Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(959 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redmakeup on 9/12/2013 8:39:00 AM more reviews by redmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my go to cleanser. It works great. Effective, leaves your skin clean. Its just an overall great cleanser that works great for sensitive skin. When I'm wearing a lot of makeup it does do a good job to clean it. I usually use a pre-cleansing oil just to make sure I get it completely off, but it goes a good job on its own. It does have a scent, but its so mild you can barely smell it. Never drys out my skin and really is as gentle as water.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 courtneyleanne on 9/3/2013 10:21:00 PM more reviews by courtneyleanne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This cleanser is great for removing all of my makeup in one step. It doesn't irritate my skin and more importantly my eyes. I have had issues with other eye makeup removers bothering my sensitive eye are but not this one. There have been several times I have decided to buy one of the newer, more flashy cleansers on the market but I have consistently gone back to this cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 8/31/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wish I had tried this years ago. This is a rare product in that it will remove makeup and mascara (non-water resistant) without drying your skin or irritating your eyes. I have very sensitive eyes so I have struggled with eye-makeup removers. I just followed the label suggestion to wet face & hands, then express a pump and work a couple of times between your hands and apply to your face. I run a Q-tip over my lashes after and hardly get any mascara residue. This product has really simplified my life and is a boon to my sensitive eyes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roseroach on 8/28/2013 1:23:00 PM more reviews by roseroach

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this since Neutrogena stop making my makeup remover cleanser. So of course logged on to makeupalley and saw that this had really good reviews. I purchased this not expecting much from it . On the website this is what it says >>>>Keep your skin looking clean and healthy with these Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash Pump Cleansers, pack of two. Recommended by dermatologists for people with sensitive skin, this cleanser is soap-free and hypoallergenic, so it's ideal for use on almost any type of skin. This Purpose Gentle Cleanser won't clog pores and won't add to any acne issues. the key points for your skin :
Dermatologist recommended
Clinically shown to be gentle as water
Soap free
Hypoallergenic
Won't clog pores
Gentle face wash, 6 fl oz
This is what it says on the website<<<<<. This is really gentle on my skin and it doesn't over dry it. And trust me I have really bad sensitive skin. I also tried it to clean my makeup brush. And work really well and leave the bristles really soft. And leaves them smelling really nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 megancya on 8/24/2013 8:28:00 PM more reviews by megancya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this for years bc it really is everything that you can ask for from a gentle cleanser. I have sensitive acne prone skin so I have to be very careful with my everyday face washes. This one passes the test. It's not too drying, yet not too moisturizing for my oily skin. It's very balancing. I tried cetaphil, that broke me out..so I decided to give this a try and I'm glad I did. The only con to this product is the packaging. It is very hard to travel with this bc if tilted on its side, the cleanser will leak out everywhere. This has happened to me many times lol, had to learn the hard way. Good thing it's so inexpensive :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Wopbopaloobop on 8/21/2013 8:02:00 PM more reviews by Wopbopaloobop

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My daughter and I started using this face wash about 2 months ago and we love it! My daughter who is prone to acne no longer has flare ups on her forehead and other then an occasional pimple her face is finally clear. We both have sensitive skin and this face wash gently washes our faces and does not dry out and it works great at removing all of my makeup including waterproof mascara. I've repurchased this three times now and I can't imagine my life without it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ek1265 on 8/10/2013 11:14:00 PM more reviews by ek1265

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My skin is sensitive from using Retin-A to treat my acne. Face washes I've tried in the past usually burn my skin. This one is soo gentle! I love it, it doesn't irritate my skin at all. It foams up really well. It works quite well at removing my foundation and non-waterproof mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xoxollt on 6/16/2013 11:06:00 PM more reviews by xoxollt

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Have been using this cleanser since the 8th grade. Absolutely love it. Removes all of my makeup (voluminous mascara, mac concealers, eyeshadow primer, the works!) I always have a bottle at the sink, in the shower, and at the boyfriend's house! I will never go without it!! I love that it is unscented, color-free, gentle, removes makeup, doesn't dry out my skin, doesn't leave anything behind, has a pump top.. Everything about it! Works perfectly with my Clarisonic. Side note... Manufacturers add fragrance to products to cover the scent of the ingredients. So if anyone feels this has a "scent" that's likely what it is :) Simply has a clean "soap" smell to me! Love this stuff!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cookies101 on 6/8/2013 1:45:00 AM more reviews by Cookies101

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

This product is great! It cleared my acne and eczema!! Both balanced my combo skin!! I've never seen my skin so flawless!!! Your skin will clear up in days but your skin will take like 2 weeks to balance out while using this product...skin looks great...all of purposes stuff is great! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 apkota on 6/2/2013 8:24:00 PM more reviews by apkota

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the big 12 Oz bottle at Wal Mart for less than $10. I use two pumps with baby washcloths to cleanse my skin. I stray periodically, but always return to this cleanser. You really can't go wrong with this, it lathers really nicely and removes all make up. I can get it on my eyes without any problems. With all that said, this does not dry my skin. I have tried many creamy cleansers because of my combo/ dry skin and can't do it. I have to have lather. My complexion has never been better. The scent is pleasant, just like Johnson's Head to Toe. I realize this is made by Johnson and Johnson. Many people would argue that the Baby Head to Toe is the same formulation, perhaps in some people's eyes? I happen to have tried the Head to Toe on my face and it tends to dry my face more than the Purpose. I look at my bottle of Purpose and always think to myself, "Why do I keep straying?" I will continue to use this cleanser as it fits all my needs...lathering, pleasant scent, no breakouts, complete make up removal, & best of all; never over drying. Gotta try this with a baby washcloth as well, it makes it a gentle exfoliator!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products