A/G • Recoil Curl Activator • Styling Products

rated 4.2(89 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 mkmonty on 2/23/2011 12:11:00 PM more reviews by mkmonty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

20 years ago, I went to a salon that sold A/G hair care back when the company was relatively unheard of where I live. As a result, I have used most of their products including Re:coil on and off for years. I do not follow the curly girl method so silicones and frequent washing are all fair game to my curls. I understand why Curly Girls love Re:coil - there isn't much available for curl enhancement without silicones. Re:coil offers a much stronger hold than most curl cremes and it has little-to-no frizz control. If I use too much it makes my hair a gooey sticky mess. If I use too little, my hair is frizzy and my curls are undefined. I have tried mixing Re:coil with serums, leave-ins, other curl creams, mousses, shine sprays and although the extra products help with the frizz, they often make my curls droop. But, on those very rare occassions when the stars align and I use the right ratio of Re:coil to leave-in/serum/mousse, my hair looks so great that I wonder why I ever stopped using Re:coil in the first place. The problem is that I can never get Re:coil to work for my hair consistently so I always stop using it for weeks, months or even years. So, yes, I will probably purchase Re:coil again but I guarantee I'll be kicking myself for caving in again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mtuckfield on 11/6/2010 12:44:00 AM more reviews by mtuckfield

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Re:coil curl activator gives my waves nice definition, controls frizz pretty well, and doesn't dry my 2c hair into stiff crunchy curls.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* debstar75 on 9/21/2010 12:29:00 PM more reviews by debstar75

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Although this product is supposed to be a curl booster & smoother, it seemed to do the exact opposite. I tried this multiple different ways-- on its own, with a gel, with a leave-in, air dried, diffused, etc...and I ended up with a rat's nest of hair each time! It's supposed to help in humid climates, but when I used it on the coast the effect was actually worse than inland. Will not be repurchasing this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 9/10/2010 6:31:00 PM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am so kicking myself for not having tried this curl cream decades ago as I would have saved thousands on hair products. It really is one of a kind and the best curl product I have ever used as the reviews say. I have naturally wavy fine but alot alot of it hair that has really been a pain my entire life. I have only dramed about being able to step out of the shower and go but my hair makes things a constant production. I always have to either blowdry my hair straight or use a curling rod to go over and define curls to look put together otherwise justt letting my hair dry I would have a complete mane of pure pouf/frizz and look like a hobo basically. That is where my hair product obsession started since I was in my teens in having tried every pomade/texture creme/oil/curl cream/mousse/gel on planet earth basically to be able to air dry my hair for definition and wave. INstead I either get crunch, limp and weighed down, frizz or no definition. Every curl cream I have tried basically jsut feels like a leave-in conditioner and has never done anything to define or reduce frizz in my hair until Recoil. THis is aobut the only product I put off trying all these years as honestly I was jsut totlaly frustrated with curl creams and figured this would be yet another hyped product that failed for me. Boy was a wrong as even when I was scrunching my hair I could for once feel the deifnition forming and once my hair was dry I had amazing waves/curl with no frizz. Still shocked and about to go run and buy th ebig pump bottle of this stuff. This cream really is the product to try if you have anywhere near as fussy unmanagable hair as I do and don't want to always have to rely on heat tools to have a good hair day. The texture really is amazing as it is the perfect gel/cream combo in giving moisture while defining which I have yet to come across in any product I have tried/even when cocktailing products together. This is deifnitely my go to as of now and can't recommend it more! :)

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wish71 on 8/12/2010 3:21:00 PM more reviews by wish71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great product for my fine, wavy hair if thin it out a bit with water and then apply. Expensive though. I get similar results with Mark Anthony curl cream, which is about $10 cheaper.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 devten on 5/24/2010 11:38:00 AM more reviews by devten

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this product. It gives my curls so much definition and holds them so well. The only bad thing is that it doesnt control frizz at all, so i have to use super strength frizz serums before, which is totally not a big deal, i'd probably use them anyways. I like to put in kerastase oleo serum and paul mitchel super skinny before i apply recoil. then i do a bit of scrunching and my let it dry. i love the pump, i've bought this product a bunch of times and will continue to purchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chieri on 10/27/2009 11:13:00 AM more reviews by Chieri

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Bumble & Bumble Styling Creme and BB Gel, which are good, but I needed something with more hold. A/G Recoil definitely had more hold, but it was also a little stiff and greasy (not too much). And the smell, which reminds me of bathroom fragrance is really, really strong. for $15 at the salon, I would definitely buy it again, but it's not replacing my BB products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 akimbo123 on 10/12/2009 4:10:00 PM more reviews by akimbo123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this stuff! My hair is coarse, with 3a curls that lately have looked more like a frizz collection. AG Recoil mixed with some leave-in conditioner worked wonders on my very long, very thick hair! I got more compliments in the last two days than I have in months! And I say last two days because I had such pretty "next day hair" (all you curly-headed ladies will understand that holy grail of hair aspirations) that I couldn't bear to wash it. Two days of great hair with minimal effort - yay!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arbutus on 9/24/2009 1:25:00 AM more reviews by arbutus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like this stuff. Friend gave it to me and I used it up. Been looking for a decent curl cream to replace my HG Bumble and Bumble Curl Conscious, which has been difficult to find and cough up the big bucks for.

The others I have tried either haven't been effective and/or have been too much like glue.

The AG Recoil is is much tackier and stickier than the BB so I do not necessarily like that. The BB you can run your fingers through and is a pleasure to apply to the hair. However, the AG definitely HOLDS a curl and isn't tooo tacky especially with wet hair. Figured out to spiral my hair in pieces and pin it back while air drying and this honestly will last for many days without washing (using a shower cap). Still holds the curl and didn't flake or make my hair greasy or gross. I ran out of my "tester" and think I will buy more even though I tend to product jump excessively.

For comparison, I have curly/wavy fine to medium hair that is very dry where I live. The climate is also very dry making curls difficult to coax and stay.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 botticellibabe on 9/12/2009 9:56:00 PM more reviews by botticellibabe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love Re:coil! Not exactly wallet-friendly, but after hearing about this on naturallycurly.com, I couldn't resist. It sounded like the product for me (3a curls). I paired it with Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper and got great results. Frizz-less, beautiful, romantic curls. I love it! I will repurchase. I rated the packaging quality 4 instead of 5 because it's non-recycleable, but that won't stop me from buying it again...

It's not heavy, and it's silicone-free! Wonderful!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More A/G products

More Styling Products products