Pro Activ • Proactiv Repairing Lotion • Treatments

rated 3.3(278 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 itzelc18 on 2/19/2012 6:14:00 PM more reviews by itzelc18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this about two years ago and was using it regularly and it worked, but I found that after a couple months, it stopped working and I broke out. I never used it again and found something cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Donovan on 2/13/2012 12:28:00 AM more reviews by Donovan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Don't fall for the hype!!!! I was not satisfied with any of the Proactiv products I've purchased. I've found better products at drugstores for a significant fraction of the price. I got MORE acne (white heads) after using this product, plus it made my face feel greasy. The only reason I rated it 1 is because it has a mild scent, and is mild on the skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missykeyana on 2/12/2012 6:45:00 PM more reviews by missykeyana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very good product. I used this as part of the entire ProActiv system years ago and it helped clear my skin. This lotion was gentle to my skin and did not cause any adverse effects. I liked that it only took a tiny amount for my whole face. That little bottle lasted a long time! Now that my face has mostly cleared up except for hormonal breakouts, and I'm terrified of aging my face before its time, I am scaling back the use of this to spot treatment only. However, I would recommend that any acne sufferers try this lotion, or the Equate version. They both worked the same for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lori2003 on 1/30/2012 5:02:00 PM more reviews by lori2003

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using the Walmart Equate Repairing Lotion ($4.18, and the ingredients are basically the same, see the end of my review for the Equate ingredients) for over a month now and my skin has vastly improved! It is less red, pores are a bit smaller, and hardly any breakouts now! I actually got a compliment the other day on my skin from a total stranger and that has never happened to me in my life!! This is the only thing that I have found that has unclogged my skin! I do not use the entire Proactiv line (Walmart's Equate does sell knock offs of the Proactive Cleanser & Toner). I tried all three products many years ago and it made my breakouts worse! I use this with my Renee Rouleau products instead of using glycolic acid (glycolic makes me break out). I only apply this once in the evening after I have applied my Renee Rouleau moisturizer. Only applying this without another moisturizer dries me out too bad and leads to breakouts. Using it twice a day, dries me out too much, too. All, in all, I recommend this product, especially the Walmart version since it is so cheap. It's worth a shot!

Equate Repairing Lotion Ingredients: Active Ingredient: 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide. Inactive Ingredients: purified water, ethoxydiglycol, cyclotetrasiloxane, cetearyl alcohol, ceteareth-20, propylene glycol, dimethicone, glyceryl stearate, cyclopentasiloxane, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, PEG-100 stearate, panthenol, allantoin, triethanolamine, carbomer, xantham gum, fragrance

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jillydearest on 1/12/2012 2:55:00 PM more reviews by Jillydearest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this to keep acne away. It doesn't seem to help a lot on the acne I already have, and it's EXTREMELY drying to my face (especially now that it's winter). After I apply this to my face I quickly use emu oil or another moisturizer I have to keep my face soft. I would buy it again since it helps prevent a lot of acne from coming up. Just remember to moisturize very well after!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mihnea on 12/22/2011 3:36:00 PM more reviews by mihnea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Walmart's generic brand 'Equate' makes a great knock-off, Equate Repairing Lotion. It's exactly the same ingredients and the packaging is better.The price varies depending on where you live, my Walmart sells it for $4.18 per 2oz. bottle. It's worth looking into, Proactiv can get pretty pricey in the long run. I hope this was helpful :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lizzea on 12/6/2011 5:11:00 AM more reviews by lizzea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This has been pretty good at keeping zits at bay and it seems to do a good job of drying out existing blemishes. I think it works really well when used in unison with the other Pro Activ products, especially after toning. I think it's actually worked a bit better than some of my old Benzoyl peroxide gels/creams in the past, which impresses me. I do find that it's a bit expensive for what you get, but I have been fairly content with the results so am happy to give it a good number of lippies :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheHster on 10/16/2011 3:25:00 AM more reviews by TheHster

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

If you saw this on the tele and ordered it spare of the moment, then your not alone.
I received this about 2 weeks ago and have been using it as directed morning and night, and omg, it seems to be working. Hate that.
I wanted this stuff to be average- scrub, lotion and repair. The packaging is so, so. Routine is simple, smell is non offensive.
Does it work? Yup. My skin is clearer, and less wee bumps appearing. I've also used the mask and this too is quite nice with my skin being super clean feeling following.
I'd say the whole routine is fairly addictive and suspect that when I stop using it all he&@ might break loose but for now I have the best skin I've had for ages . People have commented.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SkinDivaChic on 10/14/2011 2:22:00 PM more reviews by SkinDivaChic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really, really wanted this to work! I know bp is effective for my skin, and this didn't dry me out so that was good. But why on Earth do they need to use so much fragrance in there? A few years ago I tried this for the first time and didn't notice the strong scent. But for the most part now I have been using more natural products, which seem to work much better for me. Perhaps I have an allergy to fragrance? Because I had some of this left in my cabinet and decided to try it again, but I couldn't stand how strong and artificial the scent was. I broke out shortly after use. I don't know if it was a coincidence (since I've been eating alot of salt and dairy lately) or if it was from the fragrance. I wish Pro Activ would come out with a fragrance free line for more sensitive skin. I'm not going to use this anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jiller777 on 10/4/2011 3:59:00 PM more reviews by jiller777

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

this is wht makes proactive work with that said u can buy 2.5% Bezo Peroxide OTC and smear it all over ur face just find a gel consitancy not a cream. Thier Repairing lotion with BP does have moisturizer mixed in with it which i dont like id rather have it NOT watered down. Does take awhile for skin to adjust to this product. Work it into ur regime slowly and Id advise maybe 3 times a week just at night and then slowly build it up until u can tolerate it AM and PM. I only use the cleansor once a week as an exfolator and feel all 3 steps are just too dryin. I use Cetahphil cleasing lotion, sometimes the toner and load up with the reparing lotion every night and morning. But it took me a month and half to be able to adjust to the BP. I almost gave up at first and said NO WAY this is JUST too dryin even when I was only using it a couple times a week but ur skin will get used to it, jst have to be patient. I had a terrible breakout and after a good 2 months Im 100% clear! I had cystic and tons of whiteheads, I belive from Cosmetics (but wont say no names) At times my skin was flakey and red but not anymore. I let the 3rd step sit on my skin for 20mins then moisturize "if needed" with Cetahpil Ulta Hydrating moisturizing lotion and I pat it on so it doesnt disturb the BP repairing lotion that has dried. U will need a seperate moisutizer when using this product a really hydrating one thats also a gel like consistancy verus a cream so it glides on over the product. Once a week I take off and dont use and just use my Estte luader Advanced Night repair and moisturizing creams to really hydrate the skin and that helps ALOT ! Key is as ur get used to the product to layer it on THICK esp at night. I will put a layer over my entire face let it dry and repeat.. THis deep cleans ur pores and kills all bacteria b4 it starts thats why people break out when they stop cus they dont have anything strong enough killin the bacteria. This regime can be done without the proactive u just need a Bp with 2.5% in a gel consistancy so the cream doesnt turn white on u all over. No breakouts but I credit it to the BP not soo much "proactive"

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Treatments products