Queen Helene Cocoa Butter Creme

3.7

90 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Mineral Oil, Water Purified, Beeswax (Apis Mellifera), Paraffin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Sodium Borate Lanolin, Stearyl Alcohol, Fragrance (Parfum), FD&C Yellow 5 (CI 19140), FD&C Yellow 6 (CI 15985), FD&C Red 40 (CI 16035), FD&C Red 33 (CI 17200)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Don't let the price fool you! This is an amazing product that makes my skin feel like a baby's. I wouldn't recommend this to someone with extremely oily or acne-prone skin or who can't handle strong scents. But I use this on my face as a moisturizer and to decrease the appearance of any dryness, redness or wrinkles. I put it on before bed because I find that it does take awhile to absorb into my skin. When I wake up, my skin looks better and feels so smooth! This is also a great product for sunburns, stretch marks and scars and can be used all over the body for a variety of purposes. It is easy to find and so affordable. Most women should have this product in their medicine cabinet or vanity!



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great product for an even greater price. The quality is up there with the Body Shop's body butters at a fraction on the price; however, my skin has become sensitive to the mineral oil in this product,so I'm not using it as much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2010 4:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have edema swelling in both ankles, feet and mid calves. The swelling and stretching has caused severe dry skin and scaly patches and ashy-ness. I found this at my local Dollar General for $1.

I exfoliated both legs from mid calves down to toes. Got a clump of the butter creme and started rubbing and rubbing and running it in. Wow! The drynes, tightness and itchiness is gone. I can't even get results like this from expensive lotions. The sunflower tattoo on my ankle appears washed out, ashy and very dull due to the dry skin. Now, it looks renewed and rejuvinated, as beautiful today as it was the day I got it in 1994.

This is so cheap and is a total work horse. Buy a jar and let it work hard for YOUR dry skin!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2010 9:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the ONLY thing that worked when I was trying to ween my skin off of a steriod cream. Yes it is oily but that is what you need when trying to stop using steroids. I gave it 4 lippies because it does take a while to absorb, but when you awake in the morning you will notice a difference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2010 2:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

First of all, the main ingredients are mineral oil, water and wax. The cocoa butter is an after thought. Second, its loaded with dyes. I could deal with the mineral oil and waxes if they were not listed first since they do protect skin and seal in a layer of moisture. However, I can not tolerate unnecessary dyes. I know I am personally allergic to Red 33 and I suspect some of the other people, who indicated they experienced hives or allergies with this product, could be suffering from similar reactions from the dyes. Palmer's cocoa butter formula in a jar maybe a better alternative because it does not contain these dyes.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 6/8/2010 8:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I don't find this greasy, provided I'm in an air conditioned place or a coolish to temperate room when I apply this. Actually, this stuff absorbs fairly quickly on me. I'm not bothered by the packaging because I always use a clean q-tip to get some out. I'm not put off by the smell, kind of like it, but if you're not into cocoa butter scents, don't get this.
Reasons for making my score a two. On the directions on the tub, it says to be applied to the face and the body. Well, it has lanolin in it. While lanolin is perfectly fine for a good portion of people, there are definitely people who have bad reactions with lanolin, especially applied on such a sensitive part as the face. There is also mineral oil in this. I'm not one of those anti-mineral oil people: I've known some people on MUA who've had great results with mineral oil. But, I think the effect of mineral oil in a facial moisturizer varies with people. To blithely say in directions to use as a facial moisturizer a product w/lanolin and mineral oil is simply foolish. The other major reason why my score is a two is because it's not moisturizing enough for sore, dry hands or really tough feet. Yeah, I'll get Queen Helene Cocoa Butter Creme again when money is tight, but not when I have enough money for imported German Nivea or Weleda Skin Food.
Update: With the weather getting cooler and drier, I found this product simply didn't do enough for my feet and hands. I threw it out while there was still close to half in the container. I'm changing it to a NO for the will you buy this again category.


on 5/18/2010 12:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

this stuff is instant relief for my dry feet! its greasy so i have to let it soak in, but only for a few minutes. my heels are so soft and my feet are comfy and moisturized.


on 4/21/2010 11:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Smells like quality dark chocolates without being cloying, absorbs easily and doesn't feel greasy but moisturizes well.


on 4/14/2010 12:45:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

so far I am loving this product! and I've only used it once! Those who say it is too greasy really are over exaggerating. Okay it doesn't absorb all the way into your skin so I would never use it in the morning because there is no way I could put foundation on top of it. But it's perfect as a night cream to keep my face moisturized. There are so many pros to this product. It smells heavenly. It feels heavenly on your fingers when you take it out of the tub. The price is amazing! So much product for so little price! Plus you can do so many things with it! You can moisturize your whole body and face with it and even remove your makeup. I've also heard it's good for anti chaffing. Whenever I'm sitting around I love to just take it out and smell it because it smells so great. Really the only cons are the packaging because a tub is not very hygienic. However, I like the feeling of having products in a tub, especially something I am using as a night cream. Also if your skin is very oily you probably won't like something so thick on your skin as this product. But it's great! I'd recommend it to anyone. Queen helene really is a wonderful line of products.


on 3/23/2010 11:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Instant relief for my itchy toes!




Top Rated Queen Helene Products

image

Mint Julep Masque

4192 reviews
Back to Top