Frapin 1270

4.1

75 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I didnít know what to expect with this considering it has been said to be similar to Escada Collection--one of my HGs, and Ginestet Botrytis--an enemy of my chemistry. Itís actually more similar to Ginestet Botrytis, but it smells considerably better (almost like GB meets SL Un Bois Vanille). That unfortunate putrid note that exists in GB for me is nowhere to be found here. However, in its place is something that makes this a much more masculine fragrance than I would like. There's also a slight fruit undertone in there somewhere. Rarely do I like woodsy fruit scents or fruity woods scents on myself. It smells similar to a cologne someone I once dated wore--that I liked; but I canít place it. It isnít for me. Very nice for some lucky ladies and gents, I imagine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/30/2006 12:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Out of the seven samples I've tried on in the two weeks (most of them cited as expensive "cult" favorites) this is the best, most surprising, and original scent that I have found. From the first moment after I applied it I was captivated. And I don't use sappy sentimetal words like that lightly. I've always found it easy to like light florals in the past and in the past-past I've even liked heavier orientals (do they still use that term?) but wanted to try something different. This fragrance is more complex character. A touch smoky, it evokes autumn, as it gradually dried down to a beautiful berry and wood scent. I love this smell. I'd almost say it would be suitable for a unisex fragrance except that I think the berry scent pulls it more towards the feminine.


on 12/22/2005 5:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

How perfect. Perhaps my favorite woods-gourmand fragrance, and that's saying a lot considering the category includes some serious heavy hitters like Ginestet Botrytis, Hermes Ambre Narguile, and Bois de Paradis. I LOVE the way this smells in the bottle. But the drydown is really the best part: soft, creamy vanilla mixed with sweet dried fruit, balanced by a gentle dry cedar note. Why don't I have this in my collection? EDIT: 30 minutes after writing this review, I am the proud owner of a brand-new bottle. I could not wait. This fragrance is on par with POTL. It's THAT good. Lasting power is only about 3 hours on me. Also, the bottle looks nice but it's cheaply made: every time I use it, the top sprayer button falls off. Without fail. Still, this is not enough to detract me from using this gorgeous scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2005 8:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is one perfume that nearly made me swoon upon smelling it on my wrist. It is just everything I look for in a perfume - softness, complexity, and subtlety. Not even a hint of generic "perfuminess" that the majority of scents have. The perfect fall/winter perfume in my book.


on 10/11/2005 7:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is one of the most beautiful fragrances I have ever smelled. It starts out a bit masculine with lot's of cedar, but quickly morphs into a feminine stunner. It smells mostly of honey, exotic woods and a wonderful grape smell, which must be the vine flowers. I put this on my wrists before I fall asleep and I simply drift away on it's intoxicating beauty.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2005 12:58:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received a sample of this with a fragrance order, absentmindedly dabbed a bit on, and then stopped in my tracks, befuddled. Gorgeous! The opening is luscious - all honeyed, spicy fall fruits. Then the glorious cedar emerges, and it's just the right balance of fresh and feminine. Perfection.


on 8/11/2005 5:25:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is an interesting fragrance. I purchased a decant of Frapin 1270 on Ebay. I highly recommend making decant purchases because it's a relatively inexpensive way to test a costly fragrance. When it arrived, I eagerly tore into the package and remembered feeling initial mild disappointment because it seemed like a heavy, confused, melange of scents. I gave it another shot today and was surprised at how different it seemed on me today. On me, it started out with cedar notes, then went into tobacco, vanilla, and sugar. Here I am about six hours later and it's reminiscent, although thankfully not so in the extreme, of Estee Lauder's Youth Dew, a scent I don't like. So, I said I would purchase again, but with reservation. It does give an interesting ride during the drydown stage, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2005 6:24:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

What a wonderful, magnificent fragrance! Elusive and intoxicating. Wood informs this fragrance from the first application, and it is enhanced with smoky, fruity and sweet notes that mingle on the skin in the most amazing way. Definitely a grown woman's fragrance. I can't wait until I can afford to buy a bottle of this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2005 7:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love it. I love it on me. I love it on my boyfriend. Perfect.


on 4/10/2005 10:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a warm woodsy a tad bit unisex scent, although I would not like it on my dh because I think it's too sweet for a man, I got a hint of Grape in it (I don't know if that's a note in it) I didn't get coffee in it, wish I had...I love the smell of coffee! overall it's not bad, but not FBW for me.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1352 Reviews
Light Blue
1406 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1875 Reviews
Back to Top