John Frieda • Brilliant Brunette Shine Shock Leave-on Perfecting Glosser • Styling Products

rated 4.1(282 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 nakedmannequin on 3/23/2010 9:49:00 PM more reviews by nakedmannequin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My hair is long, wavy, medium-thick, color-treated and pretty frizzy if left natural.

I first tried this product a few years ago and disliked it, probably because I was using it as a finishing balm on dry hair.

Bought another tube about a month ago and I don't know how I lived without it!

I just followed the directions on the packaging: I applied about a quarter size amount through SOAKING wet hair: right out of the shower, wring it out - no towel drying. I comb it though, wrap in in a towel for a few minutes, then towel dry. I usually use a serum afterwards, but I'm finding that I don't necessarily have to.

If I blow dry straight, I get great sleek results and have minimal need for a flat iron (less heat damage yay)

If I let it dry naturally, my waves are defined and have minimal frizz.

AND if I happen to get lazy and fall asleep on wet hair, it's a breeze to brush and run a straightener through in the morning and my hair looks freshly done.

A+++ I love this product. The only this that beats this one for me is Frederick Fekkai glossing creme, and that ain't cheap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sonjabra on 3/23/2010 4:14:00 AM more reviews by sonjabra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this with the Marie Claire Goodie Bag and was hooked upon first try. After my absolute fave (John Frieda Beach Blonde Ocean Waves) was discontinued, I never thought that I'd find something that would be equally great to get my stubborn hair under control.
I have extremely thick hair with kinda frizzy ends - very difficult to manage. But this stuff does the trick. It does weight down my hair a bit, but I have too much volume by nature, so it's fine with me...;-)

Due to my thick hair, I do need more of it, but it doesn't make my hair greasy. I just apply it to the ends and the frizz disappears, than, with a bit of it left on my hands, I comb thru the layers with my fingers. And look like freshly from the hair-stylist - healthy, shiny, just great, also really soft.

It also seems to make my hair color (brunette with blonde highlights) much more vibrant and accentuates the layers in the way I want them to be. And the scent is just to die for...

I use it in combo with the Shine Release Shampoo, I also use it on wet hair, but with my type of hair, it seems to work better on dry hair. However, it makes a great base on wet hair for styling later on. No more bad-hair-days for me, this is certainly something I'll buy over and over again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippihanna on 3/16/2010 6:48:00 AM more reviews by hippihanna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I could say 'maybe' because im not sure if id buy this again.. Its not expensive so if im in need of some product thats not going to cost too then much i might consider this.
Its nothing fabulous but its not so bad either, I use it as a polisher after flat ironing, it tends to smoothen a bit and give some shine but not alot. As a polisher it works better than some more expensive things I own. I dont notice any results if I put it into my hair wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Isane on 2/27/2010 7:03:00 PM more reviews by Isane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this product about a month ago. For the first 2 weeks I LOVED it! It made my hair so smooth and shiny. The smell is great and you only need a very small amount of product. I only applied the product to the bottom half of my hair to avoir product buildup at the roots. However after those first few weeks I am left with so much residue in my hair it's disgusting!! It's a sticky, waxy residue that is almost impossible to remove. I've tried a bunch of clarifying shampoos, ACV, etc.. and its hardly removed any of the buildup. I'm so disappointed because it made my hair looks so nice for the first few weeks :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 x3lipglossaddictx3 on 2/22/2010 5:27:00 PM more reviews by x3lipglossaddictx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have only used this product once, so this is really a first impression review. If anything differs after some time, then I'll edit!

The price is okay for how much product you get. I got it on sale for $6, and it was usually $8 at my local Walgreens. The deduction in price was mostly what made me decide to try it.
This product smells good, sorta like coconut. It reminds me a little of the beach, but it's that same smell the JF Shine Release shampoos have. It isn't strong, but you catch a whiff here and there.
It made my hair feel a lot smoother and softer, and definitely tamed frizz. I was surprised by that, and would probably buy it again solely for that reason.
As for the shine, I wasn't impressed. My hair was shiny, but not any shinier than it usually is without this. In the product's defense, I may have used too much though...I have very thick and long hair, and usually I have to use more than the package states. Not with this, a little really does go a long way! My hair also probably has some build-up I need to take care of. I'm hoping once I use a clarifying treatment on my hair, I will get start to get better results with this product. I like it a lot otherwise, but I was really hoping for some more shine!
The only other downside to this is that the instructions are apply on *soaking wet* hair, not on damp, towel-tried hair, like most you see. It's kind of annoying standing there with my hair THAT wet while I dry it. It added a lot of time to my routine.
Many people have had great results with this glosser, and I am mostly pleased with it. If you have been considering trying it, I say it's worth a shot!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Starrguise on 1/18/2010 1:14:00 AM more reviews by Starrguise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this product! I lightly dab the excess water out of my hair and then spread evenly through my towel dried hair before blow drying.

It makes my hair feel very soft and glossy. I love touching my hair after using this and it smells wonderful. Just be careful not to use too much of this as it can be a little greasy and weigh the hair down. Other than that, no complaints!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ulaxoxo on 1/17/2010 7:46:00 PM more reviews by ulaxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Ever since I have been using this, people have given me non stop compliments on my hair. Seriously, my hair isn't the same without this. I hope they never stop making this. It makes me hair so soft and lustrous and I actually stopped dyeing my hair altogether. Just a little on damp hair and a little after a blow dry. Salon worthy results!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushieluver on 1/10/2010 8:39:00 PM more reviews by lushieluver

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used this for weeks on my hair; damp, wet, dry... pretty much every possible way, and it did not leave any shine or gloss to my hair. The product itself is sort of sticky and will look greasy if you use too much, the smell is alright, and it's clear and thick, and it looks like it has sparkles in it, but it adds no sparkle to my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 skiba on 12/15/2009 12:17:00 AM more reviews by skiba

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Oooo I am really liking this stuff! I apply it on wet (not soaking wet) hair before blowdrying. Then I flat iron and my hair feels similar to how it feels just after coloring it...smoothed out and easy to manage. It really seems to seal the cuticle and lock in shine. Please keep working for me!!!
EDIT: Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I've gotten bored of it :( I'll resurrect what is left of the bottle in a few months i suppose..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Honeyrider1977 on 10/9/2009 8:23:00 AM more reviews by Honeyrider1977

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Sorry to be the party pooper; I really wanted to like this stuff but wasn't impressed in the slightest. It really didn't do anything for my hair and I'll be returning it to Walgreens for a refund STAT. I would not recommend this product to anyone. I'm a white female with porous, coarse color treated hair. I blow dry and straighten my hair on a daily basis. I used a dime sized amount on damp hair, blow dried then used my maxi-glide straightener- this product did nothing for my hair. For my hair type I probably need to try the John Frieda "Straight Fixation".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Styling Products products