AG Hair Cosmetics • Recoil Curl Activator • Styling Products

rated 4.2(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tricyclesinskirts on 5/6/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My hair is 2c--thick, coarse, wavy, and frizzes easily. In other words, it can get fugly, quickly. This is the single most amazing product that has ever touched my head, from the highest end i've tried (prob Kerastase) to the lowest end drugstore brands (I could open my own CVS.) I'd never heard of AG til MUA, and with its nondescript packaging and high price tag, probably would have looked it over at my local Ulta when it showed up recently.

Thank god for MUA, right? Ulta had AG on BOGO, so 2 tubes of recoil ended up being $10 each, and with the comfort of Ulta's return policy and MUA rave reviews, I bought 2 of the smaller sized tubes. Almost six weeks later, I'm nearly through one already, and seriously cannot imagine my life without this incredible product. I had no idea my weird, wavy hair had the ability to twist itself into such lovely spiral curls! Even the odd straight bits underneath find life with AG. Used in conjunction with my favorite leave in (paul mitchell's the conditioner) and a bit of gel (usually deva curl arc angell, but lately suave captivating curls spray,) my hair has never looked better. Just two nights ago a complete stranger at a bar said to me, "you have fantastic hair," and normally men only compliment my straight hair.

I've noticed that recoil works best when you emulsify it first, and is used before any other styling aids (not counting a leave-in). I also use a micro-fiber towel by aquis (mine was only $7 at tj maxx) and air dry for awhile (maybe 60% dry) then diffuse. I've also used the AG product "details" on dry hair after using recoil for a bit more definition, and I like this combo quite well.

if a holy grail existed, this one is mine. HG.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Alysha1413 on 4/19/2011 6:37:00 PM more reviews by Alysha1413

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have 3c curls and I'm black with relaxed hair 

Pros: easy to get
-smells nice
-can be air dried or you can use a diffuser 
-makes nice curls
- curls last a couple of day
-looks natural

Cons

-some don't like the smell
-you need to use a little bit of trial and error


I bought this for $19(CAN) . The first time Is used this my hair was damp and i used a really small amount . About the size of a quarter . I dried it a little bit with a diffuser and air dried the rest, it made my hair really poofy and frizzy. 

The second time I used more. About 1/3 of my palm worth. And I  dried it completely with my diffuser. I also used an anti frizz serum. It was better but still poofy and frizzy.this was also with damp hair

The next time.I squeezed enough to cover half of my palm.( I have long thick hair). And I spread it all throughout my hair. I also used some leave in conditioner . With my hair still wet I braided my hair into 12 braids , put them in a bun and went to sleep. The next morning my hair looked a lot better no frizz!!! Or poofy- ness!!! I was so happy and I looked so good!!

Overall I have to remember to let it air dry overnight with braids because without them it would be really poofy and frizzy. Try it out!!   

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mkmonty on 2/23/2011 12:11:00 PM more reviews by mkmonty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

20 years ago, I went to a salon that sold A/G hair care back when the company was relatively unheard of where I live. As a result, I have used most of their products including Re:coil on and off for years. I do not follow the curly girl method so silicones and frequent washing are all fair game to my curls. I understand why Curly Girls love Re:coil - there isn't much available for curl enhancement without silicones. Re:coil offers a much stronger hold than most curl cremes and it has little-to-no frizz control. If I use too much it makes my hair a gooey sticky mess. If I use too little, my hair is frizzy and my curls are undefined. I have tried mixing Re:coil with serums, leave-ins, other curl creams, mousses, shine sprays and although the extra products help with the frizz, they often make my curls droop. But, on those very rare occassions when the stars align and I use the right ratio of Re:coil to leave-in/serum/mousse, my hair looks so great that I wonder why I ever stopped using Re:coil in the first place. The problem is that I can never get Re:coil to work for my hair consistently so I always stop using it for weeks, months or even years. So, yes, I will probably purchase Re:coil again but I guarantee I'll be kicking myself for caving in again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mtuckfield on 11/6/2010 12:44:00 AM more reviews by mtuckfield

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Re:coil curl activator gives my waves nice definition, controls frizz pretty well, and doesn't dry my 2c hair into stiff crunchy curls.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* debstar75 on 9/21/2010 12:29:00 PM more reviews by debstar75

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Although this product is supposed to be a curl booster & smoother, it seemed to do the exact opposite. I tried this multiple different ways-- on its own, with a gel, with a leave-in, air dried, diffused, etc...and I ended up with a rat's nest of hair each time! It's supposed to help in humid climates, but when I used it on the coast the effect was actually worse than inland. Will not be repurchasing this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 9/10/2010 6:31:00 PM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am so kicking myself for not having tried this curl cream decades ago as I would have saved thousands on hair products. It really is one of a kind and the best curl product I have ever used as the reviews say. I have naturally wavy fine but alot alot of it hair that has really been a pain my entire life. I have only dramed about being able to step out of the shower and go but my hair makes things a constant production. I always have to either blowdry my hair straight or use a curling rod to go over and define curls to look put together otherwise justt letting my hair dry I would have a complete mane of pure pouf/frizz and look like a hobo basically. That is where my hair product obsession started since I was in my teens in having tried every pomade/texture creme/oil/curl cream/mousse/gel on planet earth basically to be able to air dry my hair for definition and wave. INstead I either get crunch, limp and weighed down, frizz or no definition. Every curl cream I have tried basically jsut feels like a leave-in conditioner and has never done anything to define or reduce frizz in my hair until Recoil. THis is aobut the only product I put off trying all these years as honestly I was jsut totlaly frustrated with curl creams and figured this would be yet another hyped product that failed for me. Boy was a wrong as even when I was scrunching my hair I could for once feel the deifnition forming and once my hair was dry I had amazing waves/curl with no frizz. Still shocked and about to go run and buy th ebig pump bottle of this stuff. This cream really is the product to try if you have anywhere near as fussy unmanagable hair as I do and don't want to always have to rely on heat tools to have a good hair day. The texture really is amazing as it is the perfect gel/cream combo in giving moisture while defining which I have yet to come across in any product I have tried/even when cocktailing products together. This is deifnitely my go to as of now and can't recommend it more! :)

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wish71 on 8/12/2010 3:21:00 PM more reviews by wish71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great product for my fine, wavy hair if thin it out a bit with water and then apply. Expensive though. I get similar results with Mark Anthony curl cream, which is about $10 cheaper.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 devten on 5/24/2010 11:38:00 AM more reviews by devten

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this product. It gives my curls so much definition and holds them so well. The only bad thing is that it doesnt control frizz at all, so i have to use super strength frizz serums before, which is totally not a big deal, i'd probably use them anyways. I like to put in kerastase oleo serum and paul mitchel super skinny before i apply recoil. then i do a bit of scrunching and my let it dry. i love the pump, i've bought this product a bunch of times and will continue to purchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chieri on 10/27/2009 11:13:00 AM more reviews by Chieri

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Bumble & Bumble Styling Creme and BB Gel, which are good, but I needed something with more hold. A/G Recoil definitely had more hold, but it was also a little stiff and greasy (not too much). And the smell, which reminds me of bathroom fragrance is really, really strong. for $15 at the salon, I would definitely buy it again, but it's not replacing my BB products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 akimbo123 on 10/12/2009 4:10:00 PM more reviews by akimbo123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this stuff! My hair is coarse, with 3a curls that lately have looked more like a frizz collection. AG Recoil mixed with some leave-in conditioner worked wonders on my very long, very thick hair! I got more compliments in the last two days than I have in months! And I say last two days because I had such pretty "next day hair" (all you curly-headed ladies will understand that holy grail of hair aspirations) that I couldn't bear to wash it. Two days of great hair with minimal effort - yay!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More AG Hair Cosmetics products

More Styling Products products