NYX • 3 Color Eyeshadow • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(162 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 bunnygrl468 on 8/10/2009 8:11:00 PM more reviews by bunnygrl468

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Black    

The NYX trio I bought was the orange, yellow, and green combo. I admit that the colors are well pigmented and the price is great. On darker skin like mine, the colors do not show as well so I have to pack on a bit more.
Overall, the product is pretty good and you get your worth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 colbyxcheese on 8/6/2009 3:06:00 PM more reviews by colbyxcheese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

The color range for the eyeshadows are good, but the color pay off of the yellow and the orange in this set aren't very good. you really have to pack it on to see color. I've heard that different colors have different color pay off, and pigmentation. the packaging is simple but really nice. overall, you get what you pay for. the product is inexpensive,and a good starter for someone starting to experiment with makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JeanineH on 7/21/2009 1:35:00 PM more reviews by JeanineH

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have this trio in white, gray and black. I also have the 'For Your Eyes Only' palette in Sexy Blue Eyes. This is the first time I have purchased any NYX eyeshadows. My first impression of these was that they smelled bad. They smelled like heavy chemicals. You can't smell it if you're just applying them, but if you lean down and smell them purposely, you'll definitely pick it up. However, these are nice especially for the price that you pay. I wouldn't compare them to MAC because in my opinion MAC is better, but they are good shadows for someone more on a budget like myself. The color payoff is good; they are pigmented, but I am not too fond of the finishes and the blending capabilities. I think that is where these fall a little flat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nimue2 on 6/3/2009 9:34:00 PM more reviews by Nimue2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ok, so I am IN LOVE with the NYX pencils (the fat ones) and the single e/s - but I was underwelmed with the trio :( I purchased TS10 which is the yellow/tropical/lime green trio and although they are highly pigmented (and I love the colors), I didn't like the way they went on. I applied them over my regular eye cream, Urban Decay Primer Potion (the regular one, not the colored ones), and the NYX Milk as a base....I had to wipe off all of my hard work because the end result was crepy (crepey? sp.?) and made my eyes look much more wrinkled than usual (and they're not that bad - yet).

I will try again, without using the pencil first and see what happens, although I do it that way all the time with my other eye shadows and no problemo.

I'm not ready to throw in the towel yet on these trios as I'm impressed with other NYX products, but be advised that they don't *play well together*, lol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 5/31/2009 9:20:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

On the advice of a fellow MUAer I tried NYX because they are similare to (and a fraction of the orice of) BeautiContol's Mineral Eye Shadow trios.



Well, They were right! What a value. Great products. Nice colors. Blendable. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bleudolphin on 5/28/2009 7:31:00 PM more reviews by bleudolphin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have many of these sets. The color are so versitile. They blend well and are very pigmented. Great for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shelju on 5/27/2009 4:27:00 PM more reviews by shelju

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, so I've started experimenting with eyeshadows, something I've always been "afraid" of because I've seen too many people who use it but should have also been very afraid . . . LOL Anyway, I've been searching around for decent quality, yet inexpensive shadwos to "play with". I bought a couple of these trios based on the MUA reviews. The ladies here know their makeup! Plus ULTA was having a Buy2Get2 deal. I don't wear much makeup but I can be a snob about that which I do wear and hate poor quality cosmetics. However, I don't know much about shadows other than: the color should show up (for me that's sheer and not sparkly) and the powder should be smooth and soft enough to apply/blend easily and durable enough not to crease (I have oily lids). Well NYX surprised me totally! They are everything I expected and needed it to do! Price, Selection, Quality! (I tried ULTA brand and promptly returned them-too stiff). These are soft, creamy, go on smooth and are blendable. Some are too sparkly for me and I couldnt really tell if they had any matte but they have plenty to choose from that are not over the top "shiny". I highly recommend these as an economical alternative to our beloved high-end brands but don't skimp on your tools. Drop that spongey thing they include and get some "real" tools. Otherwise they are GREAT and have the coolest color selection (from basic everyday neutrals to wild, fun and funky). I will definately buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iheartsu on 5/21/2009 6:14:00 AM more reviews by iheartsu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I adore NYX's Trioshadows to no end. They're so pigmented, the color pay off very well, there are matt and shimmery colors, lovely for blending, great for anything and everything. Honestly, for such a cheap price you can't find any better eyeshadows!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 artistsararose on 5/21/2009 12:35:00 AM more reviews by artistsararose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really enjoy my NYX eyeshadow trios. On first glance, I was VERY impressed by the packaging! The cases the eye shadows sit in are very chic and look like a high-end studio brand (actually, it's nicer then most!). Most of the eye shadows I've gotten from the trios are very pigmented, but there is the occasional light pastel that needs to be layered on a pit to really get it's full color. For $7.99 I couldn't ask for a better eye shadow! I put them right up there with some of my MAC shadows!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LaFemmNoir on 4/6/2009 6:02:00 PM more reviews by LaFemmNoir

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Reviewing these is difficult ... the packaging is excellent, the pricing is excellent and the colors go together nicely most of the time ... they are very good when judged on their own merits, and they blow away all other drugstore brand eyeshadows ... BUT, they are weak competition for the nyx single eyeshadow pots, and they definitely won't compare to high-end cosmetics. They wont last that long nor look that vibrant without a base, and they typically aren't very soft but still supply you with plenty of fallout upon application. They aren't even particularly cheap for the total product anyway; I sat down and did the math - you get more product of better quality by buying all three single eyeshadow pots than what you would get with the singles, even if you do pay more ... thus the 3 rating for price. The colors in the trios don't always line up with the color of the singles, and sometimes, you will only get. 1.3 grams of total product in the trios, as compared to 3 grams with a single. This doesn't happen with all of them, but I have been dismayed to find that some of my trios contain a lot less product. The fact is worsened once you realize that I payed more for the trio than I did for a single, so make sure to check the bottom of the packaging before you buy, you may be overspending without knowing. I wont tell you to not buy them, but you wont be very happy with them if you have spoiled yourself on the single eyeshadow pots or higher-end eyeshadows.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products