Shu Uemura UV Under Base Mousse

3.4

104 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7.12% Octisalate 4.7% Octocrylene 2.85% Titanium Dioxide 4.75%


on 2/4/2009 1:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

doesnt do much, i love the texture and the idea, but it does not deliver. plus i am allergic to something there, it irritates my skin.



on 1/13/2009 3:32:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This makeup base has a SPF 10 and a matte finished. Its supposed to absorb all the grease from your face and your makeup will stay through all day long. My face has been flaky when I have it on. Maybe its due to my dry skin. If you have dry skin, this primer is not for you. I would rather spend on a tinted moisturizer that has a higher SPF.


on 12/15/2008 3:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It was intresting that it was like foam, however I have combo skin and I expect a primer to fill in lines and pores and cause the foundation to mattify. The primer did conceal my pores but it didn't mattify my skin. After 3 hrs of using this product with the SU liquid foundation my nose is shiny. My smashbox doesn't make my nose shiny that fast. Still looking for my HG primer. Maybe it works better on people with dry skin?


on 6/23/2008 11:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am surprised that this wonderful product doesn't get good reviews. This is 1 of my face mu base because it is light and easy to use.

also, the base is able to correct my skintone and lighten the blemishes. I can see the effect upon using it. I find my blemishes lighten. it create a more nicer skin and aid the application of foundation.

it also does a good job in oil control for my t-zone. the only downside is, it's quite expensive!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2008 5:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been very curious about this product since it's a foam type primer, and i just thought that it would great for oily skin. (foamy cleansers work well for me). Well, it doesn't control oil, that's for sure. And, it stings on me after putting it after applying sunblock. (My sunblock is Shu Uemura SPF 50). The SA couldn't tell me what SPF their primer had, so i had to be extra safe.

I've tried it without applying my sunblock at all, and it works better, no stinging feeling.

It was tricky to apply.. well, weird to put foam on your face. But it absorbed quickly. However, i agree with the previous reviewer that it works better on powder foundation rather than liquid. I've tried it with my RMK liquid foundation and by noon i was super oily. But with my MAC Stucio Fix powder, it was flawless. I got slight oil in certain areas of my face though.. but still okay looking.

i wouldn't buy this again because of the price and the "unknown" SPF. I'd rather be safe under the sun...

I passed by Shu recently and one friendly SA led me on a secret that all i needed was their SHU sunblock as my base, which was great for oily skins. She didn't really believe in the UV Primer too. Now, that's honesty!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2008 10:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great primer, that made my skin nice and smooth and ready for application. but the downfall was i started to get acne by my tzone! just there ...


on 4/19/2008 10:06:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The only good thing about it is that it's so light. Maybe that's why it doesn't do anything a base should do. It feels a little sticky at first but once it's dry, it's too dry. My usual oil-free liquid foundation will not glide on this base and turns blotchy. So I use it as a sun screen under my other makeup base so that it won't be a waste.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

best primer i've used. doesn't irritate my acne-prone skin and more importantly doesn't make me break out. it absorbs nicely and really makes a difference when applying foundation.


on 3/14/2008 4:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was the worst thing I've ever put on my face. It was oily and I broke out horribly after a couple applications.$36 to boot! I actually own a Shu blush that I love, but I would never purchase this particular product from them again.


on 3/8/2008 9:39:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

On the contrary to the previous reviews, I do think this product is a HG. I was introduced to this by a friend and later at the japan airport, bought 4 more since it's so much cheaper. But what I find makes the difference is to use only powder foundations - be in two cake, sheer, loose powder... It does give a slightly sticky feel upon application, but it helps with increasing the coverage with a powder foundation. I have never tried this with liquid foundation. I'm not entirely sure if this really helps with long-lasting results, but it definately helps to smoothen out the complexion and minimise pores for better application. So far so good for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top