LUSH • LUSH - Whole Store • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 3.2(133 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AllThatGlittters on 1/22/2012 8:32:00 AM more reviews by AllThatGlittters

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I often go into LUSH stores feeling a little cautious of the over-friendly, over-helpful staff. They never leave me alone! I love the help, they are super knowledgable but it can feel a little off putting.

The layout of the store is really cute, there is a displays of soap, facemasks, gifts etc all of different colours and varieties. I love the chalkboards with product info too. The scent of the smell is gorgeous too and lingers for a while after you leave!

The products are often hit or miss. Some are all quirky packaging but the product itself sucks ass. The skincare also breaks me out sometimes too because it's really overfragranced, some of the stuff is just too over rated yet some work perfectly. I like the bath and shower products, they look fun and work awesome. My favourite products are coalface cleanser, tea tree toner, love lettuce, cupcake mask and snow fairy shower gel. However, the ones I wouldn't recommend are grease lightning and oatifix.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lostintheshadow on 1/22/2012 8:11:00 AM more reviews by lostintheshadow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Kind of on the fence. Have tried a few of their products, but most of them seem like too much of a novelty to me. The bath stuff is really overpriced for something you only get one use out of. Not sure how I feel about the packaging (or lack of): good for the environment, yes, but when you stop to think about the amount of people that have touched that soap you're about to purchase... I guess I'm a bit of a germ freak.
Something really bugs me about the product titles, descriptions and general marketing too - most of them seem good at being cute, making the product seem awesome and enticing you to buy it... but are they realistic descriptions of what the product actually does? I'm not so sure. Ok, so plenty of other companies could be accused of the same thing, but it bothers me more with businesses that pride themselves on being environmentally friendly. Do agree with others about the SAs being pushy. I feel uncomfortable going into a store because I know they're going to try and sell me everything. Why such encouragement of rampant consumerism?
Also, sure, most self-claimed "natural" and "organic" companies don't use entirely natural ingredients, but soap that contains SLS? Really?
Quite like the massage bars though, so will probably just by them and stick to TBS for other stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cassielynn24 on 1/20/2012 11:44:00 AM more reviews by cassielynn24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

lush for me is....just ok. i think they have really fun and intresting products but i feel like so much of them are really over priced for what you get. i have tried tons of the soaps and i find most of them not to special, they melt fast and are drying on your skin. i loved there hair masks but soooo expensive for a small amount. massage bars are nice, but greasy and for me all but manage two melt VERY fast.
lush is truley something to try and spend money on if you really dont have bills and such lol, its purley a splurge. imo

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* summerrain1994 on 12/20/2011 10:50:00 PM more reviews by summerrain1994

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a really big of fan Lush...
Sure, their products smell great but I think that really they're just overpriced soaps and bath bombs. The odd time I'll splurge and buy something neat, but I really think that Lush is just overhyped.
Skincare products don't do anything for my skin, and the masks are nothing special.
The only thing I'm partial to at Lush are the bath bombs and scents, but even though are hit-or-miss.
I also think that there are common misconceptions about Lush. I'm not sure if they actually claim to have "natural" ingredients... but I noticed my $15 Lush shower gel had nearly the same ingredients as my $3 body wash from Wal-Mart (including "fragrance"... a big no-no in the natural/organic world... it's basically clumping a million chemicals together so they don't have to list them). Really, I don't want to pay extra for something just because it's supposedly made by a real person rather than a machine.
I have nothing against Lush and will buy as gifts (after all, they do come pre-wrapped) but I'm not a huge fan of the store and their products.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Gillybby on 12/20/2011 10:19:00 PM more reviews by Gillybby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm pretty new to lush, I've bought a couple of products hoping that SOMETHING will help my skin. So far I haven't seen much change, good or bad.

But, contrary to what everyone else is posting on here, I wasn't attacked by the sales staff. Both came over and asked if I needed help, but gladly backed away when I said I was just looking around. Which was nice. I went to the Australian Canberra store.

I do dislike their websites though, especially the review section where they obviously filter out any reviews that are too negative for them. I find that really dishonest.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sambalina82 on 12/10/2011 2:17:00 PM more reviews by Sambalina82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Before I had my son, I'd be in lush every week spending obscene amounts of money, I was obsessed! The majority of my lush reviews are for the products I bought years ago! I do still come in, not very often tho, and spend very little. It's true, the salespeople do pounce on you almost immediately. But once I've said I'm just looking for now, they will leave me alone until I need advice. They give nice samples if asked, and the online customer service is fantastic. I once complained about a product that didn't work out for me and they sent me a box crammed with full sized goodies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nitala on 9/6/2011 4:38:00 PM more reviews by Nitala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My main complaint about LUSH is the prices. Most of their products DO work for me, but I could usually find products that work just as well or even better at other stores for a lower price.

Sales associates at the stores in my area are friendly and are very willing to answer my questions. No problems here.

Overall, LUSH is hit-or-miss with me. However, I will forever remain a loyal customer simply because they make a few products I absolutely love. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* em1282 on 9/5/2011 9:36:00 PM more reviews by em1282

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Y'all know the salespeople are so pushy because half the store is about to expire in the next week, right? :)

That being said, never a huge fan of their products. I like the idea behind the whole minimal packaging thing, but I think most of their products can be a little pricey. I also tend to walk out of the stores with a sinus headache from being assaulted nasally with patchouli and whatever else makes up that scent conglomeration every time you walk in (or walk past). I do like one of their dusting powders, but not enough to buy it consistently.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 robinia on 9/5/2011 8:18:00 PM more reviews by robinia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I haven't tried any Lush products, so I can't speak to their quality, but they are an extremely politicized company; I saw their UK webpage. I prefer to separate purchasing my cosmetics from publically stated political positions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Catarah on 9/5/2011 7:01:00 PM more reviews by Catarah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

It's funny because I'm actually a car sales-woman, but when I go into my local LUSH store, I feel like I'm being attacked!! While I do appreciate their recommendations, it gets really annoying when there trying to have you buy everything! Sometimes I feel almost obligated when they have me try something...and I don't buy it lol. My boyfriend refuses to go into LUSH because last time we were there, they tried selling him the whole "Dirty" line. They were borderline vultures! He felt very uncomfortable with the hard selling tactics, so he wont ever go in. As far as my LUSH store selection, I would have to rate it a 4. They do have alot, and they also will give you full size samples if you ask them. Even though I'm not fond on the pressure of their sales girls, I will continue to go in there because I love LUSH!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Misc Beauty Tools products