Hermes • Eau des Merveilles • Fragrances

rated 3.8(160 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 mandra on 11/21/2009 6:38:00 AM more reviews by mandra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

My HG in terms of fragrance.
I sniffed it once, and been hooked ever since. I bought the EDT repeatedly, and though I try and convince myself to change, I end up giving away the new scents I buy, and returning to this one.
Someone noted it's not too feminine; well, it was created as an unisex scent. However, I find it to be very lady-like, very elegant. Understated, and that amber gris component gives it a little something that is quite unique.
I have to say I didn't really get many people to rave about it; however I did get a ton of compliments when wearing the EDP.
I however didn't like the EDP, it really smelled like oranges and chocolate to me. But for the foodies out there, it might be just the scent for you. Again, when wearing that one, lots of people would sniff and ask what was it, and raved about how good it smells.
So careful when purchasing, as the packages for both the EDT and the EDP are very similar. The EDP has those little silvery stars painted-like on the outside of the bottle, while for the EDT they're more like on the inside, and the outside is smooth.
The EDT has a great staying power also.
I would definitely repurchase.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BelleDeCrecy on 8/24/2009 10:00:00 PM more reviews by BelleDeCrecy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a great fan of the older Hermes fragrances, Parfum d'Hermes (sadly discontinued) and Faubourg 24. I admit that I like my perfume unabashedly feminine. I find absolutely nothing feminine about EdM. It's a masculine scent with typical masculine notes and zero feminine allure.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mickster on 8/15/2009 11:24:00 AM more reviews by Mickster

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

One of my favorites and consistantly the one I get the most positive comments on. The woody/mossy topnotes start it off so strongly, but not in a bad way, it's just "here I am. love me" and I do you little darling. The mid note is Ambergris, and the drydown is kind of a peppery citrus. Hours and hours after I apply it I still feel like I'm surrounded in it's warmth. The sillage is just enough so people a few feet away can catch it, not overpowering in the least. This may be the closest I come to a signature scent. This is the ONLY scent I own that my SO has commented on without prompting, he's not a big fragrance lover, but he likes this one!

Basenotes lists-

Top Notes Vetiver, Oak, Cedar.

Middle Notes Ambergris.

Base Notes Lemon, Orange, Elemi, Pink Pepper.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nelson on 7/15/2009 2:16:00 PM more reviews by nelson

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

What can i say, i love this perfume soooo much. Pushing 30 years of age and i can honestly say i find it a struggle to finish a bottle of perfume, i get sick of the fragrance or the fragrance itself doesn't seem appropriate for certain occasions so they kind of just sit on my shelf gathering dust.
This fragrance however is different, i'm on to my third bottle now coz it's just so damn perfect for any time or place, you don't feel over the top spritzing a bit on before going to the supermarket (yes i looove to wear perfume and am a perfume junkie despite my complaining), and yet it's sexy enough for weddings, parties, anything! Best of all, it kind of transcends seasons and smells appropriate in the depths of winter and high summer. People constantly ask me what i'm wearing, i've even had people grab my wrists and demand to know what it is! I bought my mum a bottle after she was saying how hard it was to find a perfume she liked. Oh, and men seem to luuurve it, which isn't so surprising given it's unisex qualities, but i can tell you now if my husband tries to get his grubby hands on this he's curtains.
I'm sure you're getting the picture, people will comment on this fragrance whether you like it or not; it's complex, provocative, strange yet familiar, sultry but light and fresh. Perhaps not one for the wallflowers of the world but seriously you must give it a go!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anitag on 6/29/2009 4:48:00 AM more reviews by Anitag

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Someone at work gave me a travel bottle of this, as she knows how mad I am about perfumes and was considering buying this but was only restrained due to the price! Well I'm glad she did because I smelled this a number of times over the years and dismissed it as not really me at the time and too 'salty' as some have mentioned. Well I now think that I have come to the stage in my perfumery journey, where I can definitely appreciate it more.
The perfume shop that I go to rate this quite highly and nearly everyone who's a 'regular' in there loves this. Well after trying the travel one I changed my mind about this. Firstly I have to give it credit as it's one of the few perfumes that I can actually smell on myself, which is a small miracle for me and secondly I really like it. It is slightly citrusy with spice (which may account for the staying power) but still light at the same time. The only problems I have with this is that when I smell it directly from the spray it gives me a headache (bear in mind this is basically sticking it up my nose) and the price. However with the amount that I have already spent on perfumes, which no one can even smell on me at all, I think that the expenditure may be warranted.
try it you may like it, however I wouldn't recommend if you are into more sweet/vanilla fragrances.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gilabat on 4/7/2009 5:49:00 PM more reviews by gilabat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered some samples of this to see if it would be better suited for Summer than the elixir version. If I could give it 4.5 stars, I would. I really like, but it isn't HG status. I am enjoying the Hermes fragrances I have recently been introduced to and i can see this becoming a warm weather staple. I would describe it as light, fresh, pretty, and not typical. It also seems to be almost unisex to me, but I have been enjoying those lately.

Oh, and even though I have yet to purchase it, I love the bottle design for this and the elixir. Also, Hermes fragrance is surprisingly affordable, perhaps to encourage collecting!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Laurajh on 3/29/2009 11:52:00 AM more reviews by Laurajh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this back in 2004 because I was intrigued and got many compliments when I wore the sample. Being into more clean smelling florals at the time, this was banished to the back of my closet. I revisited this recently and found I truly adore this. The first sniff is a blast of salty woods. The drydown settles into a lovely wood/orange accord. This may be a little heavy for hot humid summer nights (lasts 6+ hrs on me, better than other Hermes I've tried) but a light spray is perfect, no matter the season.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ms_Stressa on 12/14/2008 11:10:00 PM more reviews by Ms_Stressa

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

As others have mentioned, this fragrance has a citrusy top note. What I like about it is that it is a citrus with some bite - more tart like a blood orange vs. sweet like orange blossoms. It also has salt spray and a warm dry down. I like that I can wear this in the winter without it being too fruity or juvenile. Like Un Jardin Sur le Nil, it definitely lasts longer if you layer it with the body lotion, but then I find it too heavy for summer months. For me, it's a nice bright fragrance for cheering up on a cold or gray day.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Posh_Patricia on 12/14/2008 6:13:00 PM more reviews by Posh_Patricia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I smelled this on a friend today and I LOVE IT. Like someone else said, it's definitely different from the floral fruity fragrances everybody seems to wear at the moment. Kind of masculine but lovely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 esigerson on 11/11/2008 11:50:00 PM more reviews by esigerson

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a favorite of mine. Not very strong, although I do get a faint warm fragrance all day once it has dried down. It won't enter the room before you do or overstay its welcome. I get a whiff of salt and some aromatic amber, some woodiness and powder, a little lemon or citron. I have found that I can improve the strength by using the body cream, although that is quite pricey. No flowers. It isn't pretty in a conventional way, but it is beautiful. I have had more people ask me what it was or say that I smelled fabulous, when I was wearing it, than anything else I have worn in recent years.

I have been trying to figure out for a while whether the Parfum would be stronger, but the same. Salespeople have told me that the elixir is a different formula altogether, which confirms why I don't really like it as much on a scent strip.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products