Queen Helene • Cocoa Butter Creme • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.7(89 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 samhoney on 12/5/2010 4:55:00 PM more reviews by samhoney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have edema swelling in both ankles, feet and mid calves. The swelling and stretching has caused severe dry skin and scaly patches and ashy-ness. I found this at my local Dollar General for $1.

I exfoliated both legs from mid calves down to toes. Got a clump of the butter creme and started rubbing and rubbing and running it in. Wow! The drynes, tightness and itchiness is gone. I can't even get results like this from expensive lotions. The sunflower tattoo on my ankle appears washed out, ashy and very dull due to the dry skin. Now, it looks renewed and rejuvinated, as beautiful today as it was the day I got it in 1994.

This is so cheap and is a total work horse. Buy a jar and let it work hard for YOUR dry skin!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 denise4448 on 9/11/2010 9:00:00 PM more reviews by denise4448

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the ONLY thing that worked when I was trying to ween my skin off of a steriod cream. Yes it is oily but that is what you need when trying to stop using steroids. I gave it 4 lippies because it does take a while to absorb, but when you awake in the morning you will notice a difference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xbanannax on 6/12/2010 2:06:00 AM more reviews by xbanannax

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

First of all, the main ingredients are mineral oil, water and wax. The cocoa butter is an after thought. Second, its loaded with dyes. I could deal with the mineral oil and waxes if they were not listed first since they do protect skin and seal in a layer of moisture. However, I can not tolerate unnecessary dyes. I know I am personally allergic to Red 33 and I suspect some of the other people, who indicated they experienced hives or allergies with this product, could be suffering from similar reactions from the dyes. Palmer's cocoa butter formula in a jar maybe a better alternative because it does not contain these dyes.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wiseowl on 6/8/2010 8:27:00 PM more reviews by wiseowl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't find this greasy, provided I'm in an air conditioned place or a coolish to temperate room when I apply this. Actually, this stuff absorbs fairly quickly on me. I'm not bothered by the packaging because I always use a clean q-tip to get some out. I'm not put off by the smell, kind of like it, but if you're not into cocoa butter scents, don't get this.
Reasons for making my score a two. On the directions on the tub, it says to be applied to the face and the body. Well, it has lanolin in it. While lanolin is perfectly fine for a good portion of people, there are definitely people who have bad reactions with lanolin, especially applied on such a sensitive part as the face. There is also mineral oil in this. I'm not one of those anti-mineral oil people: I've known some people on MUA who've had great results with mineral oil. But, I think the effect of mineral oil in a facial moisturizer varies with people. To blithely say in directions to use as a facial moisturizer a product w/lanolin and mineral oil is simply foolish. The other major reason why my score is a two is because it's not moisturizing enough for sore, dry hands or really tough feet. Yeah, I'll get Queen Helene Cocoa Butter Creme again when money is tight, but not when I have enough money for imported German Nivea or Weleda Skin Food.
Update: With the weather getting cooler and drier, I found this product simply didn't do enough for my feet and hands. I threw it out while there was still close to half in the container. I'm changing it to a NO for the will you buy this again category.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starkssb on 5/18/2010 12:40:00 PM more reviews by starkssb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

this stuff is instant relief for my dry feet! its greasy so i have to let it soak in, but only for a few minutes. my heels are so soft and my feet are comfy and moisturized.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elizaraymundo on 4/21/2010 11:30:00 PM more reviews by elizaraymundo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Smells like quality dark chocolates without being cloying, absorbs easily and doesn't feel greasy but moisturizes well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Stephanie10 on 4/14/2010 12:45:00 AM more reviews by Stephanie10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

so far I am loving this product! and I've only used it once! Those who say it is too greasy really are over exaggerating. Okay it doesn't absorb all the way into your skin so I would never use it in the morning because there is no way I could put foundation on top of it. But it's perfect as a night cream to keep my face moisturized. There are so many pros to this product. It smells heavenly. It feels heavenly on your fingers when you take it out of the tub. The price is amazing! So much product for so little price! Plus you can do so many things with it! You can moisturize your whole body and face with it and even remove your makeup. I've also heard it's good for anti chaffing. Whenever I'm sitting around I love to just take it out and smell it because it smells so great. Really the only cons are the packaging because a tub is not very hygienic. However, I like the feeling of having products in a tub, especially something I am using as a night cream. Also if your skin is very oily you probably won't like something so thick on your skin as this product. But it's great! I'd recommend it to anyone. Queen helene really is a wonderful line of products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WorldBFree1 on 3/23/2010 11:26:00 AM more reviews by WorldBFree1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Instant relief for my itchy toes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 damndelish on 2/8/2010 1:19:00 AM more reviews by damndelish

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

WOW! What a great find! So one day i was searching in the lotion/shampoo isle trying to find something to include in a care package, to send to my best friend, who is currently in africa. She said to send her toiletries from home and i randomly found this lotion and thought this would be perfect to prevent from any drying that might occur from the intense african heat. Anyways...it ended up being too heavy to include so i decided to try it out myself, i wasn't expecting much for the $8 that i paid but i was surprised. It's got a great absorbent consistency. It's a greasier formula, hence the fact that it is a 'creme' and it does have a lot of nut oils etc in it. I love putting this lotion on right before bed, that way it has time to sink in. And then i wake up with soft supple skin. I also tan regularly and this really helps make sure my skin doesn't dry out between tans. For this price how could you go wrong? This would be especially good for drier skins.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* namissaas224 on 2/4/2010 4:53:00 PM more reviews by namissaas224

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is really good for dry skin.My feet and elbows get really dry in the winter and this has made them so soft.I had been looking for a good night cream and it says you can use it for your face too.My skin is oily so I hardly use any at all.It makes my skin super soft.Its really cheap too.The only thing I dont like is that its in a tub.When I try and get some product it gets stuck under my nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Queen Helene products

More Lotions/ Creams products