Revlon • Super Lustrous Creme - Pink in the Afternoon • Lipstick

rated 4.2(206 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Emibumblebee on 6/30/2013 12:16:00 AM more reviews by Emibumblebee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been searching for SO LONG for the perfect bubbly spring pink lipstick. However, as a warm-toned NC20, almost every "spring pink" color turned out to be waaaayy too blue-toned to look good on me. So when I first encountered Revlon's "Pink in the Afternoon," a yellow-toned mid-pink, it was love at first sight. Even the name is classy and adorable! As with all of the Super Lustrous line, "Pink in the Afternoon" is a gloriously long-wearing and creamy lipstick (this one in particular is also creme finish - no shimmers whatsoever).
The only cons I've found for this lipstick are, unfortunately, actually due to the creamy formula - it can emphasize dead skin on the lips (so make sure you exfoliate before applying), and tends to settle into fine lines.
But even that can't make me stop loving this lipstick. I've been looking for something like it for YEARS and now I've found it. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RDCosta on 6/6/2013 10:57:00 AM more reviews by RDCosta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely adore this lipstick. I bought it on an impulse (which I seem to be doing a lot of lately - eek) and definitely don't regret it! This is such a pretty warm pink colour, which I find is great for everyday wear as it's pretty subtle and just looks lovely on the lips. I don't find the formula particularly drying compared to some lipsticks, but wouldn't risk wearing this lipstick without moisturising first. I'd say the pigmentation is good too. I think the colour is pretty universally flattering and would suit a multitude of skin tones; I've been told it looks great with my light, warm skin and dark hair/eyes but I think this lipstick shade would suit most people! The staying power is ok (I'd say it stays for between 2-4 hours on my lips) but would need reapplying throughout the day. Overall, I wouldn't be without this lipstick! It's definitely my favourite lipstick at the moment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 justacupoftea on 5/29/2013 3:34:00 PM more reviews by justacupoftea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This lipstick is one i reach for a lot when I am just wearing my everyday eyeliner and mascara and want something pretty and easy to wear on my lips. It is the perfect shade of pink for my fair skin, sometimes they can make me look a strange colour but this one sits nicely. The formula is comfortable and it lasts about 3 hours before a touch up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ltgee on 5/6/2013 5:46:00 PM more reviews by ltgee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

beautiful warm, dusky pink, brightening but not "barbie or lady gaga pink". really works against my NC42, yellow under toned southeast asian skin. have always looked for a wearable "bright" pink for warmer tones & this is definitely it! can wear to the office/daytime. smooth creme formula, great price and no frost (thank gawd) :) i top this with my chanel glass quartz aqualumiere & BOOM-perfect mlbb nudey glossy sexy lips! wearing it right now at work ;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Meril on 5/4/2013 1:06:00 PM more reviews by Meril

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I would say that this is a nice, brightening pink, but when I read "brightening pink," it usually means "radioactive cotton-candy PINK," and this is a lot subtler and kinder than that. It's a warm pink that does a great job of subtly brightening up my face without looking at all frosted or neon-y. It can get a little unnatural-looking if you apply too many coats, though, which is a trap I initially fell into - I'm a red lipstick kinda gal most of the time, so I felt like I wasn't getting enough pigmentation from this subtler color. But now I've come to appreciate it for what it is: a perfect warm pink for everyday wear, pretty without drawing attention to itself.

It's Revlon SL, so of course no complaints about the formula or packaging. It comes in the usual black-and-gold tube with a clear lid (a must-have design element for me - I have to see the real color of what I'm getting, as the colors on packaging are so often misleading), and the formula is matte, with a little shine but no glitter/shimmer.

TL;DR: While I initially rejected this warm pink for being too subtle, now I adore it for exactly that reason.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* orenjinominh on 4/27/2013 5:04:00 PM more reviews by orenjinominh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been looking for a warm pink ever since I realized my tan no longer flatters my baby pinks and cool pinks. I've had problems with some pinks making my teeth look yellow, and my love affair with MAC chatterbox never blossomed. Thanks to my fellow MUAs I picked this up with hope.

Oh
My
God

I may never take this off.

It's very pasty if you go crazy, but as a light coat it lightens my lips to look like MLBB and gives my makeup a very mod feel especially with bare lids or a naked basics eye with matte browns and taupes. It gives your lips a polished "I'm wearing lipstick but I never try hard to look good" look. It is creamy rather than matte with no glisteny sheen. I apply a lip gloss over it to take it from night to day and slap on a smokey eye to glam it up. What a DS gem.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* decoydream on 4/21/2013 2:11:00 AM more reviews by decoydream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This medium rose colour is gorgeous and absolutely perfect for spring and summer. Someone very aptly described this as a perfect Victoria Secrets model lip colour :) for reference, I'm Asian with yellow undertones and medium to fair skinned - this is a very flattering colour! The only slight issue people may have is that it can be a bit drying because it is a matte formulation. However, with a little lip balm underneath you should have no problems. Revlon lipsticks for the win!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lydiaxaidyl on 4/19/2013 3:51:00 AM more reviews by lydiaxaidyl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

While the color swatches very nicely on my hand the formula is very dry and doesn't apply evenly on my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susiej on 3/22/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by susiej

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Edit:
I've downgraded this after wearing the lipstick for quite few months now. I find that it wears poorly a lot of the time and gathers relatively quickly around the lipline. Not a hot look.

And I hate to say it but the more I watch the film Breakfast at Tiffany's the less I think this shade has anything to do with it. Watching the film remastered in HD her lip colour actually varies ~(as does the rest of her makeup, in the party scene she is wearing green eyeshadow). There is the peachy lip in the taxi cab at the end, then there is a more 'brick' type shade in the scene at the bus station, along with some frostier pinks earlier on in the film. I suspect that it's simply a case of the shade being of the period and with a name that plays on the title of one of her movies that has PITA associated with Audrey rather than anything more. The only evidence that this was the lip colour from the movie that there seems to be = bloggers parroting one another.

_____________________________

On me this is a bright, medium, warm leaning pink. Paired with the 'wrong' makeup it could look quite dated. Another reviewer described it as cheesy on them- I can definitely see how it could turn that way depending on your own colouring. The formula is creamy and feels pleasant on the lips however it does have a predisposition to gathering on the lipline with extended wear. Wear time is below average on me- about an hour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ylingsbling on 2/25/2013 3:46:00 PM more reviews by ylingsbling

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I wear this a lot, its a go to when I do blue shaded eyes. Rosy, creamy pink rose petal shade. My only Revlon shade and I would buy if I run out of it or lose it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products