LUSH • LUSH - Whole Store • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 3.2(140 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 dontmakemeblush on 3/21/2012 11:53:00 PM more reviews by dontmakemeblush

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

You HAVE to try the Lush dry shampoo... I have dark hair that gets greasy looking fast! It's fantastic. It even gives my long, straight, and limp hair a little body and bounce.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChristinaMarieT on 3/21/2012 11:41:00 PM more reviews by ChristinaMarieT

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lush is a beauty company that claims to be environmentally friendly. Their products are natural, hand-made, and vegetarian (they don't test on animals at all). Most of their products are paraben-free, but occasionally, you will still find some items containing parabens. They also make really innovative and fun products. For example, they've created shower jellies, which are wobbly, jello-like substances made with seaweed and can supposedly wash not only your body, but your hair and scalp, too. They also have toothy tabs, which are portable, solid tabs of toothpaste. Then there's the really adorable magic wands, which are decorative bubble bars that you wave in the bath to create the perfect bubble bath. And that's not the end of it, either. Really, in concept and quality, they're quite wonderful.



However, they aren't without flaws. The most noticeable problem with their stores are the prices. Seriously, as lovely as their products are, it's not worth paying around $20 - $30 dollars for items that are either going to expire before you get the most out of them, or are going to be used up within a two week span. They are incredibly expensive, and the only places where the prices seem relatively decent are the stores located in the UK, which is where the company originates from. No joke, If you live outside the UK, expect the prices to be only affordable for when you have extra cash. Another notable issue is how the stores are overwhelmingly smelly. I don't necessarily mean they stink of rancid socks or something, I just mean you can smell them a mile away. Their stores have conflicting and confusing concentrated smells from all their products, and it can definitely make you feel dizzy and lightheaded. It's overpowering, and it's a turn-off for lots of customers. Oh, and like I've mentioned previously, there's the issue about some of their stuff still containing parabens. For a company that boasts about being friendly to the environment and having healthy ingredients, the items that still have parabens causes a lot of hypocrisy and doubt.


Personally, my favorites are their hair products and shower gels. I also enjoy their face masks, but unfortunately, they've raised the prices on them so much, that for the quantity you receive, it's just not worth purchasing. Honestly, the prices are such a huge downfall, that they really do throw this company back at 3 lippies.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 princess2010 on 3/21/2012 11:01:00 PM more reviews by princess2010

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love visiting LUSH stores. It's a special treat since I live about an hour and a half from one. The store I frequent is small or I would give it a 5 rating. It's clean and smells amazing. The sales staff is always incredibly helpful and knowledgeable in the products. I love the displays and how you can pick up testers to smell and try them out. My store has never batted an eyelash at giving me samples of products I want to try out before doling out big money on it. LUSH can be expensive but I have several HG products from there like Trichomania, R&B, Jungle, Soap of Sultana, and a few others. I will absolutely visit a LUSH store anytime I can!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thatssoblasian on 3/21/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by thatssoblasian

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a big Lush fan since their skincare products worked wonders on my acne-prone, oily skin. The sales associates are very friendly and helpful whenever you go to their stores, well at least the two stores I've been to here in California. I'm not a huge fan of their hair care line but I do like their R&B hair conditioner. Their bath products are a nice treat after a long, stressful day. My only real complaint is their prices. They're expensive! The most expensive item that I bought from them was $39.95 for one of their moisturizers!

Other than that I'm really satisfied with a lot of the products that I've tried from them as well as the customer service I receive at the stores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pulsesync on 3/21/2012 10:45:00 PM more reviews by pulsesync

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I do not like LUSH. I like some of the sales associates, some are helpful and answer questions but some just push and push and truthfully they push me out at that point. Here in NYC, LUSH is starting to become as common as Sephora locations. If there's a Sephora, there's probably a LUSH within 4-5 minutes of walking distance. I have gone in there several times and splurged on their products.

Quality of Products Vs Price
Nothing, I repeat, nothing is better at its purpose than typical drugstore-priced skincare/haircare/etc products for the same products. My mother and I have bought the Body Buffy or whatever it is, many of the soaps including the cinnamon one, the sultana one, some other crappy soaps, bar foot cream, massage bars, solid perfume, solid shampoo bars, bath bombs, solid deoderant, and finally the dream cream. Over $300 spent. Wanna know something annoying? The soaps are average or drying. The body buffer is actually painfully abrasive. Massage bars are inconvenient as hell and awkward to whip out and rub on yourself. Bath bombs are irritating to break apart. Solid deoderant is alright, at least there's no aluminum but I still don't think it's all that and a pint of ice cream. The Dream Cream did absolutely nothing for me. It was like I never put lotion on at all. $25+ down the drain for Dream Cream (that they pretty much shoved at my mom and me constantly). The Boots body butter ($8-10) actually makes my skin as soft as a baby's, no lie. My boyfriend is now obsessed with running his hands over my legs and arms. Literally the ONE thing I like from LUSH is their lip scrub but it's still a disgusting price. But I cannot be arsed to make my own and if I were to, it would be a nasty flavor so LUSH it is.

Packaging:
This is brief but important. If you're getting something nonbottled/nonjarred, it will be wrapped in some crappy wax paper. Um, no. If I'm already paying a ridiculous price for average products, I will at least want decent packaging. Get me a 95% recycled plastic container (going by LUSH's sort of natural theme) for the products. Is that so huge to ask for? Also, some things require you to add water to them, namely my solid deoderant. It is very awkward to put a couple drops of water onto a small brick of deoderant wrapped in wax paper and just rub it on. I don't like that at all.

Sales Associates:
Everytime I go in there, I get a compliment whether it be my hair or makeup and the compliments are genuine. However, when asked what do I actually use, the comments are always very judgemental. It is as though the SA's are trained to be uppity hippies that contradict themselves. I was asked hat kind of shampoo do I use on my hair and I replied with a Suave Keratin shampoo which I love. Immediately, the SA told me "Oh my gosh, you shouldn't use such harsh CHEMICALS on your hair!" She then insisted on giving me samples of Curly Wurly and Daddy-O. I kept saying no but she shoved them into my hands. Both are fine shampoos, but no different from any of the other drugstore shampoos I've used. I did love the almond smell of Curly Wurly though; almond is my weakness and I obsess over it. But if you don't care for scent, it's not really important. Anyway, so I wanted to scream at her "Don't use chemicals?! B*tch, f*ck you! You use painkillers and medicine, right? House cleaners? Laundry detergent? Dye your hair? Stop acting like you're the authority on 'chemical-free' products because you work at f*cking LUSH." Unfortunately I'm too polite to really say something like that towards a random employee past the confines of my skull.

LUSH, get over yourselves.

23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carrotcake11 on 2/13/2012 9:47:00 PM more reviews by carrotcake11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I travel great distances to visit Lush stores!!! There are none close to where I live so it's always a treat when I get to one. At all the stores I've visited, the workers have been helpful and really nice, and always offer to try out products on me or give me hand treatments. It's probably my favorite store ever :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Therealslayergrrl on 1/22/2012 4:11:00 PM more reviews by Therealslayergrrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like most LUSH products. You can pretty much tell there is a LUSH store in a mall as soon as you walk in the doors. The smell is pretty overpowering. The bath bombs are my favorite out of all of the products they sell. The SA's are way overly helpful. Sometimes I just feel like browsing without commentary on every single item I look at. Makes me a little uneasy. I'm not a thief! I just wanna look. Expensive for what they are but it's a bathtime treat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cokioki on 1/22/2012 9:27:00 AM more reviews by Cokioki

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

All I can say is I feel sorry for people working at LUSH.If I walk past a LUSH store I can feel the incredibly strong perfumes out on the street. And yes, they're not particularly special except for the imaginative names they give their products

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AllThatGlittters on 1/22/2012 8:32:00 AM more reviews by AllThatGlittters

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I often go into LUSH stores feeling a little cautious of the over-friendly, over-helpful staff. They never leave me alone! I love the help, they are super knowledgable but it can feel a little off putting.

The layout of the store is really cute, there is a displays of soap, facemasks, gifts etc all of different colours and varieties. I love the chalkboards with product info too. The scent of the smell is gorgeous too and lingers for a while after you leave!

The products are often hit or miss. Some are all quirky packaging but the product itself sucks ass. The skincare also breaks me out sometimes too because it's really overfragranced, some of the stuff is just too over rated yet some work perfectly. I like the bath and shower products, they look fun and work awesome. My favourite products are coalface cleanser, tea tree toner, love lettuce, cupcake mask and snow fairy shower gel. However, the ones I wouldn't recommend are grease lightning and oatifix.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lostintheshadow on 1/22/2012 8:11:00 AM more reviews by lostintheshadow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Kind of on the fence. Have tried a few of their products, but most of them seem like too much of a novelty to me. The bath stuff is really overpriced for something you only get one use out of. Not sure how I feel about the packaging (or lack of): good for the environment, yes, but when you stop to think about the amount of people that have touched that soap you're about to purchase... I guess I'm a bit of a germ freak.
Something really bugs me about the product titles, descriptions and general marketing too - most of them seem good at being cute, making the product seem awesome and enticing you to buy it... but are they realistic descriptions of what the product actually does? I'm not so sure. Ok, so plenty of other companies could be accused of the same thing, but it bothers me more with businesses that pride themselves on being environmentally friendly. Do agree with others about the SAs being pushy. I feel uncomfortable going into a store because I know they're going to try and sell me everything. Why such encouragement of rampant consumerism?
Also, sure, most self-claimed "natural" and "organic" companies don't use entirely natural ingredients, but soap that contains SLS? Really?
Quite like the massage bars though, so will probably just by them and stick to TBS for other stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Misc Beauty Tools products