Dr. Hauschka • Cleansing Clay Mask • Masks

rated 4.1(79 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MavenMel on 10/29/2008 11:14:00 AM more reviews by MavenMel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love clay masks and this one is no exception! I am writing this review while waiting for my Cleansing Clay Mask to dry. I have sensitive/oily skin and I do this mask once/week. I steam my face for 10 minutes - today I used some loose tea with rosehips and chamomile. I haven't repurchased the Dr. H Facial Steam in awhile because its kind of pricey and I find the tea works just as well. This is my HG clay mask! It really pulls out most of the gunk from my skin without over drying like most clay masks. My pores look smaller, I have seen a reduction in the black heads on my nose and my skin looks so smooth and feels so soft after using. The jar lasts a long time - you only need a teaspoon. I just add water until its spreadable and apply with a brush. Like one of the other reviewers said removing the mask is best done my placing a warm wet washcloth on your face for a bit to moisten and loosen it up. You can also mix up a little to spot treat pimples but you have to make it really really runny or it will dry up and just fall off your face. Dr. H makes some amazing masks. I use this one and the Rejuvenating Mask regularly. It also comes in a refill format so you can just fill up your glass jar. Saves on packaging!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kekecat on 9/10/2008 8:21:00 AM more reviews by kekecat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I used a sample of this - it instructed me to use the whole sachet pack with two teaspoons of water but I only used half the pack with one teaspoon of water and a dash of toner and it was plenty enough. A little bit sneaky, I know ;-)

I'm not a massive fan of anything that requires me to wait but since trying other Dr. H products I thought i'd give it a go. I left it on for about 5 minutes and when i washed it off my skin was even toned and glowing. I noticed an immediate difference and still today my skin feels very soft and clean. My only gripe would be that the blackheads on my nose area were still there, but to be fair I have never used anything that removed all my blackheads anyway. I definately think over time and with regular use this would make improvements to oily congested skin. The good thing about this skincare line is they provide samples at reasonable prices (I paid 2.50). For me this has been a godsend because I often buy full size products to find my skin hates them or is allergic.

I can't comment on price or packaging as I used a sample sachet. The tub it is supplied in looks like it does the job. Its well worth buying a couple of sachets (by my sneaky method that equates to four uses!) this should be enough to decide if its worth the price of 18/ 23.

However, I have it on very good authority that fullers earth works very well and is about 2.50 for 125g. Mixed with a little corn starch and you have a similar product. I am yet to try but will let you know how it compares.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sbarah on 7/13/2008 7:28:00 AM more reviews by sbarah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product on ebay as it seemed a little pricey - having used it I would definately pay full price for it. I have normal skin, some large pores around my nose and chin. I used this mask this morning after using the facial steam bath - the whole process took just under half an hour, and wasn't a hassle as it felt like an indulgent treat, something I do rarely. After washing off the mask I can't stop looking at my skin in the mirror - the skin tone is totally balanced and even and no sign of any pores at all. My skin is glowing and dewy, which is amazing considering for the last fortnight it has been grey from exhaustion and bad weather. I have never been moved to write a review on here before but this is definately HG stuff. My skin feels its best ever - had I spent 50 on a salon facial I would feel thrilled with these results. And it will last ages. I am getting married in a few weeks and I feel like if I use this the night before, just a bit of mascara and brow colour and I will be good to go down the aisle - it really is THAT good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PamdaBear on 7/6/2008 1:11:00 PM more reviews by PamdaBear

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I use this after the Facial Steam and it really does make a difference to my skin. Red spots, irritations or marks are a lot less red and apparent and my skin feels really soft and looks really clear and fresh. I only took off one lipstick because I find the whole process a bit long and tedious and I'm quite a lazy person. The clay goes on fine, but I hate washing it off because it seems to get everywhere and if you use the Facial Steam beforehand, the whole process takes about 30 minutes. I have to admit, even though the results are good, it's still not enough to persuade me on some Sunday evenings to go through with the whole routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 indysmom on 5/22/2008 9:14:00 AM more reviews by indysmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Tried this first in a sample size and thought it was very effective. I have normal/dry, clear skin, small pores with the T-zone issues which can get clogged around the T zone area esp once a month. When I washed off my mask I found that it had actually sucked out some of the gunk from the pores around nose. If you want to save money, just buy the refill.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 esoterica7 on 5/9/2008 4:57:00 PM more reviews by esoterica7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best mask I've ever used. I use it twice a week after the Facial Steam, and I leave it on for 10-20 minutes. I also re-moisten the mask as it dries by carefully applying a warm, wet waschloth--if the mask is dry, none of it will be removed by the washcloth if you just lay it on your skin, press gently, and then lift it off. It's a bit messy to mix the mask and then to finally remove it from your face, but it works so well that it's worth it (I apply it with a brush, because I think it would be even messier if you tried to use your fingers). It really deep cleans without leaving my skin even slightly dry, it doesn't completely shrink my pores but they do appear tightened, and likewise it doesn't completely rid me of blackheads but it does improve them. My skin looks soft, clean and glowy after using this. One particularly busy week I didn't use this at all, and my pores started to get congested and my skin was dull. After applying this, my skin was back to normal!

My acne-prone, combination skin (oily t-zone, very large pores on my cheeks, black heads everywhere), has definitely changed since starting my all-Hauschka routine about 3 months ago. And while I never thought I'd say this about a skincare line, I think you absolutely have to use all (or at least most) Dr. Hauschka products to benefit and truly change your skin. All the products compliment each other. I also think that application technique is very important with basically every Hauschka product, so you have to do some research and find what works best for you. If you're not interested in using all natural products, and can't invest time and patience (and money!!) into this (my morning, night-time, and weekly mask routines take much longer, but it really becomes a happy ritual for me because I feel like I'm taking care of myself), then they're probably not for you.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vanillalush on 4/9/2008 6:06:00 PM more reviews by vanillalush

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Cleared my skin, and made it smooth and made my pores smaller. Evened out my skin tone. My skin became in better condition after using this. I sometimes use this with the rejuvenating mask.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 seesbeauty on 3/22/2008 9:57:00 PM more reviews by seesbeauty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great clay mask in a glass container. A small amount goes a long way. Often I mix a little bit of water into it (not the other way around) and for a deeper cleaning I add apple cider vinegar to the clay. I highly recommend this mask over the dozens of others I have tried over the years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ariannamosqueda on 3/17/2008 12:07:00 PM more reviews by ariannamosqueda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I loved it. A little difficult to understand the mixture but it works. The only side effect was my hurt feelings. My brother saw me wearing the mask and said I looked like Arnold Schwarnaegger from the movie predator.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 a1issa on 12/30/2007 9:38:00 PM more reviews by a1issa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really enjoyed taking time on a Saturday to steam my face with the facial steam bath, then followup with the Cleansing Clay Mask. It was relaxing (except I'd get a crick in my neck from hunching over the pan of water), and I felt like I was doing something really special and pampering my skin.

However, I wasn't that impressed with the results, overall. My face seemed extremely smooth (I couldn't stop touching it!) but it felt tight and somewhat dried out. I didn't notice a reduction in acne, nor did my blackheads go away.

In fact, when using Dr. Hauschka products, I ended up with tons more clogged pores, and my acne worsened. But I think that was from the Normalzing Day Oil...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dr. Hauschka products

More Masks products