Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash

4.1

975 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate(surfactant), Sodium Laureth Sulfate(detergent), Cocamidopropyl Betaine(gentle surfactant), PEG 150 Distearate(thickening agent), Sodium Lauroampho PG Acetate Phosphate(mild surfactant), Fragrance, Quaternium 15(formaldehyde-releasing preservative), Tetrasodium EDTA(chelating agent).


on 3/1/2014 12:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I used purpose for such a long time; probably about 10 years. I considered it my HG cleanser until recently when I discovered it's the culprit of the clogs on my cheeks. I have no complaints about Purpose cleans or makes my skin feel, but I can no longer use it because I'll get clogs. I still think this would be a great cleanser, though, for someone whose skin is not easily dried out or clog prone.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 2/17/2014 6:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My first issue with this cleanser is the scent. I know its made by Johnson & Johnson, but I think that baby shampoo scent is way too strong for a facial cleanser. Secondly, I don’t see how this cleanser is “as gentle as water” as it is described. My face turned bright red and felt extremely tight and dry after use and that is the a big no no. It does lather good and it seemed like it cleaned well, it just completely stripped my face.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2014 5:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

This gets all the makeup off my face and leaves no residue behind. I love the thick, creamy texture and it's very gentle but works great! Plus it's not very expensive (I got mine for around $6 at Ulta) and lasts a while.


on 1/29/2014 8:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser is the best I have found. It gets all my makeup off and doesn't aggravate my super sensitive skin. I usually break out very easily (like every time I try a new facial product), but with this cleanser I have no breakouts! I wash my face with just my hands for a couple minutes, vs scrubbing or using a washcloth, etc, so as to not strip my skin. This stuff is super gentle and still effective! I have found it at Target and Rite Aid :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2014 12:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This would have been a great cleanser if it didnt cause cystic acne on my chin after 4 days. Had to stop using it before it had got worse.


on 1/24/2014 3:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I didn't like it because it broke me out. I have oily, acne prone, sensitive skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2014 11:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a good product. I like it because it doesn't burn my Eyes and it doesn't make my face dry or tight. I am currently using this wash with the clearisil vanishing acne cream and this routine seems to work well. Both are good costs and they have cleared up my skin in the 2 days I have been using them both. I do recommend this duo but you may also experience dry skin with the clearisil vanishing acne cream so I suggest using a moisturizer. I hope you try this and use it for the clearsil and I hope it works on you like I did!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2014 10:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I ran out of my acne.org cleanser and decides to pick this up from Target. I used this for about a week (the time it took to ship my other cleanser) Made me breakout into cystic acne. As soon as i stopped using it, breakouts went away. Didnt foam enough for me, didnt work well with my clairsonic, will not repurchase. Gave it one lippie cause it did remove my eye makeup


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My skin: oily, very sensitive, clog prone, acne prone

I was on the fence about trying this product because of the reviews here saying it was too harsh. I'd been looking for a basic, gentle cleanser and I had been using Trader Joe's Nourish Cleanser, which was working very well as my HG cleanser prior to this. It was so gentle, but my skin needed a little something more because I found it just wasn't doing anything for my clogged pores. So I took the plunge and purchased a huge size of this on sale for $10 and I haven't looked back since. It's been a year now and that huge container is just over half gone so I'd say I've given this a good long testing.

PROS:
-Cleanses my skin without stripping it dry
-Gentle
-Takes off leftover makeup my remover does not remove
-helped clear up my acne
-Doesn't break me out
-Packaging; its a pump so you can control how much product dispenses out and keep it all sanitary

CONS:
-Fragrance

Why must they ruin products with fragrance? Thankfully, the fragrance ingredients don't break me out, but I just wish they could make this go the extra mile towards being gentle by remove the fragrance. Its not a bad fragrance or anything, but I just don't like it as an ingredient in general when it comes to skincare.

All in all, this is my HG cleanser, and I will continue to repurchase this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2013 5:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was having serious problems with acne, and after using benzoyl peroxide I needed a gentle but effective cleaner that wouldn't dry out my skin too much (I used to have oily skin but now it's pretty dry). I love this stuff! It takes off all my makeup and doesn't leave my skin feeling too tight. It lathers pretty well too. After adding this to my routine (along with a new moisturizer) my skin has completely cleared up! I'll never stop using this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top