Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash

4.1

972 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate(surfactant), Sodium Laureth Sulfate(detergent), Cocamidopropyl Betaine(gentle surfactant), PEG 150 Distearate(thickening agent), Sodium Lauroampho PG Acetate Phosphate(mild surfactant), Fragrance, Quaternium 15(formaldehyde-releasing preservative), Tetrasodium EDTA(chelating agent).


on 1/24/2014 3:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I didn't like it because it broke me out. I have oily, acne prone, sensitive skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 1/22/2014 11:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a good product. I like it because it doesn't burn my Eyes and it doesn't make my face dry or tight. I am currently using this wash with the clearisil vanishing acne cream and this routine seems to work well. Both are good costs and they have cleared up my skin in the 2 days I have been using them both. I do recommend this duo but you may also experience dry skin with the clearisil vanishing acne cream so I suggest using a moisturizer. I hope you try this and use it for the clearsil and I hope it works on you like I did!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2014 10:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I ran out of my acne.org cleanser and decides to pick this up from Target. I used this for about a week (the time it took to ship my other cleanser) Made me breakout into cystic acne. As soon as i stopped using it, breakouts went away. Didnt foam enough for me, didnt work well with my clairsonic, will not repurchase. Gave it one lippie cause it did remove my eye makeup


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My skin: oily, very sensitive, clog prone, acne prone

I was on the fence about trying this product because of the reviews here saying it was too harsh. I'd been looking for a basic, gentle cleanser and I had been using Trader Joe's Nourish Cleanser, which was working very well as my HG cleanser prior to this. It was so gentle, but my skin needed a little something more because I found it just wasn't doing anything for my clogged pores. So I took the plunge and purchased a huge size of this on sale for $10 and I haven't looked back since. It's been a year now and that huge container is just over half gone so I'd say I've given this a good long testing.

PROS:
-Cleanses my skin without stripping it dry
-Gentle
-Takes off leftover makeup my remover does not remove
-helped clear up my acne
-Doesn't break me out
-Packaging; its a pump so you can control how much product dispenses out and keep it all sanitary

CONS:
-Fragrance

Why must they ruin products with fragrance? Thankfully, the fragrance ingredients don't break me out, but I just wish they could make this go the extra mile towards being gentle by remove the fragrance. Its not a bad fragrance or anything, but I just don't like it as an ingredient in general when it comes to skincare.

All in all, this is my HG cleanser, and I will continue to repurchase this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2013 5:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was having serious problems with acne, and after using benzoyl peroxide I needed a gentle but effective cleaner that wouldn't dry out my skin too much (I used to have oily skin but now it's pretty dry). I love this stuff! It takes off all my makeup and doesn't leave my skin feeling too tight. It lathers pretty well too. After adding this to my routine (along with a new moisturizer) my skin has completely cleared up! I'll never stop using this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/26/2013 11:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Sadly, this has happened to me a few times...
Using Purpose: OMG! My skin looks great! I should start washing with another cleanser to help combat aging/large pores/redness/something in a cuter package!
Using anything else: (skin massacre)
Using Purpose again: OMG! My skin looks great!
Repeat, ad nauseum.

For whatever reason, when I use this cleanser my extremely acne prone (cystic) and sensitive skin behaves. This cleanser does not make my skin perfect my any means but it is definitely the best I've found for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2013 10:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not a big fan. For a gentle cleanser I would prefer cetaphil or cerave. I didn't find this too effective but I gave it a three because a lot of people I know do really like it


on 10/28/2013 11:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Fantastic facial wash. I haven't had a breakout since I started using this about a month ago. It foams nicely, takes off every trace of makeup, and is pretty cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2013 9:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Excellent face wash, I found it at my dermatologist's office in a sample. It's really a lot better for me in the summer when I get all greasy during the day, but it's not too drying now that it's winter (at least, not yet). Looking at the ingredients I do like how I recognize everything I see, and that there aren't many...only rant about it is that Clean & Clear's Sensitive Skin Foaming Face Wash is identical and costs less.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2013 1:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have bounced around several cleansers but return to this one or clean & clear sensitive (same ingredients) all the time. I buy whichever one is on sale.

Basic no frills light foaming cleanser removes make up without stripping skin. Packaging is fine. I keep the large pump bottle in the shower and decant some into a foaming pump and keep it by the sink, so a little does go a long way.


Back to Top