MAC • Satin - Shale • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(332 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* edgexofxdesire on 9/9/2011 11:52:00 PM more reviews by edgexofxdesire

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: I was originally disappointed with this shade because I was getting zero color payoff no matter what method of application I used (Original rating = 1). But I ended up buffing off the top layer of the eyeshadow (very, very lightly with an emery board) and it's since been working very well. I've had this same problem with two other MAC shadows--Copperplate and Warming Trend--so I don't know exactly what happened to them, but it's luckily an easy fix. Now I'm happier with this eyeshadow. It's a very lovely soft smoked mauve, but it's still quite sheer unless it's built up. But it's still great to blend out a nice daytime smokey eye, and especially pretty when paired with grays and purples. I may repurchase this because the color is fairly nice, but the quality could certainly be better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hamstershell on 9/8/2011 7:24:00 AM more reviews by Hamstershell

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This es goes on very sheer, and on my NC30 skin, it takes a lot to show up. I really do like the color, and it works great for blending as well. It is good for blendling between purples, blues, plums and even browns. It can also be worn alone, for a soft violet look. U will need a very good primer and base for the color to show. I am only giving this 3 lippies as the pigmentation could really be better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glowing500 on 9/7/2011 11:52:00 AM more reviews by glowing500

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wish I could love Shale, but I don't. I have heard about this color for ages so I had to get it. It's really sheer, you have to pack it on to get it to show up. I checked my makeup after I got to work this morning and it was nothing special. I had to touch it up with the purple from my beloved and now discontinued Wet n Wild Paradise Cove palette. Sad when I like a Wet n Wild shadow better than MAC.

I also thought it was kind of hard to blend this out.

I will try it again tomorrow. If I still don't like it it's going back to Nordstrom.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabriellavascocastro on 9/6/2011 1:28:00 PM more reviews by gabriellavascocastro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love it, it's impossible to put too much on because it's the perfect amount of depth! :) Great purple-ish color for hazel eyes!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 papillon212 on 9/4/2011 3:44:00 AM more reviews by papillon212

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love the color. It is a little hard to get on and a little hard to get to stay on, but it is a beautiful color on me. I'm a warm tone person and have blue eyes and usually stay far away from purple, but this color is so subtle and pretty and works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 saylorsoul on 8/8/2011 7:30:00 PM more reviews by saylorsoul

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

honestly...i kind of hate shale. and im a big mac eyeshadows girl. shale goes on my eyelid very sheerly and i have to pac a TON of color on. so whenever i use it i pretty much HAVE to use a sticky base like a mac cream color base or a ny jumbo eyeshadow. and besides that, i feel like it turns greyer over time...and then fades completely off. im just really not impressed with shale......im happy i got it from back-to-mac. i prefer quarry over this one x100 more...its also matte which makes me like it more:D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EllieAzlay on 8/3/2011 11:50:00 AM more reviews by EllieAzlay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

I really Love Shale even M.A.C is a bit expensive for a schoolgirl like me...
I applied it in the morning and it lasted all day no matter what I was doing!
I think it looks really nice on my skin type all over the lid or just in the crease. The finish i very nice- not to much but nice.
For me it was the perfect colour to start my M.A.C line because you can wear it to so many things and combine it with loads of colours!
And as a clumsy fool as I am.. I dropped it immediatly when I unpacked it but it didn't broke so I really think it's a super thing!
xx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Discod on 7/21/2011 3:50:00 AM more reviews by Discod

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Never been into the Purple range of e/s and this was gift that had sat in my collection for ages before I used it. I am so surprised - I used this in the crease & outer lid over a paler matte taupe from the Coastal Scents Neutral palette and it looks very nice. A nice 'day look'. Also used the same on a friend who is paler than I, who has brown eyes - looks fabulous on her - really opened up her eyes. Not too dark (looks darker in pan), slight shimmer (Satin?) & it's buildable. Has less pigment than many of my MAC shadows though, and one of the few in my collection that I like that has actual shimmer. It certainly does not accentuate lines anyway :) Not that I am overly lined, just I am 47 now and steer clear of too much 'sparkle'. 4/5 because the pigment could be better IMO, so you do need to blend it in to get true depth of colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rea1 on 7/17/2011 5:20:00 AM more reviews by rea1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I think this is a good eyeshadow just for winter. I bought this yesterday and it seems pretty unsuitable for summer. It seems too grey for my fair skin and green/hazel eyes and I think i look a bit bruised. However, I think it is a nice alternative to brown/neutrals for cooler seasons of the year.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MillieNasrin on 6/2/2011 10:47:00 AM more reviews by MillieNasrin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

love this colour! satiny finish, smooth and easy to blend. surprisingly wearable during the day with some copperplate in crease. creates a sexy, smokey un-done eye. love this with rebel lipstick. will re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products