MAC Satin - Shale

4.2

334 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, coconut oil, beeswax, hydrogenated castor oil, tocopheryl acetate, vitamin E


on 10/20/2011 5:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is my most beloved e/s. I love it so much. It complements my skin tone (NW20). If you have cool undertones, you should really give it a try. You have to use a dark base to make it show .

-NYX jumbo pencil in Purple Velvet or Black Bean on lid, Shale on top of it, Print or Quarry or Sketch on the crease. (my personal fave.)
-Vanilla as a wash, Shadowy lady on lid and crease, Shale on top of lid over Shadowy Lady. (very easy, very sexy smokey look)
-Quarry on lid and crease, Shale on top of lid over Quarry.
- Sable on lid, Shale on top of it ( it takes away Sable's brown tones, makes it more wearable for cool skins)
-Star Violet on whole lid, Shale on outer half of the lid, Carbon or Beauty Marked or Shadowy Lady on crease

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 10/16/2011 9:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm really glad I read the reviews here. I was sure I got a bad shadow I had NO payoff what so ever. But I tried scraping off the top layer as recommended by a few of you (I used sand paper) and it worked!
I tried the same trick with a few other shadows which had little payoff and it improved them all.
Nevertheless, I still wouldn't buy it again. In the end of the day, it just looks like a pale boring gray on the eye.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2011 6:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a pale silvery lilac colour. This colour is nothing special and I'd say fairly dupable. It's also the most powdery of all my MAC shadows and not heavily pigmented.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

EDIT: I was originally disappointed with this shade because I was getting zero color payoff no matter what method of application I used (Original rating = 1). But I ended up buffing off the top layer of the eyeshadow (very, very lightly with an emery board) and it's since been working very well. I've had this same problem with two other MAC shadows--Copperplate and Warming Trend--so I don't know exactly what happened to them, but it's luckily an easy fix. Now I'm happier with this eyeshadow. It's a very lovely soft smoked mauve, but it's still quite sheer unless it's built up. But it's still great to blend out a nice daytime smokey eye, and especially pretty when paired with grays and purples. I may repurchase this because the color is fairly nice, but the quality could certainly be better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This es goes on very sheer, and on my NC30 skin, it takes a lot to show up. I really do like the color, and it works great for blending as well. It is good for blendling between purples, blues, plums and even browns. It can also be worn alone, for a soft violet look. U will need a very good primer and base for the color to show. I am only giving this 3 lippies as the pigmentation could really be better.


on 9/7/2011 11:52:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Updated: 12/12/14:
I guess I didn't return Shale becaue I found it in my stash this morning and used it. I still can't stand it. Love the color, I can't stand how hard it is to blend out. You have to dig into the pan and create a powder to be able to get anything on your brush. After that, it sticks to your eyelid and it's super, super hard to blend out. I look pretty bad today, my makeup looks like it did when I was in the 8th grade and didn't know squat about how to apply makeup. Not true today. I know how to apply makeup but his shadow is impossible to use. I cannot believe MAC has not reformulated it since a lot of people seem to have complained about how hard it is to get any on the brush.

Final Verdict: Love the color, especially with my green eyes, HATE the formulation.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I wish I could love Shale, but I don't. I have heard about this color for ages so I had to get it. It's really sheer, you have to pack it on to get it to show up. I checked my makeup after I got to work this morning and it was nothing special. I had to touch it up with the purple from my beloved and now discontinued Wet n Wild Paradise Cove palette. Sad when I like a Wet n Wild shadow better than MAC.

I also thought it was kind of hard to blend this out.

I will try it again tomorrow. If I still don't like it it's going back to Nordstrom.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love it, it's impossible to put too much on because it's the perfect amount of depth! :) Great purple-ish color for hazel eyes!


on 9/4/2011 3:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love the color. It is a little hard to get on and a little hard to get to stay on, but it is a beautiful color on me. I'm a warm tone person and have blue eyes and usually stay far away from purple, but this color is so subtle and pretty and works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2011 7:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

honestly...i kind of hate shale. and im a big mac eyeshadows girl. shale goes on my eyelid very sheerly and i have to pac a TON of color on. so whenever i use it i pretty much HAVE to use a sticky base like a mac cream color base or a ny jumbo eyeshadow. and besides that, i feel like it turns greyer over time...and then fades completely off. im just really not impressed with shale......im happy i got it from back-to-mac. i prefer quarry over this one x100 more...its also matte which makes me like it more:D


on 8/3/2011 11:50:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I really Love Shale even M.A.C is a bit expensive for a schoolgirl like me...
I applied it in the morning and it lasted all day no matter what I was doing!
I think it looks really nice on my skin type all over the lid or just in the crease. The finish i very nice- not to much but nice.
For me it was the perfect colour to start my M.A.C line because you can wear it to so many things and combine it with loads of colours!
And as a clumsy fool as I am.. I dropped it immediatly when I unpacked it but it didn't broke so I really think it's a super thing!
xx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top