NYX • Black • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(190 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ChanelLove07 on 8/19/2011 9:59:00 AM more reviews by ChanelLove07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

To be honest, i'm not a big fan of this eye shadow. Yes it is a true black colour and yes it does blend quite well. But it doesn't have the greatest staying power. I use it to line my waterline after I applied my eyeliner pencil. And it makes my eyeliner really smudgy and muddy and it runs down. Doesn't stay on matte. But it is good for the lids like a smokey eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 8/18/2011 2:01:00 AM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Let me tell you a story before we get down to business. Once upon a time, 2years ago, I bought my first NYX Eyeshadow in the shade "Black." It was love at first swatch, this eyeshadow was so black, so intensely pigmented, with a smooth texture and minimal fallout. This eyeshadow quickly became my go to eyeliner for my upper lash line. Over a year or so, I used it on a daily basis, and finished roughly 60% of the eyeshadow before it randomly shattered for no reason. I went right out and repurchased it and...I can't believe the difference. On to the review..
NYX's Black Eyeshadow is one of over 160 shades in the Eyeshadow Singles line. NYX claims that their eyeshadows are "richly pigmented, easy to blend, and last many hours." NYX is a very proud cruelty free brand, but be aware that not all of their products are vegan. I bought my 2.5g single shadow at Ulta for $4.50. NYX products can be found at a variety of retailers ranging from the brand's website, to Ulta, to Hot Topic, to Cherry Culture. If you're lucky, you might even find some NYX products are your local drugstore. NYX products are made in China.
I almost always rave about NYX's packaging. Their Eyeshadow Single Packaging is particularly great. A small, black, plastic, square compact with a clear window on the top, allowing you to the see the color within. The NYX logo can be found on the transparent window. There is a label affixed to the back of the compact, offering the shade name and number, company info, and a full ingredient list. This eyeshadow's packaging is recyclable. Like I said, I really like NYX's packaging, its always cute, sleek, and functional. Plus, they're sturdy too, I've had a NYX Eyeshadow survive a 5ft fall, unscathed!
This new NYX Black Eyeshadow is barely even comparable to the old one. This eyeshadow is pretty loosely pressed, a problem that is visible just from looking at it in the pan. This eyeshadow lacks the smooth texture I've come to expect from NYX singles. NYX's Black is quite powdery, resulting in a significant amount of fallout and a ton of residual powder in the pan. Its easy to pick up way too much product on your brush, be sure to tap it off multiple times before using it on the eye. Don't let your loaded brush fool you into thinking that NYX's Black Eyeshadow is pigmented, unfortunately it is not. My old pan of NYX Black was pure, intense, matte black. This new one is more of a sheer, charcoal color with some dark shimmery flecks.
Is this just one of those eyeshadows that swatches poorly but performs well on the eyelid? In a way. This eyeshadow is nice if you want to add just a little bit of depth to a look with a "soft black" shade. It blends nicely at first, but its very easy to overblend it, diluting the color and making your whole eye look muddy. Unlike it's predecessor, this black eyeshadow doesn't make a very good eyeliner at all. NYX's Black Eyeshadow does not crease on me, but it does fade significantly throughout the day.
I'm so, so disappointed by my new NYX Black Eyeshadow. Did they reformulate? Did I get get a bad pan? I don't know, but I'm not happy. NYX's Black Eyeshadow used to be one of my all time most used and loved products, it was the best black eyeshadow I had ever used, I raved about it and recommended it to everyone. Now its been reduced to a powdery, poorly pigmented dark grey. WHY NYX? I can only how that this Black came from a bad batch, even so I'll be hesitant to buy more NYX Singles in the future.
[Rated a 2 because I loved my old one <3]

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tightkitty on 7/27/2011 4:45:00 PM more reviews by tightkitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

OMG HANDS DOWN THE BEST BLACK SHADOW OUT THERE!! Really goes on black...not a dark grey like some "black"blendable shadows!! Lasts all day,very smooth and pigmented,inexpensive,and multi purpose. I highly recommend as a staple black shadow achieve the smokey look, as well as doubling as a liner non creasing texture is soft, satiny, sheer and buildable.Amazing, amazing eyeshadow! Those are just some of positives I have noticed I'm sure others have more to say about this wonderful product.THE BAD-there is fallout so some type of primer of some sort whatever you prefer is needed and perfecto

wow be careful I only had it a few days it droppped and broke everywhere.This stuff is dark,no lie, Now I'm going to look like Joan Crawford scrubbing the bathroom tile.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mistressKC on 7/15/2011 7:55:00 PM more reviews by mistressKC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Great matte black eye shadow - a true black. Very pigmented. This is my first nyx shadow and I'm very impressed with the quality.Finally I can seal my black liner with a true black - not a grey black or a blue black or a sparkly black but a true matte black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MascaraJunkiee on 5/21/2011 1:27:00 PM more reviews by MascaraJunkiee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow! I needed a good pigmented black eyeshadow to set my eyeliner and this was perfect! It's smooth, cheap, and goes on very dark. Comparing it to other eyeshadows you get plenty of product. This is going to last you a long time! I definitely recommend this, it's a must have! (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 5/16/2011 4:22:00 AM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I needed a new matte black having lost my old one, so I picked this up with my last order on Cherry Culture. The pigmentation is really intense and is matte. Absolutely no shimmer at all which is fantastic. I agree with the other reviewers that this has a fair bit of fallout when applied dry. When wet, it doesn't have any and is great to use for lining eyes as well. I use it to set my black pencil eyeliner to help it last throughout the day and occasionally with smokey eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EuphoricMadness on 5/13/2011 4:02:00 AM more reviews by EuphoricMadness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

An excellent matte black eyeshadow for its price. Very pigmented, blendability is pretty good, and it's affordable (I paid $5 USD for mine). However, I get a bit of fallout if I'm not careful applying it. I have to carefully pat, not swipe, it on my lid. And the fallout doesn't only happen while applying--after a few hours, I'll find a few black specks underneath my eyes that I know was from the eyeshadow. This happens even when I've applied primer.
Despite that, I would purchase again if I ever ran out or somehow lost or damaged it. The fallout isn't a crazy amount, and this is one of the few, rare makeup items that is both good quality and dirt cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amaizeingndn on 4/3/2011 11:27:00 PM more reviews by amaizeingndn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am on the fence with this eyeshadow. on the one hand, it's very black and matte, which is hard to find in a drugstore brand. On the other, I got a ton of fallout which made applying this a big old mess, and I didn't feel like it blended out very well. the staying power is fine with primer, since I don't wear shadow w/o primer, I can't really speak to that. Overall, I was just not impressed with this particular nyx product. If you really want a matte black shadow and don't want to spend a lot of money, this is fine. However, I think I will move on to something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kris4life4 on 3/26/2011 10:42:00 AM more reviews by kris4life4

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm an eyeshadow newbie. Went searching for NYX after hearing about it, figured it would be a good brand to try. Lots of the NYX colors have glitter in them and I wanted a matte one...finally decided on Black, so was happy to come home and check out MUA and see all the RAVE reviews about this color!
I love the little containers that the singles come in, nice and small. And I love the quality of the shadow...SUPER pigmented. I barely have to touch my eyeshadow brush to the color...seriously. I haven't tried the shadow on its own, so can't really say anything about how it lasts by itself. However I CAN say that, with UD's Primer Potion as a base, it does last a long time without creasing.
I recommend NYX Black if you want a black shadow...it's very black!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MlizK on 3/23/2011 7:51:00 PM more reviews by MlizK

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love how this is creamy and pigmented. STAYS ON. Can be used wet, too! But I use it as eyeliner, and I have a lot of fallout. Even when I shake off excess and have switched brushes. I love the packaging, sturdy and easy to travel with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products