NYX 3 Color Eyeshadow

4.4

163 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 9/30/2009 2:20:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This review is for the NYX Trio TS21 or Copper/Rust/Bronze. I've had this little set for over a year, but have rarely worn it. Now that it's almost fall, I took a second look today. I think the trick is not to try to create a crease and lid look, but to blend all three shadows together. I used my UD Primer first and it gave the powder a good base to cling to. I feel pretty sheepish about not blending the three to begin with, but that's what MUA's reviews are all about...discovery! This one is a winner for my Dark brown hair/eyes, NC40 light golden tone.



on 8/10/2009 8:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

The NYX trio I bought was the orange, yellow, and green combo. I admit that the colors are well pigmented and the price is great. On darker skin like mine, the colors do not show as well so I have to pack on a bit more.
Overall, the product is pretty good and you get your worth.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The color range for the eyeshadows are good, but the color pay off of the yellow and the orange in this set aren't very good. you really have to pack it on to see color. I've heard that different colors have different color pay off, and pigmentation. the packaging is simple but really nice. overall, you get what you pay for. the product is inexpensive,and a good starter for someone starting to experiment with makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/21/2009 1:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have this trio in white, gray and black. I also have the 'For Your Eyes Only' palette in Sexy Blue Eyes. This is the first time I have purchased any NYX eyeshadows. My first impression of these was that they smelled bad. They smelled like heavy chemicals. You can't smell it if you're just applying them, but if you lean down and smell them purposely, you'll definitely pick it up. However, these are nice especially for the price that you pay. I wouldn't compare them to MAC because in my opinion MAC is better, but they are good shadows for someone more on a budget like myself. The color payoff is good; they are pigmented, but I am not too fond of the finishes and the blending capabilities. I think that is where these fall a little flat.


on 6/3/2009 9:34:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ok, so I am IN LOVE with the NYX pencils (the fat ones) and the single e/s - but I was underwelmed with the trio :( I purchased TS10 which is the yellow/tropical/lime green trio and although they are highly pigmented (and I love the colors), I didn't like the way they went on. I applied them over my regular eye cream, Urban Decay Primer Potion (the regular one, not the colored ones), and the NYX Milk as a base....I had to wipe off all of my hard work because the end result was crepy (crepey? sp.?) and made my eyes look much more wrinkled than usual (and they're not that bad - yet).

I will try again, without using the pencil first and see what happens, although I do it that way all the time with my other eye shadows and no problemo.

I'm not ready to throw in the towel yet on these trios as I'm impressed with other NYX products, but be advised that they don't *play well together*, lol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/31/2009 9:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

On the advice of a fellow MUAer I tried NYX because they are similare to (and a fraction of the orice of) BeautiContol's Mineral Eye Shadow trios.



Well, They were right! What a value. Great products. Nice colors. Blendable. Will repurchase.


on 5/28/2009 7:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have many of these sets. The color are so versitile. They blend well and are very pigmented. Great for the price.


on 5/27/2009 4:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok, so I've started experimenting with eyeshadows, something I've always been "afraid" of because I've seen too many people who use it but should have also been very afraid . . . LOL Anyway, I've been searching around for decent quality, yet inexpensive shadwos to "play with". I bought a couple of these trios based on the MUA reviews. The ladies here know their makeup! Plus ULTA was having a Buy2Get2 deal. I don't wear much makeup but I can be a snob about that which I do wear and hate poor quality cosmetics. However, I don't know much about shadows other than: the color should show up (for me that's sheer and not sparkly) and the powder should be smooth and soft enough to apply/blend easily and durable enough not to crease (I have oily lids). Well NYX surprised me totally! They are everything I expected and needed it to do! Price, Selection, Quality! (I tried ULTA brand and promptly returned them-too stiff). These are soft, creamy, go on smooth and are blendable. Some are too sparkly for me and I couldnt really tell if they had any matte but they have plenty to choose from that are not over the top "shiny". I highly recommend these as an economical alternative to our beloved high-end brands but don't skimp on your tools. Drop that spongey thing they include and get some "real" tools. Otherwise they are GREAT and have the coolest color selection (from basic everyday neutrals to wild, fun and funky). I will definately buy again.


on 5/21/2009 6:14:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I adore NYX's Trioshadows to no end. They're so pigmented, the color pay off very well, there are matt and shimmery colors, lovely for blending, great for anything and everything. Honestly, for such a cheap price you can't find any better eyeshadows!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really enjoy my NYX eyeshadow trios. On first glance, I was VERY impressed by the packaging! The cases the eye shadows sit in are very chic and look like a high-end studio brand (actually, it's nicer then most!). Most of the eye shadows I've gotten from the trios are very pigmented, but there is the occasional light pastel that needs to be layered on a pit to really get it's full color. For $7.99 I couldn't ask for a better eye shadow! I put them right up there with some of my MAC shadows!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top