Pro Activ • Proactiv Repairing Lotion • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.3(281 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 jrbmua on 5/21/2012 9:15:00 PM more reviews by jrbmua

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Lenth of use: 7 years
Frequency of use: Daytime only.
PROS:
-Prevents major breakouts... I am prone to cystic breakouts and several pimples at a time.
-Does not irritate skin and I have tried MANY lotions and creams... I always go back to this.
-Works well on its own. I used to do the whole 3 step system for the first couple years. Then found a cheaper toner and cleanser as my skin calmed down.
-Absorbs well into skin. I wait 15 min before applying foundation.
-Does not make my skin look oily.
-Feels hydrating enough for me and I do not need too much hydration having oily skin.
-A nickle size is enough to cover my whole face.
-For daytime use only, the 3oz bottle lasts me about 6 to 7 months... not bad at $20 something dollars for a bottle.
*CONS:
-I prefer tubes versus bottle so I can really squeeze out the last bit left.
*Notes:
Do not expecta a miracle. This does not completely prevent acne... what product actually does though? The occassional pimple I get, which is a lot less than prior to use of this product, is a pimple usually related to my cycle, sleep, activity and eating pattern. The major flareups I have ever had were the three times I strayed from using this BP lotion and tried other acne fighting lotions which only gave me more acne. This seems to be the only BP lotion that works with my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Redbone21 on 4/12/2012 3:36:00 PM more reviews by Redbone21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As a system you have to be very careful because it can burn your face. Lately I havent used the whole system. Just my sensitive cleanser cetaphil + this lotion at night and my acne had been calm. This individual product is good but for this lotion alone is like $18 and the bottle is kind of small so be aware

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leung on 4/1/2012 9:52:00 PM more reviews by leung

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I love using this for any breakouts or pending breakouts. It works wonderfully on face and chest. Sometimes I get bumps on my chest from being under the sun and this works overnight and my skin is smooth the next morning. This is part of the 3 step system but I only use the Repairing lotion. Definitely recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 itzelc18 on 2/19/2012 6:14:00 PM more reviews by itzelc18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this about two years ago and was using it regularly and it worked, but I found that after a couple months, it stopped working and I broke out. I never used it again and found something cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Donovan on 2/13/2012 12:28:00 AM more reviews by Donovan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Don't fall for the hype!!!! I was not satisfied with any of the Proactiv products I've purchased. I've found better products at drugstores for a significant fraction of the price. I got MORE acne (white heads) after using this product, plus it made my face feel greasy. The only reason I rated it 1 is because it has a mild scent, and is mild on the skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missykeyana on 2/12/2012 6:45:00 PM more reviews by missykeyana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very good product. I used this as part of the entire ProActiv system years ago and it helped clear my skin. This lotion was gentle to my skin and did not cause any adverse effects. I liked that it only took a tiny amount for my whole face. That little bottle lasted a long time! Now that my face has mostly cleared up except for hormonal breakouts, and I'm terrified of aging my face before its time, I am scaling back the use of this to spot treatment only. However, I would recommend that any acne sufferers try this lotion, or the Equate version. They both worked the same for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lori2003 on 1/30/2012 5:02:00 PM more reviews by lori2003

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using the Walmart Equate Repairing Lotion ($4.18, and the ingredients are basically the same, see the end of my review for the Equate ingredients) for over a month now and my skin has vastly improved! It is less red, pores are a bit smaller, and hardly any breakouts now! I actually got a compliment the other day on my skin from a total stranger and that has never happened to me in my life!! This is the only thing that I have found that has unclogged my skin! I do not use the entire Proactiv line (Walmart's Equate does sell knock offs of the Proactive Cleanser & Toner). I tried all three products many years ago and it made my breakouts worse! I use this with my Renee Rouleau products instead of using glycolic acid (glycolic makes me break out). I only apply this once in the evening after I have applied my Renee Rouleau moisturizer. Only applying this without another moisturizer dries me out too bad and leads to breakouts. Using it twice a day, dries me out too much, too. All, in all, I recommend this product, especially the Walmart version since it is so cheap. It's worth a shot!

Equate Repairing Lotion Ingredients: Active Ingredient: 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide. Inactive Ingredients: purified water, ethoxydiglycol, cyclotetrasiloxane, cetearyl alcohol, ceteareth-20, propylene glycol, dimethicone, glyceryl stearate, cyclopentasiloxane, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, PEG-100 stearate, panthenol, allantoin, triethanolamine, carbomer, xantham gum, fragrance

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jillydearest on 1/12/2012 2:55:00 PM more reviews by Jillydearest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this to keep acne away. It doesn't seem to help a lot on the acne I already have, and it's EXTREMELY drying to my face (especially now that it's winter). After I apply this to my face I quickly use emu oil or another moisturizer I have to keep my face soft. I would buy it again since it helps prevent a lot of acne from coming up. Just remember to moisturize very well after!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mihnea on 12/22/2011 3:36:00 PM more reviews by mihnea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Walmart's generic brand 'Equate' makes a great knock-off, Equate Repairing Lotion. It's exactly the same ingredients and the packaging is better.The price varies depending on where you live, my Walmart sells it for $4.18 per 2oz. bottle. It's worth looking into, Proactiv can get pretty pricey in the long run. I hope this was helpful :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lizzea on 12/6/2011 5:11:00 AM more reviews by lizzea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This has been pretty good at keeping zits at bay and it seems to do a good job of drying out existing blemishes. I think it works really well when used in unison with the other Pro Activ products, especially after toning. I think it's actually worked a bit better than some of my old Benzoyl peroxide gels/creams in the past, which impresses me. I do find that it's a bit expensive for what you get, but I have been fairly content with the results so am happy to give it a good number of lippies :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Treatments (Face) products