Bulgari • Black • Fragrances

rated 4.1(179 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fyankevich on 1/19/2011 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Fyankevich

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I honestly didn't know what to expect when I ordered a sample vial of Bulgari Black. After reading various reviews claiming that it had a tire smell or a burning plastic notes, I guessed that this scent would be very strange; however, on my skin it smells soft, smooth and powdery. I detect an innocent baby powder mixed with soft vanilla and a tiny dab of leather. It's like sniffing the warm, clean neck of someone in a leather jacket. I'd say this scent falls in the realm of a unisex fragrance, I don't find it particularly feminine or masculine. There's absolutely nothing bizarre about this scent to my nose. Actually, I find it to be quite comforting and lovely on my skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* atomic_girl on 1/8/2011 9:33:00 PM more reviews by atomic_girl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Black makes my skin smell like Canadian Tire!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WentworthRoth on 12/9/2010 11:44:00 AM more reviews by WentworthRoth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes: black tea, rosewood, bergamot, cedar, oakmoss, vanilla, amber, sandalwood, and musk.

The opening of this fragrance is an aromatic crystalline citrus note. This interesting note disappears almost immediately, and on my skin remains a smoky tea note with a touch of leather as its base. The dry down is very soft and creamy, the main note being vanilla. I feel this is a very well done tea fragrance, very elegant and understated. Lasts for more than 6 hour on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* em1282 on 11/21/2010 6:10:00 PM more reviews by em1282

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Definitely not for everyone, but if you find that spicy/musky scents smell good on you (personally when I think something smells "good" on me, it smells just as it does in the bottle) then this might work for you. Someone below called this "floral rubbery" and that's completely how it smells on me. Kind of a powdery floral with just a small hint or rubber in the drydown. I love so many other Bulgari perfumes and this is no exception. If you are more of a sweet floral/fruity person this might not work...my sister tried this on (everything turns sweet and candy-ish on her) and it ended up smelling like burned plastic.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SniffingAround on 11/16/2010 9:07:00 PM more reviews by SniffingAround

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

One of my all-time favourite scents, and one I've given to others with great results. Yes, it's got a rubbery note to it, but it is amazing--a kind of soft almost floral rubber. I compulsively sniff and resniff my arm whenever I wear it--so I try to limit my driving on those days ;) The bottle is ridiculous and, I've been told, prone to spritzer-failure/leakage. It can also be hard to find: I've had luck getting it at discounters and online for a pretty good price though. I consider this one a "gateway" fragrance: if someone likes this, it's a pretty good shot that you can seduce them into the fragrance "life" of collecting, decanting and spritzing!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KKAI on 10/8/2010 7:58:00 AM more reviews by KKAI

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

The first thing that hit me after the first spritz was the awful rubbery smell!!! The "burning Barbies" comment that another reviewer made is spot on! After a few minutes, I get a faint smell of vanilla that makes it almost bearable. I don't get any tea or berganot notes.Generally, I do not get the appeal of this fragrance. I couldn't even finish my sample.It is unusual and nothing more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 themeanreds on 9/15/2010 4:55:00 PM more reviews by themeanreds

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I adore this warm vanilla scent and bought it for my husband, who now wears it all the time. He likes it and likes how much I like it, and he's even gotten compliments on it from other guys. It's a vanilla with real depth, no sweetness, and that nice, rubbery new-car note. It's also a true skin-scent with none of the sharp, overly aggressive top notes that men's fragrances often have. I think it would also be nice on a woman and would wear it myself but I think it's weird if both members of a couple wear the same thing.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleViolet on 9/5/2010 7:31:00 PM more reviews by LittleViolet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am almost finished with my first bottle of this fragrance. I love its toasty marshmallow/campfire essence (but not too sweet). I wear this every day, and I am not sure about the people who think it is too crazy/bold/winter to wear because I find it to be quite subtle! My boyfriend doesn't think it is too overwhelming either. I find you have to lean in to smell it. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunnyonne1 on 8/12/2010 5:25:00 PM more reviews by sunnyonne1

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

It smells like new tires. The bottle looks like a tire, so that should clue you in. They are warning you in advance with the motif/design (although I have to give them credit for the fanciful and totally appropriate packaging). For me, this one comes to a screeching stop...and leaves skid marks. My son (autocross)races cars, and loves to buy racing tires. Even he was repulsed by this obnoxious scent. Bvlgari, seriously, WTF !!??

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FeeFee34 on 8/11/2010 1:18:00 AM more reviews by FeeFee34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was always interested in trying this fragrance because I love vanilla but hate overly sweet, gourmand fragrances. I give props to Bulgari for creating something this interesting, but unfortunately I don't love it as much as I'd always hoped. This is indeed tire rubber and vanilla, but I guess I always imagined that there would be more vanilla, less rubber. For me I get 75% rubber, 25% vanilla, and I would probably like this much more if those percentages were reversed. Unfortunately I don't really detect any of the tea notes or warmth other reviewers mention. Otherwise, I have a sample vial that I do wear from time to time, and I would love to smell this on other people rather than the usual fruity florals on women and marine, sport scents on men (Aqua di Gio please, please die).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bulgari products

More Fragrances products