Purpose • Gentle Cleansing Wash • Cleansers

rated 4.1(963 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maquin22 on 10/20/2013 1:05:00 PM more reviews by maquin22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have bounced around several cleansers but return to this one or clean & clear sensitive (same ingredients) all the time. I buy whichever one is on sale.

Basic no frills light foaming cleanser removes make up without stripping skin. Packaging is fine. I keep the large pump bottle in the shower and decant some into a foaming pump and keep it by the sink, so a little does go a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jilly914 on 10/2/2013 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Jilly914

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

The cleanser that I've used for years was discontinued. I picked out a new cleanser, and since I have breakouts once in a while - I decided to try one with drying ingredients for acne.

OMG...The skin on my face went crazy - it was a dry, flaky, burning, red mess. I normally don't have really sensitive skin...but this time I made my skin really mad.

I remembered that my Mum used to use Purpose for her sensitive skin for many years, so I picked this up. It is so gentle and easy on the skin - no dyes, scents etc. I love that it has a pump too. My skin settled down within a few days of using this. Even though my skin is oily, this is doing a good job at removing the oil without being as drying as my old cleanser.

I will repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Law1747 on 9/25/2013 12:08:00 AM more reviews by Law1747

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this product for the last 10 years. It was recommended to me by my dermatologist at the time, due to a heavy duty acne medication regimen I was starting. I've been using it ever since. Its great at removing makeup and for regular washing. Your skin feels soft and clean and never dried out. Highly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 craines on 9/18/2013 11:03:00 PM more reviews by craines

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great product! Very gentle and thorough cleanser. Does not dry out the skin and will remove most makeup. Comes in a pump, which is very convenient. Have used when I needed gentle cleansing for at least 10 years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrMontyBurns on 9/12/2013 10:25:00 AM more reviews by MrMontyBurns

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this on my long quest for a cleanser that would not irritate my super-sensitive, rosacea skin. From the outside, it looked like it had a good shot. But after using it just once, my skin was dry and irritated, with lovely redness and bumps. I eventually discovered CeraVe foaming cleanser, and that's become my HG...no irritation whatsoever with that one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redmakeup on 9/12/2013 8:39:00 AM more reviews by redmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my go to cleanser. It works great. Effective, leaves your skin clean. Its just an overall great cleanser that works great for sensitive skin. When I'm wearing a lot of makeup it does do a good job to clean it. I usually use a pre-cleansing oil just to make sure I get it completely off, but it goes a good job on its own. It does have a scent, but its so mild you can barely smell it. Never drys out my skin and really is as gentle as water.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 courtneyleanne on 9/3/2013 10:21:00 PM more reviews by courtneyleanne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This cleanser is great for removing all of my makeup in one step. It doesn't irritate my skin and more importantly my eyes. I have had issues with other eye makeup removers bothering my sensitive eye are but not this one. There have been several times I have decided to buy one of the newer, more flashy cleansers on the market but I have consistently gone back to this cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 8/31/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wish I had tried this years ago. This is a rare product in that it will remove makeup and mascara (non-water resistant) without drying your skin or irritating your eyes. I have very sensitive eyes so I have struggled with eye-makeup removers. I just followed the label suggestion to wet face & hands, then express a pump and work a couple of times between your hands and apply to your face. I run a Q-tip over my lashes after and hardly get any mascara residue. This product has really simplified my life and is a boon to my sensitive eyes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roseroach on 8/28/2013 1:23:00 PM more reviews by roseroach

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this since Neutrogena stop making my makeup remover cleanser. So of course logged on to makeupalley and saw that this had really good reviews. I purchased this not expecting much from it . On the website this is what it says >>>>Keep your skin looking clean and healthy with these Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash Pump Cleansers, pack of two. Recommended by dermatologists for people with sensitive skin, this cleanser is soap-free and hypoallergenic, so it's ideal for use on almost any type of skin. This Purpose Gentle Cleanser won't clog pores and won't add to any acne issues. the key points for your skin :
Dermatologist recommended
Clinically shown to be gentle as water
Soap free
Hypoallergenic
Won't clog pores
Gentle face wash, 6 fl oz
This is what it says on the website<<<<<. This is really gentle on my skin and it doesn't over dry it. And trust me I have really bad sensitive skin. I also tried it to clean my makeup brush. And work really well and leave the bristles really soft. And leaves them smelling really nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 megancya on 8/24/2013 8:28:00 PM more reviews by megancya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this for years bc it really is everything that you can ask for from a gentle cleanser. I have sensitive acne prone skin so I have to be very careful with my everyday face washes. This one passes the test. It's not too drying, yet not too moisturizing for my oily skin. It's very balancing. I tried cetaphil, that broke me out..so I decided to give this a try and I'm glad I did. The only con to this product is the packaging. It is very hard to travel with this bc if tilted on its side, the cleanser will leak out everywhere. This has happened to me many times lol, had to learn the hard way. Good thing it's so inexpensive :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Cleansers products