MAC All eyeshadows

4.4

97 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

MAC is my leading eye shadow brand – such a huge variety of colors and textures to choose from. I love most of their formulas, they’re as soft as silk and have a velvety appearance in pot and on skin – I especially like veluxe pearls and satins. Frosts are fun to play with, they’re so vibrant and shimmery, pure glamour. I must say that the lustres are rather blah – I find them to be difficult to work with, some crumble and get messy and the colors are rather sheer. It’s always fun to see what MAC will come up with next.



on 12/30/2009 12:56:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love MAC eye shadows. I have so many of them, and all of them are really great to work with. MAC has a huge selection of shadows, even just in their permanent line.


on 11/13/2009 8:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have not that long used Mac Products, but the eyeshadows are the items that I would say are fab. I currently own four, have bought the pallette that hold something like 20- so I better get collecting! They go on like a dream, they stay on all day, and I did receive a number of compliments for them. They are £8.50 each, which, for one, I guess is pretty expensive, but, they are the nicest eye shadows that I have ever purchased, and I don’t mind paying the price. They have a beautiful colour selection- and I will defo be aiming to fill my palette!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2009 11:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Love these eye shadows. If you can find a stand alone store, buy the pro-pallets, they're cheaper and you can build your own quads for home and travel. I have two quads right now, All that Glitters, Trax, Jest and Satin Taupe are my everyday go to colors. Club, Vex, Shroom and Sable are my backup, or going out colors. My favorite pairings are All that Glitters with Trax, Jest with Satin Taupe, Club and Vex. If you're just learning about makeup, make an appointment with an artist at Mac. My experience with them has been wonderful, they are fun and friendly and not at all intimidating.


on 10/19/2008 9:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Tons of colours, great colour payoff and lasts all day. And they're great for building a kit if you can get them in the palettes (they're cheaper that way). I took one lippie off because of their price...extortionate if you like having a billion colours like me!


on 7/24/2008 11:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love MAC there eye shadows are great! And when they do your make up for events it always turn out gorgeous... the only problem is there shadows tend to break easy in there case... and it's to heavy for every day but great on pictures....


on 3/4/2008 4:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

MAC eyeshadows...all of them...buy and enjoy...they stay on wonderfully! The colors are great! Use with the MAC Paint Pots under them, and they stay true all day! Great product!


on 12/2/2007 3:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I( have been wearing MAC shadows for about 3 years now, and will never stray form. I still continue to try other brands but ugh, they will never compete with my dear MAC.


on 7/10/2007 3:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I wanted to like this, with all the variety and everything, but, unfortunately, it's all just hype and marketing. These are the shadows I have/had: Shale, Cranberry, Sable, Bark, Quarry.

I must admit, I did like Bark, the first eyeshadow I bought. It had nice staying power, great pigmentation, and the color, while being a very basic gray taupe, proved itself very enhancing to my eyeshape when dabbed into the outer corner. Because of this one, I assumed they would all be great and began picking out the colors I wanted.

Since I'm a neutral eye sort of person, I was excitied by their variety but was soon disapointed. Most of the matte neutrals seemed to be made for eyebrows rather than eyes. Many were too dark and nearly all were flat (Quarry). The shiny neutrals were very pale and seemed to be intended as bases. If worn alone, they were very, very "mod" and not natural as I was hoping.

In addition to the color problems, I encountered terrible staying power in the frosts and satins, (Sable lasted on me less than 4 hours over UDPP) and surprisingly poor pigmentation. I can't get shale to look the way it does in the pot even if I pack it on with those sponge applicators that pick up too much powder. Other colors, IN ADDITION to the poor staying power, etc., are so easily dupable, I already had colors like them.

On a slightly off topic note, I hate the frequency of the collections. It seems so cheap and exploitative, I don't really want to use their products. Nevertheless, the mattes and slimshines are good.

The bottom line is that only certain textures (perhaps veluxe pearl) are worth anything, but these didn't have any colors I liked. My advice would be to treat the textures as if they were from different brands, and not get caught up in picking colors which you know won't go on well.

EDIT: I swapped for a few more, and the rating goes up! Greensmoke, Satin Taupe, and Sketch looked great on me and lasted well. Sketch in particular is AMAZING, and the frost in ST was tolerable, unlike the frost in Sable. Not bad...


on 4/9/2007 11:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have purchased quite a few different colors of the MAC eye shadow and I LOVE them all! I have purchased so many different shadows from so many different manufacturers, yet I find this one to have the MOST pigment! It definately defines the "Less IS More" theory. I have had the same containers for about 7 months now and their is still PLENTY left! Well worth the $12.50 spent! It is very smooth textured, and doesn't seem to settle in creases as do other eyeshadows, and is very buildable. I highly recommend this product!




Back to Top