MAC • Satin - Smut • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(135 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mrsleonidas on 10/5/2010 9:07:00 PM more reviews by mrsleonidas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First let me say that........I am a MAC addict.
I love me some MAC!
I especially love any dark or light cool toned browns, blacks, and browned/tauped purples....for my crease or entire lid for a smokey eye.



With that being said,
Smut is a very "slight velvet"......(but imo, this is really a matte!)
Its a cool toned muted black with just a very small hint of a reddish purple undertone shimmers. Though to me, the shimmers are only evident while in the pan.


I WISH THAT MINE LOOKED LIKE THE PIC ABOVE WITH THE LID OPEN! And the swatch on MAC's site!
Unfortunately, mine does not!
And I bought mine straight from MAC.com, too!
So, I know it is not an old or a knock off shadow!


(I really really really wanted the shadow to look exactly like the cool toned dark blackened brown with the dark reddish/purple shimmers......just like the image above shows and the swatch on MAC.com!)
I want that color above so bad...for my crease
and for a smokey look on my lids.
If any of you have one that is similar to that color,please message me.....I will be so grateful!


I am very confused about the review below.....that is stating that her shadow is soft and easy to blend!
Because.... this shadow is so HARD!!!!
It doesn't blend well either!
I get darker spots here and there...no matter how long I blend my primer and base out. My 224 and 217 brushes can;t even do the trick easily!
And its not from lack of experience.....because I always use MAC, U.D, and Smashbox makeup!!


Its too bad that this one was just so disappointing for me!
And for $11.00 and the name MAC stamped on it.....I think that this texture is crazy and should be wayyyy better!


On a better note,
I can say that this is good for a different type of black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lisalisa29 on 9/27/2010 2:14:00 PM more reviews by Lisalisa29

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got Smut for curiosity sake because some friends raved out it and I have to say it's my #2 shadow from MAC...my #1 is Espresso.

I really like the color which to me is like a plum brown with some sparkle and it really makes my green eyes pop. It's so soft and easy to work with....can go light or darker for an edgier look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theymightbejenny on 9/13/2010 3:24:00 PM more reviews by theymightbejenny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Smut is a dark, smokey brown with plum tones. It's a satin finish, so it has the tiniest bit of shimmer. I think the MAC site describes it as being a blackened brown with red reflects, but it's not. It's a dark, nearly-matte, plummy brown. I love to use this for softening liquid liner or putting in the crease, but it also works on the lid blended out with a lighter color in the crease for a true smokey eye. The only real drawback to this shadow is the texture. It's hard to swatch Smut because the texture is honestly kinda crappy. It isn't soft and buttery and this makes it more difficult to blend. If you are willing to pay $11 (pro-pan) and are willing to work with it, it's a beautiful color. If not, skip it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sparklythings on 9/13/2010 2:41:00 PM more reviews by sparklythings

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

beautiful outer v shade for darkening and making a smokey look. perfect for smokey day time looks also.
this is much nicer than using a matte black in my opinion.
it is pigmented and blends like a dream.
like everyone else has mentioned, this is a nice dark brown/charcoal color. so glad i picked this up. can be paired with anything really for darkening the outer corners...
love this, and i will definitely be using this a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kohleyes on 8/31/2010 5:12:00 PM more reviews by kohleyes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Smut is such a beautiful shade! Its perfect for filling in dark eyebrows too! This eyeshadow is great for smoky eyes and its awesome in general...Definitely an interesting and gorgeous color!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 neslin on 8/26/2010 2:53:00 AM more reviews by neslin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It's a very unique color and it's hard to describe.It's mostly a dark grey with slight brownish/almost reddish tone to it. The texture is amazing and easy to work with. It's a must for smokey day looks and a nice change from Carbon for darkening colors and outer corners. I also love to put it on my lower lash line to set and smoke out black eye liner and it looks so good !

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sofka on 7/20/2010 8:26:00 AM more reviews by sofka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Smut is a versatile color I think you could use on any skin tone. The colour is hard to discribe, it is somewhere between a brown and a charcoal grey. Also it is often described as having red sheen, this red sheen is really only obvious when in the box.
I guess it could serve as a basic one to do your smokey eye and it could be toned down for day time (although it is very easy to build up more intense colour). The texture is very smooth, really glides on (I use it on my painterly pot).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laqueron1 on 7/12/2010 5:34:00 PM more reviews by laqueron1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow. It's reddish black but it's just beautiful to look at. It's got this edge to it. I like it for smokey looks (for night time) but I'm dying to try it for daytime as well. I wouldn't use Carbon with this unless I'm going to go out at night. I am pretty sure it will look good on any skin tone. (MAC NC42/43).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loveforsocks on 7/2/2010 10:28:00 PM more reviews by loveforsocks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

At first I was pretty hesitant to use this shadow. I normally steer away from darker colors, and the description on the website said it has "red frost." Grey with red frost? It's actually not red or frosty at all. It's just a warmed up grey. Also, it applies pretty sheer so I'm not afraid to use it the outer corner of my eye and the crease. It does a great job of darkening whatever other color I'm wearing. It's less pigmented than other MAC shadows, but in my mind that's a bonus because I can keep it toned down more easily. Also, you can use a heavier hand if you want it to show up more. It blends well and stays put without creasing. I have it as part of the Trip II palette for bronze eye and cheek, and it goes well with the other colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* camilla8 on 6/17/2010 8:52:00 AM more reviews by camilla8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my most favorite MAC eyeshadow, I use it almost everyday when I do a smokey eye. I have so many darker e/s's to choose from, yet somehow everyday I'm drawn to this one. I don't think this one is dupeable, it's really unique. It's almost a dark gray/black with a tinge of purple, and a little bit of shimmer (but not too much). Love it!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products