/acne prone skin. I used to have really oily skin with bad, bad breakouts but this cleanser along with the clarifying toner and the normalizing day oil has really cleared up my skin. I've been using it for just over a month and I can really see great results. I have quite a lot of blackheads as well but the dr hauschka steam bath along with the clay mask seem to help getting rid of that too. I have really tried everything from mario badescu to clinique and exuviance and nothing has worked as well as this has. The cleanser doesn't make the skin feel dry at all after using it and at night they say not to put on anything but the toner and the toner is so moisturizing you don't feel the need to. The only bad thing I can say is that the tube it comes in is tiny and considering the size, also quite expensive.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ljk on 3/28/2011 1:16:00 AM more reviews by ljk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I enjoy using this product and have used it for about 4 months now. I find when I use it it helps keep my acne under control. If I run out or don't use it, it tends to come back. I like that it doesn't make my face feel really tight afterwards. It feels smooth and refreshed with a rosy look.
I find it is a bit expensive (one tube only lasts me about 4-5 weeks) which is annoying because I feel like I'm always re-ordering it and its not cheep. I wish they would do a larger tube of it. I also wish the tube had a larger base so it was sturdier.
I would buy the product again as I find it helps my acne so much better than many other products and I feel like it decongests my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jetpilot on 3/22/2011 5:48:00 AM more reviews by jetpilot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product has done wonders for my skin - no tightness, no redness, no peeling or discomfort - and my pores have *gone*. I admit that it does take time to get used to the whole 'press and roll' technique - but oh so worth it! After 10 days, all of the little bumps and blackheads have disappeared from all over my face, and my oily skin - amazingly - is definitely calming down. Only drawback is that it doesn't come in a bigger size. AND - it is a natural product - I am impressed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tinimakeup on 2/21/2011 8:48:00 AM more reviews by tinimakeup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have very bad acne, the worse ones are around my chin areas and have recently changed my skin care products to a more natural approach in the hope that my skin will starts to clear up. I have been using this product together with Dr. Hauschka's Normalising Day oil (I use this as a night serum) and Quince Day cream for over one week. There is a definite difference in my skin. My skin feels much softer and sort of glowy (not the oily type!).

Anyway, back to this cleanser. I would not buy it again, but not because the product didn't work but it is because the product requires a lot of time to use (the roll and press motion, leaving it on the skin for at least 5 minutes if your skin is oily, etc..). In that sense it is too intensive for me. Having said that, this cleanser cream did make my skin softer and more dewy. A lot of reviewers have mentioned a greasy residue after rinsing but I find that my toner always get rid of this.

Also, this cleanser DO NOT removes make-up at all. I usually use this after I use Mac Cleanse Off oil, follows with Dr. Haushka's Clarifying toner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dr. Hauschka products

More Cleansers products